User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2851 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2021
    8
    Unity it´s a good game, it looks great, the combat , i´s cool; the parkour ,it´s the best of the saga and the story it´s good as well.
    And the new phantom blade it´s really usefull.
    Also the end is really good.
    Nowadays in 2020 it´s a game that you can play perfectly , no bugs
  2. Dec 16, 2020
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Великолепная игра. Свою оценку ставлю исходя из версии на 2020 год с бесплатным дополнением "Павшие короли". Очень жаль, что на старте были проблемы с оптимизацией. Ещё хуже, что их отголоски заметны и сейчас. Именно за это я снимаю 1 балл игре.
    Лично я играю на PS4 PRO с boost mode, игра выдает стабильные 30 fps. Однако это решение не оправдывает разработчиков, потому что 1 - оно не доступно на fat и slim версиях и 2 - дыра в оптимизации затыкается поднятием частоты процессора, что ведёт к перегреву. Без boost mode игра работает нестабильно и неиграбельна.
    Касательно сюжета - лично мне понравилась линия Арно и Элизы, но все касающееся истории Франции - трэш. В сюжете огромное количество исторических ошибок, он ужасно однобокий (тамплиеры подстроили революцию, король и представители знатных сословий - жертвы обстоятельств). Большинству игроков побоку, но удручает отношение Ubisoft к собственной истории.
    Геймдизайн и паркур бесподобны, создававшие Париж художники и дизайнеры совершили чудо. Иногда могут происходить ошибки из-за кривой механики входа в здание (когда персонаж лезет вверх, а не в окно, и наоборот), но это мелочи.
    По поводу квестов - они делятся на две категории: с историей и подай-принеси-убей. Однако лично я получал удовольствие даже от примитивных заданий, потому как каждое из них связано с перемещением по городу, а паркур, как я уже сказал, бесподобен.
    В игре есть донат, абсолютно любой игровой предмет можно купить за очки Helix, а очки - за реальные деньги. Безусловно, это недостаток, и Ubisoft за такое дизреспект. Однако у меня не возникало ситуаций, когда денег остро не хватало. Большинство сюжетных квестов неплохо вознаграждают игрока, особенно в бесплатном дополнении, а некоторые однокнопочные дополнительные задания и вовсе дают деньги за пару минут (за контракт на устранение цели можно получить 3500, просто выстрелив с крыши). Тем не менее, снять 1 балл за донат я обязан.

    Итого получаем 8/10. Игра хороша, особенно по скидке. Напоминаю, игра работает идеально только на PS4 PRO в режиме разгона процессора. Если у вас оригинальная PS4, не советую брать эту игру.
    Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2020
    8
    Honestly, have to say this game doesn't deserve all the hate. I liked the game a lot when I played it. Has some flaws, not a lot though.
  4. Oct 31, 2020
    8
    Underrated game for 2020, the game is completely fixed, the only con is it's story, that could have been better if the studio had the time
  5. Aug 21, 2020
    8
    sinceramente la historia es parcialmente buena el parkour es el mejor de la saga y el combate es muy bueno pero la desventaja es que esta muy bugeado en mi caso solo me salieron 3 bugs pero lo demás estuvo bueno mi calificación final es 8.1
  6. Sep 4, 2020
    8
    Uno dei capitoli più belli della saga, peccato per i molti bug riscontrati. Arno grande protagonista. Stealth molto soddisfacente ma si doveva osare di più.
  7. Nov 21, 2020
    8
    I'm just writing at least 150 characters because I wanted to save this review in a more convenient way to look back at scores that I had given stuff as a user
  8. Oct 24, 2020
    10
    我认为大革命是很优秀的一部,而且很有野心,但是年货战略害了它,它并没有被打磨好就上市了,流程短,BUG多,剧情跨越幅度大,战斗系统令人恶心,即使如此,它依然有很多优点:远超时代的画质,干净利落的剧情,丰富的AInpc,巴黎故事的支线。总的来说,它是一部有里程碑意义的刺客信条,从这一部开始,刺客信条开始逐渐RPG化,它是一部值得购买的刺客信条我认为大革命是很优秀的一部,而且很有野心,但是年货战略害了它,它并没有被打磨好就上市了,流程短,BUG多,剧情跨越幅度大,战斗系统令人恶心,即使如此,它依然有很多优点:远超时代的画质,干净利落的剧情,丰富的AInpc,巴黎故事的支线。总的来说,它是一部有里程碑意义的刺客信条,从这一部开始,刺客信条开始逐渐RPG化,它是一部值得购买的刺客信条
  9. Dec 30, 2020
    9
    I just finished playing this game and I must say: it's the most underrated Assassin's Creed. After this many years it still feels like a next gen title since great detail has been put into it. The reviews are unfair, give it a try and play for yourselves. This is a true AC game unlike the recent games.
  10. Feb 24, 2021
    10
    Positives - Graphics, Main character, Side Characters, Map design, Combat, Parkour
    Negatives - Story could be longer, Side missions are not very interesting
  11. Jun 29, 2020
    8
    Of course, this game is imperfect, and it has so much negative points, but it is still an incredible game and one of my top 3 favorite Assassin's Creed games. I really don't understand why it received that much hate...
  12. Mar 7, 2021
    10
    This game’s animation, graphics, and sound design are amazing. It’s a return to form for the franchise. Dead kings is free and a great continuation of the arch.
  13. Jul 18, 2020
    9
    +Great story
    +Fantastic visuals
    +Great ps4 pro performance +Excellent virtual paris -Some glitches break immersion from time to time In 2018 this is dirt cheap to buy second hand. I got this for £6. The value here is exceptional. Also the patches (and running it on ps4 pro) mean it performs solid 30fps the whole way.... It is a must have if just for the incredible detailed virtual
    +Great story
    +Fantastic visuals
    +Great ps4 pro performance
    +Excellent virtual paris
    -Some glitches break immersion from time to time

    In 2018 this is dirt cheap to buy second hand. I got this for £6. The value here is exceptional. Also the patches (and running it on ps4 pro) mean it performs solid 30fps the whole way.... It is a must have if just for the incredible detailed virtual environment!
    Expand
  14. Jun 21, 2020
    8
    Underrated game. Troubled at launch? Yes, but afterwards it was patched and it is very good
  15. Jun 23, 2020
    8
    jogo maravilhoso, história épica, ambientação incrível, sistema de batalha muito bom e ainda um parkour muito bem feito. Tenho a plena certeza de que seria um dos melhores assassin's creed da saga caso não fosse seu lançamento quebrado, pois hoje, 6 anos depois e com maus de 20 gb de atualização o jogo ainda tem pequenos bugs,mas nada se comparado com o mesmo jogo em 2014, ou seja, o jogojogo maravilhoso, história épica, ambientação incrível, sistema de batalha muito bom e ainda um parkour muito bem feito. Tenho a plena certeza de que seria um dos melhores assassin's creed da saga caso não fosse seu lançamento quebrado, pois hoje, 6 anos depois e com maus de 20 gb de atualização o jogo ainda tem pequenos bugs,mas nada se comparado com o mesmo jogo em 2014, ou seja, o jogo em si é incrível e ainda mais hoje que está cerca de 100 reais ou até menos, eu erecomendo fortemente, pois a história, s gráficos e a gameplay valem muito a pena, o que manchou o jogo foi seu lançamento ruim e sua demora pra concertar os bugs, mas repito, hoje em 2020, pelo seu preço menor e atualizações, é muito vantajoso comprar esse jogo, ainda maia se tiver alguém pra jogar online, pois jogando online é mais divertido e faz possível melhorar mais seu arno, só não classifico com 9 ou 10, pelo seu lançamento, se fosse lançado em 2014 como está hoje, daria 9 ou 10 facilmente Expand
  16. Feb 25, 2021
    10
    Easily one of the best Assassin's creed's. Parkour and combat alone make this game amazing, but it's also graphically stunning.
  17. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well now,

    I think its testament to the superb high quality of games nowadays that has unleashed this much gamer fury at Ubisofts latest collect-a-thon.
    The bar has been raised pretty high now for these types of games and when its released it had better be ready or every spotted adolescent and his dog will be reviewing the game in anger.

    I have played about halfway through the main mission, yet completed most of the other stuff on offer. It’s good to get the café and social clubs up and running pretty quickly for all the cash you receive – but then you feel a bit more apathetic about collecting 100 Franks from all those damn chests.

    Features:- So far no horse and ship which is a little disappointing. It would be nice to control a carriage like in RDR or the pirate ship in AC3 or AC4. The missions are generally pretty varied and its good not having to do a “follow someone” mission every ten minutes apart.

