Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Dec 1, 2017
    68
    An interesting story and some good puzzles, but the production values are not up to par.
  2. Jan 22, 2018
    65
    Black Mirror has a lot of potential to be a good game with the story. There’s an interesting mystery to uncover that is compelling even if it isn’t real new. That potential is pulled short however by a lot of technical issues that can take away immersion and in some cases, ruin the game entirely.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 22, 2017
    65
    A flawed horror game with few scares but plenty of B-movie appeal, it'll scratch an adventuring itch. [Jan 2018, p.79]
  4. Dec 14, 2017
    65
    A great story on its own just isn't enough to warrant a purchase. Not when it's hampered by an ungodly amount of framedrops and loading times, as well as lackluster controls. Shame, cause this tale deserved to be told in a better way.
  5. Nov 30, 2017
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. 65
    If you can look past its litany of rough edges, a genuinely enjoyable suspenseful adventure thriller awaits in Black Mirror.
  7. Nov 28, 2017
    61
    Black Mirror, the latest psychological thriller to grace the home console has a captivating story and some truly challenging puzzles within its atmospheric presentation. The game does, however, suffer from a number of issues that make it feel like a port from last generation or a project that simply took far too long to get off the ground. With awkward character builds and movement, minor visual stage tearing, acceptable voice acting, and oddly long load times, for being a new game it’s full of issues that shouldn’t have plagued this otherwise enjoyable experience.
  8. Dec 2, 2017
    60
    This new version for the 2004's Black Mirror game features some nice and enjoyable puzzles, but it deeply fails at its technical side.
  9. Nov 30, 2017
    60
    We really wanted to like Black Mirror more than we did, but a few too many technical hitches put a cap on our enjoyment. This mystery is absolutely one worth solving thanks to the captivating plot and engaging characters, but be prepared to wrestle with poor controls, glitches, and frequent load times.
  10. Dec 11, 2017
    58
    There's nothing that helps redeem Black Mirror for all of the issues that plague it. There are bits and pieces of a good game but they're buried under bad design and awful tech that keep Black Mirror from ever becoming an engaging experience.
  11. Nov 27, 2017
    50
    The new Black Mirror is an unmerciful adventure, weak on the narrative front and limping over gameplay.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 31
  2. Negative: 8 out of 31
  1. Dec 7, 2017
    7
    Take a seat and get ready to play King Art Games Black Mirror on the PalyStation 4. Firstly you'll need a nice cup of tea, a large waterproofTake a seat and get ready to play King Art Games Black Mirror on the PalyStation 4. Firstly you'll need a nice cup of tea, a large waterproof coat and most of all a note pad and pen, or pencil if you feel that rubbing things out is better rather than scribbling. It's been years, and I mean years since I've been playing a game and needed to write things down, cross things out then write things down again. Black Mirror takes you back to the good old days of puzzling in the vain of Resident Evil, Silent Hill and the like. Puzzles that will really get the old grey matter turning cogs that you'd put to sleep with the many 'hold your hand' games out there. DON'T go on the internet and find the answers, you'd be gutted. Once you crack the clue you'll be made up.

    Grab your coat, we're off to bonny Scotland.

    Bonny but not Sunny that's for sure. You play as David Gordan a middle aged man, depending on what you consider middle aged, an Innocent clean cut fella who's just inherited a small family castle to whom the inhabitants are not exactly welcoming. I have to be very careful and quite vague about the games story. The thing is Black Mirror is a 3rd person adventure thriller rather than horror with a very good story and to talk about any aspect of the story could lead to big fat spoilers. In parts of the game you will 'interact', that is all I'm going to say, and some of these 'interactions' can lead to a life or death situation that is very well done if not a little confusing when you first have to react.
    In parts of the game you don't work alone, you're with another character following you lighting the way at night with a candle. A storm has hit the Scottish county side knocking out the power so in the night scenes your candle light dances off the walls leading your way in the hunt for clues.

    This takes me to the graphics in Black mirror. The artwork in the mansion is brilliant, excellent texture work is complemented by the fantastic lighting engine. The light shines off every object casting pin sharp shadows that realistically move as you do. The woodwork that is virtually everywhere is carved to perfection. Flames lick at logs in the fire and moonlight pans through the windows as you walk by. What really impressed me most, that could as easily be overlooked was the rain running down the glass. Once I'd spotted it I couldn't help but stop every now and then to take another look. Anyone that has played the very first Resident Evil will smile when the game first starts inside. I hope you get the same 'deja vu' feeling that I had.
    Outdoors is a mixed bag. While for the most part it's very plain you will be drawn to parts of it that will make you look twice. At night it can be very pretty.

    Sound is done very well. Footsteps ring out in the silence of the castle as you wander about searching for clues, candles burn and fires crackle as you walk by. The Scottish tones are done well and people in the US needn't worry as everything is subtitled. Hearing the rain against the glass is brilliant in 5.1 surround as does the lake water lapping at the edge of the land.

    Black Mirror is by no means a point-and-click game. In my opinion anyway. I'd say it's more of a interactive 3rd person action game. Sure you point and click in parts but for the most part it feels very 3rd person adventure so please don't be put off by the term 'Point and Click' that may come up in reviews as the game is far more than that.
    Black Mirror is a back to the old school adventure that will have you hooked after the slow start but once things get going you'll want to solve the mystery of the Black Mirror.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 2, 2017
    3
    Disappointing adventure game. The original game is way superior.
    Clunky controls, so many loading screens, way too few puzzles, so few
    Disappointing adventure game. The original game is way superior.
    Clunky controls, so many loading screens, way too few puzzles, so few different locations, just inside the castle, garden, graveyard and some Stonehenge place, and way too short. Think I finished it in less than 5 hours.
    Story I liked though and was the only reason I finished it.
    Edit: Forgot to say there was also numerous glitches where character got stuck after cutscenes and had to load from save game, plus also experienced 6 crashes of the game during its short play through.
    The original black mirror on pc is one of my all time favorites of point and click adventure games. Go buy the trilogy on steam instead of this game imo
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2018
    5
    Well, it's a complete game. Solid music sets the backdrop for this should-be point and click adventure game that brings some solid gameplayWell, it's a complete game. Solid music sets the backdrop for this should-be point and click adventure game that brings some solid gameplay elements to the table. However, the constant loading screens between rooms really puts you as a player at a loss for exploration, the "master key" puzzles can be irritating based off your perspective, and the control scheme can get wonky which is a shame especially when towards the end of the game there is a "puzzle" that forces you to walk a specific path on the floor.

    As I stated, it's a solid game and if you yearn for the feeling of an old school point-and-click adventure game, this should satiate you for roughly 5 or 6 hours.
    Full Review »