• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 26, 2009
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1429 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidT.
    May 27, 2009
    3
    I rated it low because of the control options. I could not control it because I need the option to (1) make the camera angle inverse/inverse yet (2) make the aiming controls inverse vertical/regular horizontal. They offer these options on games on Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Unfortunately, inFamous forces you to make the camera and aiming controls the same. Because my mind is wired I rated it low because of the control options. I could not control it because I need the option to (1) make the camera angle inverse/inverse yet (2) make the aiming controls inverse vertical/regular horizontal. They offer these options on games on Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Unfortunately, inFamous forces you to make the camera and aiming controls the same. Because my mind is wired this way I just cannot seem to adapt to any other control schemes. :-( I'm sure it is a decent game, but I'll wait for the next Uncharted later this year. If more game makers would put these options in, people like me would be happier. I'm not the only one who needs these control options--and really, how hard is it to add in? Expand
  2. May 9, 2013
    0
    Bad game with bad story, worst graphics ever... The characters dont make sense.
    In portuguese i hate the dubbing, so horrible. I cant believe so many people like this game.
  3. CarlosS.
    May 27, 2009
    1
    It reminds me so much of Assassin's Creed. You are blown away in the first thirty minutes, then you realize that you are being forced to play that brilliant thirty minutes over and OVER and OVER. Full price for a game for a mere 30 minutes of fun...remember to wait a few weeks after a game comes out before buying. See what people say. Left 4 Dead, Assassin's Creed...all these It reminds me so much of Assassin's Creed. You are blown away in the first thirty minutes, then you realize that you are being forced to play that brilliant thirty minutes over and OVER and OVER. Full price for a game for a mere 30 minutes of fun...remember to wait a few weeks after a game comes out before buying. See what people say. Left 4 Dead, Assassin's Creed...all these games get a lot of hype when they come out and end up being the same old, same old. Expand
  4. KolioR.
    May 26, 2009
    4
    A game that came out 2 years fter crackdown and is less enjoyable. the city is dire and dull.
  5. Mar 20, 2011
    0
    i could not play this game due to his squeky pants did anyone else notice his pants and how annoyingly loud they were why would they do that it really pissed me off
  6. KieranY.
    May 27, 2009
    1
    Terribe controls, very weak gameplay, boring side-quests, good graphics - traditional modern computer game? Yes, unfortunately. InFamous is very mediocre (pardon, very bad) game which tried to be PS3's Crackdown. I recommend you people to ignore this title, and wait for "The Prototype", which simply can not be worse than this Sony exclusive.
  7. MarkV.
    Jun 11, 2009
    0
    no neutral path? lightning is your ONLY weapon? forced to follow one Karma-path; switching between good and evil acts merely give a disadvantage. Karma? That's no Karma! the douchebag literally says what's the bad and the good choice! and what's with his gliding and those hands. It may strike you as logical given the powers but it looks lame!
  8. DonnyDarko
    Jan 26, 2010
    2
    Prototype is so much better than this game. Infamous looks horrible in comparison, I don't understand what people are talking about. The city doesn't look realistic at all. Prototype has a lot more atmosphere and feeling to it. The moral choices are really lame and could just as well be just a checkbox for "good" or "bad". The main character is even more boring than the one in Prototype is so much better than this game. Infamous looks horrible in comparison, I don't understand what people are talking about. The city doesn't look realistic at all. Prototype has a lot more atmosphere and feeling to it. The moral choices are really lame and could just as well be just a checkbox for "good" or "bad". The main character is even more boring than the one in prototype. The powers are also boring compared to the ones offered in prototype. You can't hijack vehicles as you can in prototype. The only reason I see for this getting a better grade than prototype is the fact that it's a PS3 exclusive. Expand
  9. Mar 9, 2014
    0
    Finally beat this game; and let me tell you, IT SUCKS. The concept and potential of this game are incredible, even the story isn't all that bad. The thing that destroys this game from the inside out is the difficulty level, and the fact that it takes itself to seriously. The dialogue animations are laughably bad, the voice acting is sub-par or average at best. The difficulty is unREAL. IFinally beat this game; and let me tell you, IT SUCKS. The concept and potential of this game are incredible, even the story isn't all that bad. The thing that destroys this game from the inside out is the difficulty level, and the fact that it takes itself to seriously. The dialogue animations are laughably bad, the voice acting is sub-par or average at best. The difficulty is unREAL. I beat the game on Medium difficulty and it left me ripping my hair out and screaming into my couch cushions. The bosses aren't that bad, its the regular henchmen who are tough as **** This is especially prevalent later in the game, when the enemies can take **** tons of damage; then dish out **** tons. Combine this with the worst balance i've ever seen in a game, and the most unrefined controls imaginable and you have the perfect recipe for **** THIS GAME". There is a special place in hell for the developers of this game. Shockingly enough Infamous Second Son looks ridiculously awesome, so i'm still going to try it out. But at the end of the day, **** THIS GAME... Expand
  10. Mar 15, 2014
    0
    this game is terrible i played it i was really bored to death after playing for 5 seconds. there are no words to describe how corny and cliche this game is
  11. Mar 21, 2011
    2
    The graphics are good but the way u play is like Prototype u do the same thing over and over. And i hate climbing buildings. I like playing prototype better cause u do several things. I hate it.
