Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
Buy On
  1. Dec 17, 2010
    90
    In the end Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II is a straightforward linear game.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    85
    With precious few of those quality gameplay moments and a plot that limps along in need of focus, unfortunately Force Unleashed 2 ultimately fails to live up to the interest of its broken but far more compelling predecessor.
  3. Oct 28, 2010
    85
    A good sequel with superior controls, some new features, a steady pace and a lot more action compared to the first game. With its short playing time of roughly five hours it fails to create as much atmosphere as The Force Unleashed 1 though and there are still some technical issues, e.g. the mediocre collision detection. Overall The Force Unleashed 2 will satisfy both Star Wars-Fans and those who enjoyed the first game.
  4. Dec 17, 2010
    81
    To summarise if you liked the first game then you'll love the second. Whilst the game is extremely short (having me finish it in a single sitting), quite repetitive in places and the mere eight challenges do little to add the much desired replay value, it's a blast whilst it lasts.
  5. Dec 22, 2010
    80
    While the last game impressed with the variety of enemies, TFUII takes a "less is more" approach, reducing the variety but upping the intelligence. The result is a frequently challenging (if disappointingly linear) journey to some truly epic boss battles.
  6. Oct 26, 2010
    80
    The Force Unleased II is a good game. However, I would be hesitant to call it a good Star Wars game. The original Force Unleashed did a good job building on Star Wars' mythos in a way that was interesting but non-intrusive. It presented a simple story that featured plenty of thematic elements seen in both the original and prequel trilogy. However, the follow-up just doesn't capture the original's spirit, and that is what ultimately holds this title back from being something great.
  7. A shadow of its former self. The graceful gameplay offers a higher level of excitement, but the plot and characterization - two large components from which I expect great things from any Star Wars journey - makes this experience one of 2010's biggest disappointments. [Nov 2010, p.92]
  8. Dec 22, 2010
    77
    But ultimately The Force Unleashed II is let down most by the short campaign mode which most people will be able to plough through in around 5 hours with time added for a couple of unlockable Challenges thrown in.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 143
  2. Negative: 21 out of 143
  1. Oct 30, 2010
    5
    While I absolutely loved the original, the second installment fails to improve in so many ways. As other members have said, the length of theWhile I absolutely loved the original, the second installment fails to improve in so many ways. As other members have said, the length of the game is roughly half the game time of the original, and with only 4 locations you play in (with 2 being similar for the most part - indoors, metallic and dark, and one with no action and only 5 minutes of walking) the beautiful locations you saw in The Force Unleashed are gone. Cato Neimodia is, yes, a very interesting location that isn't seen in the films, but it doesn't excuse the lack of nice, natural, alien environments.

    The way the game ends in both the light and dark ending seems to scream 'Wait for DLC to flesh out the lacklustre campaign'. The storyline is nowhere near as good as the original either, with information you gathered from trailers ages ago being pretty much all there is to it - Starkiller may be a clone, and he is finding out who he is. However, the graphics, sound, cinematics and voice acting are all absolutely phenomenal. Sam Witwer's performance blows his already great performance in the original right out of the water. Every actor puts in an even better performance too - it is just a shame we don't hear that much of Nathalie Cox (Juno). The graphics are even more impressive than in the original, however, as stated before, the lack of variety detracts from this a little, but the action is notably crisp, and runs at a very stable framerate too.

    Overall, I would suggest if you absolutely loved the original, this is worth buying, but simply be aware it may be better to wait for the obvious DLC, a price drop, or a 'Ultimate' version.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    overall this game did not disappoint from its predecessor. the only issue I found was the length of the game. I expected it to be a littleoverall this game did not disappoint from its predecessor. the only issue I found was the length of the game. I expected it to be a little longer. Overall great game play and the cinematics are just like watching a movie (which they need to do!!) great game!! Cant wait for the third. m/ Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    An improvement upon the original game in almost every way. The combat has a much more fluid feel-- stationary blocking is gone, and you canAn improvement upon the original game in almost every way. The combat has a much more fluid feel-- stationary blocking is gone, and you can also use lightning while moving around. The combos don't seem quite as numerous as the first game, but the overall mix of saber and force power combat in combination with more distinct enemy strengths/weaknesses rewards the player for use of a good strategy.
    The added "challenge" games available outside of the normal campaign add something as well. You can use them to learn combos, and there are leaderboards so you can compete with your friends for a top score (there are challenges based on time, number of kills, etc.).
    The main game is not excessively long, and the story might not be quite as grand as the original's, but the overall experience was very enjoyable, and I'll definitely play through again on the harder difficulties and spend some time pushing my challenge scores up in the leaderboards
    Full Review »