• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 884 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 884
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    Pretty generic and can be a little frustrating at times but overall it's a pretty decent experience. Graphics shine when in and around chimera structures, otherwise, they can look pretty bland and ugly. Guns are the highlight of this game and enemy AI are surprisingly smart. At a 8$ price tag, i recommend it.
  2. May 27, 2013
    7
    This was the first FPS i ever played. At that time i found it amazing. I will now give a honest review. So it is pretty much a basic shooter. You have a gun and have to move forward and shoot every alien there is in your way. And then there is some special levels where you have to control a tank. Or other things. You get new guns with new special abilities and you can carry all the guns.This was the first FPS i ever played. At that time i found it amazing. I will now give a honest review. So it is pretty much a basic shooter. You have a gun and have to move forward and shoot every alien there is in your way. And then there is some special levels where you have to control a tank. Or other things. You get new guns with new special abilities and you can carry all the guns. The story is the standard the aliens are taking over the world story and the person you play as have a strange connection to them that we all know so well. So what makes me give it a 7 out of 10? Well, the atmosphere is very good. In the game there is some levels where you are alone. And the dark corridors and creepy music fits the game very well at those points of the game... Actually the music and the atmospher just fits the game in general. And the enemy variation is great. I loved and still love how there suddenly comes a new enemy out you've never seen before and have to kill. There was some awesome scary moments where some slow enemys could come up behind you and jump in your face. But i did also feel that there was to few if them. One of the things i loved most of the game was that there was a coop mode. So you could play the cool campaing with one of your friends. There is also a multiplayer mode but it is not really that good. It was just to out dated. But i did love playing vs mode with my friends. Pretty much multiplayer just only with you and your friends. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2015
    7
    this game is good shooter. while game playing, i always feel tense sense. but, for me, normal difficulty is too difficulty. so i have to many time retry.
  4. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    Whilst it adds entirely nothing new in terms of gameplay mechanics - what do you expect from a genre so unambiguously entitled 'FPS'? - the overriding notion of the impending desolation of Earth is as refreshing as the genuinely hopeless fight through a ruined United Kingdom. Bonus points for pissing off the Church of England with its Manchester Cathedral sceneWhilst it adds entirely nothing new in terms of gameplay mechanics - what do you expect from a genre so unambiguously entitled 'FPS'? - the overriding notion of the impending desolation of Earth is as refreshing as the genuinely hopeless fight through a ruined United Kingdom. Bonus points for pissing off the Church of England with its Manchester Cathedral scene (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/6736809.stm). Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    6
    This game is funny and I mean that in its hard to think of the reason why its getting a 6/10. It has all the ideas for a great shooter and in many places it is and its alot of fun. The Chimera are a good enemy idea and can occasionally give you a jump plus the weapons are creative aswell. The story is ok but not brilliant but the biggest let down is probably just some sections of the gameThis game is funny and I mean that in its hard to think of the reason why its getting a 6/10. It has all the ideas for a great shooter and in many places it is and its alot of fun. The Chimera are a good enemy idea and can occasionally give you a jump plus the weapons are creative aswell. The story is ok but not brilliant but the biggest let down is probably just some sections of the game which are sort of boring I suppose. Nathan Hale isn't very interesting here and some levels aren't designed well. A good game but not brilliant Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    6
