• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 24, 2015
Bloodborne Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11375 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bloodborne is an action RPG in which you hunt for answers in the ancient city of Yharnam, now cursed with a strange endemic illness spreading through the streets like a disease. Peril, death and madness infest this dark world, and you're tasked with uncovering its darkest secrets which willBloodborne is an action RPG in which you hunt for answers in the ancient city of Yharnam, now cursed with a strange endemic illness spreading through the streets like a disease. Peril, death and madness infest this dark world, and you're tasked with uncovering its darkest secrets which will be necessary for you to survive. Armed with a singular arsenal of weaponry, including guns and saw cleavers, you'll require wits, strategy and reflexes to dispatch the agile and intelligent enemies that guard the city's underbelly. You will utility holy chalices to access an array of vast underground ruins, chock full of traps, beasts, and rewards, to explore and conquer on your own or with other people. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Bloodborne - Gamescom 2014 Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 12, 2015
    100
    Bloodborne takes the best of Dark Souls and builds the unrelenting gaming challenge on a prefect foundation - it will test your abilities to the max. The first true must-have exclusive for PS4 is here. [Issue#252]
  2. Mar 23, 2015
    100
    I want to keep playing, I want to discover its secrets, I want to fight every monster, try every weapon, discuss theories and explore as many of the community dungeons as possible. To put it bluntly, I want to bleed the game dry.
  3. Mar 24, 2015
    95
    FromSoftware has a unique style when creating incredibly well-designed worlds. The new offensive combat system gives a fresh start to the series, and while it is more direct in its conception, it doesn’t lose an ounce of depth.
  4. Mar 24, 2015
    90
    A dark and engaging adventure, with an excellent combat system, an ideal dose of innovation and fascinating exploration.
  5. Apr 25, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is an incredible game; tight in its mechanics, logical in its systems, rewarding, intense, gloriously frustrating and exciting in equal measure. The PS4 has its first absolutely essential game. As if there was ever any doubt.
  6. Apr 1, 2015
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. May 3, 2015
    70
    In its current state, it feels like it caters too much to the twitch experts, and doesn't bend for the rest of us. A challenge that feels like a learning experience is welcome, but Bloodborne too often felt like it was kicking me in the balls and leaving me helpless to do anything about it.

See all 100 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    This is the best game you will get on any next game console and i can see it being my game of the year. If you have a PS4 there is no reasonThis is the best game you will get on any next game console and i can see it being my game of the year. If you have a PS4 there is no reason what so ever not to run and get this game ASAP. Fantastic game. A true gem!!! Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    Bloodborne is a masterpiece of a game and I believe it is the current best game on the PS4. The combat in this game is unmatched by any otherBloodborne is a masterpiece of a game and I believe it is the current best game on the PS4. The combat in this game is unmatched by any other game and once you get the hang of it it turns from slow and steady tapping to fast and furious decimation. The setting is beautiful and mysterious and there are times where you just have to stop to look around you, even if it ends in you getting a sneak attack from behind. The monsters are wonderfully designed and the Bosses take that to the next level. The music is wonderful and sets the mood for even the most tense battles. Chalice dungeons add more difficult content to a game that is already supposed to be hard and are quite fun to run through, seeing more enemies than what the main game offers including some very nasty bosses.

