User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 89
  2. Negative: 17 out of 89
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    I'm a huge RPG fan, so I decided to give Dungeon Siege 3 a try, even when I never played any of the previous games. Let's say it has been a mixed experience. You have 4main characters, all with their own unique skills and upgrades. The game can be played alone or with a friend with local or online co-op (online has 4 player limit while offline has 2). The co-op is not that interesting,I'm a huge RPG fan, so I decided to give Dungeon Siege 3 a try, even when I never played any of the previous games. Let's say it has been a mixed experience. You have 4main characters, all with their own unique skills and upgrades. The game can be played alone or with a friend with local or online co-op (online has 4 player limit while offline has 2). The co-op is not that interesting, mainly because the camera has a mind of it's own while you can't zoom in or out anymore, ...when playing alone though, you are able to zoom in very closely. I personally prefer to see my character and enjoy the armor he/she is wearing. That brings me to the next point... the armor isn't interesting since many look-a-like. Weapons are ok, but have the same basic attacks. Another negative point is the dialogue, most of the voice acting is fair or even bad, especially one of the main characters, Katarina, one of the worst in my game history. Also when having a conversation with characters, your back is always turned towards the camera, and there is almost no movement of any of the characters, they just stand there... talking. So the conversation isn't that compelling as (for example) Dragon Age. .... Don't get me wrong though, not EVERYTHING is bad about this game. It still has a fun combat system, though a bit repetitive after awhile, and the RPG elements qua choice are all there. You realy feel your choices have an impact on the story progression. In the end, the game feels ok but could've been much better, especially if they'd improved the co-op experience. If you can get this game cheap, then give it a try... because it's not realy worth the full price tag. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    7
    Better than FFXIII. Cums across as a bit designed-by-committee, but there's still enough there 2 entertain an RPGer til Skyrim.
    There seem 2 b a lot of PCers complaining that it's dumped down 4 consoles & looks like it should have ful out 5 years ago - get ova yourselves! The visual style is reminiscent of Baldurs Gate & suits the mood of the world - not every game has 2 test the power of
    Better than FFXIII. Cums across as a bit designed-by-committee, but there's still enough there 2 entertain an RPGer til Skyrim.
    There seem 2 b a lot of PCers complaining that it's dumped down 4 consoles & looks like it should have ful out 5 years ago - get ova yourselves! The visual style is reminiscent of Baldurs Gate & suits the mood of the world - not every game has 2 test the power of the new graphics card mummy & daddy bought u.
    Sure this is flawed, but still good fun - something many high profile titles 4get about.
    Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2011
    6
    This game doesn't hold the same feel of the original D.Siege series. It has a semi-linear skill leveling mechanism where all playable characters will have, eg. Attacking skill, some buff/de-buff skill and healing skill. However this games have its own share of pros, this game presents its story telling quite interestingly. Graphic "whores" might enjoy this game as well as the graphics areThis game doesn't hold the same feel of the original D.Siege series. It has a semi-linear skill leveling mechanism where all playable characters will have, eg. Attacking skill, some buff/de-buff skill and healing skill. However this games have its own share of pros, this game presents its story telling quite interestingly. Graphic "whores" might enjoy this game as well as the graphics are sharp and colorful, however its character model's could have been better. Overall, this game's gameplay, storytelling and mass amount of loot had done enough to entice some veteran RPG players like myself. 6/10 for me Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    5
    This will be my first review in a different way, I will now review by if you should buy it no matter what (10), give it a look if you're interested (7), Rent ( 5) or don't even buy it (0). Now dungeon siege is in between a seven and a five because it has problems but it is still an okay game. Dungeon siege is a unique offline multiplayer game which i enjoyed, but everything else was bland.This will be my first review in a different way, I will now review by if you should buy it no matter what (10), give it a look if you're interested (7), Rent ( 5) or don't even buy it (0). Now dungeon siege is in between a seven and a five because it has problems but it is still an okay game. Dungeon siege is a unique offline multiplayer game which i enjoyed, but everything else was bland. It's not bad or terrible, it is just that there are older games that are better and cheaper. So you should rent this for maybe a week because it's not worth sixty bucks. Dungeon siege is definitely a five because you can get this if you want, but I advise you to rent it. A little background to why is that the story is uninteresting, the characters don't built, and multiplayer online has some problems. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2021
    6
    In a way I feel kinda bad for giving this game only a 6 rating. Much of what is there is actually quite good but I have no patience at all for sloppy software and this game gets severe reductions for two issues. The first issue is a brutal camera that has a mind of its own and waivers around at its own will. Nothing about the camera deserves praise at all. Secondly and maybe only IIn a way I feel kinda bad for giving this game only a 6 rating. Much of what is there is actually quite good but I have no patience at all for sloppy software and this game gets severe reductions for two issues. The first issue is a brutal camera that has a mind of its own and waivers around at its own will. Nothing about the camera deserves praise at all. Secondly and maybe only I experienced this is the installation of this game was the source of my PS3 stalling and not being able to hook up consistently to the Playstation Network or even internet. My system test indicated internet connectivity but not PSNetwork connectivity. When deleted everything restored and ran as usual. So thumbs down to Obsidian. Such a sloppy company. Ok, there is good i liked about the game- the skill trees and player choice in how to build their characters and customization was generally exciting and varied. Fantasy wise the enemies and creatures encountered made for some great gameplay. If one had more patience than I had I might actually speak well of this title. For me, I will reaquire the game when it is $15 or so and maybe try my luck again hopefully there is some patching or updates which fixed the issues I mentioned. If they solve those this game is worth a look then.

