User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ClaudellB.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Great game play. This game just scratches the surface of what the PS3 can do and it still is something to be in awe of. The graphics, the gameplay and the options. 10 rating from me!
  2. KikiK.
    Jul 22, 2007
    2
    Awful game. Anyone who gives this a 10 has never played football in their life. Why can't I complete along pass if my personnel is vastly superior to the opossition's? Why is playing defense like watching an ugly flower bloom? It takes as long and the payoff is the same. Why does my offensive line give me no time to pass even though their playing against a 1-AA team? Hmm. Awful game. Anyone who gives this a 10 has never played football in their life. Why can't I complete along pass if my personnel is vastly superior to the opossition's? Why is playing defense like watching an ugly flower bloom? It takes as long and the payoff is the same. Why does my offensive line give me no time to pass even though their playing against a 1-AA team? Hmm. I'd rather play on 04 on the Ps2. I hate you EA. I always think your games will get better but the never do, They never do. Shame on me. Expand
  3. JohnK.
    Jul 30, 2007
    9
    This game is tons of fun! If you like college football, and are familiar with the Madden control scheme, you will love this game! Although it may be 30 fps on the PS3 vs. 60 fps on the X-Box, it does not appear graphically very different at all (maybe minute differences). Game play is fantastic and very realistic. This is a great football game, and has a much better TV-style presentation This game is tons of fun! If you like college football, and are familiar with the Madden control scheme, you will love this game! Although it may be 30 fps on the PS3 vs. 60 fps on the X-Box, it does not appear graphically very different at all (maybe minute differences). Game play is fantastic and very realistic. This is a great football game, and has a much better TV-style presentation (compared to Madden's "tin can" radio announcer that really gets on my nerves), plus the music is just college fight songs so you don't have to listen to the Madden Rap! Great game! Expand
  4. Rudy
    Aug 1, 2007
    8
    Very good game with a good foundation towards the future. Still missing features (like extra camera angles) that the current gen game has and a few issues with the gameplay but its a solid title. Very different in feel from the PS2 version as its more realistic and defensive oriented that newbies will have to get used to. The game grows on you and is worthy of a purchase. The 30 fps Very good game with a good foundation towards the future. Still missing features (like extra camera angles) that the current gen game has and a few issues with the gameplay but its a solid title. Very different in feel from the PS2 version as its more realistic and defensive oriented that newbies will have to get used to. The game grows on you and is worthy of a purchase. The 30 fps isn't bad but its not as good as the 360 version which is super smooth. Expand
  5. BobtheBuilder
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Very good game for fans of college football, yes there is room for improvement but the game is fun none the less, a must have for sports fans.
  6. JohnS.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Loved the game. Very good legend mode. Complete game, perfect for the ps3 in every way.
  7. DominiqueA.
    Aug 2, 2007
    7
    While it is still a good game several things are missing to make it a top game. Here are a few of them. I almost only played Campus Legend mode but I've seen enough to have a good impression on the game: - In campus Legend, it really getting boring to practice the same kind of play over and over. Plus when you are #1 on the depth chart, you just sims to the evening even. -Talking While it is still a good game several things are missing to make it a top game. Here are a few of them. I almost only played Campus Legend mode but I've seen enough to have a good impression on the game: - In campus Legend, it really getting boring to practice the same kind of play over and over. Plus when you are #1 on the depth chart, you just sims to the evening even. -Talking about evening event, it is ridicuslously repetitive and the outcome 9 times out of 10 is the same. So you just learn which choice is the optimal choice and then you take it. -If you sim the evening event, thesystem will not make good choice and you'll be soon in trouble with your GPA. Watch out for that! -Buggy, buggy, buggy. I can't remember a single game that I've noticed that many bug: plays in the playbook that are not the ones played on the field, collisions detection that are sometime inexistant, visors on player that appears and disappear on the same sequence, game freezing for an undetermine d period of time, injured players that their status is not displayed after the injury and the most annoying one -> The Pontiac Summary drive that sometimes shows up about 2-3 times each plays! -Really suspect playcalling in legend mode -Commentators have a lot to say but... as always, after a couple of games, you'll get tired of hearing the same thing over and over again. A big plus would be to make some commentaries between the preivous games played, in a dynasty mode or in campus legend. I can't believe no one ever thought to make this at this time. -In Campus Legend, I would have liked to watch the plays of the defense instead of simulating them until the next offensive drive... That would have been nice. -ESPN.com is a great addition but I think it could be a little more interesting... Like footage or interview -Coach movements in Capus Legend mode is absent. Looking at my offensive coordinator, I would have fired him couple of times -The lack of possibility to create 2 Campus Legend on the same team (1 offense, 1 defense) -The lack of possibility to advance to the next month in the calendar mode.. You have to simulate the last day of each month to make it advance to the next one. -ESPN Radio is quite repetitive.. More content please! -Graphics are good on the field but the people on the side line and in the crowd are better than last year but still when a on a close up shoot, you can see that there is 2 types of pants (blue pants and green pants) for 70 000 people in the stadium. Plus it doesn't look like there are any women in the stadium! I might sound like I didn't like the game but I really like it. I just wish that it would have been more polished before it was released. I can't wait to see madden! Expand
  8. BrianT.
    Dec 2, 2007
    5
    I agree w/ what a lot of ppl have said about this game. I know what to expect with NCAA; it seems EA never comes out with greatness -- just the same stuff. I hate how I have no time to throw the ball, even against 1-AA teams. I hate it when I throw a ball right to a defender he drops it, but when i throw it way out of his reach the defense makes insane catches that are so unrealistic. I I agree w/ what a lot of ppl have said about this game. I know what to expect with NCAA; it seems EA never comes out with greatness -- just the same stuff. I hate how I have no time to throw the ball, even against 1-AA teams. I hate it when I throw a ball right to a defender he drops it, but when i throw it way out of his reach the defense makes insane catches that are so unrealistic. I hate how my team averages 4 fumbles a game. I can't qb sneak on third and inches becuz i'll fumble. Just takes the fun out of it. Expand
  9. Mr.Football
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    Best graphics of any football game to date (on PS3). Graphics are not as good on XBOX 360. Game play has improved a little. The defense is a little smarted than in the past. Game play is a little more realistic. Don't like the celebrations after almost every other play.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. For all that it does right, perhaps it’s telling that this series has improved its presentation off of the field, while still lacking some of it on the field. It’s these kind of intangibles (and those above) that need to be addressed to unify all of NCAA’s elements – as well as some of them are done – to create the ultimate college football experience.
  2. 78
    Running at 30 frames per second and only 720p makes this a graphically inferior title to the 360 version of the game, which is truly unfortunate, since the game is quite good otherwise.
  3. Even though a lot of what's new is a bit rough around the edges, NCAA Football 08 is a great game with a lot to offer.