    Good concept and storyline but it's a case of been there done that. Nothing new in this game to separate it from the rest. Worth a play through but wouldn't be going back for more.
  7. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    This game was decent. Fun, but not very appealing. When it first came out it seemed pretty cool, then slowly grew boring and dull. Story just seemed disappointing. Wouldn't recommend it.
  8. May 28, 2012
    6
    This game was okay ,nothing special.
  9. Oct 20, 2017
    5
    The game is not bad but loses a lot because of its control. You can not run, you can barely cover yourself, and the target accuracy is a disaster. Otherwise a normal story where the hero saves the world from an alien invasion
  10. Mar 29, 2015
    6
    Weird campaign,disappointing graphics,bad controls and a glitchy multiplayer are the reasons Resistance : Fall of Man is not that good of a game.But,I have to give the game credit for the original and interesting story.
  11. schlittmehr
    Sep 14, 2008
    5
    I really dont understand how this game can have a higher user rating than a game like gta 4! Its not a bad game, but what it is is very average, people sometimes put it on a par with halo 3, which i would agree with, but then halo 3 is really very average too! Resistance is a mediocre fps in a sea of mediocre fps's, i wont say it wasnt worth the money, but thats mainly because i only I really dont understand how this game can have a higher user rating than a game like gta 4! Its not a bad game, but what it is is very average, people sometimes put it on a par with halo 3, which i would agree with, but then halo 3 is really very average too! Resistance is a mediocre fps in a sea of mediocre fps's, i wont say it wasnt worth the money, but thats mainly because i only spent 18 quid on it! The gameplay has some nice moments, and the addition of 2 player coop is helpful as its something lacking in other fps titles. Expand
  12. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    This game was decent, it has no unique story, no special weapons, no cool cut scenes, no great graphics, no nothing special. Seriously, it is not a good game nor a bad one. If you can, just rent the game, finish it and return it. It is short.
  13. Aug 27, 2011
    5
    Graphics are ok but overall game seems repetitive. AI is a joke, not a great game I guess. Played just the demo though. However, I'll definitely sequel seems much better. Maybe I'll buy the special edition that comes with both games just in case, apparently multiplayer is awesome.... ya right!
  14. MarcF.
    Oct 20, 2007
    6
    Very very average game. by itself its a decent game, but when you match it up with other competing next gen games, it really isnt good at all. the graphics are okay, maybe on par with half life 2 which came out in 2003. no character development, horrible story, but ok its a shooter. however, some things are inexcusable for a next gen game. the enemy ai is completely retarded, and the game Very very average game. by itself its a decent game, but when you match it up with other competing next gen games, it really isnt good at all. the graphics are okay, maybe on par with half life 2 which came out in 2003. no character development, horrible story, but ok its a shooter. however, some things are inexcusable for a next gen game. the enemy ai is completely retarded, and the game is very repetitive. playstation 3 is really going down the tubes if this is the killer app. i see a lot of fanboys giving it a 10, but i really do not think it deserves anywhere near that score, even as a ps3 owner. you guys need to wake up and play the good games out there. get halo 3, gears of war, the orange box, graw 2, lost planet, oblivion, dead rising, crackdown, the outfit. try something original, this game is stale, and mutliplayer is lame. ok 40 players but it sucks. from personal experience, if youre a serious gamer looking to pick up a console, save your money and get a 360 cuz theres no good multiplayer gaems out on the ps3 yet. and the unified friends list / achievements across all games seal the deal. my 2 cents. Expand