  12. May 23, 2013
    3
    bland unoriginal and boring
    an open world with TPS shooting. bland super hero story and cookie cutter side missions
    the only good thing about this game are the graphics but that does not save the presentation from being boring.
  13. Jun 21, 2013
    1
    This game is like a bad copy of Prototype and I didn't even like that game. The first thing I was hated was the city, I know it supposed to look horrible but it's just so dull it makes my brain melt out my ears. The main attack is really annoying because you just button mash and watch your enemies bounce around because the game has very little physics. The other characters in this game areThis game is like a bad copy of Prototype and I didn't even like that game. The first thing I was hated was the city, I know it supposed to look horrible but it's just so dull it makes my brain melt out my ears. The main attack is really annoying because you just button mash and watch your enemies bounce around because the game has very little physics. The other characters in this game are far more interesting than the character you play as and being forced to choose between good and evil got pretty boring due to the decisions being really bloody obvious. The controls are really annoying and the combat is JUST SO BORING...

    This game is massively overrated.
    Expand
  14. Apr 30, 2019
    1
    Original: Боевая система это просто кусок фигни. В начале игры нам говорят, что у нас есть два способа уничтожать врагов: в ближнем рукопашном бою или издалека, при помощью выстрелов. Рукопашный бой сразу отпадает, потому что враги не просто убегают от тебя быстрее, но они ещё и умудряются стрелять в тебя. А стрельба... она просто плохая. Пока ты целишься в одного из противников, остальнаяOriginal: Боевая система это просто кусок фигни. В начале игры нам говорят, что у нас есть два способа уничтожать врагов: в ближнем рукопашном бою или издалека, при помощью выстрелов. Рукопашный бой сразу отпадает, потому что враги не просто убегают от тебя быстрее, но они ещё и умудряются стрелять в тебя. А стрельба... она просто плохая. Пока ты целишься в одного из противников, остальная орда всаживает в тебя кучу патронов. Да, да противников целая орда. Ещё в игре есть кувырки, но они абсолютно бесполезны, противники попадают в тебя в 100% случаев. Ты на одну секунду выглядываешь (не утрирую), а в тебя летят двадцать патронов. Укрытия сделаны криво, просто криво. Их неудобно использовать.
    Google Translate: The combat system is just a piece of **** At the beginning of the game we are told that we have two ways to destroy enemies: in close combat or from a distance, with the help of shots. Hand-to-hand combat immediately disappears, because enemies do not just run away from you faster, but they also manage to shoot you. And the shooting ... she's just bad. While you are aiming at one of the opponents, the rest of the horde threw a bunch of ammo at you. Yes, yes, opponents of the whole horde. Still in the game there are somersaults, but they are absolutely useless, opponents get into you in 100% of cases. You look out for one second (I do not exaggerate), and twenty cartridges are flying at you. Shelters are made crooked, just crooked. They are inconvenient to use.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 98 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. 92
    Cole's powers are cool, the graphic novel cutscenes are stunning, the story is intriguing, and the city is alive.
  2. 86
    Most importantly, the movement and combat mechanics are fantastic, while the firefights (and the starring role of electricity) are a true spectacle. In this game the city is both your playground and your plaything, and you'll feel like a bad-ass.
  3. 90
    While not wholly original, the game's blend of open world ideals with superhero powers is done with a verve that’s unsurpassed, and the mesh of platforming and freeform combat is uniquely satisfying.