User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 974 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the Last of Us and this DLC did not disappoint, as you get to play Ellie and it also provides a interesting insight on Ellie's back-story and who she is as a character, I felt slightly jipped after having to pay 15 US dollars for it on Playstation Network. The DLC has no real impact on the story as its mainly just a flashback and I found it to be unnecessary that Naughty Dog hinted that Ellie may be gay or bi-sexual. While i am in no way shape or form a homophobe or against whatever love you show, My aunt and god-father are gay and gay people have been apart of my life since as long as I can remember. I get that alot of games are doing it now, Mass Effect 3 is one of my all-time favorites and I greatly enjoyed the LGBT characters Steve Cortez and Samantha Traynor but for Naughty Dog to follow in the footsteps of so many others and suggest Ellie may be gay or bi-sexual in my opinion was just an unnecessary side story to a otherwise awe-inspiring video game. Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2014
    7
    I was a huge fan of The Last of Us and have spent countless days replaying the story and multiplayer. I do not want com across negative as the story here is almost as heartwarming as the main game. But On survivor difficulty it is still a 3 hour add on that feels to short and too easy. That being said the controls and graphics are near perfect and some parts are just as tense as when II was a huge fan of The Last of Us and have spent countless days replaying the story and multiplayer. I do not want com across negative as the story here is almost as heartwarming as the main game. But On survivor difficulty it is still a 3 hour add on that feels to short and too easy. That being said the controls and graphics are near perfect and some parts are just as tense as when I first played the game. Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    6
    After TLOU I will pretty much buy anything that Naughty Dog puts out, however I will be a bit critical with Left Behind. First off - it's not tossed off or anything - the content is high quality and it certainly has it's moments. There just isn't enough content here to make this worth the price tag and there is virtually nothing new in terms of gameplay that you don't get in the originalAfter TLOU I will pretty much buy anything that Naughty Dog puts out, however I will be a bit critical with Left Behind. First off - it's not tossed off or anything - the content is high quality and it certainly has it's moments. There just isn't enough content here to make this worth the price tag and there is virtually nothing new in terms of gameplay that you don't get in the original (there is one new thing but I wouldn't have even realized it without reading it here). Even the theme of the DLC is a little misleading because at least half of the content actually takes place during TLOU and is not part of Ellie's backstory at all. I am a big fan of Naughty Dog and TLOU is arguably the best console game ever made so the expectations are ridiculously high, but the difference this time is that I feel that they failed to deliver. Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have been looking forward to this for some time now and I hate to say this but I am feeling let down. Yes it is very good from a story perspective but so was the main campaign. The ending offered no insight as to what happened with Riley, which I thought was the whole point of this dlc. The Last Of Us, in my opinion, is the greatest game of this generation but sadly this content is not among the best downloadable ones.

