User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1535 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2019
    6
    This game had so much potential to be something great, but it is marred by bugs, design choices, and story structure. The first few hours were great, the rest of the game, not so much.

    You play Jesse Faden, a woman who is in search of her missing brother. She is led to the FBC which is a secretive government agency which secures, contains and protects against paranormal objects and
    This game had so much potential to be something great, but it is marred by bugs, design choices, and story structure. The first few hours were great, the rest of the game, not so much.

    You play Jesse Faden, a woman who is in search of her missing brother. She is led to the FBC which is a secretive government agency which secures, contains and protects against paranormal objects and events. If you have seen the SPC site in the internet, its essentially that. Within 5 minutes of entering the building you are made the director (boss) of the agency and its up to you to find your brother, defeat the paranormal entity infesting the building, and do everything your staff need you to do.

    The design of the game is a big letdown. Although the building the game is set in is TARDIS like with unlimited dimensions inside, and with the paranormal objects which fill the game and according to ingame lore can affect their environment, causing new dimensions (thresholds) to appear in the same area. you'd assume this would result in some variety of area design, but no. All areas are just grey concrete filled with desks, and/or pipes. The thresholds you see are limited to putting a few piles of clocks on the floor, or a quarry filled with black rock. Wasted opportunity, as the graphical quality isn't too bad, although more effort is put into flashy dust like effects and debris.

    Areas which contain enemies are overly dark, illuminated only by red light as the concrete walls swell and close in. Combine this with enemies who lack discernible differences in appearance except for glowing red spots, and it can be difficult to discern which enemy is which type (necessary for some option missions where you need to kill a certain type), and to determine which is the biggest threat. Combat was generally easy in my experience, only becoming difficult when you get swarmed with shielded regenerating health enemies, or if there was snipers with rocket launcher, for whom you get little warning their homing rockets is coming towards you. You do get the power to convert enemies to your side, but I found the AI lacklustre, as converted suicide bombers just stood pointlessly whilst there is enemies running around them.

    Mission structure tends to consist of go to place, find thing but thing isn't there, go somewhere else, find thing and boom, mission done. This becomes incredibly tedious, especially with the obtuse way the story is told to you. Between the story/mission structure and the level design, I was just getting bored.

    Actual gameplay is pretty good, with you combining gunplay with powers such as telekinesis and levitation for combat, and with the debris effects it can be really entertaining/ but repetitive, uninspired enemies and level design made this too, become boring and tedious to do the more i played.

    I cant really comment on sound design as the soundtrack is subtle in the midst of gameplay, so all I can really say was that it was there, but not good or memorable enough to be remembered.

    Playing on a ps4 pro, I experienced numerous frame rate drops, freezing, slow loading textures, and had to reload my save a couple of times as certain mission items would not load in. These issue may be fixed in a future patch, as is the norm these days.

