Hyperdimension Neptunia mk2 Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hyperdimension Neptunia MK2 is a fantasy RPG from NIS for the PlayStation 3.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Hyperdimension Neptunia MK2 Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Hyperdimension Neptunia mk2 is an improvement on the original that offers some fun gameplay elements unique to this sequel. While those new to the series might pass it over, it's still a fun game that is both charming and enjoyable. It is not necessary to be familiar with the original game as mk2 will quickly bring you up to speed on the unfolding events. Hyperdimension Neptunia mk2 is highly recommended for fans of the original and for RPG fans looking for an engaging, humorous and one-of-a-kind experience.
  2. Feb 28, 2012
    70
    This game is for the fans of comedy and slice of life anime series. You won't get high octane action, but you will get a decent RPG if you keep an open mind. It is very much a niche title that I would suggest for only anime fans and RPG players. I'll be the first to admit, this game is a huge improvement over the first game. I actually had a decent time playing Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2.
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    65
    Combined with technical aspects that feel like it doesn't use its resources well enough, and you have a title that'll only reach RPG fans who want a little fan service on the side. Still, for those people, it's at least worth a rental if you want something other than the big RPG releases from the last few months.
  4. Feb 28, 2012
    60
    What's frustrating about Hyperdimension Neptunia mk2 is that it's a game with a good concept and a battle system that has the potential to be fantastic if refined. What it ends up being, though, is a game with the smallest bit of quality at its core, surrounded by a suite of atrociously subpar elements.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 7, 2012
    50
    A sequel nobody asked for, and it knows it. Hugely unnecessary. [May 2012, p78]
  6. Mar 3, 2012
    50
    There are better satires of gaming in other forms, and they likely won't leave you feeling kind of dirty afterwards.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 28, 2012
    30
    The combat is still woeful. [Apr 2012, p.97]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. May 17, 2012
    10
    Fun story and a great new combat system. A really big improvement over first part. The only reason to not buy is having an allergy on anythingFun story and a great new combat system. A really big improvement over first part. The only reason to not buy is having an allergy on anything anime-like. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game is just awesome in every way!

    The Story, the Gameplay, the characters. I was even lucky to get one of the last limited
    This game is just awesome in every way!

    The Story, the Gameplay, the characters.

    I was even lucky to get one of the last limited Editions, just incredible =)
    Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    I have to admit, I didn't enjoy the first Hyperdimension Neptunia much. I liked the characters and the setting, but the game mechanics wereI have to admit, I didn't enjoy the first Hyperdimension Neptunia much. I liked the characters and the setting, but the game mechanics were just terrible. So it was with great trepidation that I bought Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2, hoping that it would just be a LITTLE better than the first game. My expectations were too low, Mk2 completely scraps the old mechanics of the first game and remakes them from the ground up, creating remarkably enjoyable gameplay to go along with the characters and setting we all love. Battles are much more dynamic; characters can roam the battlefield based on their movement stat and set up positional attacks, or block enemy movement. Everything feels much smoother, you won't be jamming L2 to skip attacks all the time like you probably did in the first game. Enemy encounters are also no longer random battles; enemies roam the map and you can choose whether to engage them or not. Random healing has also been done away with, items can be used at any time provided the character has enough AP.

    The new characters are all fairly likable, and there's plenty of time given to the old characters as well. The Lily System is a teasingly pseudo-lesbian meter of how much the other characters like the protagonist, Nepgear. It can be raised by fighting alongside characters as well as viewing events in towns. The system allows you to pair two characters together, with the back-row character providing passive bonuses to the character in front. Combo attacks are also available between certain paired characters if their Lily Rank is high enough. Lily Rank (along with character levels, items and money) carries over to New Game+, so if you don't want to worry about it too much in your first playthrough; you can always just see everything you missed in your second.

    There are a large number of possible endings, 7 in total, with 2 of them being significantly different from the others and one of them being a non-canon hidden ending that is surprisingly serious and dark in an otherwise cheerful game, no doubt one of the reasons this game received an 'M' rating (that, and a particularly perverse slimeball of a boss). Overall, my only complaint would be that the game is on the easy side overall, with the exception of the optional S-Rank Colosseum fights in New Game+. Those will really push your characters to their limits.