  15. Bear
    Mar 23, 2007
    5
    Average, average, average. Does nothing to move this most stagnant of genres forwards. All the PlayStation worshiping casual gamers will think it's the second coming, but it really is lagging behind many of the big-name shooters we've seen over the past few years.
  16. LiboW.
    Mar 5, 2007
    5
    My opinion may not do the ENTIRE game justice, but just playing it for 2 days at my friend's house, the game gave me a mediocre "another-one-of-those" FPS feelings (like how prey used innovative weapons and gravity but still fell short). The only reason I'm voting here is that, there's something very fishy about these grammatically correct, perfectly capitalized, My opinion may not do the ENTIRE game justice, but just playing it for 2 days at my friend's house, the game gave me a mediocre "another-one-of-those" FPS feelings (like how prey used innovative weapons and gravity but still fell short). The only reason I'm voting here is that, there's something very fishy about these grammatically correct, perfectly capitalized, back-of-the-box descriptive "reviews". Smells of SCEA.... Expand
  17. PeterW.
    Nov 20, 2006
    5
    The graphics are mediocre at best and the game play was not very interesting.
  18. JacoboT.
    Dec 18, 2007
    5
    This game is horrible. Nothing makes it stand out. It pales in comparison to most FPS's. Its graphics are nothing special. this is a reason not to buy a PS3, Gears of War is much better than Resistance: Fall of Man, graphicly and 150% gameplay. I expected more from this game, but it sucked, not even worth renting.
  19. Matthias
    Sep 29, 2007
    6
    These 10 out of 10 reviews dont make too much sense to me. Well for sure this game isnt the worsed game ever, but still it isnt really good. Just another Fps kind game you most likely want to get second hand or budget, than play and re-sell it. Well 6 out of 10 from me, mediocre rating for something i felt to be a mediocre game.
  20. Aug 27, 2010
    5
    It was a pretty generic game and felt pretty damn unpolished in terms of gameplay and mechanics. The story was pretty interesting and the campaign is pretty long, but the narrative made playing the game a painfully long experience. As mentioned, the gameplay is generic and very repetitive, compounded with the poor narrative makes the single player experience tolerable for about 3 hours. AsIt was a pretty generic game and felt pretty damn unpolished in terms of gameplay and mechanics. The story was pretty interesting and the campaign is pretty long, but the narrative made playing the game a painfully long experience. As mentioned, the gameplay is generic and very repetitive, compounded with the poor narrative makes the single player experience tolerable for about 3 hours. As for multiplayer, I had not played it, so I cannot comment on that. Expand
  21. Sep 19, 2010
    7
    Resistance Fall of Man (RES) is a good game, no doubt. Above all the features online are perfects, no track of lag or problem. If you play with your friends, RES will conquer you. But the campaign isn't so good as the online: the checkpoints are very very distant and the story doesn't appear so intriguing. But, all things considered, we are talking about a good game.
  22. Mar 13, 2011
    6
    this game was pretty good when i played it the first time though but is a chore to go through again and good graphics cant make up for the lack of replay value and there is no one online with this game any more so there is no point in buying it. borrow from a friend or rent it
  23. Oct 6, 2011
    5
    Granted, this is a launch title and it's now 2011, and we've been spoiled with call of duty and the like, but I found this to be worthy of a 5/10. I won't hate on the story, its the reason I bought it, I love the alternate history stuff. Its the GAMEPLAY. Horrible. Felt cartoonish, slow moving enemy bullets, poor AI animation, useless friendly AI. At no point did I get sucked in, theGranted, this is a launch title and it's now 2011, and we've been spoiled with call of duty and the like, but I found this to be worthy of a 5/10. I won't hate on the story, its the reason I bought it, I love the alternate history stuff. Its the GAMEPLAY. Horrible. Felt cartoonish, slow moving enemy bullets, poor AI animation, useless friendly AI. At no point did I get sucked in, the gunplay was too bad. In COD or nearly any other fps, you get sucked in and forget you're holding a controller. Not here. Ruined a good idea with a VERY mediocre game. :-[ I will play through the rest to play the sequels because I love the idea of this universe so much. Hope the sequels are better. MUCH better. Expand