    In summary, this game had so much potential to be something amazing, it's a brand new IP with a unique setting and fundamentally good gameplay, but it is let down by a lack of imagination by the developers when it comes to sound, area, mission, story and enemy design. I hope that in the event of a sequel, more effort is given to these aspects and then we may have an amazing series in the future.
    Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2019
    9
    A Great game with a fascinating and mysterious story-line that with awesome game play and shooting system is one of the best games of 2019.
    Story = 10
    Graphic = 8.5
    Game play = 9
    Sound = 9
  3. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Very intresting and beautiful game. Remedy good job! Игра мне крайне понравилась. Антураж великолепен. Сюжет очень интересный. Ну и боевка огонь) Надеюсь у Ремеди все будет хорошо)
  4. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    This game is the best, story, graphics and all are so cool and well made! good job remedy
  5. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    A superb game with amazing graphics, athmosphere, physics, playabilty and action entertainment. The story is very good and interesting. Remedy from Finland knows what it's doing!
  6. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Awesom new Remedy game. They know how to make strange and interesting games.
  7. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Remedy has made an awesome job with this one. It really shows that the shackles of the big publisher are off. Kudos!
  8. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Very high quality action game. Unique story and excellent game mechanics. Beautiful graphics!
  9. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    This game is simply incredible. Don't expect a generic shooter, Control is so much more. It's a fresh approach to modern gaming and I definitely recommend this to anyone, who wants something special.
  10. Sep 5, 2019
    7
    I would give this an eight if it weren't for the staggering slowdown that crops up right in the thick of battle. It doesn't happen often, but c'mon, it's 2019. Otherwise, it is a fine third person shooter (telepathic shooter?) that makes me miss the old PS2 Psi-Ops more and more (why no next gen version or sequel of that game is a mystery). In game map is useless, and confusing, and someI would give this an eight if it weren't for the staggering slowdown that crops up right in the thick of battle. It doesn't happen often, but c'mon, it's 2019. Otherwise, it is a fine third person shooter (telepathic shooter?) that makes me miss the old PS2 Psi-Ops more and more (why no next gen version or sequel of that game is a mystery). In game map is useless, and confusing, and some on screen directional prompts would be helpful. Expand
  11. Oct 24, 2019
    8
    Pretty alright game. Works fine, looks good but some perfomance issues. Not a must-buy but you should check this out,
  12. Dec 21, 2019
    5
    The weird and interesting in Control is overshadowed by extremely frustrating and dull combat. There seems to be a need in Remedy games to stuff them with enemies to shoot at - this has ruined this game this time. I would have much preferred this is there was a lot less repetitive combat and more of the weird!
  13. Nov 26, 2019
    9
    Amazing game!!! The story, acting, sound, collectibles, game play, its all spot on a truly great game!
  14. Dec 5, 2019
    5
    Pretty fun game with gorgeous graphics ( especially the cutscenes ).
    The powers are cool and the shooting feels okay.
    My biggest problem with this game is that I can't find out where to go, the map doesn't help much when it comes to describing where the quest objectives are, if they are on a different level compared to your current whereabouts. The enemy difficulty is also unbalanced,
    Pretty fun game with gorgeous graphics ( especially the cutscenes ).
    The powers are cool and the shooting feels okay.
    My biggest problem with this game is that I can't find out where to go,
    the map doesn't help much when it comes to describing where the quest objectives are,
    if they are on a different level compared to your current whereabouts.
    The enemy difficulty is also unbalanced, I suddenly come to an enemy
    that feels impossible to beat, although I had no big problems defeating enemies
    on my path leading up to that point. I have upgraded my **** but I still can't seem to
    advance past that boss fight.
    The story is confusing as all hell but I hope it will make more sense as I progress moe into the game.
    Expand
  15. Jul 10, 2020
    9
    Amazing gameplay the lore is just mind blowing. Very fun experience. I'm PS4 have lag problems and drop of frames
  16. Dec 9, 2019
    6
    I'm sorry to give a so so vote, I love the software house but control has some defects. Nice atmosphere indeed, clean graphic. The story could have give us something more, and so the gameplay with a more deep mechanisms of superpowers and skills tree.
    Some fights are way too much hard
  17. Jul 4, 2020
    10
    Remedy at it's best. Perfect atmosphere and gameplay with a psychedelic, David Lynch-inspired narrative. 2019 GOTY.
  18. Jun 6, 2020
    9
    (232 negative reviews, LOL... you kids are trash at games)

    There's one problem with this game - the framerate drops. You get a lot of slowdown on the screen when a lot starts happening... but it's not that often, and the awesomeness of the game makes it a near-forgivable offense. The ONLY reason I can't give this a 10/10 is because of the slowdown, but the game is amazing. My PS4
    (232 negative reviews, LOL... you kids are trash at games)

    There's one problem with this game - the framerate drops. You get a lot of slowdown on the screen when a lot starts happening... but it's not that often, and the awesomeness of the game makes it a near-forgivable offense. The ONLY reason I can't give this a 10/10 is because of the slowdown, but the game is amazing. My PS4 2019 GOTY hands down, without question.
    Expand
  19. Jan 2, 2020
    10
    Loved this game, so different to the usual boring shooters out there. The story is so deep and weird but I still loved it, creeped me out a lot but in a good way. It is a little difficult in bits but the challenge is good and makes you think about your tactics... and the puzzles are awesome, again a little difficult but you can work them out. Loved the gameplay too. Had the odd framerateLoved this game, so different to the usual boring shooters out there. The story is so deep and weird but I still loved it, creeped me out a lot but in a good way. It is a little difficult in bits but the challenge is good and makes you think about your tactics... and the puzzles are awesome, again a little difficult but you can work them out. Loved the gameplay too. Had the odd framerate issue but besides that I can't wait for a sequel! Expand
  20. Jul 10, 2020
    10
    Great game, technical after a lot of patches perfectly stable , amazing story, great fight machanics, really long playtime and lots of side quests .
  21. Jul 28, 2020
    9
    Somehow I skipped this game and haven’t played it since the release and only bough it now when the game was on a huge sale. I’d say this game worth full price for me. Game doesn’t look so promising when you watch reviews. Looks dull and repetitive. But as soon as you start playing you just can’t stop. It’s addictive and fun. Side quests are amazing. Sound design is creepy and awesome.Somehow I skipped this game and haven’t played it since the release and only bough it now when the game was on a huge sale. I’d say this game worth full price for me. Game doesn’t look so promising when you watch reviews. Looks dull and repetitive. But as soon as you start playing you just can’t stop. It’s addictive and fun. Side quests are amazing. Sound design is creepy and awesome. Enemies gives you goosebumps. Cons: Game doesn’t work flawless on SLIM. FPS drops sometimes are horrible. But it never really ruined my experience or any boss fight. Wish there were more enemy types and more challenging enemy AI. Other than that - I just can’t stop playing it. Even after finishing the game I want to play it badly and game allows to do so: DLC+ side quests are amazing. Somehow this game was more than TLOU 2 or Death Stranding. Unexpectedly. Give it try. Expand
  22. May 24, 2020
    6
    so after i bought astral chain instead of this game because i felt that i wont like it i bought it 8 months later for 30 bucks and i sill think this game isn't worth the money here's why

    cons: the pacing of the game is just horrible the amount of fetch quests that also includes the main story missions is just absurd every time you reach a new thing in the story they cut you out of
    so after i bought astral chain instead of this game because i felt that i wont like it i bought it 8 months later for 30 bucks and i sill think this game isn't worth the money here's why

    cons:
    the pacing of the game is just horrible

    the amount of fetch quests that also includes the main story missions is just absurd every time you reach a new thing in the story they cut you out of it and make you go to the other side of the map so you can unlock the next main mission which is really tedious

    the amount of performance issues such as bugs frame rate issues is just to much even making me take a break from the game just because i could not handle the frame drops

    the main story mission is written poorly and overshadows the cool concept of the creepy hunted house

    you fight the same boring looking enemies the whole game even most of the main mission bosses are horrible to look at

    if you want to get the cool content and the good looking bosses you gotta do side quests and search for them which is okay if your main mission bosses aren't boring af

    the main character is just ugly also there is still a bug in the game where she talks and her lower jaw just snaps to the left it is funny but still really ruins the moment

    the ending is meh

    the navigation map is awfully designed i was sometimes stuck 10 to 20 min searching for the place i have to get to just because the map is so hard to read

    the whole monologuing thing while talking to someone does sound cool on paper but the execution is poorly and weirdly done by the devs

    pros:

    the game play is the best part of this game the telekinesis powers and the gun play is the most enjoyable thing in this game

    the whole hunted house concept is really cool and i really loved it although it was over shadowed by the main story there are missions where the concept really shines i think the best example is the head phone mission where the whole area completely changes i can gladly say that that mission is hands down the best part of the game

    the side missions are the best part of the game having the coolest areas and bosses if you play this game you gotta do the side missions

    in conclusion this whole game sounds so good on paper but the way it is made isn't what i expected there are cool moments in it but most of the time i was either bored annoyed by the fetch quests or just searching where to go because of the annoying map which bring me to my final score a 6 out of 10 i just wish the second game will be better than this one
    Expand
  23. May 20, 2020
    7
    Очень интересная и неоднозначная игра. Вроде бы с одной стороны в игре очень богатый лор, интересный и увлекающие тебя геймплейные механики, отличный саундтрек и действительно загадочная атмосфера, но с другой стороны тебя это увлекает недостаточно из-за своеобразной подачи сюжета игра заинтересовывает тебя недостаточно, она как-то наскучивает и приедается. Но, если вы сможете преодолетьОчень интересная и неоднозначная игра. Вроде бы с одной стороны в игре очень богатый лор, интересный и увлекающие тебя геймплейные механики, отличный саундтрек и действительно загадочная атмосфера, но с другой стороны тебя это увлекает недостаточно из-за своеобразной подачи сюжета игра заинтересовывает тебя недостаточно, она как-то наскучивает и приедается. Но, если вы сможете преодолеть этот минус, то вас ждёт действительно потрясающая игра, на которую не жалко тратить своё время, в целом рекомендую к покупке
    (Важное замечание для обладателей PS4 Slim, игра местами фризит и дико просаживается по фпс, местами чуть ниже 20, но это совсем редкость)
    Expand
  24. Jul 12, 2020
    8
    Good game.
    Plus: Script. Graphics. RTX support.
    Minus: Map. Control points. Ugly model of Jessi.
  25. Oct 26, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've never played such a different and mind bending game in my life. It's such a unique and original game, just the change I needed from playing other games on ps4. The story line is quite gripping, player engagement and advancement great and an environment like nothing I've played before. My only complaint is that the experience was over to quick. It's pretty quick to end game! Definitely worth playing guys!! Expand
  26. Oct 21, 2019
    6
    Solid art style, story and environment, but easy deaths along with bad check pointing and load time hurts the momentum and flow. Recommended rental.

