Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Oct 26, 2017
    100
    As beautiful as it is deadly, Origins’ Egyptian playground is finally everything you wanted the Creed to be.
  2. Oct 26, 2017
    95
    Assassin’s Creed Origins sets a new bar for the series. It brings a taste of tomb raider mixed in with the girth of a Horizon Zero Dawn and wrapped in a traditional Assassin’s Creed structure. It will exceed gamer expectations and set a new standard for a series that needed life breathed into it.
  3. Oct 26, 2017
    93
    Assassin’s Creed Origins improves from its past few installments in almost every way, yet it never quite reaches the heights of the games it tries to emulate. Its combat isn’t Dark Souls level. Its quests aren’t The Witcher 3 level. Its open world isn’t…well honestly, this might actually be one of the most impressive virtual spaces I’ve ever seen, so credit where it’s due there. I do have to imagine that if you ever have loved a game in the Assassin’s Creed series that you’ll enjoy what Origins does here, but also if you don’t have 60+ hours to sink into a game as absolutely massive as this one, I don’t blame you either. But I enjoyed my time with it, more so than I was even expecting, having thought I had burned out on this franchise for good.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 15, 2017
    90
    With a beautiful world you'll repeatedly die for and lethal toys to play with, Assassin's Creed Origins finally delivers the game you always wanted from the series. Brilliant. [Christmas 2017, p.87]
  5. games(TM)
    Dec 3, 2017
    90
    The best Assassin's Creed experience in years. [Issue#194, p.69]
  6. 90
    Beautiful to look at and packed full of compelling content, Assassin’s Creed Origins ranks as one of the best entries in the series to date.
  7. Nov 2, 2017
    90
    The Assassin's Creed franchise returns after a year of absence with a new game set in Ancient Egypt. Origins is a new beginning for the series, and comes along with several major changes in gameplay design. Ubisoft's Egypt is not only beautiful and dangerous, but also a mysterious living world. The new RPG system, the redesigned combat system, and the missions are the pillars of Assassin's Creed Origins. It is more an evolution of the formula than a revolution. Of course it´s not a perfect game, specially because the battle system doesn´t work so well with many enemies. Also, the AI should be improve in the future.
  8. 90
    Assassin's Creed Origins is a triumph, taking the series back to the beginning and allowing players to partake in the genesis of the war between the Templars and the Brotherhood of Assassins.
  9. Oct 30, 2017
    90
    Assassin's Creed Origins delivers at least 30 hours of gameplay if you stick to the story and enough of the side quests to help you level up along the way. There's plenty in the game to keep you occupied well beyond that mark, and it's a testament to the game's design that the game world provides a legitimate and tempting distraction to what's an intriguing and exciting story in its own right. Hopefully Origins is the origin of a new renaissance in the Assassin's Creed franchise.
  10. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    The extra year of development time paid off and ensured that Assassin’s Creed Origins likely wouldn’t underwhelm its audience by repeating its past sins. Instead, it modernized itself by adopting a more open structure and intuitive set of controls and gameplay systems, effectively marking a new chapter in the franchise. It’s fitting that Origins showed the birth of the Assassin’s Creed while also indicating the much-needed rebirth of the Assassin’s Creed series.
  11. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    The combat is challenging and thoughtful, and while the loot system doesn’t match up to games like Destiny 2, there are enough different weapon types and enough enemy variety to keep you swapping between weapons, catered to the situation. The RPG elements encourage challenges of their own, and even despite a handful of bugs, I desperately wanted to keep playing.
  12. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    Many were wondering if more time would do the series any good, and I can now safely ask: why didn't they do this sooner?
  13. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    The one year gap was exactly what Assassin's Creed Origins needed. The game feels fresh, has a new combat system, a great story and looks absolutely stunning. It has the inevitable bugs and crashes, but that doesn't diminish the fun of the game.
  14. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    Assassin’s Creed Origins is a pharaoh’s tomb chock-full of shiny treasures for gamers, especially those fascinated with Ancient Egypt. The side quests may feel a little repetitive, but the credible, nuanced characters and diversity of the main plot make up for it. And with so much to explore and do in its jaw-dropping setting, Origins is exceptional.