  24. Sep 10, 2014
    6
    Meh. Repetitive, just another mindless shootemup. The story was interesting at first, but became stale as the story progresses. The weapons were meh, the enemies were meh. The gameplay was ok, but nothing special. The lack of online for resistance has stopped me from buying future iterations of this franchise. Shame, the online looks great from what I've seen on youtube, it would've savedMeh. Repetitive, just another mindless shootemup. The story was interesting at first, but became stale as the story progresses. The weapons were meh, the enemies were meh. The gameplay was ok, but nothing special. The lack of online for resistance has stopped me from buying future iterations of this franchise. Shame, the online looks great from what I've seen on youtube, it would've saved this game from being below average and scored a 7 or even an 8 from me, but nope, no online. Expand
  25. Feb 13, 2018
    7
    Довольно слабый старт нового шутера для PS3, как в целом и все эксклюзивные FPS на платформе.
  26. Jul 1, 2014
    6
    I think I played this one too late, the voice acting and story felt very cheesy and the visuals were pretty bad too. I liked the premise of an alien attack during World War 2 and shooting around was a lot of fun (especially with a friend) for a while but things got boring pretty quickly for me.
  27. May 13, 2020
    7
    Resistance: Fall of Man evokes a twofold feeling, especially playing the game in 2020. This is the first decent PS3 exclusive. Here, even after so many years, gameplay is not bad and dynamic, but only in places. In general, the game itself on AAA-project does not pull in any way, here very simply the plot in the form of a slide show is submitted. Only couple of characters. The saddestResistance: Fall of Man evokes a twofold feeling, especially playing the game in 2020. This is the first decent PS3 exclusive. Here, even after so many years, gameplay is not bad and dynamic, but only in places. In general, the game itself on AAA-project does not pull in any way, here very simply the plot in the form of a slide show is submitted. Only couple of characters. The saddest thing about the game is balance. He 's hardly here. Points of preservation and appearance of opponents are scattered as if randomly. In general for the game of 2006 it is not bad, it is possible to pass. But Insomniac Games could do much better if the level of difficulty was easier (at the average level of difficulty it becomes almost impossible to play) and there was at least an autoregenation of the main character 's health. Expand
  28. Oct 10, 2018
    7
    rrrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaaaadddddddddddiiiiiiiiiiicccccccccccaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllll
  29. Dec 7, 2018
    6
    Basically Halo for Playstation (3). Slightly reminiscent of Gears of War, because of it´s military/alien shooter theme. Britain is a weird setting, but it fits into the big picture. I understand why Resistence became a trilogy (+ handheld games) in the long run. There is something about the alien design and all that. The problem is that Fall of Man blends in with every other FPS you haveBasically Halo for Playstation (3). Slightly reminiscent of Gears of War, because of it´s military/alien shooter theme. Britain is a weird setting, but it fits into the big picture. I understand why Resistence became a trilogy (+ handheld games) in the long run. There is something about the alien design and all that. The problem is that Fall of Man blends in with every other FPS you have played in your life, too well. Expand
  30. May 15, 2019
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Resistance fall of man was a launch title for the ps3 and when i think of it like that its easy to see how this game got raving reviews. but seeing as i played this for the first time in 2019. i lack those nostalgia glasses.

