• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 22, 2011
Killzone 3 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1064 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Killzone 3 is a sequel to the squad-based shooter series from SCEA.
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Killzone 3 Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    100
    As good as Killzone 2 was, Killzone 3 tops it in every respect. The excellent PlayStation Move controls and stereoscopic 3D support certainly don't hurt either. So if you're looking for an intense and polished sci-fi first person shooter for the PlayStation 3, then Killzone 3 is obviously your game.
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    94
    Killzone 3 is one spectacular game - sure, it's really only doing the basics in terms of gameplay, but it does it in the balls-to-the-walls, damn-the-expense, ultra-intensity manner that only a top-shelf, big-budget, mega-spectacular can.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    90
    This third episode is more similar to the classical shooter of this generation than its prequel lacking some of the originality of the saga. It remains a major step from a tachnical point of view.
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    87
    Killzone 3 is ultimately a flawed yet stunning experience. It gets the production values and the intensity just right. If it lacks anything, it would be a bit of character but fans will find it absolutely thrilling while it lasts.
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    83
    There are reasons to choose this game over others in the field-namely the heavier-feeling physics, the visual design, and more thoughtful multiplayer options, but I question if it has a distinct enough identity to hold its own without reference or comparison to other titles.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    Killzone 2 felt like a landmark event that finally gave the PlayStation 3 a world-class first-person shooter that you couldn't play anywhere else. After two years, Killzone 3 hasn't changed enough to reignite all of those feelings, but it's still a thrilling ride when you're alone and a well-designed multiplayer experience, as well.
  7. Mar 21, 2011
    50
    It's precise, practical, ticks boxes and has been too quick to shed its defining credentials; credentials that made the earlier games a must buy for any enthusiast. Killzone 3 feels generic, rushed and greatly unloved by its creators. A huge, huge disappointment.

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 273
  1. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    You cannot argue with the storyline and graphics,Incredible.I liek how it starts right after the aftermath of the second game.In effort allYou cannot argue with the storyline and graphics,Incredible.I liek how it starts right after the aftermath of the second game.In effort all the Killzone games are epic and good.I give it a 10 for one of the best sequels of 2011. Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best game ever! Graphics, physics, shooting, everything! Very highly recommend ! This game has everything, playing in her pleasure. Multiplayer is a mega playable, . Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield,kloborgg, kyo1980, and xbox360 users this is how i feel. looking at every fps to hit the market in recent memory ....black ops, battlefield, medal of honor.... can killzone3 compete...yes....enough to spend 65$ ...yes.... i don't play fps very well... ok i stink...so botzone is fine by me that make me feel the online experience without getting 1 billion deaths... the game reminds me of halo and halo 2, because of its other world planetary atmosphere...the graphics are awesome, there is junk flying and swirling around you... plus the people big enough i can see and identify what i need to plus the enemies ....the story is as long as everybody else so i really can't mark it down for that.... killzone3 is actually a 9.25 maybe 9.5.... its helped out by being interesting enough to make me want it, and being accessible enough so that even with my suckiness i can play a first person shooter to...and understand what i'm doing ...the little reticule that tells you where you need to go is smart...i'm usually overwhelmed and confused by fps...the GRAPHICS ARE REMARKABLE...explosion and sound are on point... multiplayer connects fine runs fine, loud obnoxious people lol...botzone is sweet...level design is nice... game is 9.25 because i enjoy it 10... it rocks....i am amending my review to add in obvious xbox360 fanboy hatred...metacritic did remove the zero scores however, kloborgg your review bothers me...you only compare killzone 3 to other similar games but seem to forget its its on universe...its not halo, or black ops so if killzone 1 and 2 didn't have 1000 weapons why would killzone 3 ? they also wear bodysuits, black ops and battfield don't maybe that explains the slowness...you have only reviewed 2 games 1 on xbox360 halo you gave a 10... wow on pc. a 10...suddenly your in ps3 giving killzone 3 a 6...your halo review insults halo...your killzone 3 review insults halo yet you gave it a perfect score...you attacked every component of killzone 3 listing it as inferior...that smells of ps3 hatred......like you said at the end of your halo review if you was going to dislike us anyway...hate our game, try and nitpick it, and clown its scores with trash....nobody at sony said its the best fps ever as you claim...like you said leave us alone... killzone 3 is a highly worthy threequel and your reviews along with the three removed 0's is just hatred and spite...nothing you said gives ANY indications you were after any other verdict....botzone is included for people like me...you asked i'm answering Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2014
    9
    This review is based on the CAMPAGIN and core functions of gameplay.
    Pros:
    - Amazing graphics, shows what a PS3 can do, it's absolutely jaw
    This review is based on the CAMPAGIN and core functions of gameplay.
    Pros:
    - Amazing graphics, shows what a PS3 can do, it's absolutely jaw dropping at times.
    - tight fast gameplay, everything is as good as it's competitors, everything precise.
    - 10hrs in length with awesome levels
    - sound of guns and effects are great, voice acting is average.
    - great animations when reloading, running etc feels like a person with its heavy but agile feel.
    - challenging and smart A.I
    - great cast of characters.

    Cons:
    - cant throw back enemy grenades (like COD) would've of been useful
    - cover system while good, you can't run into cover, you have to go next to it, then crouch. You can't crouch into it. Needs a tune up, if it's more like Far cry 3 were its free flowing then that would be great.

    Side note:
    - to keep up with competitors it needs to add survival co op modes, that support split screen to add the value to this game. That supports both offline and online like COD.
    Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2011
    8
    9.5, absolutely... breathtaking. graphics, animation, cutscenes just beautiful. must buy dammnit!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    This is futuristic First Person Shooter game which is exclusive to the Playstation 3 gaming console. It strongest part is the onlineThis is futuristic First Person Shooter game which is exclusive to the Playstation 3 gaming console. It strongest part is the online component of the game. The most played mode (i assume) it is called warzone. In this mode you are part of a 12 player team against another 12 player team, and the battle consist of several objectives, like assassination (you have to kill a specific person in the other team, or defend it if he or she is on your team) or "search and destroy" in which you have to set bombs (or defend) on specific sites of the enemy terrain, in total there are 5 mission objectives.

    The negative part about multiplayer is map rotation. The problem is that if you have buy extra maps you can get stock playing on those maps for hours ( i don't know if the game developers already fix it). Also the team size have been reduced from 16 players (in Killzone 2) to 12 in Killzone 3. The frame rate is a little bit slow (maybe 24-30 frames per second). Other significant loss from Killzone 2 is that now there are not specific game rooms (like dedicated servers). The campaign is not that great, the story is a little bit to generic and weak, but it has great moments. In the graphic department, this game is one of the best looking PS3 games available, and for now (i wrote this on march 19 2012) there are still a lot of people playing online.
    Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    Another game series hits the dust. Guerrila had something unique with Killzone 2 and now Killzone 3 might as well be called Call of Killzone.Another game series hits the dust. Guerrila had something unique with Killzone 2 and now Killzone 3 might as well be called Call of Killzone. The community of this game will be even smaller than Killzone 2's in a few months. Horrible map design, horrible class design, horrible game design in general (Tactical spawn points, WTF!?) Summary: Horribly unbalanced multiplayer game with bad level and bad class design. Half the features from the original killzone 2 aren't even here anymore and the game has become a Call of Duty clone. Avoid at all costs. Expand

See all 273 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.