Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Jun 10, 2019
    80
    For being handed what I would consider a horribly tainted license, Choice Provisions did well combining their expertise with it to make something pretty good. I would still recommend their own Runner series before recommending Bubsy: Paws on Fire, but any fan of those titles looking for can’t go wrong with this game. Bubsy: Paws on Fire is hands down the best Bubsy game. Anyone with any nostalgia for this despicable bobcat should find enjoyment here, even if in only short bursts.
  2. May 30, 2019
    80
    It took a little over 25 years, but Bubsy: Paws on Fire is the bobcat’s first truly great outing. With a fun, cheeky cast of characters and entertaining core gameplay, you won’t have to ask yourself, “What could possibly go wrong?”
  3. Jul 1, 2019
    70
    Bubsy: Paws on Fire's biggest problem is its branding. The game is a perfectly fun and competent runner tied to a mascot who (as near as I can tell) only exists for irony value. The game is straitlaced about Bubsy, so it doesn't feel like a joke, but it also seems like the mascot does more to drive away people than to pique their interest. If you enjoyed the Runner3 style of gameplay, then you'll enjoy Bubsy: Paws on Fire. If you didn't, then the addition of a cartoon cat probably isn't going to change your mind. It's still the best Bubsy game to date, though.
  4. May 20, 2019
    70
    Bubsy: Paws on Fire! is a game that you may actually find enjoyment out of. Behind its childlike design and mobile-friendly layout is a genuinely challenging platformer. Gameplay may feel stale in a mere hour or two and the death screens may grate your ears every now and then, but it at least provides a challenge and fairly solid gameplay. Am I saying I enjoyed this game? Not really, but I certainly enjoyed it more than I expected I would from such an infamous franchise. It also proved, to me, that the developers are really trying to bring Bubsy back and improve upon him.
  5. May 17, 2019
    70
    I have never been as pleased with a game of this score before as I am here. While Bubsy: Paws on Fire! isn’t anything outstanding in the grand scheme of things, when looking at it in terms of the whole Bubsy series, Paws on Fire stands as the best entry to date thanks to interesting progression, a great soundtrack, and gameplay that is fun for a majority of the time. It will certainly be a bit odd as a Bubsy fan going forward as there is now actually one good game in the series, but for those who are sick and tired of the memes and insults, Bubsy: Paws on Fire! should be a welcome treat.
  6. May 23, 2019
    67
    Bubsy: Paws on Fire is a passable runner that will keep fans of the genre busy for a few hours yet it fails to live up to the far better runners that Choice Provisions have crafted in the past.
  7. May 20, 2019
    67
    This is probably the best game Bubsy has ever had, but that’s not saying a lot. It’s simple and repetitive, but it still can be good for children.
  8. May 18, 2019
    65
    An OK-ish platforming game that offers some good humor, but fails in many aspects of the level design.
  9. May 24, 2019
    50
    Bubsy: Paws on Fire is a light arcade title that features fun visuals and great music. Played sporadically, it can provide a short dose of simplistic fun. Ultimately, however, the repetitive gameplay, bland presentation, and hollow world prevent players from immersing themselves in its optimistic spirit. The Bubsy experiment has ended. It's time to let the bobcat go.
  10. May 23, 2019
    20
    Bubsy: Paws on Fire is a combination of elements that range from merely adequate to frustrating beyond belief. In fact, the best part of the game is often being able to break the rules and cheese your way to victory. With almost zero redeeming qualities to speak of, the only way this game could possibly offer anything of benefit is to Trophy hunters, as there are a fair number of easily unlocked gold trinkets. If that’s not something you care about, then steer well clear - it’s just not worth it. Despite the shockingly long legacy as a series, surely this time must be the last, right?
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 117
  2. Negative: 20 out of 117
  1. May 20, 2019
    10
    This game is filled to the brim with tons of content, the controls are smoother than silk, and the soundtrack is kickass. It's packed withThis game is filled to the brim with tons of content, the controls are smoother than silk, and the soundtrack is kickass. It's packed with over 100 games and tons of customization alongside the widest array of playable characters in any Bubsy game to date.
    Alongside all this content, it's respect and homage to the original releases, no matter your opinion on the older games, is quite an admirable feat, including more obscure characters like Virgil Reality and even Oinker P. Hammm.
    Definitely a must play.
    Full Review »
  2. May 20, 2019
    10
    This game is an outstanding edition to the Bubsy franchise. The game is well worth your money and provides hundreds of hours of pure fun. IfThis game is an outstanding edition to the Bubsy franchise. The game is well worth your money and provides hundreds of hours of pure fun. If you have the chance to play this game I highly recommend it! Full Review »
  3. May 20, 2019
    7
    A surprisingly fun game that blew me away. I enjoyed all the different characters the graphics are decent and best of all, it isn't boring orA surprisingly fun game that blew me away. I enjoyed all the different characters the graphics are decent and best of all, it isn't boring or unfair. A simple but fun game. Get the game while it's on sale for a good deal! Full Review »