    Story/characters: the story has its merits , a ww2 style alien invasion that's also a viral infection. its different enough that i can say iv not seen anything like it before. the concept is good but the characters fall by the way side. nathan hale the main character its a mostly silent soldier with no real motivations. other than nathan there is only really 2 characters Rachel who's the narrator and is pretty much there for exposition and that exposition feels sorta misleading, shes constantly talking about how shes worried about nathan turning into a chimera but he never dose (maybe in the sequel). and then some sniper dude they tried to kill off for "emotional" effect " but i don't even remember his name.
    Story: 5/10

    World building: sony's shooters seem to be packed full with lore , killzone and now resistance. the chimera are a very interesting enemy, and i have many questions about them that went un answered a lot was un answered in this game but i digress . i think the weapon design is great to arm a fictional army you will need a believable fictional weapon and i can very much believe that america in the 1950s had skipped ww2 had invented a rifle similar to the m14 witch is a Vietnam war rifle and it was this little attention to detail i appreciated even if it might have been a fluke. but the chimera weapons are the most well thought out and i though they were rather clever in function even if they looked a little to complicated. and in a shooter yes the lore behind the guns is important. the locals are ripped out of real life. similar to fallouts world but an alternate history that creates an alternate future.
    World building 8/10

    Graphics: this game has not aged well at all. its clearly a launch title, textures are good enough i guess and lighting is ok but it just doesn't look like what im use to on the ps3. the animations in the cut scenes feel like some one put the game on fast forward but only at 0.25x fastforward. so they are super awkward but you wont notice how awkward for the first hour or so of this game. i do like the games visual style even if the tech is not very impressive
    Graphics: 6/10

