• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2012
LittleBigPlanet Karting Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Race through your favourite themes from the world of LittleBigPlanet, using a variety of gadgets to bounce, grapple or grab your way into 1st place. Battle your friends online via PSN or in split-screen mode, complete challenges or dive into the community to discover new player-created tracks.
Buy On
  • Developer: Media Molecule, United Front Games
  • Genre(s): Driving, Racing, Arcade, Kart, Kart, Automobile
  • # of players: Up to 8
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E
  • Special Controllers: Move Compatible
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Summer Sports - LittleBigPlanet Karting Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 69
  2. Negative: 3 out of 69
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    94
    The stupid grins on our faces, the uncontrollable laughs and the humming of the music long after the race was over, show that his game is fun right through to its adorable little core.
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    85
    LittleBigPlanet Karting is the first racer in the LBP universe and it's immediately a success. The game is varied, filled with fun races and other gameplay aspects. The level editor works great, increasing the score even more. The only negative point we could find was the lack of challenge in the single-player, which is fortunately the only negative point.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    Despite the fact the developer only uses three different concepts and truly creative and innovative levels rarely race you by, LitteBigPlanet Karting is still a very fun game. The diversity of worlds is impressive and using gadgets of the LittleBigPlanet world make the game feel refreshing. On top of that the creation mode is an absolute joy to play around with.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    79
    United Front Games has done a phenomenal job of re-creating the look and feel of the Craftworld while applying its kart racing expertise with imaginative tracks and responsive controls. And the Create mode is nothing short of stunning, even if I don't have the patience for it. Depending on how the community of players respond, it might be the only kart racing game you'll ever need.
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    70
    Fans of LittleBigPlanet will surely enjoy LittleBigPlanet Karting, as it manages to take the essence of Media Molecule's platforming joy and translate that into a solid and enjoyable kart racer, with all the charm you would expect. It's a shame the developers felt that they needed to take every aspect of LittleBigPlanet and use that as a base to create this game, as it has hurt it in some regards and has made the online multiplayer an awkward mode to participate in.
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    If you can look past the fact that it's essentially ModNation Racers with a Sackboy-colored coat of paint, LittleBigPlanet Karting is an enjoyable enough vehicular romp. Still, it's hard to shake the sense that United Front has already made this game once-and they did it better the first time.
  7. Hyper Magazine
    Jan 24, 2013
    40
    Clunky, unpolished and altogether flimsy. [Feb 2013, p.73]

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Anybody who enjoys kart racing needs to pick this game up. Don't fall into the trap of negative critics. This game is packed with greatAnybody who enjoys kart racing needs to pick this game up. Don't fall into the trap of negative critics. This game is packed with great levels, an online community which is already recreating our Mario Kart favorites, and familiar mechanics for anybody who has 2 hands. This is a game you can play with advanced gamers, girlfriends, wives, and children. With tons of collectables and different kinds of battle levels, you'll get plenty of replayability in this game. I know my family is loving it! Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I think that this game is great! A lot of games now are competitive but this game brings you back to the noncompetitive, sure its challengingI think that this game is great! A lot of games now are competitive but this game brings you back to the noncompetitive, sure its challenging but it almost never makes you rage. The level building system is great! Tutorials are spot on. It can be hard to make a level but that just shows how much of YOU, you put in the level. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    I was really skeptical about this game at first. I didn't think that it would have the look and feel of an authentic LBP game. Boy was II was really skeptical about this game at first. I didn't think that it would have the look and feel of an authentic LBP game. Boy was I wrong. The narration, music, and style is all authentic LBP. Once I played the beta that this game would deliver and it did. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    This is what you get when you take the charm and creative tools at the heart of the LittleBigPlanet series and put them into a kart racer.This is what you get when you take the charm and creative tools at the heart of the LittleBigPlanet series and put them into a kart racer. Fantastic and adorable graphics, an insane amount of creation tools, and plenty of modes both online and off. Truly this is a great kart racer. As always the insane amount user created content is a heck of a lot of fun to play with and can give you some great ideas for creations of your own. It's a great game but it does have some issues.

    Long and frequent load times, an overly talkative narrator, and a lackluster soundtrack do bring the experience down a little. The biggest flaw the game has though is the now dead online multiplayer. I couldn't find a match online where most of the racers weren't bots. Still if you can get your friends together multiplayer can still be a blast. Like I said before these issues do bring down the experience, but they don't ruin it.

    If you're looking for a charming kart racer that lets your imagination soar. You can spend countless hours with the creation tools and not even touch the story mode or multiplayer. Part of what makes this game so enjoyable is the charm of the LittleBigPlanet series. One of the most impressive parts of the game is that it doesn't feel like a spin-off from the series, but rather a full-fledged entry in the LBP series.
    Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2019
    7
    Si bien es una copia de Modnation Racers y el modo de un jugador pudo haberse expandido, la personalizacion es asombrosa y el poder crear tusSi bien es una copia de Modnation Racers y el modo de un jugador pudo haberse expandido, la personalizacion es asombrosa y el poder crear tus armas va de la mano con la creatividad del juego. Expand
  6. May 18, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    Would be a decent game if the online-play with a friend would work without causing multiple freezing and booting issues. This was NOT worthWould be a decent game if the online-play with a friend would work without causing multiple freezing and booting issues. This was NOT worth $60 when i bought it day one which irks me to give this a 0, which is something i will rarely do.

    The creator was just okay, many on here are over reacting to it. It's pretty generic after awhile as everyone's courses have started to look the same. And the story is bland and boring.
    Expand

See all 55 User Reviews