ARK Park Image
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A virtual reality adventure, allowing players to get up close and personal with dinosaurs and their immersive primal environments.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ark Park - Exclusive Tech Demo
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Nov 19, 2018
    80
    Ark Park is not the game we hoped to recommend to all owners of PlayStation VR.
  2. Apr 30, 2018
    65
    The pieces were all in place for ARK Park to be something brand new and highly compelling in the VR market, but fails to maximize on the opportunity. While it can be spectacular to look at, the gaming elements just feel tacked on as if there was a checklist of features to build in, whether they made sense or not.
  3. May 2, 2018
    56
    Ark Park has the ability to make us feel small in what could be a dangerous world of dinosaurs. The moments are there, you just have to find them.
  4. Mar 30, 2018
    50
    Instead of being a full-fat adaptation of Survival Evolved, ARK Park is more of a taster, chopping that game into smaller chunks, then isolating them. This isn’t the same sprawling open world shooter – it’s something much smaller and less substantive, though still looks to capture that core ARK essence. It may succeed on some level though, needless to say, those players who pony up £30 and go in blind could come away deeply dissatisfied.
  5. 50
    An unevenly executed mish-mash of ARK's cornerstone components, ARK Park shows some promise but is ultimately too flawed and poorly constructed to be recommended to anyone but wide-eyed, dino-hungry youngsters.
  6. Nov 6, 2018
    48
    A VR game that looks and plays almost like it was born during the PS2 era.
  7. Nov 22, 2018
    20
    ARK Park was meant to be a virtual dive in a dinosaur park, bad and dishonest, it looks more like carnosaur the video game.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Apr 1, 2018
    10
    I like it. It is good and the price is ok in my opinion.
    But I hope you guys will still put some work in it to make it even better.
  2. Mar 28, 2018
    10
    To be honest, the game could use a bit more content and some polish, but overall the experience is great. I would for sure show this game toTo be honest, the game could use a bit more content and some polish, but overall the experience is great. I would for sure show this game to friends who come over to my house. It’s quite a nice showcase piece for someone who hasn’t tried VR before. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2018
    9
    The visual is beautiful, and my son loves it! But I think the battle needs to consider whether it can be accepted by children.
  4. Apr 4, 2018
    8
    We expect the game for a long time brfore, the overall picture is still good to enjoy, my child itself is a dinosaur fan and we are shockedWe expect the game for a long time brfore, the overall picture is still good to enjoy, my child itself is a dinosaur fan and we are shocked after playing, looking forward to the following version. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2018
    4
    This review contains spoilers. Once you get past the extremely disappointing realization that you’ve been conned by the official trailer for this game (not one second of footage from the trailer comes from the actual gameplay), there are a few enjoyable aspects of this game. But it could have been so much more.

    Movement via instant transportation detracts a bit from feeling immersed in the game, but I don’t find it all that awkward. More disappointing is the extremely limited area of exploration in the handful of individual locales on the “Exploration” maps, and the fact that the dinosaurs have only one scripted routine in each location and you can’t really interact with them (though some will respond to feeding or bouncing a rock off of them). For the most part, it’s like they’re animatronics in a Disney attraction.

    The battle maps are simply wave shooters, and are pretty easy after you’ve worked your way up to the heavier firepower. And don’t bother looking around on the maps for dinosaur eggs, you acquire them on occasion when you kill the boss in the battles.

    Bottom line, there are dinosaurs in this game, but they’re few and far between (except when you’re killing them), and you won’t have much opportunity to interact with them. The graphics are actually rather primitive, nowhere near as good as Skyrim VR, for example. Gameplay has some enjoyable aspects, but this is basically a $5.00 game in a $50.00 package.
    Collapse
  6. Mar 29, 2018
    4
    Nope, try again. Good visuals but silly scope. They tried for a cash grab and failed. Nothing here actually worth playing. Plenty of VRNope, try again. Good visuals but silly scope. They tried for a cash grab and failed. Nothing here actually worth playing. Plenty of VR games better worth your time than this one. Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2019
    1
    A buggy mess. Got stuck on the tutorial twice and had to reset. If you give the dino the apple before the game wants to you to it's too stupidA buggy mess. Got stuck on the tutorial twice and had to reset. If you give the dino the apple before the game wants to you to it's too stupid to realise and just gets stuck on "open backpack" then it's close application and do it all again. Thought I'd switch back to teleport as free locomotion is so slow but apparently I cant, there's no options screen Expand

See all 10 User Reviews