    Gameplay: playing this game was fun. insomniac knows how to make games fun. each gun has an alt fire, most of the human weapons have what you would expect for alt fires (grenade launcher double shot , scope in ) but the chimera weapons have very interesting effects like how the auger makes a shield and you can shoot through the shield but also see through it. and i had alot of fun using that gun and i think that certain game play mechanic could have been improved and it make me kinda look forward to resistance 2. playing this on the ps3 actually felt great and was really well optimized and was smooth the whole way through witch is something i really appreciated
    Gameplay: 7.8/10

    Sound design: the voice acting is actually pretty decent and i was pleasantly surprised with it considering this game came out in 2006. the sound effects are great as well i love the sounds the chimera weapons make they sound satisfying and other worldly. the music how ever is just adequate it dose its job sure but the music feels to this game what a Toyota camery is to cars. solid reliable car but boring. its alot of percussion and what feels like war time themes. but no tracks stood out to me
    sound design: 7/10

    5+8+6+7.8+7=33.8
    33.8/5 = 6.76

    this game has not aged well at all. but it was a quality made game by a respected studio and has aged better than most. for a ps3 launch title i think it was a success. alot can be improved and the sequels witch iv yet to play give me some hope
    Expand
  31. AlanK.
    Dec 29, 2006
    7
    The game itself has great graphics and an easy to use camera angle system; however, I found the game itself to be fairly easy to beat. In fact I was able to master the game in about 10 hours. The multi-player action on this game is also a little sub-par meaning that the map dose not indicate where your competition is located until you are in a close proximity; making it quite difficult The game itself has great graphics and an easy to use camera angle system; however, I found the game itself to be fairly easy to beat. In fact I was able to master the game in about 10 hours. The multi-player action on this game is also a little sub-par meaning that the map dose not indicate where your competition is located until you are in a close proximity; making it quite difficult for beginners to locate the competition. Expand
  32. JoeH.
    Jul 31, 2008
    7
    Clearly a launch title, this is a little lacking in the graphics department. The game play is a little repetitive in places all though there are also some really quite inventive and fun parts. The real niggle though is changing weapons (very poorly implemented) and the choice of weapons. Sure there are quite a lot of weapons but I've only really used about 4 or 5 of them, the rest Clearly a launch title, this is a little lacking in the graphics department. The game play is a little repetitive in places all though there are also some really quite inventive and fun parts. The real niggle though is changing weapons (very poorly implemented) and the choice of weapons. Sure there are quite a lot of weapons but I've only really used about 4 or 5 of them, the rest are rather pointless. Those giving this game a 0, 1 and 10 have ulterior motives, for me it Expand
  33. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    7
    This game reminds me of Halo 3. Yes, it's fun to play and is good, but was overhyped to the max and doesn't bring anything new to the FPS genre. Just like Halo, if it weren't as hyped up as it was, it would be in the middle of the FPS ladder. Somewhat disappointing.
  34. M
    Oct 27, 2007
    7
    Great gameplay but the story lets it down. Yet again the world is in trouble and America has to save everyone else! The player can't even choose to play as a Brit, even though we're supposed to be fighting side by side with the Americans. And I wonder whose great idea it was to feature Manchester Cathedral... But apart from that it's worthy of a 7/10.
  35. Chris
    Feb 18, 2007
    5
    Looks really nice, but it doesn't draw me in. I find myself losing interest in it after only having it for a week.
  36. StevenMoore
    May 3, 2007
    7
    After completing the game, it's just nothing special. It tries hard to be Half Life 1, 2, Doom 3 and Halo 2 all in one but it just comes up a bit short, which is a shame considering the effort that has been put into this title. Graphically it's rather bland with flat lighting and some ugly textures, though the levels are enormous and show that the PS3 has massive potential. IfAfter completing the game, it's just nothing special. It tries hard to be Half Life 1, 2, Doom 3 and Halo 2 all in one but it just comes up a bit short, which is a shame considering the effort that has been put into this title. Graphically it's rather bland with flat lighting and some ugly textures, though the levels are enormous and show that the PS3 has massive potential. If you have a PS3 you'll doubtless pick it up and enjoy it, in a couple of years it'll still be high on the average score lists simply because nothing better was available at the time. Expand
  37. TiagoB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    6
    It's not impressive, it's not a breath of fresh air. It's just another FPS...
  38. JesseM
    Oct 26, 2008
    7
    Solid shooter but nothing else. Storyline was not deep enough also there were no characters in the game I could really get attached to. I hate Parker. What bothered me was that the story line is not told from the main characters point of view. Instead it is told from some bitch named Parker. Another thing that bothered me was that the main character Nathan Hale only talks once in the Solid shooter but nothing else. Storyline was not deep enough also there were no characters in the game I could really get attached to. I hate Parker. What bothered me was that the story line is not told from the main characters point of view. Instead it is told from some bitch named Parker. Another thing that bothered me was that the main character Nathan Hale only talks once in the whole game I believe and is not someone you can get attached to. The graphics are good and show big tremendous battles, but I experienced some slow down. The gameplay was solid and there were many neat guns in the game. I did not like though how the game kept throwing the same enemies at you though. It takes a while before you fight a different enemies other than the typical Chimera foot solider. All and all Resistance is fun while it last's and the multilayer will probaley interest you for a bit but in the end I would only pick this game up for around 20 to 30 bucks. Cheers. Expand
  39. NeonSighs
    Nov 11, 2006
    5
    Unfortunately Fall of Man can be a bore to play. The Ai is predictable, level design is linear and distinctly average, and players are asked to walk through some sections of the level (without fireing a single shot) as a cheap way of prolonging the length of the game.

