The ICO & Shadow of the Colossus Collection Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 686 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This collection provides HD and 3D updates for PS2 classics Ico and Shadow of the Colossus.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Team ICO Collection (working title) TGS 2010 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    100
    If video games aren't art, then ICO & Shadow of the Colossus Collection is not a video game. It's a staggering compilation of two of the most creative, intimate and emotional pieces of interactive entertainment ever conceived.
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    100
    Whether you're new to this unique pairing or you've played one or both before, this splendid collection is pretty much a compulsory purchase.
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    95
    ICO and Shadow of the Colossus are two of the greatest games ever made, and they're still as emotionally gripping and visually astounding as before. This is the closest you'll get to perfection in 2011.
  4. Sep 8, 2011
    90
    A must buy for every single PS3 owner. The lack of extras is a shame, but the quality of the two original games and the good HD conversions grant to every Ueda fan what they're looking for. Enjoy this gem and wait for The Last Guardian.
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 7, 2011
    90
    Both games are certifiable classics, and the HD visuals amplify all of the emotion Team Ico tenderly weaved into them. [Nov 2011, p.80]
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    90
    These are brilliant, memorable, inventive and emotionally involving adventures, and the combination of remastered visuals, 3D options, Trophies and a $40 price tag make them more irresistible than ever.
  7. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    It's difficult avoid feeling nostalgia after playing Ico and Shadow of the Colossus again after all these years, and while the core of each experience withstands the test of time, the control issues that were easy to overlook the first time around simply can't be ignored today.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 98
  2. Negative: 7 out of 98
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Let me start by stating the facts: not everyone will understand these games, not everyone will enjoy them, and there's nothing wrong withLet me start by stating the facts: not everyone will understand these games, not everyone will enjoy them, and there's nothing wrong with that. Certain people can't watch a movie unless it has explosions, certain people can't watch Public Television because it educates rather than entertains, and certain people will pick this up on the recommendation of another and feel 100% cheated because it doesn't involve wanton killing, busty women, rampant foul language and guns.

    If you are one of these types of people, it's okay. I'm not going to judge you or your tastes. I'll just let you know that i feel sorry for you, because whatever "eye of the beholder" thing it takes to truly enjoy these games, you don't have it, and believe me, your life is worse because of that. You don't know what you've missed.

    Ico is definitely the harder game to get into, out of the two games in the collection. It will involve you solving puzzles and leading a girl to safety by escaping the castle where the both of you are imprisoned. It will involve her speaking in a language you don't understand, and it will tax the part of the brain that won't help you fire a gun. For those patient enough to brave the journey, you may find yourself with an incredibly emotional experience at the end of the road, and you'll be amazed a video game could make you feel that way. I'm trying to spoil as little as I can for you, and I'm sorry if this sounds a bit paltry, but this is the gist of the experience.

    On the other hand, Shadow Of The Colossus is the most beautifully haunting game I've ever played. It too is about solving puzzles, but the goal in this game is not to figure out how you'll escape a castle, it's how to kill sixteen giant beasts that dwarf you in scale. No other game has made me feel so overwhelmingly powerful by making me feel so insignificant throughout the entire process - the expansive overworld with no enemies or even epic travel music, the loneliness between your character and the horse he rides, it all seems so pointless until you find your next enemy. The silence is the calm before the storm, and that storm is the next giant beast you will have to locate, climb and somehow kill. It will give you a sense of wonder, dread and most of all, it will prove beyond the shadow of a doubt that video games deserve to be called an artistic medium. As I said, it won't be for everyone. But if you find yourself looking for something that could make you proud to own your PlayStation, and you don't mind not shooting a gun or scoring a goal, then you may find yourself in for the best games that the previous generation had to offer. There's a very good reason why the PlayStation 2 was the home of the best franchise titles of the last hardware generation, and that didn't have as much to to with Grand Theft Auto, Resident Evil, Madden, Final Fantasy or God Of War as it did games like Ico and Shadow Of The Colossus. Now, these games have been given a 1080p HD facelift, and given trophies for the player to earn as well. Any individual who considers themselves a gamer, in any sense of the term whether broad or niche, needs to try these two games. You may find that you don't like them, and like I said earlier, that's okay. Caviar isn't for everyone, and one man's delicacy can be another's poison. If you're in the mood for something besides controller McDonalds, though, this is your wake-up call.

