• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 24, 2015
Bloodborne Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 100 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bloodborne is an action RPG in which you hunt for answers in the ancient city of Yharnam, now cursed with a strange endemic illness spreading through the streets like a disease. Peril, death and madness infest this dark world, and you're tasked with uncovering its darkest secrets which willBloodborne is an action RPG in which you hunt for answers in the ancient city of Yharnam, now cursed with a strange endemic illness spreading through the streets like a disease. Peril, death and madness infest this dark world, and you're tasked with uncovering its darkest secrets which will be necessary for you to survive. Armed with a singular arsenal of weaponry, including guns and saw cleavers, you'll require wits, strategy and reflexes to dispatch the agile and intelligent enemies that guard the city's underbelly. You will utility holy chalices to access an array of vast underground ruins, chock full of traps, beasts, and rewards, to explore and conquer on your own or with other people. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Bloodborne - Gamescom 2014 Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 12, 2015
    100
    Bloodborne takes the best of Dark Souls and builds the unrelenting gaming challenge on a prefect foundation - it will test your abilities to the max. The first true must-have exclusive for PS4 is here. [Issue#252]
  2. Mar 23, 2015
    100
    I want to keep playing, I want to discover its secrets, I want to fight every monster, try every weapon, discuss theories and explore as many of the community dungeons as possible. To put it bluntly, I want to bleed the game dry.
  3. Mar 24, 2015
    95
    FromSoftware has a unique style when creating incredibly well-designed worlds. The new offensive combat system gives a fresh start to the series, and while it is more direct in its conception, it doesn’t lose an ounce of depth.
  4. Mar 24, 2015
    90
    A dark and engaging adventure, with an excellent combat system, an ideal dose of innovation and fascinating exploration.
  5. Apr 25, 2015
    90
    Bloodborne is an incredible game; tight in its mechanics, logical in its systems, rewarding, intense, gloriously frustrating and exciting in equal measure. The PS4 has its first absolutely essential game. As if there was ever any doubt.
  6. Apr 1, 2015
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. May 3, 2015
    70
    In its current state, it feels like it caters too much to the twitch experts, and doesn't bend for the rest of us. A challenge that feels like a learning experience is welcome, but Bloodborne too often felt like it was kicking me in the balls and leaving me helpless to do anything about it.

See all 100 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    This is the best game you will get on any next game console and i can see it being my game of the year. If you have a PS4 there is no reasonThis is the best game you will get on any next game console and i can see it being my game of the year. If you have a PS4 there is no reason what so ever not to run and get this game ASAP. Fantastic game. A true gem!!! Expand
  2. May 14, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is the best game I have ever played!!!! It's fantastic gameplay blew me away. It's city's are a mystery and there are many hard places to go. This game has a vast variety of enemies to fight. All the NPCS have a tale to there name, say one wrong thing and you could find them dead somewhere. From the amazing graphics to the outstanding gameplay I vote this game a 10 and highly recommend this to anyone. You'll have hours on end of fun Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2019
    10
    fast paced and smooth as silk combat, challenging and gimmick boss fights, Epic soundtracks, Victorian era pictured at its finest with afast paced and smooth as silk combat, challenging and gimmick boss fights, Epic soundtracks, Victorian era pictured at its finest with a fantastic story. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    It's been a really long time since I've came across a new game that just completely blew my balls off. I started playing Bloodborne at 2 inIt's been a really long time since I've came across a new game that just completely blew my balls off. I started playing Bloodborne at 2 in the morning, pitch dark, with my headphones on. Good god. I was about to crap my pants, I was frickin' terrified. I never played the Dark Souls games which everyone seems to compare this to, because I never owned a PS3 or Xbox system. The last console I purchased besides the Wii U was the Playstation 2. Yeah I'm dating myself, I know. Enormous gothic castles, extremely dark overtones, creaky gates, the lumbering footsteps and heavy breathing of an enormous beast you can't see, and oh god don't you wish you knew where it was. it's just absolutely amazing and beautiful. What a way to start off my experience with the PS4. A+++

    The only complaint I could possibly have is the loading times. I die, a lot. Having to look at that loading screen on a regular basis and fiddle with my phone until its over does detract from the experience a bit. I heard they're trying to patch that issue, and when that happens this game will legitimately be flawless.
    Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2019
    9
    They way they present Victorian architecture and fashion are marvelous. I cannot believe they this such game based on this amazing fightingThey way they present Victorian architecture and fashion are marvelous. I cannot believe they this such game based on this amazing fighting mechanics. As for the story and its depth, although it is challenging to decipher, I love it. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2015
    9
    This game is hard, it's unlike most of other action games (I've never played Demon Souls and Dark Souls before).
    In most of the action games,
    This game is hard, it's unlike most of other action games (I've never played Demon Souls and Dark Souls before).
    In most of the action games, you're fast and powerful, but enemies are even faster and more powerful, this make the basic idea of the game: hard, fast-paced, and challenging battle. For examples, Ninja Gaiden and Devil May Cry.

    But in Bloodborne (and Souls series), most enemies are slow and a little bit weak (except the boss), but you're even slower and weaker, so the basic idea is totally different: extremely hard, frustrating, and slow-paced fight, a little bit like a round games.

    Why do I say it's like round games? Because for the most of time, enemy attacks, you dodge, and fight back, and dodge again, enemy attacks again, you attack again, enemy down. That's it. Doesn't it sounds like round games?

    However, I just can't stop playing it, comparing to the achievement of beating a hard boss, frustrating progress isn't that bad.

    I'd give a 9.
    Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2020
    0
    Enemies are always fought the same way: Dodge, hit enemy twice. Rins, repeat. it's genuinely bad.

See all 1919 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch)

    The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch) Image
    Published: June 15, 2020
    We rank the 40 best console-exclusive games available on current generation hardware (PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Switch).
  2. The Best Videogames of 2015

    The Best Videogames of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2015.
  3. The 20 Best PlayStation 4 Games of 2015

    The 20 Best PlayStation 4 Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring games released for the PlayStation 4 console in 2015.
  4. Best of March 2015: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of March 2015: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: March 31, 2015
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during March.
  5. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2015 Image
    Published: January 14, 2015
    We look at the coming year's most noteworthy planned releases, from new properties like No Man's Sky and Evolve to highly anticipated sequels such as Batman: Arkham Knight, Halo 5, Uncharted 4, The Witcher 3, and a new Legend of Zelda release.