  15. 90
    This is the best game in the Assassin’s Creed series. That extra year of development time has really helped Ubisoft find its creative centre again, and craft something that feels both fresh and energised. I could take or leave the shifts in gameplay to make this more like the loot-grind RPG-likes that dominate blockbuster game development now, but when Ubisoft is playing so beautifully within a fascinating period of history, all I care about is how utterly engrossed I am with the storytelling.
  16. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    Assassin’s Creed: Origins delivers a robust experience that mixes up the traditional Assassin’s Creed formula in a way that’s fresh and fun to play—but which also harkens back to the series’ roots in some welcome ways, too. It marks an evolution fans might not have even known they were waiting for, delivering one of the best overall experiences we’ve seen yet from the series.
  17. Oct 26, 2017
    90
    Assassin's Creed Origins is simply the best AC we've played since Assassin's Creed II with Ezio. Thanks to the 4K resolution, Egyptian landscapes are absolutely stunning. The Combat system has been revamped as well in addition with new stealth mechanics. A game you must buy.
  18. Oct 26, 2017
    88
    Assassin's Creed Origins is, without a doubt, the best entry in the series since Assassin's Creed III. Fixes almost every issue seen in Unity and Syndicate, and fully embraces an open world that feels really good. The combat mechanics, the variety in both main and side quests and the wonderful egipcian atmosphere are its best assets to take your time as hostage. However, the game starts poorly, something that could have changed the way it's seen. I want to personally praise Ubisoft didactic intentions with this entry, that will be remembered as a paradigm of the educational possibilities of a videogame.
  19. Oct 26, 2017
    88
    Assassin's Creed Origins is the best possible series comeback. With a gripping narrative and an amazing Ancient Egypt open world, Origins is a wonderful and unforgettable journey. The revamped light-RPG gameplay works like a charm and it's the perfect mix of the most iconic features of the series and a contemporary taste in terms of game design.
  20. Oct 30, 2017
    87
    Besides some minor technical and A.I. issues, Assassin's Creed Origins merges up as an astonishing, dynamic world where Bayek begins the history of the franchise. It surely represents a great way to celebrate 10 years of Assassin's Creed and a redemption chance for Ubisoft as a developer.
  21. Oct 26, 2017
    87
    Assassin’s Creed Origins performs remarkably in every aspect and shows a final and finished product, leaving behind the ghosts that had this franchise. It’s a title that every fan of the series should play, because it correctly maintains the essence and implements fresh and fun elements to the series. To sum up, Assassin’s Creed Origins is the renewal that the saga needed.
  22. Oct 31, 2017
    86
    If you’ve been a fan of the series since the very beginning, let your faith in the series be restored, because Assassin’s Creed Origins is definitely the best title to come out of the popular series in a long time, if not ever.
  23. Dec 29, 2017
    85
    Origins is the newest installment in rather worn out series and a much appreciated and needed refresh. New combat and graphically fantastic environment with tons of content will gave you some nice moments. The game is not a blast but it is a proof that AC is back on the right track again, for now.
  24. Oct 30, 2017
    85
    The series has managed to reinvent itself, all whilst still keeping the heart of the series intact. Bayek is a great character, and the open world of Egypt is remarkable.
  25. Oct 30, 2017
    85
    Assassin’s Creed: Origins breathes new life into this ten-year old series, culling the parts which didn’t work while branching out and growing beyond what it once was. It successfully maintains the heart of the franchise and smartly dumps unnecessary baggage while opening it up to more kinds of players. Technical issues keep it from being a masterpiece at the moment, but there’s no doubt that patches are incoming. Overall, if this is the future of Assassin’s Creed, it’s a bright one.
  26. Oct 26, 2017
    85
    Assassin's Creed Origins is a beautiful open world action-adventure game, a real reborn for the Ubisoft saga made possible by a fresh new combat and quest system. The story is passionate and the character of Aya is very cool. Perhaps the game is not perfect and had some trouble of game design, but we can surely say that is very good and a perfect way to follow for the next chapter.