    The game’s story isn’t anything new - shadowy government and inter dimensional beings similar to Stranger Things - but it’s well executed. You’re along for the ride with the main antagonist’s inner dialogue and interacting with the
    Solid art style, story and environment, but easy deaths along with bad check pointing and load time hurts the momentum and flow. Recommended rental.

    The game’s story isn’t anything new - shadowy government and inter dimensional beings similar to Stranger Things - but it’s well executed. You’re along for the ride with the main antagonist’s inner dialogue and interacting with the environment. Story is also told using other media like human actors, puppet shows and audio recordings. It’s solid. I completed in maybe dozen hours more or less and reached a new game plus to continue.
    The single, semi-open world is also done well. You can interact with most objects around by shooting and destroying them. I get the sense that a good amount of effort in design and “under the hood” type stuff is going on to allow a stable world to interact with. But the design of the world - a secret government building isn’t that fun to traverse. You are rewarded for exploring, if you have the right key cards and abilities, and there are secrets and gun mods to pick up. But the bland office settings can be confusing and dull if you run back and forth too much; but you are rewarded. There are also puzzles with answers that aren’t instantly apparent, but I think it comes down to design choice and the game does not hold your hand or tell you exactly what to do, so I don’t count that as a negative. It asks the player to think.

    The biggest problem is that your character can take huge damage quickly. Sometimes you won’t see what’s outside of your field of vision and the controls can be a bit stiff to reacting quickly. So in a few hits you’ll be dead. And then you have to sit through a 20+ second load time. If you’re dying a bunch and having to repeat the process, it’s frustrating enough to consider not playing anymore and that’s the biggest knock. You can also fall to your death easily.

    In all, it’s a solid 6 other than the death check pointing and to a smaller extent, less than fluid controls. I wouldn’t be satisfied paying full price. It’s a good backlog game when you have no big games to play.
    Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2019
    8
    This game might of been one of the most surprising games of 2019!

    I wasn't a big fan of Remedy's Quantum break but loved the combat. Well this game for the most part improves on the problems I had with Quantum break and has a pretty satisfying ending which I can't wait to see with what they do with the DLC season coming up. The strongest part of this game is three things the combat,
    This game might of been one of the most surprising games of 2019!

    I wasn't a big fan of Remedy's Quantum break but loved the combat. Well this game for the most part improves on the problems I had with Quantum break and has a pretty satisfying ending which I can't wait to see with what they do with the DLC season coming up.

    The strongest part of this game is three things the combat, atmosphere and immersion. The physics when shooting your weapon or using your abilities is amazing and adds to the already impressive combat which is the thing that kept me coming back for more. The atmosphere is amazing I loved it, this may of been my favorite thing about the game to be fair, this game must be experience with the head set or surround system on. I was pretty immersed throughout the game and that's why I enjoyed it as well, I couldn't put my remote down.

    I also loved the bosses and the lore as well, the only problem with the bosses though are that there aren't enough, I believe that there is about 8 bosses and 5 of them are in side missions which is a shame. There isn't even really a boss in the story after the 5th mission which was pretty sad. There is a lot of things to collect to fill in the blanks and that adds to the lore as this game is pretty cryptic thankfully, this adds a more realistic touch to the game which was appreciated.

    Exploration is also rewarded which is enjoyable but isn't my favorite thing in this game to do.

    The problem in this game for me is mostly the side quests. The side quest are quite tedious being practically fetch quests (apart from the boss fight missions) which is boring and quite generic, I completed them all and didn't find much fun out of them. The bureau alerts are random (i think) and they spawn few and far between and they can be failed, this sucks for trophy collectors as sometimes it can take up to two hours to get one. The board contermeasures as well give you mods (which can be useful) but I found myself bored doing them after they get more difficult the harder the enemies are to find which just made it boring and that's when I found myself putting down the remote and stop playing until the DLC releases.