    The visuals are solid throughout, but do not meet the expectations or the hype the publisher conjured prior to launch.
  40. ElliottP.
    Nov 25, 2006
    6
    This doesn't live up to the Sony hype. Resistance is a subpar shooter with neat weapons. Wait for Halo 3.
  41. Rol
    Dec 22, 2006
    7
    Good in places, but too patchy to be anything but mundane as it adds little to the genre. The graphics are sharp but lack that something extra to say this is a good looking game. Taken on singleplayer I'll give it 6 but the multiplayer is good fun and would get an 8. Not bad but won't silence any critics of the PS3 either.
  42. ThomasB.
    Mar 25, 2007
    7
    All in all, it's a solid and enjoyable launch game (PAL gamer), especially online (which is obviously free through PlayStation Network) and in co-operative campaign mode. While not visually stunning, it was easy to pick up and play, especially for someone like myself who rarely plays FPS games. I'm not sure if it's a reason to buy a PlayStation 3, but the game is a must for All in all, it's a solid and enjoyable launch game (PAL gamer), especially online (which is obviously free through PlayStation Network) and in co-operative campaign mode. While not visually stunning, it was easy to pick up and play, especially for someone like myself who rarely plays FPS games. I'm not sure if it's a reason to buy a PlayStation 3, but the game is a must for owners, if only for online action. Expand
  43. JackH
    Oct 22, 2008
    5
    This is the only game in my PS3 library of 10 games that i HAVE NOT FINISHED...it didn't hold me at all...i mean come on...aliens invading the world? been there...way past done that. I spent a good bit of time online playing this game, which was fun, but when the far superior Call of Duty 4 came out i quit doing this game online. The single player story is just too boring and whored This is the only game in my PS3 library of 10 games that i HAVE NOT FINISHED...it didn't hold me at all...i mean come on...aliens invading the world? been there...way past done that. I spent a good bit of time online playing this game, which was fun, but when the far superior Call of Duty 4 came out i quit doing this game online. The single player story is just too boring and whored out. I know when it comes to shooters there isn't a lot to work with story-wise, but please...try harder. Call of Duty 4 and Dead Space are excellent shooting games that have very cool stories...call of duty 4 reigns supreme. Expand
  44. CS
    Feb 26, 2008
    5
    This is a completely sub-par, average title at best, that brings 0% new to the table. Multiplayer is very poorly designed. I think majority of these reviews were when it first came out and no one had a PS3 game to compare too.
  45. AdamBaldovinos
    Dec 21, 2006
    5
    I own a PS3 and have been waiting for a good game. The only game decent game is Resistance and everyone knows that, even if you dont have a PS3 or even played one. All in All Resistance is the Hyundai of Gears Of War and you know that all you PS3 fans. So save yourself a couple hundred and get a 360 until a good game comes out for the PS3 like MGS4, GTA 5, AC. Trust me its a waste of moneyI own a PS3 and have been waiting for a good game. The only game decent game is Resistance and everyone knows that, even if you dont have a PS3 or even played one. All in All Resistance is the Hyundai of Gears Of War and you know that all you PS3 fans. So save yourself a couple hundred and get a 360 until a good game comes out for the PS3 like MGS4, GTA 5, AC. Trust me its a waste of money until a good game comes out. Expand
  46. Jun 21, 2020
    6
    The game itself has the potential to be really good even with a lot of its flaws. The main problem comes in when you get to actually playing.
    The framerate is really bad, never going above 30 which is nowhere close to enough for a shooter especially and there is no mouse and keyboard support forcing you to play with a controller which is a horrendous method of playing an FPS. The worst
    The game itself has the potential to be really good even with a lot of its flaws. The main problem comes in when you get to actually playing.
    The framerate is really bad, never going above 30 which is nowhere close to enough for a shooter especially and there is no mouse and keyboard support forcing you to play with a controller which is a horrendous method of playing an FPS. The worst part is that the game rarely accounts for these issues and many of the combat encounters are structured as if you have proper control which you can only dream of. Some of the combat encounters have the problem of putting enemies in a way where they can very often get cheap shots on you. It is just a huge shame, really.
    What the game does get right is the weapons. They are not perfect but you have a good mix of different weapons that fill different roles. Especially the Auger is interesting and engaging to use. The ammo balance isn't the best though so you will find yourself often being empty on some weapons for extended periods of time while walking over ammo pick ups that you have no space for with other weapons even if you use them during that time. I genuinely wonder why they put excessive amounts of shotgun ammo in wide open spaces as well.
    The vehicle sections don't feel very good either. It is surprising considering Insomniac have made some good side gameplay in their previous titles.
    I really want to love this game but whenever I go in for a hug, it knees me in the balls and that is just something I can not ignore.
    Lots of potential, shame they never brought the franchise to PC where this game could have turned out a lot better. Maybe the sequel will do better in the aspects that were not determined by the terribly unfitting choice of platform.
    Expand
  47. Aug 29, 2020
    5
    In general, this is an average FPS shooter. Graphics are little bit better than on the PS2, the physical engine is fine.