    For those who do pick it up and find themselves lost in the most incredible worlds, your curiosity will be rewarded hundredfold. Then, you'll understand why people like myself are so excited for The Last Guardian...and chances are, you will be too after playing through these two games (and especially SotC). Don't pass this up, whatever you do.
    Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2017
    10
    Shadow of the Colossus is one of the best games ever. Go play it. Buy or download the soundtrack. Dream about the forbidden lands. And ICO isShadow of the Colossus is one of the best games ever. Go play it. Buy or download the soundtrack. Dream about the forbidden lands. And ICO is one hell of an underrated game. And I'm saying this after playing The Last Guardian. I think ICO is the second best game of Fumito Ueda over TLG. I really love this HD Collection. Is a must for all PS3 owners. 10! Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2016
    10
    The Ico & Shadow of the Colossus Collection is a video game bundle that contains high-definition remasters of two masterpiece of PlayStation 2The Ico & Shadow of the Colossus Collection is a video game bundle that contains high-definition remasters of two masterpiece of PlayStation 2 for the PlayStation 3 Expand
  4. May 7, 2012
    9
    This is a very atmospheric game. Not really sure its everyone's cup of tea, but the visuals still impress today. The HD update hasn't reallyThis is a very atmospheric game. Not really sure its everyone's cup of tea, but the visuals still impress today. The HD update hasn't really added much, but it's made it possible to enjoy all over again. Its all worth it for the ending that definitely is up there with the greats. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    2 of the most underated and best games ever made for price of 1, if your a long time fan of team ico's work or even if you missed out on these2 of the most underated and best games ever made for price of 1, if your a long time fan of team ico's work or even if you missed out on these hidden gems id highly recommend you pick this collectoion edition up.

    The games are more of an experiance than a game, the animation, lighting, gameplay, charectors and asthetic design all culminate to create an atmospheric and beutiful adventure.

    ICO is about a young boy who must escape a strange land with a mysterious girl who is held captive by strange shodowy creatures, you must work together to solve puzzles, escape enemies and traps, defeat monsters and ultimately win your freedom, truely one of the most beutiful and atmospheric games out there on any generation of console, this game deserves to sit proudly amongst your collection.

    Shadow of the Collosus is the sequal to ICO, your charector has grown into a young man and travels to a forbiden land to seek the aid of a demon to save the life of your mysterious companion from the previous adventure. Whilst the game keeps the sthetic qualitys of the origional it has vastly differant gameplay, for a start it is an open world sandbox adventure, your main task is to destroy huge giants, there are no minions to fight, only the hugely intimidating creatures which the game has you clambering up like some sort of animated structure, theryre made of part stone part flesh and each colossus has its own individual way of defeating it whether it be climbing up it back hair and gripping to it back for dear life plunging a sword into its weak spot, leaping fromyour stampeding stalion onto a giants wing and slowly working your way along its snake like body and 100 mph 10,000 ft in the air or even being tossed around on a giants beard as you desperately slash at its face with your sword, truely epic in every sense of the word, if you regard yourself as a serious gamer you owe it to yourself to experiance the adventures of a young boy named ico.
    Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    Two games that epitomize art for video games in general. Ico stars just one character and to some people is the PlayStation version of Zelda.Two games that epitomize art for video games in general. Ico stars just one character and to some people is the PlayStation version of Zelda. Shadow of the Colossus may seem like a lonely game at first, but your trusty steed and the amazing colossi make up for some of the most memorable boss battles ever. Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    Ico was boring so I turned it off after about an hour. I got towards the end of Shadow of the Collosus. Shadow is such a great concept...tooIco was boring so I turned it off after about an hour. I got towards the end of Shadow of the Collosus. Shadow is such a great concept...too bad it's executed poorly. The controls are immeasurable to wear it's hard to look around and the horse is just a mess to deal with. The camera freaks out nonstop so that I can't see anything. If you get knocked down in the game by an enemy then you cannot ever get back up before he hits you again. The nicest thing I can say about this gay is that it sucks. I will never play a Team ICO game again. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.