Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
Buy On
  1. If you're looking for a 360 party game with something for the adults, this is definitely the candidate you should endorse. But we have to think that's a pretty big "if."
  2. Edge Magazine
    70
    HTTC’s easy relationship with the subject matter results in some of the finest political animals you’ll see and, what is perhaps even more remarkable, a videogame that is genuinely funny. [Sept 2008, p.97]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    70
    A pleasant, if somewhat hairy, surprise. [Sept 2008, p.104]
  4. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    66
    If only it featured more varied game types - instead of a dozen different ways of spinning the clam-collecting battles - I could get behind this one. [July 2008, p.78]
  5. 60
    This vivid presentation also brings immense charm to Hail to the Chimp. Clever political ad parodies and LOL-worthy faux TV spots are more entertaining than actually playing the game itself. Dropping $40 for a bunch of cartoons doesn't sound like a good deal though.
  6. Still, I don’t see this game being the life of the party seeing as Nintendo’s Mario Party games offers addictive gameplay and plenty of variety.
  7. Gameplay, like any other party game, gets old pretty quickly.
  8. 56
    There is a fun little romp tucked away in here, but you have to dig (and play the game with other people) in order to find it.
  9. Hail to the Chimp has a good heart and really tries to build on the aforementioned foundation, but there’s just too much "meh" going on.
  10. All in all, I can't recommend Hail to the Chimp as a game, but it gets my vote as a satire of politics. The clunky controls, slow character movement, obstructive camera, repetitive gameplay, and chaotic multiplayer work against the title, and although the graphics and audio make up for it to a degree, it's nowhere near enough.
  11. With its appealing cartoony visuals, funny political satire, and collection of humorous unlockable videos, Hail to the Chimp isn’t a complete bust. If it didn’t suffer from overly repetitive gameplay, ridiculously unbalanced A.I., and had a bit more variety, this game honestly could have been a lot more fun.
  12. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    50
    Level design and AI are similarly hit-or-miss, and the combat never advances past button-mashing. [Oct 2008, p.82]
  13. Honestly if this game were taken back and reworked into a cartoon then I’m sure it would be plenty of fun for kids and adults alike due to all the double entendres but as it stands it’s an amusing cartoon interrupted by bland game segments.
  14. Like the stereotypical politician, Hail to the Chimp promised more than it can deliver.
  15. PSM3 Magazine UK
    43
    The gameplay is about as much fun as parading your plums through a blender. [Nov 2008, p.85]
  16. Game Informer
    40
    This is "Fuzion Frenzy" with one-liners about stuffing ballot boxes and endless, boring minigame repetition. [July 2008, p.86]
  17. 35
    Hail to the Chimp has zero redeeming qualities. There's nothing about this game that's worth recommending. The AI is bad, the control scheme is unforgiving, it's not funny at all and all of the games feel too similar to one another.
  18. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    30
    A lame attempt at bringing parody to the world of gaming. Avoid. [Nov 2008, p.100]
  19. 20
    Practically unplayable and should be avoided at all costs.
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Feb 16, 2016
    0
    I honestly don't understand how this game received more than a 0/10. The graphics remind me of Windows 95. Who wants to play a game but haveI honestly don't understand how this game received more than a 0/10. The graphics remind me of Windows 95. Who wants to play a game but have to fight with the controls instead? Not me! Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2010
    6
    bought this title for my daughter, so we could play something together, and we did. however, there are too many things wrong with this game tobought this title for my daughter, so we could play something together, and we did. however, there are too many things wrong with this game to really enjoy it. sluggish control, confusing and lackluster mini-games, and general lack of fun makes this game easily avoidable. its only redeeming value is in some of the humorous videos. I'll always remember "princess glamor-bot" from this title. Full Review »
  3. AnthonyS
    Jul 20, 2008
    4
    The game is not great. If you're the kind of person buying the remake of Q-bert and liking it, maybe this is worth your attention cuz itThe game is not great. If you're the kind of person buying the remake of Q-bert and liking it, maybe this is worth your attention cuz it beats Q-bert at least. It's on par with those basic circle-around-while-shooting Robotron-esque games that seem to be coming out in droves. The only thing worthwhile about this game is the commercials which are pretty funny. They're pretty solid parodies of those awful "don't elect Senator blah blah" ads. The infomercial parodies are also good. Ignore the reviews saying the game isn't funny because the humor is pretty much ALL it is (worthwhile). Alas, in the end this is supposed to be a game, and the game part is repetitive and boring. Full Review »