    The shooting mechanics very simple, each weapon has a primary and secondary shooting mode, a choice of 8 weapons, only 3-4 of them are really effective, the gameplay is very repetitive, in basically it's shoot and run, 2 times I was allowed to drive: car, tank and
    In general, this is an average FPS shooter. Graphics are little bit better than on the PS2, the physical engine is fine.

    The shooting mechanics very simple, each weapon has a primary and secondary shooting mode, a choice of 8 weapons, only 3-4 of them are really effective, the gameplay is very repetitive, in basically it's shoot and run, 2 times I was allowed to drive: car, tank and stalker (spider-like robot), with possibility to jump and squat, that's all, all the other time it's just shooting.

    Plot itself is interesting, its presentation is boring, cut scenes are minimal. Sometimes game is too hard due to lack of cover system with full recovery of HP, and all this against the high complexity of enemies, so you often need to play very save, which is not fun.

    After all, nothing special, I do not know how in 2006, but now it is not worth attention.
    Expand
  48. Oct 17, 2020
    7
    I'd give it a 7.5 five but i can't so i'm rounding down. The game has a fast gunplay kinda like doom but it has problems with the weapon variety. Out of the 7 or so weapons you'll use just 2 90% of the time because of the unviability of the other, either being too slow or just the lack of firepower.

    The setting is cool, 50's england in a war with the aliens. The plot is forgettable
    I'd give it a 7.5 five but i can't so i'm rounding down. The game has a fast gunplay kinda like doom but it has problems with the weapon variety. Out of the 7 or so weapons you'll use just 2 90% of the time because of the unviability of the other, either being too slow or just the lack of firepower.

    The setting is cool, 50's england in a war with the aliens.

    The plot is forgettable too, in a couple of years i'll forget everything about this game. But overall is fun
    Expand
  49. May 2, 2021
    5
    Graphically outdated, the gameplay is slow. Some parts of the game are unnecessarily hard. The story is a BIT predictable. However as usual with Insomniac, weapons are fantastic and the design of the Chimera is awesome, they make for a memorable enemy, there was a LOT of wasted potential on how they could've presented them, where the story could've gone. Perhaps a remake would fix this?Graphically outdated, the gameplay is slow. Some parts of the game are unnecessarily hard. The story is a BIT predictable. However as usual with Insomniac, weapons are fantastic and the design of the Chimera is awesome, they make for a memorable enemy, there was a LOT of wasted potential on how they could've presented them, where the story could've gone. Perhaps a remake would fix this?

    Whatever the flaws of this game may be, it, along with its two sequels still have the best cover arts EVER
    Expand
  50. Oct 23, 2020
    7
    Finally dusted off the PS3 and getting around to some games I missed during its prime. I enjoyed resistance fall of man. For its time the combat is enjoyable, weapons are very fun to use. The campaign story I have mixed thoughts I liked it, but it left me wanting more. One thing that slightly bothers me is they never patched a trophy list, as someone who enjoys trophy hunting I find thatFinally dusted off the PS3 and getting around to some games I missed during its prime. I enjoyed resistance fall of man. For its time the combat is enjoyable, weapons are very fun to use. The campaign story I have mixed thoughts I liked it, but it left me wanting more. One thing that slightly bothers me is they never patched a trophy list, as someone who enjoys trophy hunting I find that frustrating. Definitely a difficult game, if you don’t plan it’s going to mean a death, most likely even if you do plan you will die a decent amount of times. The checkpoints are very far along intervals, so it can be frustrating having to play the harder portions multiple times. I wouldn’t play it again, but it entertained me enough to play the rest of the series. Expand
  51. Aug 20, 2020
    7
    Un muy buen juego de disparos, una saga muy recomendable en general si tienes una Ps3.
  52. Nov 9, 2022
    7
    Gráficamente se le notaba que estaba al inicio de la generación. Al gunplay le pasaba un poco más de lo mismo.
  53. Dec 29, 2021
    6
    Resistance: Fall of Man is a 2006 science-fiction first-person shooter video game for the PlayStation 3. It was developed by Insomniac Games and published by Sony.
  54. Feb 3, 2023
    6
    This game is a mess. Every enemy is a annoying bullet sponge. The controls are horrible with minimal customization. This was painful to get through.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    From start to finish, Fall of Man is one hell of an outstanding roller coaster ride that every last PS3 owner needs for day one...Above all else, it's the multiplayer elements that truly ascend this one to the next level. It's a must have for sure.
  2. When you kill an enemy it doesn't disappear and when you blow up part of the near fully destructible environments the pieces don't go away either. The obvious power of the PS3 and the masterful coding work of the developers let everything stay on screen all the time while never taking a frame hit. This is an incredible accomplishment for a launch game on any system. [JPN Import]
  3. 85
    Resistance falls a little short of being the hoped-for "Halo-killer," but with a package that would be considered complete by any standards, it delivers a launch classic, and it lives up to its billing as the PS3's killer app.