Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 9, 2014
    90
    In no way should that inevitable feeling stop your from playing this, though. The joy you’ll find from the craziest dogfight you’ve ever engaged in will far out weigh the point when you will want to put it down. So suit up, and when you’re ready, press up to Raus.
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    90
    Luftrausers has been a long time coming, but it doesn’t disappoint one little bit. The title is cross-buy, and whilst it is great on the PS3 and the big screen, it is yet another Indie title that has found a home on the Vita and it really is the perfect fit.
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    90
    Hearkening back to a bygone era of simple-yet-deep arcade games where you played for score, not story, Luftrausers takes basic ideas in concept and execution and turns them into hours of challenging, chaotic fun.
  4. Apr 2, 2014
    85
    A fantastic little gem from a little Dutch developing studio... It's only got one level, true, but it's replay value is uncanny, and gameplay and level design form a superb tag team.
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    85
    Luftrausers is one of the most satisfying, enthralling arcade shooters to hit the market in recent memory.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    82
    Luftrausers demands nerves and lightning-fast reactions, but rewards for that. [Apr 2014]
  7. Games Master UK
    May 4, 2014
    80
    Highly addictive, carefully crafted, and insane in all the right ways. Another slice of indie excellence. [June 2014, p.75]
  8. 80
    Luftrausers is a fast-paced and enjoyable shooter, though doesn't have the lasting appeal to keep you coming back for more.
  9. Mar 31, 2014
    80
    Luftrausers is the very definition of replayable insanity. It’s difficult,intense and feels smooth when you master the controls. And yet you’ll come back for more in a new and improved Rauser time after time, with the constant flow of action never getting old.
  10. Mar 20, 2014
    80
    The spirit of the arcade will never die thanks to games like this, as Vlambeer demonstrate their mastery of minimalist action.
  11. Mar 19, 2014
    80
    But once you start flying one of Luftrausers' myriad ship types around its war-torn skies, something takes hold of you. Hours pass as you mix and match weapons and engines and body types, chasing after difficult goals, elusive blimps, and an ever-higher score.
  12. Mar 18, 2014
    80
    Luftrausers is a tremendously well polished action arcade package.
  13. Play UK
    May 2, 2014
    79
    Looks cool, plays well and is fun for a while. [Issue#243, p.66]
  14. Mar 27, 2014
    73
    Interesting, fun and fresh, it's not the ultimate action game, but definitely a good choice.
  15. Mar 18, 2014
    70
    It may be a simple package on the surface, but Luftrausers will have you taking to the skies again and again.
  16. Mar 25, 2014
    60
    Old school dogfighting that's best in short bursts. Luftrausers boasts easy controls and retro visuals, but lacks the range and depth to keep you up in the air for a long period of time.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 51
  2. Negative: 8 out of 51
  1. Nov 27, 2014
    6
    A rather retro feeling arcade game. The 2D shoot em' up, dogfight style gameplay can be quite fun. There are plenty of unlockable parts whichA rather retro feeling arcade game. The 2D shoot em' up, dogfight style gameplay can be quite fun. There are plenty of unlockable parts which means you can create an aircraft that suits how you play. There are objectives that you must tackle in order to get these parts and it can be quite the entertaining high-score kind of game.

    I feel that not having the ability to cross-save between the PS3 and Vita is a missed opportunity. The gameplay and everything is solid, but overall it just didn't hold my attention for long. It's one I can see myself picking up every now and then when I've got nothing better to do and just playing around with it for a bit. However when I'm looking to put some time into gaming I see myself passing this one up in favor of deeper and more gripping gaming experiences. Perhaps because of that is why it feels more at home on the Vita.

    Overall it's solid and can be entertaining in short bursts. I know there's definitely a crowd out there who will eat this up. For me though it's a rather disposable experience. One that I goofed around with for a bit before moving on to bigger and better things. It provided some decent entertainment for a short period of time, but I quickly found myself done with it. My total score for the game is a 6.7/10.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    pretty fun little arcade game. way easier to control the planes on ps3 than on the vita. really appreciate the cross buy! lot's of peoplepretty fun little arcade game. way easier to control the planes on ps3 than on the vita. really appreciate the cross buy! lot's of people knock the vita but i'm super happy with it. *shrug*

    this is a nice game to throw on while a friend is over for a little bit, or to fill a small gap of time. not really something i could see myself playing for more than about 20 minutes at a time. but that's fine. enjoyable for what it is. definitely worth picking up on sale imho. or if you're bored and want a time killer.
    Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2016
    10
    Addiction defined. Love this little game. Great sound. Great gameplay. Few games can get my heart pumping like this one. Love the 30 secondAddiction defined. Love this little game. Great sound. Great gameplay. Few games can get my heart pumping like this one. Love the 30 second gameplay style. Play. Die. Play again. Extremely hard to live past 1 minute. But your efforts are never wasted. You xp level is always progressing. Full Review »