  27. 85
    Assassin’s Creed Origins blew my expectations away in so many areas, but there’s still something missing that made the likes of Assassin’s Creed II and Brotherhood so special. However, this is most definitely the best title since then, and one that I’ll be jumping back into very soon. The new combat system makes for some incredibly satisfying moments, while the design of the world is only matched by the likes of The Witcher III.
  28. Oct 26, 2017
    85
    Assassin's Creed Origins is a very different Assassin's Creed than we would have expected. Hiding, fighting, horseback riding: you spend your time in this game so differently than you would've before. And that is awesome. Assassin's Creed successfully went open world.
  29. Oct 26, 2017
    85
    Overall, Assassin's Creed: Origins properly reinvents the franchise, offering a new and improved fighting and movement system, as well as an enormous open world to discover. Technically, it's not perfect, but this hardly hampers the experience.
  30. Oct 26, 2017
    85
    A new beginning for Assassin's Creed, with a lot of new elements. Not a perfect game, but a good open world with marvelous locations.
  31. Oct 26, 2017
    85
    Origins is an Assassin’s game that’s been gutted to the bones and refurbished for a completely new Animus experience. The game is much better for it, all across the board.
  32. Oct 26, 2017
    84
    Origins is a great game that relies heavily on its setting to make an impact on the player. Its gameplay also evolves, and although it still has some of the issues the series have been suffering in the last few entries, it’s definitely a step in the right direction. If you’ve ever been interested in the series, don’t miss this one.
  33. Games Master UK
    Dec 4, 2017
    81
    Vast and visually sublime, Origins overcomes samey stealth thanks to its sensational map. [Christmas 2017, p.76]
  34. Nov 14, 2017
    80
    I would have loved to have given this game a higher score, but I found a lot of issues with it from bugs to the things with the map and other small bits, although I did enjoy playing it because I am a huge Assassin’s Creed fan. It’s really big and fun, but the issues I listed and the changes they made aren’t all great ones.
  35. Nov 12, 2017
    80
    Assassin's Creed: Origins is an absolutely stellar return to form and even those who have previously not enjoyed the series would be wise to give it a second shot here. The new combat design is a big improvement, the world is rich, the story compelling; there is a lot to like here and it also massively returns on its investment thanks to the amount of content.
  36. Nov 10, 2017
    80
    A delightful game, full of things today that are very much an Assassin's Creed game. However it's still far removed from what an Assassin's Creed game used to be - for some this is good; for others, less so.
  37. Nov 4, 2017
    80
    Without doubt, Assassin’s Creed: Origins is one of the best entries in the series. The game sets itself apart from his brethren with radical changes to combat and progression systems that fits well in the game, while the representation of ancient Egypt is outstanding. However, it shares weaknesses from past games, such as bugs and a lack of creativity in its challenges.
  38. Nov 3, 2017
    80
    Without a doubt the best Assassin's Creed game since Black Flag – and right up there with the best entries in the entire series – Assassin's Creed Origins is a top notch open world title. Egypt itself is the star of the show, Ubisoft having meticulously crafted a stunningly detailed and varied landscape, but outside of the setting, a parade of gameplay and design improvements make this the roaring return to form that the franchise desperately needed.
  39. Nov 1, 2017
    80
    Assassin's Creed Origins has vastly improved combat and an astoundingly beautiful world to explore, but it felt a little afraid of going all in with its new direction.
  40. 80
    Assassin’s Creed Origins manages to breathe new life into an old franchise. By going back in time it has found a way to reinvent itself and move forward. The shift to a more action RPG style suits the game well, but the reduced emphasis on stealth may well upset some.
  41. Oct 30, 2017
    80
    Assassin’s Creed Origins is representative of Ubisoft Montreal taking a good, long look at the franchise and mixing things up. By moving the game away from its unique structure and into something within Grand Theft Auto and Horizon’s sphere of influence, it succeeds in upsetting the apple cart. The thing is, though, I found myself missing all the weird quirks that were indicative of an Assassin’s Creed adventure. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy that I don’t have to wear out my controller’s R2 button anytime I wanted to run or climb (which is, like, 95% of the game). I suppose when you’ve stuck with something for so long, it is going to take some time to adjust. Assassin’s Creed Origins loses out on what made the series oddly charming however, I applaud the studio for trying something different and building an incredibly meaty and gorgeous action adventure title that’ll keep me busy through the rest of the year.