    If you liked the first game there's no way in hell that you won't like the sequel, it's an improvement in every way. If you didn't like the first game because of the gameplay but you enjoyed the characters, you may want to consider giving this one another chance.
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    It's surprising the amount of improvements this game made...even though it wasn't really that hard considering the amount of flaws theIt's surprising the amount of improvements this game made...even though it wasn't really that hard considering the amount of flaws the original game had; everything that didn't work in the previous game it's now all better and fully functioning, with some drawbacks at the same time. One thing I want to clear out first is the DLC: the previous game was plagued by useless and very frustrating dlcs that, even though not costy, some of them could have been included from the beginning (the level caps, the guest characters and probably half of those costumes on the list): however, now dlcs are much more reasonable because yes, you can still buy useless stuff, but it's a lot less needed: the 2 extra characters are totally unnecessary because your normal roster (12) is bigger than the previous game (6, excluding the 2 guests character). In addition, no extra level caps, and many items are free: I'm glad to say that the dlcs are more of an addition, rather than a cheap trick to make you spend more...for the most part. With the dlc fact out of the way, I'll start with the first thing that got me impressed: the battle system. You can bring up to 4 characters in battle, plus 4 support characters that you can always switch in battle, and since the roster is bigger you can easily do this tactic earlier and pretty often too. The battle system resembles a tactical game, meaning that you'll have to move your characters on the battlefield and attack the enemies and so on; unlike the previous system, which was extremely slow even though it had some nice ideas, now it's extremely fast paced (and you can finally flee everytime!). The difficulty selection has been removed, which means that your enemies will be harder or easier depending all on yourself now...and some luck, since the biggest flaw here is that some battles can be hard if you don't use the right setup but that's about it. The game still uses the dungeon crawler formula: go to a guild->take quest->do quest->profit, and so on: now and then you'll have to go somewhere specific in order to continue the main plot, but you're basically free to do any quest, anytime and anywhere in the land... and speaking of land, the lands of the previous games now are basically all in one, killing the dead times between travels; they also reduced the dungeons but cured them a lot more. They also added "cities", even though they are basically lobbies for every action you'll do and the idea is basically the same as the previous game, minus the Synth shop (absent from the previous game), and the guild (quests were dungeon-specified). My biggest complain here however is that, even if cured and much, MUCH more detailed than the previous game, it still has some flaws and, strange to say, I prefered the other way! For example, since the dungeons are fewer now quests are more flexible, but there's no proper quest tracker: you have to pause and go to quest log in order to check your progress or check the targets, making it more clunky than before. Even if cities are cured now, I still wish we could visit on foot, and i doubt it's a problem of the console...I mean this is a ps3 console, but I'm pretty sure this game could easily stick in a ps2 or a psp, for how weak it is. And at last, my major complain of the game: the story. Yes this series is basically a parody of the gaming industry, but while the first game had a humour based on irony other games quotes and fourth wall jokes, this game....has not, and that's why I'm having more trouble following the story because they removed a lot of jokes and tried to make it more serious, losing the "soul" of the game, which was the parody; I enjoyed playing the first game, even with its huge flaws, but it gave me 40 hours of fun and laughs and the most stupid yet awesome story I've ever saw: this game is a lot better without a doubt, with better mechanics and much better gameplay, but lacks basically in comedy and story (which it's way shorter than the previous game...and the previous game wasn't that long to begin with). As a game, it's great and fun to play and has everything a game should have, thus the 8, but whenever they'll make a sequel, I just hope the jokes and the irony that made me love this series will come back, together with better gameplay and, maybe, some proper exploration. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2012
    8
    I think the worst thing about this game is the repetition. It's always the same way: you watch some scenes, go into a dungeon, defeat monstersI think the worst thing about this game is the repetition. It's always the same way: you watch some scenes, go into a dungeon, defeat monsters and a boss. There's nothing different to break the routine. And it goes to the soundtrack too: always the same for events, even for different places. Scenes also don't step away from repetitive graphics and animation, and sometimes they simply don't show who is talking in the screen. Recycled dungeons and poor enemies design. I got the impression that the game was made with low resources and/or in a hurry. And in my case, I suffered from some freezing in the first minutes of every dungeon. But let's talk about the good things: variety of endings, many playable characters, great set of skills (including team skills), cool battle gameplay and many items to customize and synth. This game is far from perfect, but if you're a fan of JRPGs you should give it a try, specially to support NIS America to continue bringing japanese content to the west. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2015
    4
    Hyperdimension Neptunia isn't a particularly good game by any standards. Within the first few moments of playing you'll begin questioning theHyperdimension Neptunia isn't a particularly good game by any standards. Within the first few moments of playing you'll begin questioning the developers design choices. It's hard to describe, but everything about the UI just feels off. It feels clunky and unintuitive, actively denying you the information you so desperately want.

    The graphics aren't very pretty in themselves. The 2D sprites look okay, but the 3D models are lifeless and awkward to look at. The soundtrack might be one of the few redeeming features about the game, but you'll find it grating on you as you repeat the same areas again and again.

    The main issue is the gameplay, however. Information about it is poorly conveyed through slides that don't really tell you much of anything, leaving you to flounder around as you try to figure out what you're doing wrong. You'd better get on your knees and pray to RNGesus, because half your attacks will just flat out miss if you don't. Which is another thing: the difficulty is all over the place. Chances are you'll be spending a significant amount of time grinding. On most encounters you'll strike first and the battle will be a breeze. In other cases you'll be wiped before you can even question what happened. (So you can reload your save and do more grinding again. Yay.) So, in summary, combat is something you'll want to actively avoid, but you'll have to spend all of your time in if you want to do anything.

    The story...barely exists. I've yet to see any of purported wit and satire this game has. So far it's been a bevy of typical anime tropes. And, no, commenting that something exists and replicating it isn't satire.

    I entered Hyperdimension Neptunia curious, and left it confused. In my brief time, I saw nothing of merit - rather a substandard game that could only be enjoyed by the most hardcore of fans. You'll have to try really hard to find any fun here, all you'll find is a clunky, boring experience that leaves you worse off than when you began playing.
    Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. another game with the same plot as the previous game.

    isn't it ironic that the psp was used in a hack to own the ps3? because the story here is the exact opposite... the little sisters of the "big" consoles freed them. Yes, that's the story in a single line. Also... same graphics as the previous one... still sucks. Still bad.

    real score: -10 I will deny that this is called "RPG".
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews