• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 26, 2009
inFamous Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 98 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1407 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A massive explosion rips through six square blocks of Empire City, leveling everything and everyone in its path. At the center of the blast crater a lone man stands up miraculously unharmed... gifted with incredible powers. From the creators of the award-winning Sly Cooper series, SuckerA massive explosion rips through six square blocks of Empire City, leveling everything and everyone in its path. At the center of the blast crater a lone man stands up miraculously unharmed... gifted with incredible powers. From the creators of the award-winning Sly Cooper series, Sucker Punch brings you inFAMOUS, the first open-world action/adventure title by SCEA for the PS3. Players experience what happens when a real person suddenly starts developing super powers. Exact revenge? Protect the innocent? Maybe a little of both? These are the situations you'll face as you play inside of a richly interactive and organic living city. A place where your actions create broader reactions in the citizens and landscape around you. inFAMOUS lets you unravel an evolving mystery, experience fame and/or infamy and battle powerful, iconic villains... all the while giving you the feeling of becoming a modern day superhero. [Sony] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. It's the quality of the central action in InFamous that I keep coming back to. Everything else would be fancy window dressing if Sucker Punch hadn't nailed the basic gameplay elements, the simple moving and shooting, as precisely as it did. InFamous feels like a game designed from the very ground up to be fun to play, so I guess it's no surprise that as soon as the credits finished rolling on my good version of Cole, I started up an evil one to play it all over again.
  2. 91
    Simply put, inFamous is the kind of game that when I'm not playing it, I'm constantly thinking about doing so. Heck, I already know what's going to happen right after I finish this sentence: I'm going to go back and play more as "superhero lightning cop" Cole.
  3. Incredible freedom of movement, intense combat, and an enthralling story make Infamous an impressive open-world action game.
  4. A sandbox game that turns you into a superhero, maybe, is a surprisingly entertaining jaunt despite it not immediately capturing our imagination. inFamous does a lot of things right.
  5. But the real reason to buy inFamous is that, regardless of your morality, it's just plain old fun being super-powered Cole in a city full of helpless mortals. And if you're a 360 owner lamenting the PS3 exclusivity, don't worry about it - just go pick up a copy of "Crackdown" instead.
  6. As frustrating as it can be to constantly have to keep your eye out for sources of electricity, the power it gives you is particularly enthralling. With an intriguing story and original, if painfully skillful, enemies, the game offers engagement through both narrative, likeable characters and respectable challenge.
  7. For everything Infamous does well there’s a counter-balance of agitating design decisions.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 321
  1. MatthewI.
    May 28, 2009
    10
    Well my vote is actually 9.5 but there is no option for that so i will round up. This game is extremely fun to play, but what would be even Well my vote is actually 9.5 but there is no option for that so i will round up. This game is extremely fun to play, but what would be even more fun is if there were different heroes you can play with, for example a physic or a flame bender or something. Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Maybe a little late reviewing this as it's been out for a couple of years but I just picked it up on a whim from the PSN "Welcome Back" packMaybe a little late reviewing this as it's been out for a couple of years but I just picked it up on a whim from the PSN "Welcome Back" pack (it was therefore free, therefore nothing to lose). OK, lets start with the bad. It does look a little dated, the graphics are a little ill-defined and could use some better anti-aliasing. Some of the voice acting is a bit stereotypical/dodgy and sometimes the "grab onto anything" parkour movement system can be a little iffy, sometimes you can't grab something you want to because you miss by a half inch and sometimes, like when you're trying to dodge a bulletstorm by jumping off a roof... you'll grab an edge and end up full of lead.

    HOWEVER, everything else about the game is brilliant - the parkour movement system (other than the odd foible) works very well, you can climb pretty much anything - you're a free-runner who can leap off tall buildings without suffering injury AND you can shoot "lightning bolts" out of your hands... what's not to love! So it's a little dated now, playability-wise it's probably still one of the best games going - it's just, well, fun - lots of fun. Definitely a game every PS3 owner should have - I'd give it a 95, closer to 10 than 9 anyway :)
    Expand
  3. VitaliV.
    May 28, 2009
    10
    More like 9.5. Overall an awesome game. Some minor flaws such as enemies half stuck in the wall after being defeated. What was most More like 9.5. Overall an awesome game. Some minor flaws such as enemies half stuck in the wall after being defeated. What was most surprising is the fact that you can't mindlessly jump in the middle of a group of enemies and expect to win which is often the case for these types of games. While the the choices for karma are obvious it is really tempting to use the evil side. Game is really enjoyable and from what I heard there are different cut scenes for both sides. So far I have not encountered any major slowdowns and/or glitches. Really a must buy if you are a fan of the genre and even if you're not definitely give it a try. Expand
  4. GregNahay
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    9.5! In Hd this title really shines. Unlike titles like Prototype that have no substance to the atmosphere and look like they take place in a9.5! In Hd this title really shines. Unlike titles like Prototype that have no substance to the atmosphere and look like they take place in a flat textured vacuum inFamous gives a better sense of distance and height than any other game I can think of. Add to that a great story and an in depth leveling system with meaningful options and you have the best single player game of 2009 to date Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    Very good game. Gameplay is very fun. Many cool and powerful powers The main story is good and there is many side quests. Negative things areVery good game. Gameplay is very fun. Many cool and powerful powers The main story is good and there is many side quests. Negative things are the animations. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    FUN GAME! but let down by the wonky camera, and the poor controls. the story is great and is a much have for PS3 owners. This is the reasonFUN GAME! but let down by the wonky camera, and the poor controls. the story is great and is a much have for PS3 owners. This is the reason why PS3 kicks ass. Uncharted, killzone, infamous, LBP. they're all great. the powers that cole has are very cool and it never got boring. the 2nd time through tho i got a little bored, which is a shame b/c it is supposed to be played through twice. still a great game looking forward to playing the 2nd one! :) Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2014
    0
    Finally beat this game; and let me tell you, IT SUCKS. The concept and potential of this game are incredible, even the story isn't all thatFinally beat this game; and let me tell you, IT SUCKS. The concept and potential of this game are incredible, even the story isn't all that bad. The thing that destroys this game from the inside out is the difficulty level, and the fact that it takes itself to seriously. The dialogue animations are laughably bad, the voice acting is sub-par or average at best. The difficulty is unREAL. I beat the game on Medium difficulty and it left me ripping my hair out and screaming into my couch cushions. The bosses aren't that bad, its the regular henchmen who are tough as **** This is especially prevalent later in the game, when the enemies can take **** tons of damage; then dish out **** tons. Combine this with the worst balance i've ever seen in a game, and the most unrefined controls imaginable and you have the perfect recipe for **** THIS GAME". There is a special place in hell for the developers of this game. Shockingly enough Infamous Second Son looks ridiculously awesome, so i'm still going to try it out. But at the end of the day, **** THIS GAME... Expand

See all 321 User Reviews