    Updated review: After 9 years I have decided to replay the game and have recently finished it. The camera in some spots near the end of the game was bad but for the most part the camera behaved throughout my playthrough. The one thing I'd like to stress about this game is it's teen rated and just like movie games the combat isn't very complicated and so I'd only recommend this to teens. I'm not sure if the went for a Champions of Norrath clone in this game but it did bring back those memories in many respects. However, I didn't feel the quality was as high nor the gameplay and enemy difficulties. Much of the game was straightforward and linear and unfortunately relied on reencountering the same enemies by backtracking to finished areas over and over to extend gameplay. This made the game repetitive. Some problems exist with the game not seeming to be finished to the quality it may have been envisioned to have before release: aiming with the gun seems to not follow agility skills and can at times not find enemies especially when you are fighting on stairs and during mobs you can't really pick out an enemy. There is no run button just a roll. (Hello-agility????) You can't switch companions during gameplay. You have to upgrade your companions skills as you play and this is a problem because they don't know which skills to use intelligently. My companion at times used her skills well and absurdly. Many times this would cause their death and yours trying to revive them. The loot in this game is far overdone you will get pretty much all styles of weapons and this can be good for choice but again they don't all work well. The abilities these weapons have are ill defined and a head scratcher if they actually are working in the game. Since you have so many weapon drops you will be upgrading so fast it's hard to notice anything different. Tha said the game gives lots of choices but again the gameplay isn't very deep to appreciate any of it. Overall this game was terribly easy and mundane but still enjoyable to a degree. For me it was just too shallow. I would recommend it for entry level gamers and teens and as a hardcore gamer myself I might wonder if next game plus may be worth it for some people (not me lol). The game has about 35 areas and the gameplay just started to get challenging at around the 28-30th areas. I thought about next game but given the combat is not fleshed out very well it may hold interest only for those players who enjoyed the game the first time. The game nearly wasn't as bad as I expected and my playthrough was well enough to recommend this games to teens as the game is rated for. Stay away if you want a tougher game.
    Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Fun and interesting game, I don't feel like the graphics are good but they aren't terrible they're just outdated. when I think of something having good graphics I think of something like crysis 2 those are good graphics. anyways. Gameplay is like diablo or baldurs gate. ability system is ok. feels classic. controls are ok it's a typical hack and slash rpg so it's kind of hard to mess upFun and interesting game, I don't feel like the graphics are good but they aren't terrible they're just outdated. when I think of something having good graphics I think of something like crysis 2 those are good graphics. anyways. Gameplay is like diablo or baldurs gate. ability system is ok. feels classic. controls are ok it's a typical hack and slash rpg so it's kind of hard to mess up controls in a game like this. there could be a different way of using abilities but half of them suck anyways so it's not a huge deal. story isn't bad but it's not going to change my life in any way shape or form. dungeon siege 3 isn't the best game ever but it's still fun to play. it feels like a lot of the old school hack and slashers that seem like a rare commodity these days. it's at least worth renting. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2011
    5
    I loved it for the first 3 hours or so. Nice graphics, nice cutscenes, a lot of dungeon crawling and loot to procure. But then it just got a little... "meh". I just could not stand it on the last hours and just wanted to get through with it. I actually don't know what it's missing, though... maybe more personality, I don't know. I hear they plan on releasing a DLC to expand the level cap.I loved it for the first 3 hours or so. Nice graphics, nice cutscenes, a lot of dungeon crawling and loot to procure. But then it just got a little... "meh". I just could not stand it on the last hours and just wanted to get through with it. I actually don't know what it's missing, though... maybe more personality, I don't know. I hear they plan on releasing a DLC to expand the level cap. But... is anyone playing still this? Expand
  8. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    Ok lets start here. If your expecting a Dungeon Siege game with this 3rd installment. Your not gonna get it with this title. What made DS 1&2 does not make it into 3.