    Graphics are good and but the frame rate does take a bit of a dive when you are surrounded by guards. - It doesn’t bother me though because I don’t last very long even with the stun/smoke bombs.
    Graphic glitches are part of the game with games like these but it hasn’t put me off the game because it doesn’t hinder you much. It’s quite funny sometimes to see a shopkeepers fruits suspended in mid air. Or the pianist standing on his stool while playing. One thing that is common is the spawning of citizens. They will “drop” in from somewhere and often get caught on a fence or table. As I said it doesn’t hinder the game but it is pretty sloppy. I have made a little community challenge of capturing the best glitch. Needless to say there are a lot of entries.

    The story is okay so far. (I am still on sequence 6). Although it’s not particularly hard to guess where the plot is going. I wonder if Beethoven is going to dedicate a song to Elise? …and seeing the Marquis de Sade in a game is always going to be interesting.
    Unfortunately like Connor before him, Arno’s character isn’t built out so well so far, so it is hard to really care for him, what he is doing, and just the story in general. I am getting pretty pissed at these assassin **** Elise seemed pretty interesting so I am looking forward to those twists.

    Sure, the streets are REAL crowded but it feels like revolutionary France so to hell with it. At night and in some districts there perhaps doesn’t need to be that many people, surely? One thing that gets me is while running away through crowds a French guard pursuer nearly ALWAYS hits me in the head from behind killing me. Where was that kind of accuracy in… erm… practically any historic battle the French have ever fought? Joking aside, there are a few tweaks that could have been done here to align the game a bit tidier with previous titles and even the “Shadows of Mordor”. I like the “old capture and grab” that might have worked a bit better so long as the captives buddy’s don’t just shoot through him to get at me. looking at the level of effort that was put into this game thats is perhaps what I would have expected.

    All in all, it seems quite fun and worth the money I suppose. Worth all the time? Not sure yet, but not being able to open chests at lock pick level three until sequence 9 will probably put a few completionists off due to the sheer time it will take to revisit those chest areas that you could have taken while doing another mission or task etc.

    The Companion app? Well its useful for wasting a few hours while riding to work but that’s about it. It’s a gimmock.

    The multiplayer is a little daft considering its a stealth game and that's exactly not whats going to happen.
    Fun game but as always doesn't live up to the potential becasue of its rushed schedule to get a new AC game out of the door every year before Christmas. sigh.
    8/10
    Expand
  18. Jan 19, 2020
    9
    This i probebly one of my favorite assassin's creed game the story is decent but it more then makes up for it in the openworld department.
    the gamepplay and the customization is one of my favorite so far the only thing it lacks imo is that one can't fight with the hidden blade.
  19. Feb 20, 2021
    10
    I'm super confused, because why does it have so bad user score? I understand that there were bunch of trolls and angry people combined when it launched, because it was buggy, but it works perfectly now. So while i get that it has negative reviews, every game has those, where's all the positive reviews? This game clearly has thousands and thousands of fans, it's very obvious just looking atI'm super confused, because why does it have so bad user score? I understand that there were bunch of trolls and angry people combined when it launched, because it was buggy, but it works perfectly now. So while i get that it has negative reviews, every game has those, where's all the positive reviews? This game clearly has thousands and thousands of fans, it's very obvious just looking at youtube and steam, so why not come here and fix this bad score that doesn't present what this game actually is? This game came out about 6 years ago, so with 6 years there's only about 500 positive reviews? Seriously? While Cyberpunk got over 17 000 positive reviews in like two months and had way worse launch than Unity. I'm just wondering, if AC Unity fans just don't care about this score and if that's the case, why cyberpunk 2077 fans care so much about that score? It's weird. Expand
  20. Feb 19, 2021
    8
    Unity è uno dei giochi più ingiustamente bistrattati della saga. Non posso comprendere appieno i problemi legati ai bug, in quanto ho acquistato il titolo dopo circa tre anni dal rilascio (anche se devo ammettere di averne riscontrati abbastanza). I bug però non inficiano l'esperienza più di tanto e non sono nulla rispetto alle migliorie di Unity: un sistema di parkour totalmente rimesso aUnity è uno dei giochi più ingiustamente bistrattati della saga. Non posso comprendere appieno i problemi legati ai bug, in quanto ho acquistato il titolo dopo circa tre anni dal rilascio (anche se devo ammettere di averne riscontrati abbastanza). I bug però non inficiano l'esperienza più di tanto e non sono nulla rispetto alle migliorie di Unity: un sistema di parkour totalmente rimesso a nuovo, un impianto di personalizzazione mai visto (praticamente la stessa meccanica di Odyssey, solo applicata ad un gioco che non snatura la saga) e delle meccaniche stealth modernizzate. È un gioco in tante cose mediocre, basti pensare ad una trama a dei livelli di qualità ai minimi storici o a tutti i tagli nel gameplay a paragone con Black flag e Rogue (il top della saga, senza contare Valhalla in quanto non l'ho giocato). Su questo punto però, si può spezzare una lancia a favore di Ubisoft: al posto di inserire forzatamente un sistema di crafting legato alla caccia ed un mondo in cui navigare più liberamente, gli sviluppatori hanno preferito rispettare l'ambientazione storica in disaccordo con questi elementi Expand
  21. Feb 12, 2021
    10
    These extremely low reviews make no sense. It had bad launch, but it was fixed pretty fast.
  22. Sep 9, 2019
    8
    An interesting story and time. As we are used to, famous figures from history come by. The only negative thing about this game were the bugs. Fortunately, I was able to look through it to discover everything in this beautiful world with impressive NPC crowds. The world felt really alive. I think this was the last true Assassins game.
  23. Feb 25, 2021
    10
    I would say Unity overall is very good game, it had some issues at launch, but that was like million years ago. It always had solid parkour, solid combat, nice characters, amazing graphics, beautifully designed Paris. It was never broken lie like cyberpunk 2077. When Unity's bugs were fixed it was amazing. When cyberpunk 2077 bug's will be fixed, it will still have amateur level policeI would say Unity overall is very good game, it had some issues at launch, but that was like million years ago. It always had solid parkour, solid combat, nice characters, amazing graphics, beautifully designed Paris. It was never broken lie like cyberpunk 2077. When Unity's bugs were fixed it was amazing. When cyberpunk 2077 bug's will be fixed, it will still have amateur level police spawning system, tons of missing content and generally boring open world. So these game are not even comparable. Unity is better game in every way, keep in mind it's 2014 game vs 2020 game and Unity was never promoted as "next gen open world". Expand
  24. Dec 14, 2020
    8
    This game continues classic AC series. There are many well-written characters, beautiful Paris XVIII c. and new vertical parkour mechanic. But sometimes bugs are happen.
  25. Feb 12, 2021
    10
    I will support Ubisoft until the day i die. I bought AC Valhalla Day 1 and i will do same with Far Cry 6. I want to play Assassin's Creed Unity as last thing i ever do, before i die. Ubisoft (alongside Rockstar Games, Remedy Entertainment and Capcom) is one of my favorite game developers of all time and i mean it. Anyway i just wanted to truly thank Ubisoft for every video game they haveI will support Ubisoft until the day i die. I bought AC Valhalla Day 1 and i will do same with Far Cry 6. I want to play Assassin's Creed Unity as last thing i ever do, before i die. Ubisoft (alongside Rockstar Games, Remedy Entertainment and Capcom) is one of my favorite game developers of all time and i mean it. Anyway i just wanted to truly thank Ubisoft for every video game they have done and thanks to that made my life so much happier and better in general. Watch Dogs and AC Unity were games that helped me to get over my depression and for that i'm forever thankful for Ubisoft. Thank you. Expand
  26. Sep 3, 2020
    8
    Everything about this game is average the story and side content and I didnt experience any major glitches although the game struggle with frame rate. What I really enjoyed about this game which is why I gave it a 8 is that the graphics which were best for the time and most importantly the parkour. Best in any Ac game I have played and I loved it
  27. Nov 10, 2020
    8
    Unity is in my opinion one of the not so strong games of the series. Even tho the graphics, the big setting of paris and the mechanics are great. The story and the protagonist couldn't fascinate me as much as in the previous games. It is still fine. They were still many more good points than bad points. Ubisoft doesn't handle all the parts constantly great but keeps it really good andUnity is in my opinion one of the not so strong games of the series. Even tho the graphics, the big setting of paris and the mechanics are great. The story and the protagonist couldn't fascinate me as much as in the previous games. It is still fine. They were still many more good points than bad points. Ubisoft doesn't handle all the parts constantly great but keeps it really good and refreshing. Especially when it comes to a good open world Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2014
    1
    You can't have a stealth-focused game have a multiplayer focus, it just doesn't work. As demonstrated by Assassin's Creed Unity, the game just feels like it slogs through mission after mission with a lack of cohesion. And does it surprise anyone at this point that the game doesn't look anything like it did at E3? Man, what happened to you Ubisoft?
  29. Nov 13, 2014
    8
    I can't play this game with ps4, so unplayable because of fps, so why we paid, for lazy developers, OMG.
    If they don't release some patch with better optimisation, blame on them...
  30. Nov 11, 2014
    1
    I'm disappointed, but not surprised. How much negativity has this game received prior to launch? That alone was a red flag, not a BLACK FLAG!