    Bloodborne is a game that I recommend anyone try even if the genre is not for you.
    Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2019
    10
    It’s a masterpiece of a product from Software did it again! By just shaking up the already brilliant Formula slightly
  4. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    While an obvious side-step from the so-called "previous games in the series," Bloodborne is a masterpiece in and of itself. This game is aWhile an obvious side-step from the so-called "previous games in the series," Bloodborne is a masterpiece in and of itself. This game is a trial which requires a balance of skill and patience, and rewards improvement. Detractors of this game will be the self-proclaimed Souls "die-hards" and "loyalists," who actually spent their hours cheesing the game, shooting spells at bosses, and cowering behind their shields. Those of us who decided to get good, learn how to parry and dodge, and conquer the game with skill find Bloodborne to be the culmination of what the Souls games aspired to be (and appreciate the developers' efforts to weed out the weak). Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2020
    9
    Este es el juego que más cerca está de recibir la puntuación 10. La atmósfera y jugabilidad es espectacular, sobre todo para nosotros que teEste es el juego que más cerca está de recibir la puntuación 10. La atmósfera y jugabilidad es espectacular, sobre todo para nosotros que te emos un aura algo ocurra. El primer contacto con Gascoigne es simplemente brutal. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2015
    9
    This year started realy bad for gaming at least we have this game the story game play and every think else is beautiful,but the loading scrensThis year started realy bad for gaming at least we have this game the story game play and every think else is beautiful,but the loading screns are annoying and it comes sometimes to unfair deaths when they fix this its a 10/10 but for now its a 9.5 Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2020
    0
    Графика хорошая, музыка на высоте, отличный дизайн уровней и монстров. НО: сюжет нужно выдирать из каких-то записок, описаний и т.п. Т.е.Графика хорошая, музыка на высоте, отличный дизайн уровней и монстров. НО: сюжет нужно выдирать из каких-то записок, описаний и т.п. Т.е. въехать что вообще происходит - проблематично. Звук иногда ужасный, например, когда персонаж ходит в воде - на рипите стоит один и тот же короткий звук и никак не меняется. И подобных примеров хватает. Это бесит и отдаёт халтурой. Ну и конечно сложность. Есть казуал, есть сложность для среднего игрока, есть сложность для тех, кто хочет прилагать услилия, думать как победить, а есть серия Souls. Этой игре плевать на вас. И всё бы ничего, если бы сложность была 150%, но при этом все геймплейные составляющие должны быть отполированы на те же 150%. Это честно. Но нет, в Bloodborne сложность нереальная, секундное замешательство и ты - труп. Беги всю локацию сначала, опять бей всех монстров. Иногда из-за того, что камера коряво встанет, персонаж промахнётся, хотя вроде бы всё указывает на попадание. Может налететь группа монстров и зажать в углу и ничего ты не сделаешь. И игра не работает по принципу: мы всё сделали сложно, отполировали, тебе нужно только подумать - нет, здесь сделано по принципу: поставим здесь кучу мобов, сделаем неудобную для камеры локацию и нам похер, сможешь ты или нет, мы ведь fromsoftware, и нам плевать на баланс и удобство. Может игра бы и зашла, буть побольше чекпоинтов, но в таком виде в каком есть - это тупо издевательство. И было бы круто, если бы за такие челенджи давались бы какие-то ачивки в виде роликов, порции сюжета, хоть чего-то, но здесь ты можешь убить монстра через 4 часа мучений и получить в награду....ничего. Разработчикам настолько плевать все составляющие, кроме сложности, что они даже NPC рот не анимируют во время разговора.

    Кому игра подойдёт:
    1) тем, кому важен только геймплей
    2) тем, кому плевать на сюжет, персонажей, диалоги, катсцены
    3) тем, у кого железные нервы и склонность к садомазохизму
    4) тем, у кого очень много времени и его некуда деть

    Кому не подойдёт:
    1) тем, кто любит интересные сюжеты с персонажами, диалогами, катсценами
    2) тем, у кого мало времени на игры
    3) тем, кто любит сложные игры, но не любит маразматическую сложность, доведённую до абсурда
    Expand

See all 2208 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch)

    The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch) Image
    Published: June 15, 2020
    We rank the 40 best console-exclusive games available on current generation hardware (PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Switch).
  2. The Best Videogames of 2015

    The Best Videogames of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2015.
  3. The 20 Best PlayStation 4 Games of 2015

    The 20 Best PlayStation 4 Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring games released for the PlayStation 4 console in 2015.
  4. Best of March 2015: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of March 2015: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: March 31, 2015
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during March.
  5. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015 Image
    Published: January 14, 2015
    We look at the coming year's most noteworthy planned releases, from new properties like No Man's Sky and Evolve to highly anticipated sequels such as Batman: Arkham Knight, Halo 5, Uncharted 4, The Witcher 3, and a new Legend of Zelda release.