    I recommend purchasing the full game and this dlc but don't expect it to live up to the thrills and shocks of the main campaign
    Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not much of a game really for this DLC, but they just feel you some information about what happened in the past. There is hardly any actual gameplay in this. However, it was a fun DLC, idk how naughty dog manages to make boring games into amazing games. However, when Ellie kissed a girl, that just changed the way I look at the main story, all in all, good DLC, but bad decision making from the creators. Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    6
    Really disappointing. Same polished gameplay and graphics but unforgivably short. And the story is nothing like the compelling and dynamic one of "The Last of Us." It's a strange and extremely brief plot, and gives little in the way of extra info about the main campaign. It's fun though of course, and gorgeous...but hardly a must have. It's also not really worth fifteen bucks with a threeReally disappointing. Same polished gameplay and graphics but unforgivably short. And the story is nothing like the compelling and dynamic one of "The Last of Us." It's a strange and extremely brief plot, and gives little in the way of extra info about the main campaign. It's fun though of course, and gorgeous...but hardly a must have. It's also not really worth fifteen bucks with a three hour running time and no replayability. Meh. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    7
    This dlc in no way was going to live up to my expectations of what the original game did. That being said I still enjoyed it a ton. It had those heartfelt moments that are scattered in the game, the point A to point B areas, same enemies, and same weapons. Naughty Dog didn't push the envelope with this one. This dlc felt very easy compared to the sequences with Ellie in the main game. IThis dlc in no way was going to live up to my expectations of what the original game did. That being said I still enjoyed it a ton. It had those heartfelt moments that are scattered in the game, the point A to point B areas, same enemies, and same weapons. Naughty Dog didn't push the envelope with this one. This dlc felt very easy compared to the sequences with Ellie in the main game. I breezed through on Hard in 2.5 hours, only dying once. KINDA SPOILER: The addition that I did like about the content was the use of infected and hunters in the same space. You can now have a 3 way combat system with more options at your disposal. I often found it very satisfying to lure a pack of clickers at a few hunters and let them fight for dominance as I watched from afar. Other than that the story is uninteresting and very cliched despite how uncliche the original game came off as. I often found myself accurately predicting the future events before they unfolded in front of me. If you loved The Last of Us then by all means buy this dlc. Quality over quantity is what I would say about this package, but it appears that we're lacking a bit in both fields. Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    I am a big fan of The Last of Us and I enjoyed the actual game very much! It was stunningly beautiful! I was so looking forward to this DLC. Left Behind is magical and it is a joy to meet up with Ellie again, even though I prefer playing with Joel. Having said that, I also believe that this DLC is way too short. Come on, you can complete it well within two hours! That is not fair NaughtyI am a big fan of The Last of Us and I enjoyed the actual game very much! It was stunningly beautiful! I was so looking forward to this DLC. Left Behind is magical and it is a joy to meet up with Ellie again, even though I prefer playing with Joel. Having said that, I also believe that this DLC is way too short. Come on, you can complete it well within two hours! That is not fair Naughty Dog. Left Behind should have been free, otherwise it should have been longer... I feel quite disappointed and ripped off. :-/ Expand
  9. Feb 15, 2014
    6
    The Last of Us is my favorite game of all time but this to me was part amazing and part plain stupid. It was like you were playing as two different characters which to me felt strange
  10. Feb 16, 2014
    5
    First if all, original game was really good and I liked it very much. But as for this DLC …
    I got this DLC as a part of the Season Pass. Sadly, this DLC is very short (2 hrs.), obviously, and doesn’t justify its price. Considering action parts, there’s nothing you haven’t seen before. And I mean it, nothing. Considering story parts, let’s be honest here, except for a few really good
    First if all, original game was really good and I liked it very much. But as for this DLC …
    I got this DLC as a part of the Season Pass. Sadly, this DLC is very short (2 hrs.), obviously, and doesn’t justify its price. Considering action parts, there’s nothing you haven’t seen before. And I mean it, nothing. Considering story parts, let’s be honest here, except for a few really good moments, namely two (and together they last for 3 minutes), it’s rather dull, if you’re 30 something male as myself. So, if you’re really into 13 year old girls and their problems - be my guest, otherwise - watch youtube walkthrough and you’ll not miss much. Sad, but true. Although, it’s not as bad as BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea or Dead Rising 3: Operation Broken Eagle. And yes, Riley's voice is way to old for her. She's not supposed to sound like she's on the shady side of thirty, you now.
    Expand
  11. Mar 1, 2014
    7
    Touching story at the end, but not very interesting overall. It feels like a girls' game because the whole story is about what Riley and Ellie do together as little girls. Too bad it doesn't appeal to the guy in me, as everything feels so childish. I prefer the tough-as-nail Ellie of TLOU, as opposed to her childish nature in this DLC. So, don't pin your hopes too high on this DLC.
  12. Feb 26, 2014
    5
    Frankly speaking I don’t agree The Last of Us is a gaming’s Citizen Kane moment. More likely it’s kind of gaming world’s Stagecoach. John Ford’s movie was a revolution of already existing Western clichés & forms mixed in something apparently new. Naughty Dog’s The Last of Us did the same using zombie games stereotypes. And it was such an amazing experience.

