Blood & Truth Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blood & Truth takes place in modern day London against the city's backdrop of glamour and grit, making it the perfect location for a criminal underworld to inhabit. The capabilities of PS VR puts you into the shoes of an action hero in a way you won't have experienced before. From the momentBlood & Truth takes place in modern day London against the city's backdrop of glamour and grit, making it the perfect location for a criminal underworld to inhabit. The capabilities of PS VR puts you into the shoes of an action hero in a way you won't have experienced before. From the moment you slip on the headset, you become Ryan Marks, an elite Special Forces soldier who is on a dangerous mission to save his family from a ruthless criminal overlord. Playing as Ryan, you will come face to face with enemies, uncover secrets and experience the thrill of the chase. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. May 27, 2019
    100
    Blood and Truth leaves the old glorified tech demos in the dust and realises VR’s full potential with an incredible blockbuster campaign that’s also a love letter to the city it’s made in.
  2. May 29, 2019
    90
    Blood & Truth absolutely nails VR with a high-octane ride through a cinematic story filled with action packed moments and some of the best gunplay we've seen on PSVR to date. If you own a PSVR setup, you need this game. For those that don't have the headset, now may be the time to make the jump.
  3. Jun 17, 2019
    85
    From the compelling and well-acted story to its engaging combat, SIE London Studios has delivered one of the best VR experiences on Sony’s platform. Like a hard-boiled blend of John Woo and any good London heist movie, Blood & Truth stands tall as one of the best PSVR games to date.
  4. May 27, 2019
    80
    Blood and Truth is a lot of fun, making use of a wide range of guns and all of the Move controller's capabilities.
  5. Jun 7, 2019
    80
    Blood & Truth is a perfect example of why virtual reality is still relevant in 2019. With fun run-and-gun gameplay, combined with some thrilling stealth action, the VR-title succeeds in immersing the player in an excellent spy adventure.
  6. May 28, 2019
    80
    Blood & Truth ends up being a strong title that adds more value to the PSVR platform. It may just be an evolution of the light gun game, but the immersion and action movie sensibilities coupled with a better-than-expected story for the genre does wonders as far as making it stand out among other VR titles. Provided you can handle the bouts of motion sickness, Blood & Truth is a VR game that's worth experiencing.
  7. May 27, 2019
    29
    Blood & Truth's story is about as gripping as trying to hold onto a bowling ball with greased up hands and its gameplay doesn't do much to make up for that. Add in a bunch of glitches and goofy moments and you're left with one disappointing VR experience.

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 61
  2. Negative: 8 out of 61
  1. May 28, 2019
    10
    It's great, amazing gameplay with immersive levels and stunning visuals, highly recommend this game.
  2. May 28, 2019
    10
    Todo lo que yo eh visto y eh probado apunta de que sea un gran juego, ya era hora de que apostaran fuerte con las gafas de la vr
  3. May 30, 2019
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal. I've never felt this good and badass playing a video game before. That Spider man meem from journos, "It really makesAbsolutely phenomenal. I've never felt this good and badass playing a video game before. That Spider man meem from journos, "It really makes you feel like..." is actually true here, this really makes you feel like a soldier/Gansta/bad ass with a gun. Might just be my favourite VR game that doesn't have light sabers. This game is the Astro bot of the FPS genre and although it is on rails to a degree always feela like you are in control.

    Tracking is flawless. Control is tight and responimsive. Everything is top tier from the graphics to the sound design to VA to the level design and pacing. Near perfect on many fronts.
    Buy it, it's a must play.
    Expand
  4. May 30, 2019
    9
    The Gameplay might be rather simple but it succeeds in one thing like none other: It puts you into the middle of an action movie! And thatThe Gameplay might be rather simple but it succeeds in one thing like none other: It puts you into the middle of an action movie! And that just feels awesome!

    Unfortunately this great trip is over after only 5-6 hours. But I'll definitely go for a second run.

    Story is surprisingly good.
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2019
    9
    This is what VR should be about, nice fast explosive! This is pure fun and immersion
  6. May 31, 2019
    7
    +Great playable action sequences
    +Excellent soundtrack
    +Cast deliver great performances -Some glitches/crashes -Some longer cutscenes
    +Great playable action sequences
    +Excellent soundtrack
    +Cast deliver great performances
    -Some glitches/crashes
    -Some longer cutscenes break the flow

    If you enjoyed playing through the VR worlds london heist and wished it could be longer then then you will definitely enjoy Blood & Truth. Making improvements on the gameplay systems established in the london heist, B&T tightens the experience making great improvements. B&T is an incredibly fun 'on rails' shooting experience harking back to the days of virtua cop, time crisis, house of the dead and mixes it with well produced cut scenes in 'lock stock and two smoking barrels' flavour. Its a short experience 5 hours or so, but a memorable one.

    However it is not the perfect experience some reviews would have you believe (usual PSVR + move controller tracking issues aside), I encountered 3 game breaking crashes on the latest update and the physics glitch around on occasion (mostly when throwing the many interactive objects you find lying around). As an 'on rails' game I can see that the teleport system is integral to the gameplay but I felt using this took me out of the immersion of the story. If you can forgive these minor flaws and accept the arcade nature of what is here Blood & Truth really is an incredible experience. Cannot wait to see what these guys can do with PS5 hardware!
    Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2019
    2
    The visuals are great but I can’t stand the node movement. The whole thing just felt really stiff And unintuitive. I also found the aiming toThe visuals are great but I can’t stand the node movement. The whole thing just felt really stiff And unintuitive. I also found the aiming to be more difficult than it should be. For me Farpoint is a much better game. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews