Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
Buy On
  1. Aug 26, 2015
    70
    Batman: Arkham Knight is the best looking game in the series so far, and includes a lot of cool stuff for fans of Batman. But at the same time it’s starting to feel like Rocksteady is almost too comfortable. It lacks new content, except the pretty bad designed Batmobile parts. If you haven’t played the previous games that much you will probably think that this is one of the best games this year.
  2. Jul 31, 2015
    70
    The production values are sky-high. The graphics and the sound design is over the top. The addition of the Batmobile is great. But Rocksteady seemed to have run out of great new ideas.
  3. Jun 25, 2015
    70
    Arkham Knight is a solid, if uneven send-off for Rocksteady's trilogy. Combat and predation are still satisfying. The narrative mixes unsurprising, but well done segments with unsurprising and uninteresting elements. It's full of nods, winks, nudges for batfans, even if certain super villain side missions feel needlessly tossed in.
  4. Jun 24, 2015
    70
    Less consistent than the previous games, and the Batmobile is a surprisingly unwelcome addition, but even as the worst of the Arkham titles this is still a superior superhero adventure.
  5. Jun 19, 2015
    70
    Arkham Knight is constantly trying to justify the Batmobile's presence, forcing it upon you at nearly every opportunity.
  6. Jul 3, 2015
    67
    Gotham City looks astonishing while the story is full of suspense and surprises. Mechanically the star once again is the freeflow fighting system. But somewhere along the way Rocksteady lost the focus and missed the point, especially with the overpowering, omnipresent inclusion of the Batmobile. Those sequences (and there are far too many) are nothing but a second-tier shooter which takes away too much from the dark knight and everything he stood for up to now.
  7. Jul 3, 2015
    65
    Arkham Knight is distressingly inorganic. Continuing the predictable trend the franchise, the game learns the wrong lessons from its predecessors.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 8, 2015
    Its blend of “things that have been done” and “things that aren’t worth doing” is safe, just another turn in the wheel of the World’s Greatest Detective.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4020 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    The best batman game EVER!!!! I picked it up at midnight and haven't stopped playing it since. The game is massive, so much content I feelThe best batman game EVER!!!! I picked it up at midnight and haven't stopped playing it since. The game is massive, so much content I feel like I haven't even scratched the surface.

    Gameplay: Nothing too different from the previous Arkham games but this does it better. The old mechanics have been polished moving it into the new generation of gaming. The batmobile is fun to play and so far I'm enjoying the tank battles, but hopefully we see some variation later in the game.

    Story: Although a little predictable for the more knowledgable batman fan, the majority of people will fall into the hook. Like a movie it's best enjoyed by just letting the narrative take you on the journey rather than trying to guess the ending. Im loving it so far though.

    Visuals: cant fault a thing. It doesn't look as good as the order but it is like 10 times bigger than the order in terms of content. The characters look great, the special fx are probably the best i've seen in a videogame, i really enjoyed the big scale moments (infamous second son is a close second).

    Overall I am loving the game so far and can't wait to 100% it.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2015
    9
    Ok....so before we proceed; for all those Batman fans out there that may be sceptical about buying the latest instalment in this franchiseOk....so before we proceed; for all those Batman fans out there that may be sceptical about buying the latest instalment in this franchise then allow me to allay your fears.
    Yes the game does attempt to advertise its new and impressive addition that is the Batmobile seemingly at every possible opportunity; but its what everyone has been crying out for since the Batman first made his comeback on the modern day consoles so although it can become a bit repetitive in that sense, do not let this detract from what a marvel this game is.
    Slick combat engine that the game series boasted from day one, the detail in the world around you is at times mind boggling and the story is immersive and will keep you entertained from start to finish.
    If your in two minds about whether to part with your hard earned money to own this title then let me assure you that you will not be disappointed; the market is full of games that fail to wow or live up to expectation but the Batman will not let you down. I wont give it a 10 because nothing is perfect but this game is a worthy addition to anybody's collection. Enjoy :)
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2015
    10
    Before I review the game, let me tell you how silly a lot of you look right now.

    First off, you PC gamers are complaining about the PC
    Before I review the game, let me tell you how silly a lot of you look right now.

    First off, you PC gamers are complaining about the PC version under the PS4 version. Maybe play it on PS4 and see how that turns out. Because one your problems are fixed, you're gonna love it, I bet you.

    Second, you guys who are saying this game sucks for nonchalant reasons: have you actually played the game? Play through it before writing a review, please. And I mean all the way through the campaign.

    Third and final, a lot of people are complaining and whining about the Batmobile and the fact that this game out too early. I find this funny because these are the same people who whined and complained about the Batmobile not being in the other games and the fact that Arkham Knight was pushed back not once, not twice, but FOUR times. Rocksteady read has done everything they can to make this work and you guys just come here and complain about it? If I was Rocksteady, I would honestly just stop making games all together for you people.

    Now, this is a message to everyone. If you're thinking about not buying the game because of some lousy reviews, please get the game. Seriously, don't let someone else's opinion decide whether you are going to buy a game or not. If you WANT to play it, then get it! It doesn't matter what others are saying, because who cares! When it comes to gaming, the only thing that matters is YOUR opinion!

    Anywho, sorry for all the ranting, but people just need to be told. This game is great, it is everything I was hoping for in the Batman finale, and it has blown me away on every scale. I am terrible sorry for those who did not enjoy it, but maybe those are the same people who enjoy CoD. Who knows? But wow, Arkham Knight took my breath away. It is predictable, yes, but does that ruin the game!? Heck no! It actually helps if you try not to think about it. Just play the game and enjoy it! But yes, the gameplay is flawless, graphics are stunning, story is on point, and the sound is great. Even the characters are wonderful. Come on: it's the same batman game we've been with since Arkham Asylum. Only this time, it's a lot bigger than Asylum and a lot more addicting then City. This game is beyond amazing. It never disappoints me tbh. And to all the Batmobile haters: I love driving it around. I don't care if it's forced on me, I'm going to drive it for fun because it's just THAT cool. I love it. Maybe add the Batwing next? Overall, amazing game and I recommend this title to everyone.

    Character: 10/10
    Story: 9.7/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Sound: 10/10
    Appeal: 9.8/10
    Original Score: 10/10
    Average Score: 9.9/10
    Full Review »