    The Last of Us: Left Behind
    Frankly speaking I don’t agree The Last of Us is a gaming’s Citizen Kane moment. More likely it’s kind of gaming world’s Stagecoach. John Ford’s movie was a revolution of already existing Western clichés & forms mixed in something apparently new. Naughty Dog’s The Last of Us did the same using zombie games stereotypes. And it was such an amazing experience.

    The Last of Us: Left Behind is a fundamentally different story. What is shocking it is not obvious but that is dull. Apparently there is a bravest descent from top art form to fashionable banality which I have ever seen. I got a friendly advice for Sony Computer Entertainment: please carefully produce Druckmann-Straley team in the future. I presume that the worldwide acclaim is much better choice instead of politically correct hype that has no sense of proportion and lacks of good taste.

    P.S. But Left Behind has some great graphics though…
    Expand
  13. May 19, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't buy it. Why? 1) It's too short. It's about 1 and a half our of gameplay. 2) Ellie and Riley flashback parts are just boring. The two of them arguing. The two of them playing with water pistols, breaking car's windows, taking photos in a booth. The good part is the one showing how Ellie got medicine to patch Joel up. Expand
  14. Jun 24, 2015
    6
    The story is actually quite impacting and well put together. Characters interact well and the relationship between the girls develops believably. The game play is good but....

    IT'S WAAAAY TOO SHORT! I mean you have barely warmed up and it's done. Felt a but conned by the end.
  15. Aug 1, 2016
    6
    The brief moments of combat and puzzles are good. But the drama simulator between Ellie and her friend that takes up most of the DLC is overly serious, way too mushy, and doesn't add substance to the main game. I want to play a gritty post-apocalypse game, not The Gilmore Girls.
  16. May 16, 2017
    7
    The whole point of Ellie's character is her innocence and childlike quality, and all the emotional effect she adds to the main game is predicated upon that. This dlc strips her of that. It's just stupid, and it's terrible writing. It's done to be trendy and that's extremely patronising to the people it's trying to emulate. I was very disappointed that they went in that direction. AsThe whole point of Ellie's character is her innocence and childlike quality, and all the emotional effect she adds to the main game is predicated upon that. This dlc strips her of that. It's just stupid, and it's terrible writing. It's done to be trendy and that's extremely patronising to the people it's trying to emulate. I was very disappointed that they went in that direction. As for the rest of it, I love Ellie, and I love getting to play as her. I did enjoy the whole thing. I was expecting a much greater deviation from the story though. I was thinking you might play as Joel's brother or something, and try to make a safe town. That would have been something interesting and new within their world, and given Neil Druckman's narrative prowess, it would have felt like a good short story. Instead, to follow the metaphor, it's like an unneccessary addition to an already perfect book. It's like buying a chapter that was quite rightly edited out. It's still great because it's The Last of Us, and I'll give it a high-ish score only because I want to be fair, but in the context of the story, just take it or leave it. You wouldn't be missing much. Weighed against The Last of Us, it sucks. I'm honestly not sure whether it adds or detracts. Expand
  17. Oct 4, 2019
    7
    Left behind was a nice addition to the original game. Certainly because this DLC takes place before and during the original story. Focus was more on the person Ellie. It is not really a spectacle, but the reflection of two teenagers trying to have fun in a far-reaching and dangerous world is very sad and beautiful at the same time. Downside was the environment that felt monotonousLeft behind was a nice addition to the original game. Certainly because this DLC takes place before and during the original story. Focus was more on the person Ellie. It is not really a spectacle, but the reflection of two teenagers trying to have fun in a far-reaching and dangerous world is very sad and beautiful at the same time. Downside was the environment that felt monotonous sometimes and afterwards I still had many questions about Riley. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    70
    There’s a scene in Left Behind proving that Naughty Dog not only has ambition to elevate games to the rank of art form, but simply does it. [05/2014, p.64]
  2. Games Master UK
    Apr 7, 2014
    88
    A fantastic way to extend an already brilliant narrative, and made with a hugely engaging structure. [May 2014, p.69]
  3. Play UK
    Apr 6, 2014
    81
    It's short - perhaps a little too short for the price - but Left Behind exhibits the same exceptional quality that made The Last of Us one of PS3's finest. [Issue#242, p.56]