Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 30, 2012
    90
    While a departure for the franchise, Soldier delivers some of the most fun we've had in cloaked camouflage. [July 2012, p.84]
  2. May 22, 2012
    90
    A strong product with plenty to do. It could easily become your go-to multiplayer fare this summer. The single-player campaign is excellent, and multiplayer is varied and deep. The only thing threatening Future Soldier's greatness is an unproven community of players who may or may not move over from the beta.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jun 14, 2012
    86
    The game is a little bit more accessible than the franchise is known for, but that's not a bad thing. Future Soldier offers more variety than any of its predecessors and won't bore you a single second, since every time you get tired of sneaking, the game gives you an excuse to bring out the big guns. [June 2012, p.78]
  4. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jun 5, 2012
    85
    Excellent player control and an interesting, globe-hopping story. [July 2012, p.98]
  5. 85
    The game's accessibility remains a key strength and highlight throughout both sides of the game, enabling both casual fans of squad shooters and more hardcore fans to find something they'll enjoy.
  6. May 22, 2012
    85
    A refreshing change from the current trend of thoughtless shooters, and in the moments when everything clicks together, it's hard to think of a more absorbing shooter.
  7. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    A fun and extremely tactical shooter with teammates that actually aren't idiots…. or that is mostly the case. We can't shake the feeling that the game isn't completely "finished", but that doesn't keep us from giving Ghost Recon: Future Soldier a strong recommendation.
  8. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 3, 2012
    80
    When the dust from the dirty bomb settles, Ghost Recon: Future Soldier looks noticeably grimy and raw in a few spots, but its mission has still been achieved. The visuals can be iffy, but the feeling of being an elite soldier of the future has been faithfully rendered in other ways. The pace is fast, the gadgets are empowering, and your job can shift from shrewd predator puzzles, to battles of attrition fought on a knife's edge. [July 2012 p.72]
  9. Jun 2, 2012
    80
    The deep tactical approach that the series is known for makes place for an accessible approach with a few minor issues. Despite these issues, Ghost Recon: Future Soldier offers a highly entertaining package which anyone can enjoy – especially those looking for something else than run of the mill run and gun action.
  10. May 29, 2012
    80
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier has several technical flaws and leans too much on the story devices conceived by several other modern day shooters to its detriment, but where its campaign diversifies with elements of stealth, teamwork and gadgetry it really shines. It's the multiplayer that turns out best, however, focusing on fewer modes of good quality that encourage co-operation rather than all-out killing.
  11. May 23, 2012
    80
    GR:FS is so nearly a landmark game. It's busting with great gadgets, challenging and unusual to play and committed to a true co-op spirit that most rivals have long since abandoned. If only it looked a little better, had a few more maps and U-Play made it easier to find a quick online match-up with your mates. Even so, it's a worthy alternative to any FPS and puts the Ghost Recon franchise right back at the cutting edge.
  12. Only a slight lack of polish lets things down. Although it's generally a pretty game, poor character models and clipping make the cast of genero-men look like beardy versions of Morph. For all the novels sold, Clancy's PS3 titles still can't tell a compelling story, either. Yet with such a brilliantly playful toolset and strong online features (including four-player campaign co-op and a compelling wave-based Guerrilla mode) this is the most impressive soldier since that blue American bloke with the indestructible shield.
  13. 80
    The multiplayer is shaping up to be the real star of the show, with in-depth customisation, the likes of which we've never seen before in a shooter, and a variety of brilliantly designed maps.
  14. May 22, 2012
    75
    After a troubled development and several delays, this Future Soldier looks more like a military game of ­the ­past.
  15. Play UK
    Jun 17, 2012
    60
    Provides a decent distraction for a brain that doesn't want to be pressured into thinking at all. [Issue#219, p.73]
  16. May 22, 2012
    60
    If you don't care about narrative, don't need the latest and greatest game engine powering your HD shooters and can live with the confused juxtaposition of stealth and over-the-top action braggadocio then you'll love it. If you want a tense, tight, stealthy experience then you'll probably love around half of it and loathe when it robs you of that pleasure.
  17. May 31, 2012
    58
    Overall, Ghost Recon Future Soldier is a mixed bag. I found the multiplayer side of the game to be pretty fun, but the campaign was a chore to try and get through. Not because the difficulty was overly punishing, but more so because it was just downright boring. It certainly has some interesting ideas and mechanics, but it's not enough to detract from the tepid gameplay. So, if you're looking for a sound multiplayer shooter it's not a bad way to go, but I'd avoid the mess of the campaign entirely.
  18. Jun 4, 2012
    50
    Future Soldier does what is expected. It does little else and rarely deviates from the concepts accepted as standard. There's a sense of regret there with the opportunity to be something bigger, something more, but rather than expounding on the stylistic ambition, Future Soldier camouflages itself with borrowed ideas, blending seamlessly into a crowded genre.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 180
  1. May 23, 2012
    6
    Wait until it hits the bargain bin, how can they have ruined this franchise? the ps3 port looks like a ps2 game ffs on my led tv the gunplayWait until it hits the bargain bin, how can they have ruined this franchise? the ps3 port looks like a ps2 game ffs on my led tv the gunplay is not satisfying at all, poor quality all over the park here folks, i would wait until you can pick it up cheap dont waste your money its not worth the full retail price 6/10 from me Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2012
    10
    Just finished campaign and yes it's short but after playing multi I have see now where they put all their effort. A must buy game especiallyJust finished campaign and yes it's short but after playing multi I have see now where they put all their effort. A must buy game especially if u like gears of war and cod. Full Review »
  3. May 22, 2012
    1
    To start off, I finished the campaign in approximately 3 hours. Are you serious Ubisoft? Twelve Missions!? After wishing that the laggy asTo start off, I finished the campaign in approximately 3 hours. Are you serious Ubisoft? Twelve Missions!? After wishing that the laggy as hell multiplayer could make up for this dissapointment, I knew there was NO WAY the multiplayer could've been any good. Not since it lagged a lot and the maps are so squished. GUN CUSTOMISATION?! This feature didn't live up to my expectations, i wished for more variety. Only 3 scopes was not enough And Guerilla mode. A ripoff CoD's MW3 Spec ops. Not great at all DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! I WARN YOU NOW! Well, at least it's colourful. Full Review »