    Joking aside, the graphics, mission structure, co-op focus, and other implementations make this game a step backwards from AC4. BTW does anyone care about Assassin's Creed Rogue?
  31. Nov 11, 2014
    4
    Bugs,gitches,bad optimization,bad controls...good graphics,interesting story but the game is still a disaster.Ubisoft next time try to run the game in 20Fps,it will automatically fix all of that problems...and 20 fps feels more Cinematic and beautiful :D Hope they can fix so many problems with the upcoming updates,they will transform the game into a real good game.But for now...the gameBugs,gitches,bad optimization,bad controls...good graphics,interesting story but the game is still a disaster.Ubisoft next time try to run the game in 20Fps,it will automatically fix all of that problems...and 20 fps feels more Cinematic and beautiful :D Hope they can fix so many problems with the upcoming updates,they will transform the game into a real good game.But for now...the game is approximately unplayable. Expand
  32. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    20 FPS. Npc horribles. Graphics meh. I'm not a big frame rate guy who screams at the rooftops for 60fps or bust, but in this case it really does impact the feel of the gameplay and traversal in a tangible way.
  33. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    Sometimes in life, some people have such ill intentions that you have to create an account just to give credit where credit is due.
    I have played all of the AC games so far. Starting from Playstation 2 days. The first one got me bored after a while and I didn't finish it. Then came the Italy games and all of them I finished as quickly as I could. They were great. Then came Constantinople,
    Sometimes in life, some people have such ill intentions that you have to create an account just to give credit where credit is due.
    I have played all of the AC games so far. Starting from Playstation 2 days. The first one got me bored after a while and I didn't finish it. Then came the Italy games and all of them I finished as quickly as I could. They were great. Then came Constantinople, which I also finished, but it felt like something was missing. And then came the Americas, both games were terrible, in my opinion. I traded them in both, after only a few hours. Why have I told you all this? It's because I want you to know I'm being honest.
    This game so far, and I have completed almost %35 of the game, reminds me of the ones that took place in Italy. The story is not spectacular but at the same time it's good enough to keep you interested. Paris is awesome and running around the street in the aftermath of the revolution is a lot of fun. Enemies are better fighters than in previous games, if you are caught 4 to 1, for example, your chances of survival are very low. In previous games I could easily take 7-8 enemies, in this one it seems very difficult to do that.
    The only downside so far is the lack of new moves that I can do during combat. Other than that, I like the game a lot so far. So much that I took a sick day today and I'm playing non-stop.
    Anyone who gives this game a 0 has a different agenda, be sure of that.
    Expand
  34. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    Choppy and extremely glitchy. Cant even bother to pay attention to the story because the game is so poorly optimized. Did i mention the character models are frumpy and have an almost melting mannaquin quality to them? The combat, in comparison to other games with similar mechanics, is weird. The attacks impact the enemies with the feeling of a hot knife through butter. That is to say itChoppy and extremely glitchy. Cant even bother to pay attention to the story because the game is so poorly optimized. Did i mention the character models are frumpy and have an almost melting mannaquin quality to them? The combat, in comparison to other games with similar mechanics, is weird. The attacks impact the enemies with the feeling of a hot knife through butter. That is to say it feels like play fighting. More often than not the weapon does not even touch the enemy you are fighting. The climbing is laughably simplistic. Hold R2 and X while holding UP on the left stick. The character whatever its name was would just glitch in place moving up every building. Jumping between buildings feels silly. Every jump was a glitch. I dont know what else to say. except do not waste your money on this rushed yearly disappointment. Expand
  35. Nov 11, 2014
    3
    Huge Huge Let Down! Im sick and tired of getting hyped by Ubisoft games and be disappointed for how old and outdated the game engine is, which is basically a last gen game with all kinds of hiccups, framedrops, pop-ups, etc etc, from day one. That make me think about how they cheat people showing and outstanding game before the release in super PCs and how far is that from the real thing.Huge Huge Let Down! Im sick and tired of getting hyped by Ubisoft games and be disappointed for how old and outdated the game engine is, which is basically a last gen game with all kinds of hiccups, framedrops, pop-ups, etc etc, from day one. That make me think about how they cheat people showing and outstanding game before the release in super PCs and how far is that from the real thing. Im not usually write any review but right now im very pissed off Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2014
    6
    Ubisoft really need to take more time to FINISH their games before they release them. Scheduled yearly releases don't work, especially with games getting more complex.
  37. Nov 11, 2014
    3
    I think the review saying "don't listen to the complaints, just go out and buy it" is really not helpful at all considering the games frequent buggy combat, parkour, clipping and frame rate issues. I found the story boring and not interesting enough to hold my attention, maybe if I wasn't having such problems with the game i would have stuck it out but in it's present state it just sucks.I think the review saying "don't listen to the complaints, just go out and buy it" is really not helpful at all considering the games frequent buggy combat, parkour, clipping and frame rate issues. I found the story boring and not interesting enough to hold my attention, maybe if I wasn't having such problems with the game i would have stuck it out but in it's present state it just sucks.

    I would say it's one of the worst AC's so far. People saying that the game doesn't have problems are completely lying and I can't believe people are saying they didn't experience any frame drops! It's complete lies. The game is unfinished and you should seriously think twice about buying it. If Ubisoft fix it then fine, but why would anyone want to play a game that runs < 20fps in most areas.

    People just don't want to admit it's issues and that's really sad and is the reason why companies keep releasing unpolished content, so many people will just like anything and look past the genuine problems. I would definitely say that the game is not worth the full price in its current state. It needs to be fixed with a patch.
    Expand
  38. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    A classical AC, way better than last 2 America's Black flag (this is great news!)
    AC Unity brings a top-notch atmosphere and decor of Paris, so it's 10/10. Graphics 9/10. From the history point of view, I'd say 8/10 or 7,5/10 (I didn't finish it). Controls 8/10.
    Definitely a 9! And I didn't even played CO OP! So it all comes down on what you are looking for: 1. If you are looking for a
    A classical AC, way better than last 2 America's Black flag (this is great news!)
    AC Unity brings a top-notch atmosphere and decor of Paris, so it's 10/10. Graphics 9/10. From the history point of view, I'd say 8/10 or 7,5/10 (I didn't finish it). Controls 8/10.
    Definitely a 9! And I didn't even played CO OP!
    So it all comes down on what you are looking for:
    1. If you are looking for a all NEW & revolutionary game, Unity has no new mechanics or moves (a no).
    2. If you are looking for a great AC game, environmental immersing, rich with top atmosphere and scenarios, (yes, Go for it!)
    Expand
  39. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    I was fearful of this Assassin's Creed going further away from Black Flag and closer to AC3. The combat hasn't taken any steps to major improvements, as expected. Co-op exclusive missions are something I dread, I didn't like it in Dead Space 3 and I don't like it here. In fact, the co-op implementation in what is supposed to be a stealth game really ruins the experience in my opinion.

    I
    I was fearful of this Assassin's Creed going further away from Black Flag and closer to AC3. The combat hasn't taken any steps to major improvements, as expected. Co-op exclusive missions are something I dread, I didn't like it in Dead Space 3 and I don't like it here. In fact, the co-op implementation in what is supposed to be a stealth game really ruins the experience in my opinion.

    I haven't run into major bugs or glitches, however I have to say that a fair amount of character models are shockingly bad. Ubisoft boasted about how many unique NPCs were active at any given time, but no one really gives a crap about any of that. This game just feels like a step back in the AC franchise.
    Expand
  40. Dec 1, 2014
    1
    For the people who are complaining about the low review scores calling us idiots, I feel the same way for the people who rate broken games with a good score, you people are what is ruining the gaming industry... Unity is a broken mess, and that is the truth, no game deserves to be rated good if it is a mess.. With practices like this you are saying that it is ok for the them to releaseFor the people who are complaining about the low review scores calling us idiots, I feel the same way for the people who rate broken games with a good score, you people are what is ruining the gaming industry... Unity is a broken mess, and that is the truth, no game deserves to be rated good if it is a mess.. With practices like this you are saying that it is ok for the them to release games like this because you are biased and would probably given the game a 0 if it was another studio or different name on the box.. It is 2014... It is unacceptable to be releasing games in this state and having people Beta test , you know...the people who paid 60-$70 on the game...

    From NPCs with missing faces to terrible lag to game breaking bugs...it's all there, not surprising that this generation of games seems to be following a very bad trend and it's games like this that will be the start of the next video game crash.. For anyone thinking this is a troll review, you can click my name, I have reviews over 1 hundred games fairly... This is not acceptable to me anymore.. I do not care if the game will get patched.. My PS4 has 41GB of patches, this is not good for anyone.. Fix your POS before you release the game, I have no respect for companies who have no respect for the gamers.. we support you, we let you go to work so you can do what you "love" give us a finished game for once.... I'm aware that you are giving people free dlc and Far Cry 4 for your screw up, but you are only doing that because people are starting to give up on you as a company.

    This is more of a rant other than a review,
    Expand
  41. Nov 12, 2014
    4
    Ubisoft added some really great features! My favourite feature is the super awesome low framerate that gives you the added slow-mo effect when you play the game. Everything now looks like the Matrix scene cept this happens randomly and at times for long periods. Go Ubisoft!
  42. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    Making game run WORSE on a PS4 which is more powerful platform than xbone is a sick joke!!! Whole 900p parity thing between PS4 and xbone was a big scam, but this is just unbelievable...
  43. Nov 11, 2014
    9
    Hey Guys

    This is my first review, and first of all sorry for my English. This game is great! Its maybe the preetiest and biggest Game on the Assassins Creed Series. The City is very life-ful and the capabilities are immense. You can feel the Revolution on the Streets of Paris. The Story is nice and the character's are power full and full of Emotions. It's looks very good and the
    Hey Guys

    This is my first review, and first of all sorry for my English.
    This game is great! Its maybe the preetiest and biggest Game on the Assassins Creed Series.

    The City is very life-ful and the capabilities are immense. You can feel the Revolution on the Streets of Paris.

    The Story is nice and the character's are power full and full of Emotions.
    It's looks very good and the 30fps is great and enough for a assassins Creed !!

    But one thing is very annoying. The pop-ups !!
    The NPC will appear after 30 meters and 4 meters in front of you, the clothing changes. The streets are very crowded, I think that's the problem. From time to time you have FPS dips, but this is very rare!

    But overall, you get the feeling that is not fully developed the game. It definitely still needs a patch to come.
    But 6.9 is DEFINITELY undervalued.

    Best Regards!
    Expand
  44. Nov 13, 2014
    0
    Guys.... do yourselves a favor, do not touch this game with a ten foot pole as it is the biggest pile of steaming **** ubisoft has ever created. "Hundreds of npcs on the screen at one time". uhh that's great Ubisoft but i am running on 10fps here on a ps4 which you were meant to have optimized this game for. You guys want a good assassins creed? buy black flag, hell buy AC3 it wasGuys.... do yourselves a favor, do not touch this game with a ten foot pole as it is the biggest pile of steaming **** ubisoft has ever created. "Hundreds of npcs on the screen at one time". uhh that's great Ubisoft but i am running on 10fps here on a ps4 which you were meant to have optimized this game for. You guys want a good assassins creed? buy black flag, hell buy AC3 it was better than this. The combat has been ruined as every single enemy has a pistol and uses it constantly whether you are mid fight with another enemy or not. The environment is muddy and dull despite the complete **** the trailer portrayed. Constant glitches ranging from inability to attack enemy's, falling through the world, combat mechanics not activating and general free running failures. Just leave this game on the shelf where it belongs guys please. Expand
  45. Nov 11, 2014
    1
    The framerate is shockingly bad, and I'm constantly seeing pop-in. I'm guessing that those amazing number of NPCs have a lot to do with how badly this game runs. And I'm glad it's not just the PS4 versions that's struggling right now. Ubisoft should be ashamed of its technical team right now. Just another game with day 1 technical problems that hinder the game so much to the point ofThe framerate is shockingly bad, and I'm constantly seeing pop-in. I'm guessing that those amazing number of NPCs have a lot to do with how badly this game runs. And I'm glad it's not just the PS4 versions that's struggling right now. Ubisoft should be ashamed of its technical team right now. Just another game with day 1 technical problems that hinder the game so much to the point of unplayability. That's becoming a growing trend that needs to stop, or at least lessen. Expand
  46. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    How can the critics give this game such a high score? Not only are these missions cut and paste from old games, but this game is so full of glitches its unbelievable! This group obviously has no knowledge of how to develope on the PS4.
  47. Nov 11, 2014
    4
    Alex Amancio lied to everyone. This is by far the worst Assassin Creed game. There's no way around it: this is the FLOP OF THE YEAR
    Don't believe the super positive reviews....Ubi uses it's employees to makeup fake reviews as was proven many times in the past.

    Keep your sanity and avoid this game
  48. Nov 11, 2014
    4
    Rubbish performance from this title, not only is the picture somewhat muddy compared to the clear Black Flag, but the frame rate is terrible, actually bordering on unplayable.
  49. Nov 11, 2014
    4
    It's Assassin's Creed with lots of bugs, a shocking frame rate and micro tranasctions of up to $100USD enjoy!

    Another game pushed to market before it was ready for release. Keep up the good work Ubisoft, you will be taking away EA's golden turd in not time at this rate.
  50. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    In every way this is the worst Assassin's Creed game
    1) The pop in is very distracting and maybe the worst I've ever seen. Backgrounds, trees, textures, people, all of a sudden 10 peoples' shoes pop-in at the same time.
    2) To know who characters are and critical story elements you need to stop the game and read long passages. 3) Sometimes when you stop your character and look at his
    In every way this is the worst Assassin's Creed game
    1) The pop in is very distracting and maybe the worst I've ever seen. Backgrounds, trees, textures, people, all of a sudden 10 peoples' shoes pop-in at the same time.
    2) To know who characters are and critical story elements you need to stop the game and read long passages.
    3) Sometimes when you stop your character and look at his face it is blurry. I've played games on N64 with sharper main character faces.
    4) Nothing seems to have been changed gameplay wise. You still run up surfaces when you mean to be running forward. The combat seems ok, but the same. You still climb high towers for eagle view. The animations are not fluid when you're in a crowd, they blink and miss frames. The overall running and parkour animations are different, that's the only change I have noticed.
    5) Very long loading times.
    6) I have noticed framerate issues when running...sometimes your run speed arbitrarily changes...it will slow down then go back to the main running speed many times.
    7) There are too many people in the street and it makes traversal unpleasant because you are always bumping into 50 people every time you are trying to get somewhere.
    8) The side missions are horrible. For ex., solving murders: You use eagle vision to scan a location for about 15 yellow highlighted clues which you must go to and "interact" with. And read about each one with text. Then you "suspect" someone. Zzzz.
    9) There are buffs in the game that make your character stronger and have more abilities THAT YOU MUST PAY REAL WORLD MONEY WITH. Total BS. Don't give Ubi your money.
    Expand
  51. Nov 14, 2014
    0
    Just another AAA title that is feeding off a brand name. The only part of this game that is actually completed in this "games" is the ability to purchase the micro-transactions. Also, I am sick of these paid reviews and Ubisoft employees trying to wrongfully influence the user score.
  52. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    The game is beautiful.The graphics are really good.There are some bugs which ubisoft will be fixing.The sounds are good.The best part is the huge crowds!But the game is also not perfect due to some framerate drops.
  53. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    This game runs like a turd. I'm tired of buying full priced games that have not been optimized. If it cant run, turn it down! Further more, it looks bad considering it runs at 900p20fps.

    I would say that the game is at least still fun to play, but to be honest, i will be taking it back and rather buying it on pc, so the ps4 version for me gets this shoddy review as I will return it.
    This game runs like a turd. I'm tired of buying full priced games that have not been optimized. If it cant run, turn it down! Further more, it looks bad considering it runs at 900p20fps.

    I would say that the game is at least still fun to play, but to be honest, i will be taking it back and rather buying it on pc, so the ps4 version for me gets this shoddy review as I will return it.

    http://youtu.be/clQfCP3NFuc - for those who think it runs fine.
    Expand
  54. Nov 11, 2014
    1
    Not at all the game I was hoping it to be. I've run into countless bugs, poor collision detection with NPCs, frame-rate that ranges from okay to abysmal, and not had a whole lot of fun with the actual game.
  55. Nov 11, 2014
    2
    I am a long time fan of AC. That said, this game had the worst performance I have ever seen. The frame rate is so bad that it is unplayable. So upset Ubisoft released this garbage to us. Oh, and the micro transactions were removed from the review builds. Yes, you gotta pay for the good stuff above the 60 bucks you pad for the game. Sony was nice enough to refund me my money. 1st timeI am a long time fan of AC. That said, this game had the worst performance I have ever seen. The frame rate is so bad that it is unplayable. So upset Ubisoft released this garbage to us. Oh, and the micro transactions were removed from the review builds. Yes, you gotta pay for the good stuff above the 60 bucks you pad for the game. Sony was nice enough to refund me my money. 1st time ever I asked for one. Expand
  56. Nov 13, 2014
    2
    When did Assassin's Creed become so dull, and SO BROKEN? Seriously, it's like companies don't even play test their games any more... Ubi is becoming the new EA which is just so sad, releasing unfinished crap and justifying stupid things like parity/sexism etc. This game is probably improved by some of the stupid bugs, which just shows what a poor effort it is. It does have some nice visuals though
  57. Nov 11, 2014
    7
    combats is Slowly And high drop frame and i cant play co op because for drop frame story is very good sound is good Specially arno was child at total i suffered from drop frame
  58. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    LOL, the nutheads who gave bad reviews on this game are the same who gave 10 to COD:AW and Mario Kart 8. Just laughable, to say the least!
    The game is spectacular! Graphics, parkour, combat, stealth, story, atmosphere... bloody **** everything! Arno is the best protagonist since Ezio!