    However so far of what I have played on it it seems to be a fairly solid RPG with really good graphics. Now back to what's not in the game if you were expecting DS3 to at least be somewhat like DS 1&2 1) Death - Don't die
    Ok lets start here. If your expecting a Dungeon Siege game with this 3rd installment. Your not gonna get it with this title. What made DS 1&2 does not make it into 3.

    However so far of what I have played on it it seems to be a fairly solid RPG with really good graphics.

    Now back to what's not in the game if you were expecting DS3 to at least be somewhat like DS 1&2

    1) Death - Don't die it's game over and back to last save point.

    2) Save Points - They are in set area's you can not save and exit the game where ever you want.

    3) Skills - You no longer can just use w/e weapon you want and build your character from their. The Hero you pick as your starting character will determine what abilities and gear you will be using.

    4) Large groups - Nope not here. Party size is limited to 2 characters.

    5) DS2 was fairly linear in terms of where you went especially compared to DS1. However that's nothing compared to how straight DS3 is. One of my most beloved aspects of DS1 was the world, and picking different ways to travel to various locations.

    6) Controls are way different in this versus the others

    All in all it's not a bad game or rpg however I do dislike them using the Dungeon Siege name to sell their title. As pretty much everything that made Dungeon Siege what it is. Is not in DS3
    Expand
  9. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    Game started out ok and it's fun to get lots of loot drops. But it reaches a point where you're doing an awful lot of running back and forth looking for another quest. So 14 hours in I was getting tired of just running around. Graphics are good and I liked the abilities, but I got bored with all the walking looking for the next step. The interface for changing gear is cumbersome and itGame started out ok and it's fun to get lots of loot drops. But it reaches a point where you're doing an awful lot of running back and forth looking for another quest. So 14 hours in I was getting tired of just running around. Graphics are good and I liked the abilities, but I got bored with all the walking looking for the next step. The interface for changing gear is cumbersome and it would be better if it highlighted more clearly which gear item was an upgrade. Of course you figure it out but it feels like time wasting to scroll down to highlight a useless item as viewed and be constantly going back to the gear screen to see if a drop is an upgrade. Expand
  10. Jul 31, 2013
    6
    A very simplistic, yet strangely addictive game. It's nothing compared to DS 1 and 2, but if you can get this game for a good price, you can sink about 10 hours into the campaign.
  11. Aug 15, 2012
    6
    Wasn't a stand above the crowd great game, but it wasn't horrible either..
    1 play through is enough to get everything done, doesn't have any replay value at all..
    the visuals are average, the combat is average, the story is..... average, it's just an all round average game.. Lot's of loot, but eventually you just feel liked your picking up trash, I didn't buy this game to take up a
    Wasn't a stand above the crowd great game, but it wasn't horrible either..
    1 play through is enough to get everything done, doesn't have any replay value at all..
    the visuals are average, the combat is average, the story is..... average, it's just an all round average game..
    Lot's of loot, but eventually you just feel liked your picking up trash, I didn't buy this game to take up a partime job as a janitor, (spoiler) and all the best gear can be bought right before the final boss, so no real point buying stuff in the game..