  42. Oct 26, 2017
    80
    Assassin's Creed: Origins manages to be both experimental and safe. It tries a lot of new things, but it never ventures too far from the Assassin's Creed formula. There's a lot of potential in Origins, and it'll be exciting to see how the new features evolve in future games. Fans of Assassin's Creed should find a lot to like, and it may be time to revisit the battle between the Assassins and the Templars.
  43. Oct 26, 2017
    80
    A gorgeous open world and an extreme amount of interesting assignments make this technically challenged Assassin's Creed a very entertaining new entry in the franchise.
  44. Oct 26, 2017
    80
    Origins was worth taking the year off. Egypt will be hard to top as a location. The series' dry, ironic, corporate sense of humor is still dull. But nobody can beat Assassin’s Creed’s architectural history lessons, even if you’re still just stabbing folks and jumping out the window while you’re sightseeing the entire timeline.
  45. Oct 26, 2017
    80
    Assassin’s Creed Origins is the revitalisation I was desperately hoping for. My cautious optimism has been rewarded by an excellent open-world adventure that could lead to an exciting future for Ubisoft’s blockbuster franchise. While it lifts its finer ideas from other open-world titles, it executes them well enough to form a whole that entertained me for hours and hours. It’s a shame the narrative eventually jumps the shark, or this could have been something truly special.
  46. Oct 26, 2017
    80
    After taking a year off, Assassin's Creed is going through a transitional period and taking players back to the very founding of the Brotherhood in Ancient Egypt is symbolic of that. The vast new setting, the improved combat system and moving the series towards being a real action RPG have injected this series with a new life.
  47. Oct 26, 2017
    80
    It was a big risk trying so many new things at once, but it worked, and the setting carries it.
  48. Nov 2, 2017
    78
    Assassin's Creed Origins is a big game that has a lot of content, but after 10 hours it becomes too repetitive. Still, it's a great return of the series.
  49. Jan 2, 2018
    75
    Assassin's Creed: Origins is the best game in the series, but it's a mediocre action RPG at its core. In this sense, it both succeeds and fails at being a much-needed franchise shakeup.
  50. Nov 13, 2017
    75
    Assassin's Creed: Origins is far from being a bad game, but fails to achieve greatness as well. If Ubisoft would have cut half of the low-quality content, I think we would have gotten a much better game. While there's definitely room for improvement, I strongly believe that the Assassin's Creed franchise took a turn in the right direction.
  51. Oct 30, 2017
    75
    Assassin’s Creed: Origins offers a rich world and a compelling story at first, but it’s waylaid in part by the repetitive side quests and a weaker second half. It has secrets to find, but you’ll have to go looking for them — and you’ll have to do a lot of grinding along the way.
  52. Oct 26, 2017
    75
    Assassin’s Creed Origins brings Ancient Egypt back to life with the best sandbox world Ubisoft has made to date. However, a half-baked combat system and poor RPG mechanics sour parts of the experience.
  53. Oct 26, 2017
    75
    Assassin's Creed: Origins changed a lot of things but not enough to differentiate itself from other open world games. Also, the story wasn't as strong as we hoped it would be.
  54. Oct 26, 2017
    74
    Assassin's Creed Origins' believability is hindered by awful voice acting with unnatural, annoying accents and ugly, wooden animations. But to gamers who aren't too bothered about these things or are even blind and deaf to it, this will be a fascinating adventure in a beautiful, enormous Ancient Egypt that's full of nice rewards and challenging battles.
  55. Nov 13, 2017
    70
    To wander across Origins’ vast environments is to indulge in a historical, sci-fi fantasy.
  56. Oct 28, 2017
    70
    Assassin's Creed Origins is gorgeous to look at and experience and mostly okay to play. The lack of interesting gameplay news is disappointing and so are the many technical bugs. However the setting of Egypt remains a a stunner throughout.
  57. Oct 27, 2017
    70
    Assassin's Creed: Origins represents a gigantic shift in the right direction, one determined to kill what the series once was in the hopes of it becoming something greater.