    10/10 - Best AC ever. Only Far Cry 4 can thake the GOTY from it.
  59. Nov 11, 2014
    1
    A technical mess that likes to think it’s a revolutionary success. Why are there no critic reviews for this game yet? Because what Ubisoft has presented to us gamers is a game that underperforms and cuts corners at every angle. Poor optimization means youll see insane amounts of texture pop in, extreme slow down, npcs falling through the ground, odd noise popping, game killing load times,A technical mess that likes to think it’s a revolutionary success. Why are there no critic reviews for this game yet? Because what Ubisoft has presented to us gamers is a game that underperforms and cuts corners at every angle. Poor optimization means youll see insane amounts of texture pop in, extreme slow down, npcs falling through the ground, odd noise popping, game killing load times, and graphics that (at times) look much worse than Black Flag. I wanted to love this game, I tried my hardest, but after eight hours spent roaming the streets of Paris, I have to confess, Ubisoft have gone the way of Activision: push it out the door as fast and cheap as possible, and profit. On the plus side, interesting characters, good use of lighting (when the game works), **** it, don’t buy this game. Dont make the same mistake I did. Expand
  60. Nov 11, 2014
    4
    This is really a next-gen game. You need a PS5 to run it over 30 FPS.
    But, Tech aside, the Paris has more fun than a dump of pacific islands.
    Looking back, Just amazed from 2007 till now, there's been 7 AC titles on main platform...and quality drops year by year... sad. UB just want to squeeze as many coins as it can. Cant expect much from an annual title like CoD.
  61. Nov 12, 2014
    4
    I've been a long time lurker here at metacritic and through all of the bad games in the past and disappointments, I've never felt the need to put in my two cents until now.

    This has to be the biggest disappointment (although probably foreseen) of this year. Regardless of whether or not Ubisoft released in order to make a holiday deadline, this game is unplayable. Assassin's Creed IV was
    I've been a long time lurker here at metacritic and through all of the bad games in the past and disappointments, I've never felt the need to put in my two cents until now.

    This has to be the biggest disappointment (although probably foreseen) of this year. Regardless of whether or not Ubisoft released in order to make a holiday deadline, this game is unplayable. Assassin's Creed IV was TRULY locked at 30fps and played fine. This game, however, might as well be locked at 25 or even 20, because that is what you'll be seeing most of the time. There are points where it drops into the teens and even single digits! If anyone thinks this is acceptable or playable, they are deluded.

    What's sad is the framerate isn't even the biggest issue. The free-running is janky as ever, propelling you into drunken shamblings over seemingly unobtrusive objects that would make all but the most level-headed of gamers throw their controller in frustration. The texture and model pop-in is at an immersion-breaking point; even existing in most of the game's cutscenes where it just looks like terribly lazy transitioning. Not to mention the game breaking glitches and bugs. I've fallen through the world so many times that at this point I wouldn't mind playing the game 1000 ft below Paris. At least the framerate is stable! The co-op is easy to drop in and out, thankfully. But that is about as good as it gets. There is almost no coordination or planning unless you're playing with friends. Most of the 4-player missions/heists consist of four shambling glitchy Arnos racing and rushing through the enemies from checkpoint to checkpoint until coming upon an anti-climatic end and sub-par armor reward. Which brings me to the microtransactions. It's obvious Ubisoft is trying to push the mobile freemium onto AAA titles. Prices of certain pieces of gear or weapons jumps from an acceptable amount of in-game coin to an absolutely absurd amount, hinting that you'd have an easier time just paying real money for it. A piece of armor, for example will jump from 5000F to 250000F from one tier to the last tier.

    There are many other small frustrations that add to all of this I could mention, but I feel like I would just be redundant at that point. Do yourself a favor and save your money for the myriad of blockbusters coming out next week (Dragon Age, GTAV, LBP3, SSB4, or even Far Cry 4 if you can forgive Ubisoft at this point). Wait until Ubisoft acknowledges these issues and maybe come back in a month or two to see where it's at.
    Expand
  62. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    (sigh) Where do I start? The ability to hide bodies is now gone, while those god awful checkpoints still persist. Everything that was positive about Black Flag went right out the window. The parkour is complicated and more unpredictable than ever before, the combat - thank you for breaking something that didn't need fixing. While the stealth is somewhat improved, now you have a gang of(sigh) Where do I start? The ability to hide bodies is now gone, while those god awful checkpoints still persist. Everything that was positive about Black Flag went right out the window. The parkour is complicated and more unpredictable than ever before, the combat - thank you for breaking something that didn't need fixing. While the stealth is somewhat improved, now you have a gang of enemies who will attack you on site anywhere on the map. Glitches, bugs out the @$$ and dropped frame rates. Ubisoft has some giant balls releasing a game like this for $60. I'm going str8 to GameStop tomorrow to return this piece of $hit. Expand
  63. Ozy
    Nov 13, 2014
    4
    Releasing this game now is like moving into an apartment before the building has been completed. You take a dump and the apartment smells because the plumbing hasn't been installed. This leads me to believe the stakeholders wanted the game released to make some quick money. This game needed at least another 6 months of development. I believe the game deserves a much higher score - but notReleasing this game now is like moving into an apartment before the building has been completed. You take a dump and the apartment smells because the plumbing hasn't been installed. This leads me to believe the stakeholders wanted the game released to make some quick money. This game needed at least another 6 months of development. I believe the game deserves a much higher score - but not now not the way it is. Ill increase my score once the patches are made. Hold yourselves from buying until it runs smoothly. Expand
  64. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    a great game , is not free from problems more out about their qualities . was an incredible idea to pass on the French Revolution , the Stealth is back which is something I missed , and the graph is beautiful , crowded streets and a very detailed city , in my opinion deserves 10
  65. Nov 11, 2014
    5
    First of all I must admit that I've been waiting for this game for months. I was very excited when I got my dvd. When I started playing I thought that my resolution changed from 1080p to 720p . Because the graphics are choppy and there is a weird rendering mechanism in the game which you can notice immediately. There are too much glitches and frame rate drops even if there are no NPCs inFirst of all I must admit that I've been waiting for this game for months. I was very excited when I got my dvd. When I started playing I thought that my resolution changed from 1080p to 720p . Because the graphics are choppy and there is a weird rendering mechanism in the game which you can notice immediately. There are too much glitches and frame rate drops even if there are no NPCs in the scene. Glitches and bugs couldn't be resolved by installing the day one patch. I stopped playing it at %5 . And I 'm planning to change it with another game soon. Expand
  66. Nov 12, 2014
    4
    I really dissapointed about this game. Ubisoft said we ll do our best for the consoles. And now we see that they reduced resolution of the game resoult is ZERO . There is so much FPS DROP .
    I wanted to play but i cant play with fps drops sory ubi u lost. Me and my friends , we all wont buy Assassins Creed Unity. Desole , ce n'est pas La revolution...
  67. Nov 13, 2014
    0
    The game is glichy as hell and frame drop is unbearable.I paid full price $60 for this beta game.Fix it .This game is not even 1080p and has huge framedrop.
  68. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    I'm very disappointed of the performance, i'll try it on PC, perhaps it hasnt that much bugs and stuff there, and the 900p doesnt look that good too, since my television is not that small.
  69. Nov 13, 2014
    0
    Buggy. So buggy you won't believe it. Why do they think we are just a bunch of beta-testers? We pay money for games and expect to see a finished products, but ubisoft is too busy thinking about profits and meeting deadlines. Good thing their stocks fell recently, I hope that will shake them a bit. Ah where's the pre-seventh-gen-Ubisoft.
  70. Nov 12, 2014
    2
    OK, I had not played an AC game since the first one on PC so I was expecting some true next gen experience here. Alas, I was extremely disappointed.

    First of all, the frame rate drops on PS4 are just out of this world, it feels sluggish and there are so many visual bugs that it is impossible not to feel pulled away from game play. Game world seems alive and beautiful but so unpolished
    OK, I had not played an AC game since the first one on PC so I was expecting some true next gen experience here. Alas, I was extremely disappointed.

    First of all, the frame rate drops on PS4 are just out of this world, it feels sluggish and there are so many visual bugs that it is impossible not to feel pulled away from game play. Game world seems alive and beautiful but so unpolished and unfinished I don't know what Ubisoft was thinking.

    Combat is a bit better than before but when you have experienced combat in Demon's Souls and such this feels like a 3 year old trying to put a square in a triangle hole.

    Storywise there's nothing worth noting and no real involvement with France's real history which is a shame.

