Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
Buy On
  1. Nov 8, 2019
    70
    The pitfalls of Spec Ops don't detract from what Modern Warfare does well, though. Realism mode is an excellent addition to the slate, and although not all the new multiplayer modes are great, Gunfight and the Night Vision playlist are refreshing standouts. And while the campaign ends up playing it safe in the end, it's still a memorable one, and it lays a strong foundation for where the Modern Warfare series could go from here.
  2. Nov 7, 2019
    70
    A passable entry in the long-running series, the latest Modern Warfare is polished but lacks creativity. It’s certainly more of the same as a return to a once-beloved sub-series. Sadly, it fails to invigorate and impress on the same level as the groundbreaking Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Still , the game has a dedicated fanbase and the developers undoubtedly cater to that crowd. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare lives up to the series as a whole, but ultimately fails to match up with the best of the sub-series it attempts reboot.
  3. Nov 6, 2019
    70
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare refreshes the formula by rooting itself more firmly in realism and adopting a grittier approach to both combat and to its Campaign's story. The gameplay is the smooth experience expected from the franchise and results in some fun, memorable Campaign moments and a handful of enjoyable multiplayer ones. The Spec Ops mode is a bit of a mess but could easily be fixed with a patch, while the majority of the current multiplayer maps leach the enjoyment from the classic CoD formula. Ultimately, this is a steady-as-she-goes experience that walks a good walk but fails to capture a truly elegant stride.
  4. Oct 31, 2019
    70
    I feel like this Call of Duty could evolve to become one of the best ever, as there is certainly a solid foundation to build upon. With a number of balancing patches, some new (or classic!) maps, and constant communication with the community, I think Modern Warfare will get better. For now, though, you can find me in Gunfight, which separates the brilliant from the BS.
  5. Oct 30, 2019
    70
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare’s campaign is more throwaway blockbuster than challenging look at conflict, but its mission variety makes for an enjoyable few hours. And even with the disappointing Spec Ops, a wealth of entertaining multiplayer modes makes this a worthwhile addition to any Call of Duty fan’s collection.
  6. Oct 29, 2019
    70
    Nowhere close to a reinvention of the series but the more serious tone is mostly successful, with an ambitious story campaign and some entertaining new multiplayer modes.
  7. Oct 28, 2019
    70
    The Call of Duty: Modern Warfare reboot is certainly not the first game that has disappointed me at launch, and hopefully it will join the list of games I was initially disappointed with but grew to love thanks to their respective developers’ continued devotion and care. I know it’s not the safest of bets given the Call of Duty franchise’s annualized rollout, but I honestly want to see Modern Warfare continue to flourish as much as I’m sure the folks at Infinity Ward do.
  8. Nov 6, 2019
    60
    For all the technology and exceptional design this new Modern Warfare musters, the only message it can offer is woefully jejune: If governments might be mistaken in their judgments or actions, if the act of war itself might be inescapably evil, at least we can still rely on badass warriors who will do whatever it takes to hold back the evil forces that would come to hurt us in the night, to destroy us because they hate our freedom.
  9. Nov 2, 2019
    60
    All in all, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is not a large-scale return, but not a disaster either. The fact that the single player campaign is back and is of course welcomed. It's is very ambitious but most of the time it feels like we are getting more of the same. And that more of the same right now feels mostly old.
  10. Oct 30, 2019
    60
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare steps it up in the pure game-feel department; its guns, its movement, its action: it all feels the best it's ever been. Even with thrilling new modes like Gunfight and the Counter-Strike-like Cyber Attack, the maps and Spec Ops end up disappointing. The campaign itself remains a return to form for the staple Call of Duty campaign, for better or worse. Modern Warfare as a whole ends up feeling like it has the foundation for something better than it is right now, and in the months to come, it very well might be. But for now, it's just merely almost there.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 1, 2019
    So yes, I spent the majority of my weekend just downloading the game. And no, I don’t think that’s anything close to excusable for any release, let alone such a mainstream, big-budget game. But Modern Warfare’s slower, more deliberate pace leads to an experience that feels very different to and more intense than the slew of recent Call Of Duty iterations. Just be prepared to spend a long time staring at a download bar.
  2. Oct 31, 2019
    Infinity Ward rekindles the Modern Warfare magic with a more tactical first-person shooter - for better and for worse.
  3. Oct 24, 2019
    While Black Ops 4 eschewed a single player story in favor of Battle Royale, Modern Warfare puts extra emphasis on its campaign.
  4. Nov 4, 2019
    As long as we’re not bullshitting here, I do not think Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is a good video game. At the same time, it’s a game I enjoy playing, because I am, as I just established, a hypocrite. Or at the very least, I have been able to negotiate with myself a church-and-state separation between the well-established norms and pleasures of first-person military shooter video games, and their often specious storytelling.
  5. Oct 25, 2019
    Modern Warfare's campaign trades on the same kinds of gratuitous thrills as its predecessors, but the grim reality of 2019's actual battlefields and terror attacks is a poor fit for the Call of Duty theme park ride.
  6. Oct 28, 2019
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare features one of the best campaigns the series has ever given us, filled with complicated politics, quiet setups, and brutal moments of violence. It’s a gray world in which it may be impossible to stay on the side of the angels if you’re to stay effective. I felt fear and regret. My heart thumped in my chest, and my pupils dilated. It’s a thrill ride that wants to impart a message, but the message carries little insight, and no answers.
  7. Oct 28, 2019
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare may revel in its edgy depictions of armed conflict, but it's so one-note and routine about it that none of it really lands. It's visually impressive, and the combat all works well, but ultimately I spent hours playing something I just can't care about. I think I kind of hate it. Not because it's a bad game, but because it's just so... Call of Duty.
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7518 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 26, 2019
    2
    Players: developers promised a game with gray morality, there will be no good and bad
    Developers: God Damn Bad Russians!!!
  2. Oct 26, 2019
    0
    Видимо, активишн не учатся на своих ошибках, после миссии "No Russian" я думал, что коммьюнити дало знать, что нельзя придумывать такойВидимо, активишн не учатся на своих ошибках, после миссии "No Russian" я думал, что коммьюнити дало знать, что нельзя придумывать такой сюжет.Пропагандисты, моральные уроды, никакого уважение к России и к нашей истории, лишь тупорылая попытка доказать всем и вся , что Омерика Самая Лучшая и Самая Святая. Пластик, Фальш, Фу Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2019
    0
    You are on the right track talking about tolerance in your country, but expressing Nazism towards other countries! Bravo!!