Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Dec 19, 2017
    90
    Cities: Skylines is definitely a must-own for fans of the genre, or gamers with a nostalgic itch for SimCity that EA certainly won’t scratch.
  2. 90
    Cities Skylines is a ridiculously clever and enjoyable game, and one that I expect I will spend a lot of time playing down the track. EA looks like it will not be revitalising Sim City as a franchise anytime soon, so I’m so glad that another developer has stepped up to the plate and created the game that the last Sim City should have been… and I am so glad it’s finally on PlayStation 4.
  3. Aug 16, 2017
    87
    A perfect porting from the PC version, fresh and enjoyable, even without the presence of some DLCs (Snowfall, Natural Disasters and Mass Transit). If you love city builder games, buy it without hesitation.
  4. Aug 15, 2017
    85
    If you love the genre this is a must buy. Don't miss it, even if there are no support for mods neither all the previews DLC's.
  5. Aug 15, 2017
    81
    With only slight control deficits and lower visual quality compared to the PC version, this is a clean console port of the best city builder in recent years. But nonetheless you’ll miss the editors and the additional expansion packs.
  6. Aug 25, 2017
    80
    A surprisingly superb PC port, Cities: Skylines nevertheless doesn't include all DLC, which makes the otherwise great package feel somewhat incomplete.
  7. 80
    Cities: Skylines – PlayStation 4 Edition is a great port of a great game. If you just want to sit down and build a city from scratch then this gives you a lot of control over how you want your city to look and operate. If you want a more guided experience then you may struggle to stay motivated but there's no doubt that watching your city grow and prosper is a worthwhile and rewarding experience.
  8. Aug 18, 2017
    80
    It didn't offer anything new two years ago and it doesn't do it today either. Even so, Cities: Skylines is one of the best urban management games you can play on Sony's PS4. Nicely adapted to be played with a controller. The expansions from the PC version are missing, and there is a lack of an advanced introductory tutorial, but if you want to be a great mayor, this is your game.
  9. Aug 17, 2017
    80
    Cities: Skylines – PlayStation 4 Edition brings an excellent city-simulator to consoles offering an amazing interface and excellent visuals. Everything is straightforward in terms of gameplay and the game feels like a modern take on the older and excellent versions of Sim City. While the console version may lack some of the content the PC version does, there is more than enough here to keep anyone busy.
  10. Aug 16, 2017
    80
    Cities: Skyline is one of the best modern city-builder games of the market. Its support of modder community will bring us greats joys.
  11. Aug 15, 2017
    80
    Even on PlayStation 4, Cities: Skylines is still the greatest city builder around.
  12. Aug 15, 2017
    80
    With Cities: Skylines, developer Colossal Order has laid the foundations for the city-building genre to return to consoles. Simple controls, immeasurable details, and accessible gameplay all ensure that the urban planning sim is a fun yet challenging experience.
  13. Aug 14, 2017
    80
    Cities Skylines arrives on PS4 to delight fans of urban management and construction games with an edition that includes the DLC After Dark. Despite being a notable edition, it does not reach the mark because it does not include the rest of the expansions and does not allow to manage some aspects.
  14. 75
    To have Cities: Skylines on PS4 is wholly welcome. It may suffer slightly for the transition, but what makes it a wonderfully accessible and engrossing city builder is still there. It may be a touch simple for the sim enthusiast, but it has the ability to draw a wider audience into the genre, and that’s something to be happy about.
  15. 70
    Cities: Skylines is an impressively-detailed simulation, to be sure, and it’s a lot of fun once you start to get things up and running, with the caveat that getting it up and running is a lot easier said than done. This is not a casual game by any stretch of the imagination, and given how complex many of the mechanics are, it’s pretty ridiculous that the game doesn’t offer a more robust tutorial system. That led to a boatload of frustration early on for me, but to be fair, it also made things that much more rewarding once I got the hang of them.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 136
  2. Negative: 20 out of 136
  1. Dec 7, 2017
    7
    I do enjoy this game as its just soo addictive. But after a while i always like to start again lol. But the only downside is i understand whenI do enjoy this game as its just soo addictive. But after a while i always like to start again lol. But the only downside is i understand when i purchased this game it would give me more options. Its very basic to start as in you have to choose a small handful of landscapes already designed. I wanted to design my own landscapes but cant. Also the trailers and pictures show things like raised metro tracks and close ups but the PS4 version wont allow any of this. So feel i only got half the game. But as its very addictive i really do enjoy this as hours have flown by as i been too into it. Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2017
    8
    City building never looked so good but the control and menu frustrations are a constant reminder that this game should be played with aCity building never looked so good but the control and menu frustrations are a constant reminder that this game should be played with a keyboard and mouse.

    If you like city builders then you should absolutely play this game. It hits every sweet spot and the challenges/rewards for expanding your city will keep you playing hours longer than you meant to. The gameplay is deep enough to be challenging but not so demanding that you'll give up in frustration. The graphics are crisp and lovingly detailed, the ambient music soothing enough that it blends into the background. The only thing not to love is the slightly clunky interface when it comes to editing subway/bus systems and quickly accessing city overlay maps. Which is unfortunately unfixable playing on a console.

    You'll probably need to look online for some road/traffic management tips. Be warned, once you do that you'll see the full potential of this great game being played on a pc. And once you've seen the mods available to prettify your neighborhoods and tidy your road systems you'll always know that you aren't playing this game the way its supposed to be played.

    I'd love to give this game 10/10, but I'll reserve that for the pc version (when I get a pc to play this on, which I'm seriously considering because it's a game I'd love to play at its best).

    That said, if you ever enjoyed simcity and are looking to enjoy countless hours building and refining massive cities with tons of buildings, neighborhoods, zoning, transport, leisure and infrastructure options, do yourself a favor and buy this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 17, 2017
    9
    Although the PC will remain the best platform for the city building genre, the console version of this wonderful builder does keep up. TheAlthough the PC will remain the best platform for the city building genre, the console version of this wonderful builder does keep up. The frame rate is usually pretty decent, unless you zoom in right down to the ground. The controls are also clever and they actually suit the controller pretty good. After a surprisingly short amount of time the controller works very good and you get used to it. Everything from the original game is still here as well as the "After Dark" DLC content.

    At the end of the day, the game ruins pretty smooth, it looks great and the controls works very good. But it still feels a little bit amputated because of absolutely no support for mods. In other words: the console version is not that hardcore and players who wants to play around with mods will have to buy the PC version.

    Still, it's a very solid game and you will have many many hours of city building pleasure.
    Full Review »