    OK, game is disappointing overall and feels unfinished and rushed down. There are microtransactions in game which is stupid to say the least, even more after Projekt Red (creators of The Witcher games) have announced that all DLC for The Witcher 3 are going to be for FREE. Take note Ubisoft.

    Final comment: Do not buy, rent first and see for yourself if it is worth it or not.
    Expand
  71. Nov 13, 2014
    0
    Ubisoft once again proved what they are truly good at, taking a franchise and turning it on it's own ass.

    For the past 2-3 games, Ubisoft has added random/unnecessary elements to an established franchise, which yes, they have created so I guess that makes it credible for them to do whatever they want with it, but what we are offered today has nothing to do with what we played in
    Ubisoft once again proved what they are truly good at, taking a franchise and turning it on it's own ass.

    For the past 2-3 games, Ubisoft has added random/unnecessary elements to an established franchise, which yes, they have created so I guess that makes it credible for them to do whatever they want with it, but what we are offered today has nothing to do with what we played in 2007-2009.

    The goals of the Assassin order, hell even the Templar order, have become so dissolved with every addition to the franchise adding fuel to the flame with a plateau of unnecessary information that leaves the player totally oblivious to what his purpose in the 'present' and past are.

    While in the past we had an established story that we followed through Desmond, now we just seem to have a new character that should make us feel like 'we are the actual people who are in the animus. We are the assassins!' + Deacon, the worst character in storytelling history is the only remaining link with AC II. But I guess Deacon is a great metaphor for what this game is, an annoying hacker guy who tells/programs you what to do and doesn't let you forget of how painful and un-rewarding your relationship with him is.

    But ok, let's focus on the main elements of Unity.

    Story: You, as a player, are convinced to fight for a cause you lost faith in back in AC3. Now there is a new Assassin Council giving you missions that you can only complete because the rest of the Creed is non-existent or too fat. (reference to Master Assassins who just sit around and argue)

    Main Character: Ezi...sorry Arno is a charismatic French guy who decides to become a killing/parkour machine overnight to find the man who killed his father and current father figure. At the beginning of the game your missions include delivering letters/running away from butchers you owe money, but 20 minutes into the game you somehow became mentally stable to perform genocide on the streets of Paris and still be able to sleep at night.

    Gameplay: The only cool mission is the first Assasination that they presented at E3. Of course because they scripted it for presentation purpose, but the rest of missions do not live up to this mission in the slightest, the rest of my assassination targets I shot with my gun point blank, with 2% health left.

    As an avid fan of stealth games, willing to lay in bushes for 20 minutes, I was completely let down by a game that is called Assassin Creed due to the fact that this game has the worst AI seen in video games to date. I don't understand how someone can screw up on AI that at least partially worked in the previous 6 games. Now I have snipers standing on balconies shouting and shooting at me for just standing in the street. 99% of the time I felt like I was a game tester for Ubisoft, and wondering who do I report this too.

    Graphics: Breathtaking! It is no question that Ubisoft know how to re-create a city and make it look like a real live place. The people in charge of this shouldn't get fired.

    Being convinced that as an Assassin I should play this game as stealthy as possible, I found out that if you approach this game as being as action game where you have to shoot your way and blow **** up, you will still have an unrewarding gaming experience but die a lot less
    Expand
  72. Nov 13, 2014
    2
    Nothing new , just the assassins ever with more quirks in gráfricos animations and taking advantage
    a striking historical fact . and thus follows UBSOFT with his super deceptive marketing .
  73. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    Ubisoft has confirmed me something: They're not capable of developing something new and fresh. If they were, this garbage would be dead by now. Game sucks.
  74. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    Just trying to even out all the bad reviews. It's really cool if you like the French Revolution. Otherwise the bugs can get to you if you are a spoiled brat.
  75. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    the game is not perfect, it still has issues, like framerate and some bugs. But for the most part I am very pleased. ACU is very beautiful and the atmosphere is top-notch. I also like Arno, he is very interesting imo, and the story didn't do him justice. Despite its flaws, I still give it a 10 out of 10, maybe 9.
  76. Nov 13, 2014
    0
    Partially sub 20 fps. Absolutely unplayable.
    I hate the recent notion that games should be 30 fps and not 60.
    Publishers want to push this to save money. A higher resolution and better graphics push sale numbers better than a high and stable framerate. For me personally 30 fps is pretty bad. A lot of "next gen" games even have frame drops below that. 20 fps is just too much. This is
    Partially sub 20 fps. Absolutely unplayable.
    I hate the recent notion that games should be 30 fps and not 60.
    Publishers want to push this to save money. A higher resolution and better graphics push sale numbers better than a high and stable framerate.
    For me personally 30 fps is pretty bad. A lot of "next gen" games even have frame drops below that.

    20 fps is just too much. This is **** Don't give Ubisoft any money ever again. They lost their way long ago.
    Expand
  77. Nov 12, 2014
    4
    The Game itself isn't bad, as an assassin's creed fan it'd actually be quite enjoyable, but the game is such a technical disaster that it becomes nearly unplayable at times on PS4, causing you to miss jumps, or mess up timing in fights and dying do to it, at time the frame-rate drops into the teens, which is honestly unacceptable for a AAA game that has been in development for 4 years.The Game itself isn't bad, as an assassin's creed fan it'd actually be quite enjoyable, but the game is such a technical disaster that it becomes nearly unplayable at times on PS4, causing you to miss jumps, or mess up timing in fights and dying do to it, at time the frame-rate drops into the teens, which is honestly unacceptable for a AAA game that has been in development for 4 years. Also the large crowds of people bring nothing to the game besides more stress on the consoles hardware, most of the npc's are lifeless fillers that glitch and pop in anyway, they get in the way, react oddly to the player character, and are just overall pointless, if having the crowds smaller would have helped the game run better, they should have done that instead. So basically, the story is decent, and the game would be enjoyable for any assassin's creed fan, but unless they patch the technical issues, i can't recommend anyone buy this game, i regret buying it myself. It should have been delayed Expand
  78. Jul 26, 2016
    4
    I enjoyed the thought of a return to the series routs, in a way, with the new characters and story. The performance and bugs however soiled the experience.
  79. Nov 13, 2014
    0
    Ubisoft is becoming a nickel game like CoD franchise. Every year a new game, full of DLCs. Unfortunately today the franchise turned a beautiful story without gameplay.
  80. Nov 13, 2014
    2
    I have played and bought every Assassins creed game since it first started. Each one ha progressively gotten worse except for back flag. The cinematics are extremely detailed, looking almost life like however, when you get past that first one your like what the heck is this. You then pick from a menu of stories which absolutely killed the game for me and made it seem more arcade like asI have played and bought every Assassins creed game since it first started. Each one ha progressively gotten worse except for back flag. The cinematics are extremely detailed, looking almost life like however, when you get past that first one your like what the heck is this. You then pick from a menu of stories which absolutely killed the game for me and made it seem more arcade like as opposed to sandbox like. Ubisoft focused way too much o those cinematics This game is an unfinished game like most have been for ps4. They finally fixed the character jumping off high walls when in free run mode. Finally they have a get down button combo. From there the motions got way more choppy and the game lags in frame rate. Character motion reminds me a lot of how UFC turned out this year where if he character doesn't line up with an object they want to climb or grab you see them slide to the object like moonwalking. I played about 40 mins the first time and got this lack of smooth character play and choppy play about 20 times. I have completely decided to take this game back and will not be doing a full review or play through. After black flag this deserves to be tossed in the trash it was overly hyped like watchdogs and most other ps4 games this season Expand
  81. Nov 11, 2014
    1
    So I'm trying to do a mission, but I couldn't help but notice a giant hole in someone's face. I know video games are hard to make, but these kinds of technical mistakes are something I'd expect from tier 2 studio. Maybe the next Assassin's Creed game (that isn't Rogue) will be more technically refined.
  82. Nov 12, 2014
    1
    FU UBISOFT! GAME - SUCKS! LAgs, bugs and crashes! it's normal? FU! The game has also microtransactions. Simply superb. You even worse than EA. Give me money back, ****
  83. Nov 11, 2014
    1
    Assassins Creed Unity on ps4 is a terrible experience for me so far. The game looks amazing and thats why I hate it so much. Let me explain: the game's incredible potential is ruined by the fact that fps drop in the 20s way too often. I just feel like I need to lower the graphics because I can't run it at a constant 30fps but I can't cause im on ps4. I do not recommend anyone to buy thisAssassins Creed Unity on ps4 is a terrible experience for me so far. The game looks amazing and thats why I hate it so much. Let me explain: the game's incredible potential is ruined by the fact that fps drop in the 20s way too often. I just feel like I need to lower the graphics because I can't run it at a constant 30fps but I can't cause im on ps4. I do not recommend anyone to buy this game untill this is fixed, if it ever gets fixed. Honestly, I hate playing games that run at low fps, I just can't. MONEY BACK PLEASE Expand
  84. Nov 12, 2014
    4
    It's so sad to see how Ubisoft has screwed a potentially extraordinary franchise as Assassin's Creed in their insane quest for making more money.
    Killing Desmond was the first big mistake. Now the present sequences of the game are completely boring and sour.
    Assassin's stories aren't interesting as those of Altair and Ezio. Finally, in their quest for release one game per year, the
    It's so sad to see how Ubisoft has screwed a potentially extraordinary franchise as Assassin's Creed in their insane quest for making more money.
    Killing Desmond was the first big mistake. Now the present sequences of the game are completely boring and sour.
    Assassin's stories aren't interesting as those of Altair and Ezio.
    Finally, in their quest for release one game per year, the games has become more and more poor developed. That's the case of AC Unity.
    I really had such great expectations on this one, and now I'm just disappointed and sad about the result. Full of bugs and glitches. It doesn't worth the 60 dollars I paid for it. Great ambitions, poor quality.
    And the worst of all, now they want to sell us everything that should come with the game just out of the box. Ubisoft has become so greedy it sickens me.
    I'd really wish Ubisoft read this critic and open theirs eyes. I still have faith in the franchise but every time it is more difficult to keep it.
    Expand
  85. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    The game is horrid, the story which was the reason most of us played the series is terrible, Arno the main character is contradicting his character every step of the way (Uh yes I'm a quirky guy and a ladies man, but now I'm a serious assassin who after living his whole life never killing anyone is now suddenly ok with committing genocide). But let break this down:

    Story: Horrible,
    The game is horrid, the story which was the reason most of us played the series is terrible, Arno the main character is contradicting his character every step of the way (Uh yes I'm a quirky guy and a ladies man, but now I'm a serious assassin who after living his whole life never killing anyone is now suddenly ok with committing genocide). But let break this down:

    Story: Horrible, doesn't tie in with the AC universe at all, nor provide any insight into the future. Pointless to say the least, feel like an afterthought. This whole sage businesses is stupid as hell. The "conspiracies" that go on in the game are so painfully obvious to the player that it feels annoying playing with oblivious in game characters who have no idea whats going on. Every plot twist is dumb and unnecessary ("Oh no Arno don't you see this is what we have to do", "No I don't", " Then you die HYAA")
    What happened to being an Assassin? What happened to the creed, the order, other assassins , loyalty and goddamn common sense. Weak.
    Mechanics: Same as every other one, except that you need to BUY double assassinations, aerial assassination because you know, you just buy that nowadays. Ubisoft promoting is money grabbing micro transaction system, though I don't know what self respecting human being would spend real money on things that you can get in game, I really don't. Stealth not possible in this one. Theres always that one guard that will see you, ALWAYS. But the worst part is there is just nothing new. No new combos, no new assassinations, no new nothing. Really weak.

    Graphics: Looks stunning and beautiful, but just because a piece of crap looks nice, doesn't mean its not a piece of crap.

    Character development: none existent, Arno is the worst assassin after Connor, literary doing everything for his own personal revenge story, which I thought was not the way of the Assassins but then again I don't think Ubisoft knows that.

    And lastly, the amount of glitches this game has is beyond me. Feels like I'm playing the beta. NPC's falling through the floor, getting stuck mid air, teleporting while climbing, the coop is broken and unaccessible for half the players.

    Thats all I can say without getting into spoilers. This game blows.
    Expand
  86. Nov 12, 2014
    2
    I'm disgusted with the level of BS this game carries and what it represents for the future of gaming. If you respect this medium and want it to be better overall, avoid this game. Discourage anyone buying it and recommend them Shadow of Mordor instead.
  87. Nov 14, 2014
    0
    First of all, 60$ is a pity that we did for this game !!!
    Second of all, UBISOFT How did he dare to play the game in this occupation was published !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    20 FPS Run in 720P in PS4 & XBOX ONE , 900P & 30 FPS is the Biggest Lie year !!!
  88. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    Full of bugs. Companion app to open a chest? IN PARIS?! In-game store. Up to items for $100 real money? No. Pass on this pile of rubbish. AC IV was way better.
  89. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    The game is Unplayable! This launch is worse than Watch Dogs but with more bugs! Audio cuts out and cut scenes are slide-shows! Combat is unresponsive and choppy. This game is complete garbage. So glad that I rented it first on Gamefly! No way will I ever buy this or another Ubi-Soft game without renting first! I learned my lesson with Watch Dogs. Never again Ubi-Soft!
  90. Nov 12, 2014
    2
    If we were to review this game on visuals alone, it would be finest Assassins creed game in the franchise. Its feels like a return to form of the older games but a mix of the last 2. You feel the medieval history of an old city mixed with the colonial modernism of the time. The visuals are without a doubt absolutely breathtaking. Overall the game feels like a low level assassinationIf we were to review this game on visuals alone, it would be finest Assassins creed game in the franchise. Its feels like a return to form of the older games but a mix of the last 2. You feel the medieval history of an old city mixed with the colonial modernism of the time. The visuals are without a doubt absolutely breathtaking. Overall the game feels like a low level assassination mission game. Gone is the larger mythos that has made assassins creed the series we have grown to love and replaced with it is a story of petty vengeance. That is of course a point in all the games but here it is the entire story. There is no character development, the story focusing mainly on Arno. He's a likeable guy but since the entire story is driven by his desire for vengeance and nothing else we never get to know him. We don't see any of the artifacts from the first civilization highlighted very much in the game. In fact those references which were ripe in all the other games are nearly non exsistant in this one.

    The missions are pretty decent because they make you think. You have several points of entry in order to get into the buildings, and have to plot them well. The problem is that you usually have to kill pretty much every enemy available to reach your goal. They also began to feel stale after awhile because the formula is pretty much the same. The targets never really become a part of the storyline because all you ever see is them in Arno's after assassination visions. That leading up to another sore point I have with the game. The after death scene where the main character finds out the motivations of his targets and often apologizes for their death is gone. Replaced with it is Arno looking into their past events from his own eyes. I imagine to some that's a good thing. For me the departure from the format of previous games is just sad to see.

    The modern half of the story is pretty much gone. Besides a few little tidbits here that plays almost no part. You aren't even sure if you are the same character from the last game or an entirely new character this time around. I always enjoyed this half of the game as much as I did the parts where you lived in the past. It was nice to see the tie ins from the past to the present. What you get in this game feels more like a distraction from the main story than anything else. Overall the game has a lot of intentional but just does not deliver.
    Expand
  91. Nov 15, 2014
    4
    This game is bad. The combat system is slow and I don't understand why they changed the controls.
    The graphic are a downgrade compared to black flag. The story is lackluster and it's just a huge flop. Don't waste your money on this game
  92. Nov 13, 2014
    0
    Micro transactions and buggy unfinished software. This game is not worth your money. Do not buy any games with micro transactions. Ubisoft is dying. Horrible
  93. Nov 11, 2014
    2
    My first and final entry in the assassin's creed series. This game is a bug filled mess, not only have I experienced several game breaking bugs (including one I'm looking at right now where I'm stuck after stealth killing a guard inside a bundle of hay), I've experienced massive frame rate drops, constant multi-player disconnects, the inability to accept any friend requests (connectionMy first and final entry in the assassin's creed series. This game is a bug filled mess, not only have I experienced several game breaking bugs (including one I'm looking at right now where I'm stuck after stealth killing a guard inside a bundle of hay), I've experienced massive frame rate drops, constant multi-player disconnects, the inability to accept any friend requests (connection error please try again later), I can't enough bad things about how horribly they made this game work, it even had the audacity to force close the game when I was looting a regular guard unit. Ultimately, if this is an example of the franchise's greatest strengths, consider yourself lost regarding a potential customer. Seriously, a game should not be running as poorly as that title. Ubisoft has a knack for releasing broken games, it seems. Expand
  94. Nov 13, 2014
    0
    You can not play this game for 5 minutes without a glitch, bug or crash... if you even manage to get the thing started or have the top-end computer rig required to get above 20 fps that is.
  95. Nov 11, 2014
    2
    Seriously people like this? Is the same garbage! It looks like **** compared to black flag. Choppy. Laggy whatever you wanna call it. Quality of next gen games are terrible. This should be dlc
  96. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    Let me start off by saying that I have always been a huge fan of the franchise; I was there at the start of it. However I do have to say that Unity is a huge let down for me and that really hurts being that I love this franchise too much. Even though I think you feel more like an assassin than in previous titles being that they added sneaking/crouching and taking on two or more enemies atLet me start off by saying that I have always been a huge fan of the franchise; I was there at the start of it. However I do have to say that Unity is a huge let down for me and that really hurts being that I love this franchise too much. Even though I think you feel more like an assassin than in previous titles being that they added sneaking/crouching and taking on two or more enemies at once is a handful. There is also immense customization options for Arno's outfit and gear which I like. Free running feels like jogging it's slow and sometimes feels unresponsive, it's just not fluid as it has been in the previous titles. Also I may add that t co-op is terrible, I don't think any assassin's creed titles need multiplayer. In my opinion although they added neat little features like the sneaking ability and customization that should have been incorporated in previous titles, I have to say Ubisoft took a major step backwards with this iteration and the franchise which will ultimately affect my decision about buying another AC title in the future. If you were expecting something different out Unity compared to past titles, don't. Ultimately it feels more like a copy and paste trying to compete with CoD in a pissing match and CoD's bad luck is starting to rub off onto a once great franchise. The only thing different in Unity is the character you play as (Arno) and the setting (Paris 1789 French Revolution) the player is put in. In conclusion, I am beginning to think the franchise has lost its 'mojo'. Ubisoft needs to take a break from the franchise or step up their game in the next iteration (no pun intended). Hopefully Ubisoft can redeem themselves with the next Assassin's Creed title. Expand
  97. Nov 13, 2014
    2
    This game had some cool ideas. But sadly it is an unfinished unpolished pos. terrible frame rate and lots of bugs and pop in. It is also sad that the game critics seem to have downplayed these problems or flat out did not mention them. I'm very disappointed.
  98. Nov 11, 2014
    5
    At first, "thanks" for parity. I want to play a PS4 game, when I buy a game for PS4 but not for a horrible port from weakest console xbone.

