User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 208

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    HD and Nostalgia? What else could you want.... The love and passion in the story is breathtaking. Sure the game has some things that could have been modernized a bit, or added in in the CGI area but it's nothing short of spectacular.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Still an amazing game, and even better now that it's in HD. Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD Remix retains all the wonderfulness that it did 11 years ago. I was very much impressed with the game visually, as many of the rough edges have been smoothed over with an HD finish that makes the game look much better. I would have been content with it just being Kingdom Hearts 1, but it's also Re:Chain of Memories, and the cutscenes of 358/2 Days redone in HD, both of which are very welcome additions. This is also the first time Kingdom Hearts Final Mix has come to the states making this game even more appealing, with a few added cutscenes, different textures for many heartless, an extra secret boss, and even an extra secret ending. The ONLY problem I have with the game is that they still haven't fixed the camera, which will sometimes leave you unable to see what you're fighting, however they did move the camera controls to the right analog stick instead of the shoulder buttons which is a welcome change. It wasn't so bad though that it prevented me from enjoying the game thoroughly and giving it a 10/10 Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Game is everything it was and then some. The updated graphics make everything feel smooth and the overall gameplay feels better with the improvements. One of the things I am most happy to see is simply the new action button being triangle like 2 instead of having the attack switch to it. Wish I could actually play 358/2 days but hearing the story was fun too. Hopefully enix will release KH2 final mix with BBS and maybe D3 with it as well. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm astonished to find that the first Kingdom Hearts' gameplay still holds up after more than a decade. I have played only a few HD remakes in the past, but this one is simply remarkable. It's also important to note that this is an HD version of KH Final Mix. For those that don't know what that means, Final Mix versions of KH games include new abilities, weapons, a new secret boss, and heartless have a different skin than the original. This might not be a huge deal, but huge Kingdom Hearts fans have been waiting for this for years. As I said earlier, the gameplay holds up well even by modern standards and fighting feels responsive.

    The other titles in the package are also very well polished. Chain of memories is one of my favorite titles in the series and it marks the first appearance of the Organization. Using cards to fight might be weird at first, but after a while you begin to love the strategic element of cancelling your opponent's cards and using sleights to take down bosses. This game has some really cool boss fights comparable to KH2.

    Some may find that 358/2 Days being unplayable is disappointing. However, I believe that it is the weakest title in the series gameplay wise. The story I found very emotional, so I was happier than most when I found out it is only in theater format. I found the DS version to be a drag to play through and only the story kept me playing. What I am really trying to get across is if you have never played 358/2 Days, you are not missing out on anything. Just watch the movie and enjoy the magic. You are experiencing this story in a better format than the DS game.

    Final thoughts:

    This is HD remake done right. Square has taken 3 amazing titles and packaged it into one low cost disc. I hope other developers take note of what Square Enix has done with KH 1.5
    Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Great compilation with the first game of the franchise and one of the best games of PS2. Besides Chain of Memories and 358/2 days, very important games that connects with Kingdom Hearts II (2.5 HD remix in 2014!). Must buy for fans and JRPG lovers.
  6. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    This is the absolute best form of this game...if you've been meaning to replay it or have never played it there is no reason not to get this version! Any review that says they didn't add enough or that it isn't fresh (i'm looking at you Toronto Sun!) is absolutely silly...it's like releasing a classic movie on DVD or Blu-Ray for the first time and giving it a bad review because they didn't add newly shot scenes or redo the special effects etc...it doesn't make any sense!!!! It's a chance for a new audience to get ahold of an enhanced version of a CLASSIC (and why would we want classics altered? remember STAR WARS). ok there it is... Collapse
  7. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    Kingdom Hearts has always been one of my favorite games of all time and it's great to see it as polished up as it is. There's a ton of content to be had and it's especially great that they seem to give newcomers and veterans alike a chance to start (or restart) their journey to Kingdom Hearts 3. It's a great polish to one of my favorite games. Definitely Recommended!
  8. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    This is quite possibly the best HD collection to come out for the PS3 i mean without this game the PS2 would never been what it was now of course there are many bad things about it but you have to give it some slack there are only so many things they can improve about two games from the early to mid 2000's and one game from the DS. I've read some of the more worse reviews on here such as Emporia's, Spizer's, or JohnnySnowstorm's and they just don't take that into account, even some of the critic reviews too such as the Toronto Sun.But if you push away the bad things like the bad camera angles and the facial expressions out of cut-scenes you have one of the greatest jewels of PS2 gaming. Kingdom Hearts Final Mix has a great story, beautiful graphics, and a great combat system.Now onto Kingdom Hearts:Chain of Memories this game is the game in the series was the worst of the bunch the card break system gets quite annoying and tedious and the story lacks what it needs to draw in the player.A good plot.But nevertheless it is still a pretty good game.And the first one to come out on to a handheld system, Kingdom Hearts 358/2 days probably the worst of the handheld Kingdom Hearts and i say that for one reason and on reason only.The gameplay can get very repetitive with the new combat menu but still the story is great with new HD cut-scenes so yaaaay less reading! So yeah if you pass by this game definitly pick it up its very well worth it. Expand
  9. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    I have never played Kingdom Hearts before, but now it was an incredible experience on Ps3. If you have a playstation, then it is (and the 2.5 remix) a must-have. I'm really happy, that they've released this game for the current gen.
  10. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Great HD remake of kingdom hearts. If you've played it before then you'll know what to expect and for those that haven't, this would be a great time to jump. The graphics definitely look nicer and it's really great that they bundled the in between games especially for people like me who aren't fans of little spin off games that come out for the handhelds. Mostly because that means I have to buy handheld or other platform to play and I rather just stick to the main story. With this 1,5 remix though I can experience those spin off games as well as refresh my memory on the main story and prepare for KH3. It's a shame they didn't do anything about the camera though as it still feels to close to the character and sometimes you'll have a problem seeing things or the enemy but it's nothing new that you haven't experienced before if you've played it for PS2 and there aren't any new problems which is a big plus. For 40$ though it's a bit pricey so I highly recommend getting it on special like I did for 20$. Expand
  11. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing
    I remember being a young kid playing the first kingdom hearts and I get the same thrill playing this remake.
    People have said that is the same game but what they fail to grasp is that this is the final mix edition which unless you utorrented it or emulated it, there was no way to play the final mix version. This is the first time that a final mix was brought to North
    America and it offers so much more to the game. To top it off, the graphics are great. I love this game and though I have drifted away from gaming, there are certain franchises I am still a die hard fan for. with that being said, my view is most likely bias but, kingdom hearts is my most favorite game franchise to ever been made, and this remake did not disappoint me one bit. Expand
  12. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Everything done to a immensely high standard, whoever approved the idea of having the Kingdom Hearts series HD re-released is awesome. Unlike many games this was just as amazing and captivating playing it now as it was playing it for the first time. Masterpiece.
    Admittedly the "movie" segment of the collection is quite boring in that format, however i don't think that should take away
    from the other 2 games. Expand
  13. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games growing up I am extremely glad that they decided to remaster this game. This bundle is a great way to get the core story of kingdom hearts without having to own multiple portables and consoles since the events of 365 and Birth by sleep are added in a convenient, yet very angst filled cinematic. The kingdom hearts 1 and 2 have aged well in most areas with the exception of the gummy ship which still feels sluggish at best. I don't see the wonky camera as an issue since I manually control it. Expand
  14. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, the best HD port so far on any console. The nostalgia is thick, the feeling is magic. I remembered these games fondly and today that feeling is only strengthened. Although the games shows its age graphically and gameplay aspects, its a welcome return of an older RPG. I don't know what people expected, complaining about parts of the game such as camera angles and visuals. Its game over 10 years old. You have to respect the amount of work and difficulty into porting a game like that with a facelift and three entire stories all onto the PS3. Its to be commended. The graphics are beautiful with their new lick of paint, although its more noticeable in Chain Of Memories, Final Mix is still one of the best games released. Really looking forward to the future of the franchise, and hopefully a HD Remix 2.5. Expand
  15. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Kingdom Hearts holds up very well. This game was amazing back when it came out, now that it is updated with HD textures and more moves and weapons have been added, it is even better today. This game is a must have for everyone!
  16. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    i love kingdom hearts.actually kingdom hearts the most amazing game ever ,everyone should play it ^_^
    thanks to the creatures im so exiting for Kingdom hearts 3
  17. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Kingdom hearts 1.5 is a must have for any fan of the franchise, (especially if you live in Europe). Kingdom hearts final mix adds a lot to the original game, (but the platforming jumps are still horrible) and re chain of memories is amazing. However, the best thing about it is the 358/2 days feature. It is a 2 hour complimation of cutscenes that tells the story of 358/2 days with new voice acting and amazing hd cutscenes. Expand
  18. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Starting to play now I was waiting for the last game on ps3 cd then realise was a story...but starting to play number 1 till 2...merry Christmas everyone
  19. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    Amazing... enough said... people say graphics are outdated. not needed in this game graphics are just fine. if your looking at my review I'm not going spoil it just play the dam game and complete it. amazing story that brings back so many memories from my childhood when watching Walt Disney. and also the amazing Square Enix who developed final fantasy. it well deserves 10/10 and all other kingdom hearts games. Expand
  20. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    This is the absolute best form of this game...if you've been meaning to replay it or have never played it there is no reason not to get this version! Any review that says they didn't add enough or that it isn't fresh (i'm looking at you Toronto Sun!) is absolutely silly...it's like releasing a classic movie on DVD or Blu-Ray for the first time and giving it a bad review because they didn't add newly shot scenes or redo the special effects etc...it doesn't make any sense!!!! It's a chance for a new audience to get ahold of an enhanced version of a CLASSIC (and why would we want classics altered? remember STAR WARS). ok there it is... Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    60
    Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD Remix will probably not convince non-fans of the series. It’s the same type of cozy Disney/Square-Enix mix as always but also with the same type of bad controls and unbalanced difficulty level as the original.
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    The Kingdom Hearts series has aged and this just doesn't feel as much fun as it used to do. But if you're a fan, this is still worth checking out.
  3. An HD remake of the highest order. [Dec 2013, p.84]