Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 389 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The setting is Neo-Paris, 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded. The last remnants of privacy and intimacy have been swept away in what seems to be a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the turn of the 21st century. The citizens haveThe setting is Neo-Paris, 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded. The last remnants of privacy and intimacy have been swept away in what seems to be a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the turn of the 21st century. The citizens have acquiesced to this surveillance society in exchange for the comfort only smart technology can provide. This memory economy transfers immense power over society to just a few people. Remember Me is a third-person action adventure in which players assume the role of Nilin, a former elite memory hunter with the ability to infiltrate people’s minds and steal or even alter their memories. The authorities, fearful of her knowledge and powers arrested Nilin and wiped her memory clean. After her escape from prison, Nilin embarks on a mission to recover her identity, helped by her last and only friend. This search for her past leads to her being hunted by the very people that created this surveillance society. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    93
    As the credits roll on this 11 hour journey, I’m pleasantly surprised to see such a great title come out of a brand new studio. The team at DONTNOD Entertainment have brought something unique to the table, giving us not only beautiful graphics and incredible sound, but also a new combat approach wrapped around a very engaging storyline.
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Moments like convincing a police officer to commit suicide because you made him think he murdered his girlfriend prove that Remember Me belongs in the top league of video games. Too bad that Dontnod does not fully capitalize on these moments by limiting your options when remixing memories. [July 2013, p.86]
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    74
    The least interesting bits make up the bulk. Still, Remember Me's world is hard to forget. [Aug 2013, p.63]
  5. 70
    Remember Me is a good game, with several good ideas, but unfortunately these ideas have little ambition.
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    69
    Remember Me aims high but sadly falls well shy of the intended goal.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    50
    As it stands, Remember Me is a series of mediocre gameplay ideas stapled to a pretty, hollow shell.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 101
  2. Negative: 10 out of 101
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain 10 because of graffiti everywhere 10 because of
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain
    10 because of graffiti everywhere
    10 because of the innovations in gameplay
    10 because we have to support indy games
    Interactive movie from a great director!
    You need to exprerience it
    Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This game surprised me. I started playing it with low hopes, but now, I can't keep my controller down. I love everything about this game. TheThis game surprised me. I started playing it with low hopes, but now, I can't keep my controller down. I love everything about this game. The game world is fully realized and its beautiful to look at. The storyline is unique and keeps me entertained. The gameplay is fun with the pressen and power ups. I enjoy the linearity of the game because I feel there is a story to tell and they want to keep on that one path. No probs for me because the story is great. Overall, a fun game! Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    If you play games because you want to be immersed in a world, then you cannot miss this one. Visually It is absolutely incredible. It'sIf you play games because you want to be immersed in a world, then you cannot miss this one. Visually It is absolutely incredible. It's strengths far outweigh its weaknesses. Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    remember me is a game that play's very well. And every sci-fi fan should play it. The story keeps you going till the end of the game andremember me is a game that play's very well. And every sci-fi fan should play it. The story keeps you going till the end of the game and dosent make You tired. The combo system is Fun and tactical. Remember me is a great new game which offers a good story, a rare to find combat system, boss fights, action and graphics. I was lookin out to this game the same way after playing the demo for mass effect 2. I wanted to know what happens next! Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    After playing Cyberpunk 2077 I have to say this game was a big unoriginal. The technology which is used within the game resembles Mass Effect,After playing Cyberpunk 2077 I have to say this game was a big unoriginal. The technology which is used within the game resembles Mass Effect, the gameplay itself resembles any basic action/adventure, and the originality of the story is obviously a stolen idea from other sources. Needless to say, the game was still entertaining. The graphics are very nice, the music is on par with internet radio, the character design is fantastic as are the voice actors chosen for the characters. Whilst the game does not have the most extensive gameplay or the longest storyline, it is still worth playing.

    One a side note, as a memory you get to dive in to peoples minds. These sequences can be tedious and at times very boring. Yet, you can go forward and backward in peoples memories over and over to the point of just looking at the victims naughty parts.

    This game is good, not great, and could have have much more features. This game might be exactly what you are looking for. A game with a hot cyberpunk chick who kicks ass and takes memories.
    Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    I will admit I was excited for this game. I felt it would have been a create mix between Assassin's Creed (for the climbing and going afterI will admit I was excited for this game. I felt it would have been a create mix between Assassin's Creed (for the climbing and going after high valued targets seemed to be indicative of this), Batman Arkham Asylum/City (the fighting style seemed to resemble this), and Deus Ex: Human Revolution (for the futuristic aspect and the environment interaction with the HUD).Before I begin into the negatives of this game, let me point to some of the more positive of the game.

    -The voice acting is wonderful. Whenever the first cut scene played, it truly bought into the story of the three people who told the viewer of how wonderful the memory technology was and the elderly woman's story and voice acting made me feel as if that was a real person.
    -The story created a desire for me to go forward and find out what was around the corner. Although the names Capcom gives some of their characters breaks the illusion of this game being a game about survival, sabotage, kickin' in faces, and being public enemy number one.
    -Being able to create your own combos was such an interesting ideal that it warrants being a positive; however, the execution was a bit underwhelming.
    -Remixing memories was such an enjoyable trail-and-error aspect.

    Now that I have got that out of the way. Here are some of the things I felt (and you may feel) made the game lesser than what it could have been.

    -It leads you by the hand... Forcibly. I played on the hardest difficulty (Memory Hunter) and was still bombarded with an icon that tells me where to go when I am climbing with no discernible way to turn this off. It is as if it did not even trust you find your way, to make your own mistakes when climbing to a location, or Capcom felt that did not do a good enough job on some of the camera angles that they felt that it would be necessary to put an icon at every ledge you should go to.
    -Do you like the thrill of exploring (even in linear games) and finding upgrades for yourself? It is as if the game thinks you have around two brains cells and gives you an image of where an upgrade (for health and focus) is NEARBY. I can understand that they wanted to stick with the whole memory idea and this was another way of introducing their idea, but if you are anything like me, I prefer to make my own mistakes and explore to find collectibles without assistance even if I look in some of the most inane spots to achieve this, you will not enjoy this feature.An apt comparison is Metro Last Light. It took me 12 hours to beat a 7 to 8 hour game because the game created a desire for me to go an explore. I saw buildings in the distance or rooms away from where my OPTIONAL objective locator told me was the right way to go and thought to myself "Is ammo in there? What about another weapon? Journal entry?"
    -I would have loved for an OPTIONAL breadcumb device like in Dead Space to show me where I should be going beyond climbing up. In Dead Space and Metro games bringing up that device caused me to want to explore. I would see "Hey, I need to go here. There is a strong chance that I might not be able to return to this area, so let me explore the other doors." However, in Remember Me, the game although forcibly shows you where to go when climbing, it does not allow to check where your current objective is. There has been multiple times where I have forgone exploring another doorway because I thought it may be where I should go. Turns out it was not and whenever I went through the other doorway, I could not return to the previous location.

    The game was alright, but not worth the $50. I would really wait until the game is on sale.
    Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    This game is It is incredibly liner and the game play is exactly like enslaved. Today i bought it for £20 and tomorrow im getting rid of it.This game is It is incredibly liner and the game play is exactly like enslaved. Today i bought it for £20 and tomorrow im getting rid of it. Worst game i have ever played! Expand

See all 101 User Reviews