    Second, game is very casual. I thought, after ACIII which was ok and horrible Black Swag Ubi will think again about NPC's AI and Fighting System. Yeah, Fighting system become so much better, but anyways mechanics are too easy. Arno leaps better and
    At first, "thanks" for parity. I want to play a PS4 game, when I buy a game for PS4 but not for a horrible port from weakest console xbone.

    Second, game is very casual. I thought, after ACIII which was ok and horrible Black Swag Ubi will think again about NPC's AI and Fighting System. Yeah, Fighting system become so much better, but anyways mechanics are too easy. Arno leaps better and faster than even spider-man. Do you really think it's interesting?

    Also, the opporunity to change my outfit. gear and upgrade skills in every moment just from main menu. What is it? I loved so much, when my free roam was justified by many sorts of different activities and desire to change my outfit in Auditore Villa as well.

    Now, you could customise your character just from menu. Do you really thing it's interesting?

    Well, Ubi made a big step with crafting and economics in ACIII. Where is it on so-called NEXT-GEN ASSASSIN? Of course, Ubi, nobody needs it... *sarcasm*

    - WHY YOU CALLED IT UNITY BUT THE ONLY ASSASSINS I COULD CALL FOR ARE MY PSN FRIENDS?

    Ubi made a lot of big steps, developing recruits in ACB, ACR, ACIII, which was really interesting to use. Why on Eath you canceled these tactic function?

    The game is WAY TOO CASUAL and seems is made to satisfy every layer of gaming society : idiots, kids, casuals, e t.c.

    Stop it Ubisoft. And, While you made a really casual, easy game where you almost don't need to do anything but leap like a spidey and "PRESS X TO WIN" - you make Sony community play horrible Xbone port, which has disgusting quality and really bad graphics for PS4 hardware.

    Because of that my Score is 5.

    The setting is really interesting. I like Arno so much. I love how you made Paris. Generally Unity is atmospheric. Very Big plus for lots of side activities.

    But the Game is WAY TO CASUAL. Ubisoft deleted almost every cool aspect of previous games. No recruits, no crafting, almost no economics, no armories. Everything is WAY TOO SIPMLIFIED, that I don't feel pleasure while gaming process.

    Modern time in game is the same boring s*$#t as it was in Black Swag.

    And Finally I paid for disgusting Xbone Port with it's horrible graphics.

    I hope, it would be a good lesson for Ubisoft. Why can't they just make game a litlle bit more hardcore, give us more opportunities and tips.
    Expand
  99. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    Now , i have a custom 1000$ pc this game runs like **** , here is what i did to try and make the fps better :
    1. Turn down all my visual setting for windows .
    2. Use overdrive on my amd video card. 3. Placed it in my C disk (its a special disk that processes a lot faster , forgot the exact name) 4. Used a game booster , on top of all the visual downgrades. 5. Turned everything , i
    Now , i have a custom 1000$ pc this game runs like **** , here is what i did to try and make the fps better :
    1. Turn down all my visual setting for windows .
    2. Use overdrive on my amd video card.
    3. Placed it in my C disk (its a special disk that processes a lot faster , forgot the exact name)
    4. Used a game booster , on top of all the visual downgrades.
    5. Turned everything , i mean EVERYTHING to absolute bare minimum in the game.
    6 . Closed everything else that was on from my pc , even the **** anti-virus.
    The result , NOTHING

    Oh and this is only how it runs!

    The new combat system : PURE **** . Now , let me explain : the fun for me in ac was to try and be stealthy but if i fail it was just as fun to kill all the guards in an area...Now you cant do that , its a serious challenge early on to kill 2-3 guards , the parry system is broken , you need to hit them a lot just cause the game tells you to , you CLEARLY MAKE THE FACE AWAY FROM YOU WHEN YOU PARRY , ANYONE AND I MEAN ANYONE CAN PUSH A SWORD THROW A GUY WHEN HE IS FACING IN THE OTHER DIRECTION.

    Stealth : **** again . Again , you don't understand who can see you , who cant see you etc , you just get a weird ass circle around you and puff , nothing else.

    The initiation in the brotherhood : Some weird voodoo **** , THEY DRUG YOU! Think back to ac brotherhood : a small speech , the universal " Nothing is true , Everything is permitted" a hand symbol and a sendoff by the master assassin , not some bull**** .

    Arno himself : weird as **** background with Elise , never actually explain how Arno knows about Templars , it does explain , slightly about assassins but never bout the Templars. He is kinda nice , in a way , kind of a dick , i like that , but he changes....

    Graphics : tried to turn everything to max , was barely working but i was still able to get a good idea of how they wore : slightly above decent , nothing else...hell you can call them good but they don't live up to the required specs

    Bugs : crap ton of them : running on roofs - you glitch into the **** roof
    running on the streets - you glitch into the **** people
    you synch a viewpoint , you cant get down anymore (happened 2/5 total )
    you walk on the streets - the people start flying

    All in all if ubisoft fixes all and i mean ALL the performance issues , bugs the game may be good...i will stile despise the **** combat system but with a a number of upgrade maybe it will be better .
    I suggest you wait at least 6 months before buying it , this is a release worse then watch dogs and that is saying a lot.
    Expand
  100. Nov 13, 2014
    4
    Assassin's Creed Unity is hugely disappointing game and once again; a massively hyped Ubisoft game fails to deliver a satisfactory experience. The final product is no where near the standard presented at the likes of E3 and is yet another title to add to wave of over-hyped games of 2014 that doesn't live up to expectations.

    I was hoping Unity would propel the series into the next gen on
    Assassin's Creed Unity is hugely disappointing game and once again; a massively hyped Ubisoft game fails to deliver a satisfactory experience. The final product is no where near the standard presented at the likes of E3 and is yet another title to add to wave of over-hyped games of 2014 that doesn't live up to expectations.

    I was hoping Unity would propel the series into the next gen on a spectacular level but I am left absolutely sick of what is a franchise that is becoming more tiresome and tedious per release. The gameplay is rather bland, the missions are repetitive and underwhelming, plus the mechanics feel really cheap. It is clear that even the demos showcased at the trade shows this year were craftily upscaled to appear more spectacular than what is on offer with the end product. Even the PS4 version seems downgraded. Textures were clearly enhanced in the scripted promotional videos leading up to release which mimic that of the Watch Dogs saga. The game doesn't look or run anything like how it was promoted and at times; the frame rate drops to south of 20 which is completely and utterly unacceptable. I never thought I'd see the day, a game promoted on the current gen could be downgraded on the same console but yet again; Ubisoft have pulled the wool over people's eyes in terms of performance and technical execution.

    It's clear the game is trying to be more visually ambitious than attempting to deliver an engrossing and in-depth experience but the graphics and technical quality is sunk by lousy optimisation and with boring missions and terrible AI; the whole game falls short on a huge level. I expected so much more but this game should mark the end of the Assassins Creed brand - they've taken it as far as they can and have failed to reach the heights seen with the likes of ACII.

    Overall; Unity is a below average title from a tired series. The game runs poorly in many areas and the core gameplay is extremely shallow. Ubisoft's powerhouse of IP's is falling apart game by game and if you thought Watch Dogs was a letdown; you haven't seen nothing yet. Avoid at all costs.
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Jan 14, 2015
    90
    An excellent and huge game. The positives are emphasized by detailed world that seems more alive now than ever before.
  2. Jan 13, 2015
    70
    Unity is not a bad game, but it certainly doesn’t feel like it advances the series very much, especially for the first title in the series to be a fully next-gen game.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 13, 2015
    60
    Bugs really throw Unity under the guillotine. [Jan 2015, p.78]