    If you see this for real cheap, pick it up, you won't be disappointed, but you won't be astounded either, just a few hours of fun, something a little different and nothing more..
    Expand
  12. Jul 9, 2013
    5
    The locations that you travel through in Dungeon Siege III are beautiful! However, I doubt you will find anything else in this game that will impress you apart from that. If you haven't played this game yet, you will be better off waiting two months for Diablo III!
  13. May 10, 2018
    6
    Weird camera sometimes, and characters a little bit too stiff. Sacred 3 is better.
  14. Dec 25, 2020
    7
    In short it has an immersive story, adequate gameplay and good characters but is not on a level that can compete with the better games of the genre. Longer version: The Dungeon Siege series was pretty successful back then and I was curious for a sequel as I played Dungeon Siege 1 and the add on Legends of Aranna on PC. On a sidenote I enjoyed these but find them not to be top tier RPGs.In short it has an immersive story, adequate gameplay and good characters but is not on a level that can compete with the better games of the genre. Longer version: The Dungeon Siege series was pretty successful back then and I was curious for a sequel as I played Dungeon Siege 1 and the add on Legends of Aranna on PC. On a sidenote I enjoyed these but find them not to be top tier RPGs. The story is set 150 years after the events of Dungeon Siege. The tenth Legion who were the protectors of the Kingdom of Ehb was destroyed 30 years ago. The reasons were a bit ambiguous as there were political plots and different factions have their own narrative. When the King of Ehb died Jeyne Kassynder who claimed to be his (illegitimate) daughter accursed the leader of the Legion to have murdered the king. She rallied many supporters behind her and started a conflict with the Legion and other members of the royal family. During this conflict the Legion was destroyed with a few survivors escaping and hiding. The truth is hidden as the Legion could be involved, be scapegoats, failed to protect the king, had traitors / power-mongers in their ranks or just doing the right things backfired or even multiple of these at once. The story of the game starts when survivors want to resurrect the Legion. You chose one of 4 premade characters. The characters are actually quite different and I like that there are variations in the story for each of them. There are also decisions for you to make that affect the outcomes and some parts of the game. The story is good and it was never boring as I enjoyed during the whole game. From worldbuilding and lore this game is excellent. The gameplay is adequate. It is an action RPG and your player character and 1 companion battle through the story (When you unlock them). If I remember correctly you have 2 fighting stances that you can use. As you level up you unlock new abilities from an ability tree. The abilities are useful and give you a variety for your character (There are upgrades for them called proficiency). There are also some talents you can unlock that give you different benefits. However I find it a bit limiting and you cant shape your character without restrictions (Was not common at this time). It was neither bad nor awesome. The graphics were amazing at its time but I think it aged not well enough. Soundtrack was decent if I remember correctly. The sidequest were mostly uninteresting (Go there and kill this enemy or get me this item). On the negative side the game is a bit shorter for RPG standard and there was the valid complain that it is too linear which I agree for the first and partly agree for the second statement. Overall the game has great lore and worldbuilding but can not fully deliver gameplay-wise. I was enjoyable but will be forgotten as other games were better. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Oct 30, 2011
    75
    If you like high-fantasy realms, but are willing to overlook alterations to what are ultimately some pretty arbitrary conventions concerning weapon types, and you have like-minded friends who'll play with you offline, Dungeon Siege III is definitely worth your time. If you're going to go it alone strictly for story and gameplay, then know that you've already played this game before in similar form, probably a dozen times.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    70
    It doesn't push the envelope aside from experimenting with gameplay but if you like this type of game you'll probably enjoy yourself as long as you speed through the story.
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    40
    In short, Dungeon Siege III is a morass of flat characters, a story as dull as dishwater, and combat that manages to be both frustrating and boring.