Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 29, 2022
    95
    No matter how you look at Chained Echoes, it's undeniable that this is a project whose mere existence impresses. Developed by a single person, it's an exceptional game in everything it proposes to do, from its story to the graphics, passing through the engaging combat and rich universe. It's a must-have game for all RPG fans around the world.
  2. 95
    It's not every day you get to experience a game like Chained Echoes. With an incredible story, excellent writing, characters you can connect with and a combat system that takes a traditional turn-based system and turns it into a strategic, thought-provoking experience. What's not to like about that?
  3. Jan 30, 2023
    90
    It’d be easy to simply compare Chained Echoes to some of the classics that clearly inspired it and call it a day. But the game brings to the table a lot more than simple callbacks to Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy, or Suikoden. It builds on the impressive groundwork set by these household names in such impressive ways that it easily establishes its own identity. Even those who have never played any of the above titans will be able to get into Chained Echoes without any trouble, and all that take the plunge are sure to be quite happy they did so.
  4. Dec 7, 2022
    90
    Simply put, Chained Echoes is a heartfelt love letter to the SNES JRPG classics from the 90s that boasts an incredible cast of characters, amazing pixel artwork, a brilliant soundtrack, impeccable attention to detail, and a complex narrative.
  5. Dec 24, 2022
    80
    The best sequel to Chrono Trigger there’s never been, with a pseudo-Japanese role-player that maintains a delicate balance between retro homage and modern indie game.
  6. Dec 12, 2022
    80
    Chained Echoes is an incredibly passionate love letter to 16-32 bit era JRPGs, but it also knows when to try new things and add modern conveniences. Its battle system is one of the best in the genre, and feels genuinely revolutionary. I was slightly underwhelmed by the game’s rushed final act and a couple of party members but Chained Echoes is a great game and is absolutely worth your time if you’re a fan of the genre.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. Dec 26, 2022
    10
    Edit: 110 hours later, game of 2022. Best in class, best rpg since I was 19 and played secret of mana and evermore when they came out on snes.Edit: 110 hours later, game of 2022. Best in class, best rpg since I was 19 and played secret of mana and evermore when they came out on snes. It deserves all the praise it can get and some. It's not a 'tribute' to the very best old school rpg's, it stands by them as one othe best rpg's of all time. Absolutely incredible writing, heartfelt, loved every single second. The music is some of the best I have ever heard on an rpg. What a breath of fresh air in a world where gaming is boring, manipulative, greedy, cash cows seen as a way to keep shareholders and corporates happy. If you love rpg and miss this, it's a crime. Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2023
    3
    I had a written out this long rant about Chained Echoes. But I think this will get my idea across in less words. Chained Echoes reminds me ofI had a written out this long rant about Chained Echoes. But I think this will get my idea across in less words. Chained Echoes reminds me of that scene in the anime, Welcome to NHK. The two characters are talking about what their cute female character will look like for the comic they are going to make. So, they come up with this female character that is so distorted and weird looking because they thought using all these cute anime tropes would make the ultimate cute character. Instead, they created an ugly mess.

    In short, that is Chained Echoes.

    Chained Echoes draws from so many classic JRPGs it just becomes this self indulgent mess with no voice of its own. It wants to be this grand epic tale like the ones written by Yasumi Matsuno (Final Fantasy Tactics and Ogre Battle), Tetsuya Takahashi (Xenogears), and Mr. Murayama (Suikoden 1 and 2), but it just comes off as a bloated mess of a story as if told by a 13 year old who really loves old school JRPGs.

    The characters all speak in the same monotone voice except for the character Amalia, who had dialogue that did make me chuckle actually. But everyone else just seemed overall bland and unremarkable. I couldn't tell you anything about a character because there is very little character development outside their role or traits. Like for example, princess, Delita clone, guy that is overly protective of princess, lizardman or manchild who is over 100 years old.

    Like I mentioned, the story wants to be this grand tale like Final Fantasy Tactics or Suikoden but the writing just comes off as amateurish. Certain scenes were, I guess, supposed to be serious, but I was laughing out loud more from the ridiculousness of it all. And after the over 9000th random betrayal I was just rolling my eyes waiting for the story to come to an end.

    After the prologue and the very first few hours of the game, I totally lost any sort of interest in the story because of the poor writing and uninteresting characters. Don't believe the reviews. I could go into the imbalanced game play mechanics, the music which seemed to cycle through the same 5 or so tracks, or a number of other things. But in all honesty, if the writing was better I could have tolerated it all.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2022
    9
    One of the very best story and character writing of the decade!

    And if it was not enough, soundtrack is a masterpiece, graphics are lovely,
    One of the very best story and character writing of the decade!

    And if it was not enough, soundtrack is a masterpiece, graphics are lovely, turn based combat is great with interesting mechanics, and the game is quite long with a lot of surprises and twists.

    If you are nostalgic of the 2D RPG era à la Chrono Trigger, do not miss this gem.
    Full Review »