  58. Oct 26, 2017
    70
    Assassin's Creed has undergone many changes in its long and storied history, and Origins feels like the first step in the start of a new journey. It has its fair share of problems, but the vision for its future is one worth pursuing.
  59. Edge Magazine
    Nov 9, 2017
    60
    Its world may be memorable, but otherwise this is a series falling back on borrowed ideas, as if unsure quite how to properly reinvent itself. There are enough signs of improvement to suggest the next entry could be the fresh start Ubisoft promised this time around. But as a new beginning for Assassin's Creed, Origins is more of a stumbling step than a bold leap forward. [Christmas 2017, p.100]
  60. 60
    Stealth is wrecked in Origins thanks to a overly sticky, far too easy-to-spot Bayek, and thanks to some poor design decisions. It was once rewarding to sneak up against powerful enemies and take them down; in this game, it works sometimes, but against enemies with too high a level, you just can’t do it. It’s an unnecessary barrier that detracts from gameplay; at times, you might as well go into an area with weapons and arrows blazing.
  61. Oct 29, 2017
    60
    A missed opportunity to reinvent the Assassin’s Creed franchise, which offers only incremental improvement and too many old problems.
  62. Oct 26, 2017
    60
    Assassin’s Creed Origins is what happens when you make a game without a vision for how players are supposed to engage with it. So many of the changes made to the game feel as if they were made in a vacuum, without a question as to whether they make sense together in the context of a long-running series. Not all games need loot. Not all games need RPG mechanics.
  63. Oct 26, 2017
    60
    Assassin’s Creed: Origins offers an engrossing and deeply satisfying open world in the lands of Egypt. Gorgeous visuals make it a lovely place to explore with rich environments. Still, the excessive amount of bugs at launch are devastating and hampered my experience significantly. Add to that a poorly paced narrative devoid of substantial character development and a battle system that fails to meet its full potential and I can't help but feel something important is missing, Regardless, Assassin's Creed: Origins has a lot to offer new and old fans alike - though the state of its technical performance at launch is highly questionable.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 28, 2017
    Origins is a triumph, of sorts. The feeling of perusing the ancient world in this fidelity is special on its own, and one of the best examples yet for a game's visual beauty alone being a stunning, inspirational experience. But, far too often that gives ground to more traditionally game-y bits that dilute Origins' best moments.
  2. Oct 26, 2017
    Assassin's Creed returns and its vast and evocative Egypt inspires wonder - even if much in the game remains familiar. [Recommended]
  3. Oct 26, 2017
    Assassin’s Creed Origins is ungainly and uneven, beautiful and frustrating, expansive and unexpectedly conservative. It won’t challenge the palate; rather, it is a prime example of video-game comfort food. It’s here to be slowly enjoyed, offering a seemingly endless supply of gorgeous locales and steadily-filling progress bars. If Ubisoft is a digital travel agency, Origins provides one of the most sweeping, enveloping destinations they’ve yet offered. Come for the beautiful recreation of ancient Egypt, stay for the beautiful recreation of ancient Egypt.
  4. Nov 15, 2017
    Origins sweeps the majority of Assassin’s Creed’s accumulated clutter off the table and into the bin, discarding even some things it was once nearly impossible to imagine these games going without. The result is the leanest, purest Assassin’s Creed since the series began.
  5. Oct 24, 2017
    It's a fairly good game, I'll give it that. Definitely in regards to design.
  6. Nov 16, 2017
    Assassin’s Creed Origins is not a dramatic departure from the formula as we last saw it, but manages to be much more fun and feel way more fresh than any entry since Brotherhood and Black Flag. It plays to the strengths of a genre Ubisoft helped bring into the mainstream, respects the player and their freedom, and allows them to beat up crocodiles. I’m into it.
  7. Oct 26, 2017
    The combat isn't especially deep, but successfully getting through a challenging encounter is rewarding. The game's story has been hit-or-miss, but some of the hits have been dead on—I especially enjoy how they're playing out the ethnic and political divides among Greek, Egyptian, and Roman characters. And hey, I say this with some degree of trepidation, but so far the loot has been pretty fun to get. But my fear is that no one will see that Origins is actually a competent and enjoyable action RPG and instead bounce off of the aimless intro.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2928 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 27, 2017
    10
    Played for a couple hours I have no issues at all, everything runs smooth for me and the game has not crashed.

