Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 95
    Afterparty is a fantastic and incredibly funny tale of friendship and the role drinking alcohol plays in society and the effects that drinking has on us. Night School Studio has created one of the funniest games ever made and their version of Hell is fully realised. The stellar voice acting and writing left me smiling from ear to ear constantly. Afterparty is a joy to play and everyone should take a trip to Hell.
  2. 80
    Night School Studio can toast to creating a funny and endearing tale.
  3. Nov 8, 2019
    77
    Some weird technical mishaps aside, Afterparty is a helluva ride. Night School Studio’s depiction of Hell is wonderfully inventive, quirky, and surprisingly enticing. While it’s certainly up for debate whether it dethrones Oxenfree, Afterparty is a quality followup that will bring a smile to your face. The story is solid with great relatable characters but the constantly hilarious script and dialogue make Afterparty worth sticking with until the very end, even after everybody’s gone home.
  4. Nov 11, 2019
    70
    Afterparty is a unique look at the people we are, the people we wish to be, and how the world, its occupants, and even ourselves can frequently f.ck with both. While as a video game it offers mostly persistent conversation, that conversation is excellently performed and smartly written. Despite undeniable narrative and technical shortcomings, Afterparty is still a shindig worth turning up to, even if the invite seemed a little more promising.
  5. Nov 4, 2019
    70
    I'm torn from afterparty. On the one hand, the crazy characters, along with funny dialogues and completely ridiculous story are an absolute genre highlight. On the other hand, however, what you do in the game is just too much limited. The drink feature is a really funny gimmick, but there is not much depth. Moreover, apart from the decisions on which of the two options you choose, there is not really much to do.
  6. Nov 4, 2019
    70
    Afterparty is a game with characters and writing, with the secondary characters often managing to outshine our two leads, Milo and Lola. Unfortunately a few technical issues with load times, stuttering and long periods of silence do suck some of the fun from Afterparty. Still, it's worth playing if you like your character centred pieces.
  7. Oct 31, 2019
    70
    Some of the best dialogue of the year and an interestingly original portrayal of Hell overcome a slightly undercooked take on classic graphic adventures.
  8. Oct 29, 2019
    65
    Night School Studio's Afterparty falls short of greatness, with an unrewarding narrative, underutilized gameplay concepts, and technical issues.
  9. Nov 3, 2019
    60
    Hellish bugs might significantly diminish the experience but Afterparty still gives players a convincing enough argument to take an express elevator down to the fiery pits of torment.
  10. Oct 29, 2019
    50
    Afterparty is a game with a desperate need for a skip dialog button, but if one existed the majority of the title's gameplay would be lost.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Nov 1, 2019
    4
    Afterparty a really boring game. The dialog is not funny and conversation are very awkward. Often times confusing. What makes the dialogAfterparty a really boring game. The dialog is not funny and conversation are very awkward. Often times confusing. What makes the dialog even worst is that the game is 5 to 6 hours long. 3 hours of this game enough.

    The characters - I hate them. Lola has no personality other than "Stereotypical independent black woman". Milo is dull. He tries to be funny but it fails every time. I hate that they focus more on him than Lola. Side characters outside of WormHorn you won't remember them.

    Gameplay - A lot like Oxenfree its just walking around. 2 mini games but honestly they ain't great. The game has serious bugs. I got a bug that occur during the end of the game that made beating it impossible. As well as the FPS going to zero crashing my game, even corrupting the file. As well has bug making my screen black. No replay value because all the endings suck. Btw no NG+

    Sound - Music is okay. The voice acting is not. Lola poorly dubbed same with Milo.

    This game fails at everything it tries to do. Even moral values tried forcing you to understand fail flat.
    Don't buy list.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 4, 2019
    6
    I played this after having waited years. I am a huge Oxenfree can, and thought this would be as good, but I'm slightly disappointed. TheI played this after having waited years. I am a huge Oxenfree can, and thought this would be as good, but I'm slightly disappointed. The soundtrack is okay. I was expecting the same caliber as Oxenfree, but nope. This game is still really buggy on PS4. It suffers from frame rate drops, when after a patch. The dialogue is okay. Overall it's decent, but it's not Oxenfree. Full Review »