• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
Killzone 3 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1099 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killzone 3 is a sequel to the squad-based shooter series from SCEA.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Killzone 3 Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    100
    As good as Killzone 2 was, Killzone 3 tops it in every respect. The excellent PlayStation Move controls and stereoscopic 3D support certainly don't hurt either. So if you're looking for an intense and polished sci-fi first person shooter for the PlayStation 3, then Killzone 3 is obviously your game.
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is one spectacular game - sure, it's really only doing the basics in terms of gameplay, but it does it in the balls-to-the-walls, damn-the-expense, ultra-intensity manner that only a top-shelf, big-budget, mega-spectacular can.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    This third episode is more similar to the classical shooter of this generation than its prequel lacking some of the originality of the saga. It remains a major step from a tachnical point of view.
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    83
    There are reasons to choose this game over others in the field-namely the heavier-feeling physics, the visual design, and more thoughtful multiplayer options, but I question if it has a distinct enough identity to hold its own without reference or comparison to other titles.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Killzone 2 felt like a landmark event that finally gave the PlayStation 3 a world-class first-person shooter that you couldn't play anywhere else. After two years, Killzone 3 hasn't changed enough to reignite all of those feelings, but it's still a thrilling ride when you're alone and a well-designed multiplayer experience, as well.
  7. Mar 21, 2011
    50
    It's precise, practical, ticks boxes and has been too quick to shed its defining credentials; credentials that made the earlier games a must buy for any enthusiast. Killzone 3 feels generic, rushed and greatly unloved by its creators. A huge, huge disappointment.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 280
  1. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Even Better than killzone 2( which I put 250 hours into multiplayer). Killzone 3 just out classes every other fps in every way and form. IEven Better than killzone 2( which I put 250 hours into multiplayer). Killzone 3 just out classes every other fps in every way and form. I would recommend this to all. And to the reviewers saying the campaign isnt that great there full of it!, The campaign is full of all action and I couldnt stop playing it. 10/10 from me. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Pretty but boring.
    The designers obviously sat down & decided we have 2 have a stealth mission, a shooting from tank mission, a mech
    Pretty but boring.
    The designers obviously sat down & decided we have 2 have a stealth mission, a shooting from tank mission, a mech mission... & built the game from there & it cums across as a melding of parts rather than a coherent whole (always a problem with FPS excepting Halo 1, Half Life 1) but that's probably the RPGer in me.
    Graphics do not a good game make.
    Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield,kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    9
    OK, KIllzone 2 was great. Killzone 3 is neither better or worse. Graphically is slightly better due to the fact that they chose more colorsOK, KIllzone 2 was great. Killzone 3 is neither better or worse. Graphically is slightly better due to the fact that they chose more colors than just brown and orange. Sound effects and voice acting are still top notch, and the shooting is still unique to the series. My main complaint is the story this time around. it was freakishly weak, it felt like it was a story about politics instead of a war between two worlds. The multiplayer returned to rival that of other FPS in the market and its just as fun as it was in Killzone 2. Not as great as killzone 2, but still a good final product and its a must play atleast once. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2015
    8
    The game is fun, not like Killzone 2 but is good for end of the game! The story is pretty cool, the dialogues are well done very good actingThe game is fun, not like Killzone 2 but is good for end of the game! The story is pretty cool, the dialogues are well done very good acting voice! Highly recommend better than many FPS out there just clones.... Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Killzone 3 is easily the PS3's best console-exclusive shooter by a long shot. Combat is very raw and visceral, something that too manyKillzone 3 is easily the PS3's best console-exclusive shooter by a long shot. Combat is very raw and visceral, something that too many shooters are missing (albeit it can be a tad clunky at times). I haven't played a lot of multiplayer games on PS3 but out of them, this would be the best (don't particularly care for COD). Good variety of maps and a nice variant on the use of perks etc. Killzone 3 is definitely worth buying for its multiplayer. The single player campaign is also very enjoyable, taking the player through a variety of different locales (something sorely missing in K2), however the actual story and the characters are all quite forgettable. The friendly AI could also do with a bit of tweaking as sometimes they like to get in your way, forget to follow or just make a nuisance of themselves. It just doesn't have the same level of immersion as, dare I say it, Halo. Although it's definitely the PS3's best shooter, I wouldn't go as far to say it's a reason to buy a PS3, but definitely worth considering if you already own a PS3. All in all a very solid shooter but unfortunately it doesn't quite measure up to some of the Xbox exclusives such as Halo or Gears of War. Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    Another game series hits the dust. Guerrila had something unique with Killzone 2 and now Killzone 3 might as well be called Call of Killzone.Another game series hits the dust. Guerrila had something unique with Killzone 2 and now Killzone 3 might as well be called Call of Killzone. The community of this game will be even smaller than Killzone 2's in a few months. Horrible map design, horrible class design, horrible game design in general (Tactical spawn points, WTF!?) Summary: Horribly unbalanced multiplayer game with bad level and bad class design. Half the features from the original killzone 2 aren't even here anymore and the game has become a Call of Duty clone. Avoid at all costs. Expand

See all 280 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.