    Visuals are amazing, I love
    Played for a couple hours I have no issues at all, everything runs smooth for me and the game has not crashed.

    Visuals are amazing, I love that you get flashback missions not just cutscenes when something big happens like killing a high-rank enemy, giving you a backstory to the point of why your taking down this high rank masked one etc. the map is quite big bigger than any AC universe and if you wanna 100% this game then it will take you some time.

    Struggling a little with combat I'm so used to countering then killing like all the other AC games if you think the combat is simple compared to the other games your in for a little surprise!

    YES! there is a Helix credit system, so for people who don't have time to grind can buy in-game currency to spend and some weapons can be unlocked via Uplay credits which are free to earn via your Uplay account anyway. I personally don't buy in-game content at all and only believe that if micro-transactions are on multiplayer games it is unfair.... for single player games the only things you buy with your real money for in-game currency..... if you even want to buy them only affects your personal experience for campaign, not like GTA Online, Battlefield, Battlefront 1 & 2 Loot Packs etc etc so for single player content i don't mind but I personally don't buy content from any game I play!

    Apart from that 10/10 definately an upgrade for syndicate and the bugged monster Unity!

    Would recommend.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 31, 2017
    4
    HONEST REVIEW: 4/10 mediocre. Honestly I wasn't sure what to expect from this game but it certainly wasn't what I got. First off, just likeHONEST REVIEW: 4/10 mediocre. Honestly I wasn't sure what to expect from this game but it certainly wasn't what I got. First off, just like with AC4 this game simply doesn't feel like an Assassin's Creed game and the protagonist never really feels like an assassin. As a fan of the series who has played every installment, I can tell you for a fact that this game feels much more like a cross between Farcry and AC, and this isn't a good thing. If you were hoping to experience dashing across the rooftops of Rome or Venice, like in previous titles, then think again. There is very little in the way of verticality in this game and unlike in AC4 where you had verticality in the wilderness, in ACO you have desert, flat, dead desert. Those who are comparing it to Horizon Zero Dawn are correct, as most "assassinations" happen by whistling people over to the tall grass and then assassinating them when prompted. And with the new level system there is no more walk up slowly and assassinate two guards simultaneously with your double hidden blades like in previous titles. Quite frankly, you never really feel like an assassin in this game, but rather a warrior who sometimes murders people quietly. The combat system is also garbage. Granted, the combat system in other AC titles wasn't excellent either, it's just that this also takes huge cues from Horizon ZD, and the leveling system ensures that you will simply be murdered by anyone who is too high level for you restricting where you can go and what you can do in this "open world." On the positive side, the world is definitely the biggest we have ever gotten in an AC game, and the graphics are beautiful. The colors and detail is very vibrant. However, the crafting, leveling, skill points, loot system, and leveling up/looting higher level weapons and gear all feels out of place. I see what they were trying to do, they were trying to expand the AC franchise and what can be done, but I can't help but feel like they could have done it better and in a way that would have felt more like an assassin's creed game instead of assassin's farcry. Honestly everything in this game feels like it is mediocre and rushed. I know Ubisoft took a year off to better polish this game, but honestly for what they were trying to accomplish with this game, it needed at least a 4 year development cycle or more to be able to pull it off, without it feeling cheap like it does. There is some fun here, and the story is. . . decent? Because of this I give it a 4, mediocre at best, and only worth a buy after a couple of price drops. Honestly, you would do better to just go get Horizon ZD if you have a PS4 or just skip this title until it's in the sales bin. Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2017
    4
    Big world and short story.
    This is the weakest story in all AC games.
    Charater is slow have no agilty. Bayek charater is lame not
    Big world and short story.
    This is the weakest story in all AC games.
    Charater is slow have no agilty.
    Bayek charater is lame not interesting at all.
    Game is very repetative.
    Stealth was way better in older AC games.
    They have the longest cicle for the game to develop and game is not polished.
    AC Black flag is best AC game Origins i know they experimented but is s not so good.
    Full Review »