    This game is amazing but the fetch quest side missions are boring. With an amazing atmosphere, combat system and boss fights, this make this the most surprising game of 2019.
    Expand
  28. Jan 1, 2020
    7
    In terms of technology level, this game is great. Magnificent indoor scenes and objects capable of throwing and destroying make this game very impressive in the first few hours. BUT! Unfortunately it becomes boring after that. Obviously this game takes a lot of experiences from other great games, Dark souls, Nioh, The legend of Zelda, Castlevania, for instance. However, I feel that theyIn terms of technology level, this game is great. Magnificent indoor scenes and objects capable of throwing and destroying make this game very impressive in the first few hours. BUT! Unfortunately it becomes boring after that. Obviously this game takes a lot of experiences from other great games, Dark souls, Nioh, The legend of Zelda, Castlevania, for instance. However, I feel that they only learnt bad things from them. Especially boss fights, extremely boring. No unique designs, no impressive skills. Only attemptions to increase the difficulty by a mass of enemies. And, I cant control the time or the place of the battles. This game names CONTROL, but I felt I cant control anything by myself. Expand
  29. Sep 11, 2020
    0
    I will never buy another remedy game again. I supported this game day one and bought the collectors edition. There are now only giving me the PS5 upgrades if i buy the game again in a ps4 ultimate edition. I paid full price for this game and they're only giving the upgraded version to people who are paying half price. remedy is a greedy company that doesn't care about their fans.
  30. Aug 9, 2020
    10
    The story, the setting, the mechanics, the Darling, oh my gawd. This game deserves more praise than usual. Control is a paranormal fiction game where you control Jesse Faden in a FBI-like building/setting full of misteries to discover and references to real cases of the real world. Control is one of the best games i've ever played.
  31. Jul 21, 2020
    10
    Unique game and gameplay with incredibly beautiful surroundings.
    One of the best games i have played in a while.
  32. Jun 30, 2020
    8
    I don't even know how to begin to describe this game. Fresh and bizarre, in a good way, are some of the words I'd use to describe it. The visuals, imagery, gameplay, narrative are 10/10. The only thing I disliked is that the plot is pretty complicated and it doesn't explain it very well and it becomes boring after a certain point to endlessly fight the same enemies over and over whereverI don't even know how to begin to describe this game. Fresh and bizarre, in a good way, are some of the words I'd use to describe it. The visuals, imagery, gameplay, narrative are 10/10. The only thing I disliked is that the plot is pretty complicated and it doesn't explain it very well and it becomes boring after a certain point to endlessly fight the same enemies over and over wherever you go. It would've been nice if it at least gave you the possibility to pick the difficulty. I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for something new in a game. Very good game overral. Expand
  33. Aug 7, 2020
    9
    Really brilliant game. Story is difficult, but very good, with mystical atmosphere. Graphics are one of the best EVER. But the most brilliant part is.... PHYSICS and GAMEPLAY. But save system is bad.
  34. Jul 6, 2020
    9
    Buena trama gráficamente muy bueno aun que da unos bajones de cuadros cuando hay demasiadas partículas en pantalla y hubiera estado genial un doblaje en latino pero en inglés se disfruta igual, juegazo
  35. Jul 27, 2020
    9
    Well this was just fantastic. The campy story paired with fun (and challenging) gameplay)—the Ashtray Maze alone makes this game a 10/10!
  36. Aug 5, 2020
    9
    I love this game! Gameplay is super fun. Graphics and sound are amazing, but there are frequent frame rate drops getting a bit annoying. On the other hand, the amount of destruction needs to be praised. What really makes this game great, is its gameworld! Even if the story itself isn't too special, the settting is extremely interesting. I just had to explore every single corner of theI love this game! Gameplay is super fun. Graphics and sound are amazing, but there are frequent frame rate drops getting a bit annoying. On the other hand, the amount of destruction needs to be praised. What really makes this game great, is its gameworld! Even if the story itself isn't too special, the settting is extremely interesting. I just had to explore every single corner of the Oldest House and to find all the hidden secrets! Even after playing the DLC my need to find more and explore more of this beautfifully created world. That's the biggest achievement of Control. Besides the amazing combat system that really makes you feel like a badass. Expand
  37. Jul 12, 2020
    10
    Interiguing "not-self-explanatory" story with much extra content in the form of papers, tapes and videos. The gameplay and gun+character upgrade mechanisms are the best I've seen. I absolutely love the "semi-open" sandbox game design, where -despite the limited game area- you can choose which mission to go to next, and if/WHEN the boss proves too hard, go grind some other tasks and getInteriguing "not-self-explanatory" story with much extra content in the form of papers, tapes and videos. The gameplay and gun+character upgrade mechanisms are the best I've seen. I absolutely love the "semi-open" sandbox game design, where -despite the limited game area- you can choose which mission to go to next, and if/WHEN the boss proves too hard, go grind some other tasks and get some upgrades. I've been playing for years... Decades! And this was the first Playstation platinum that I got, and basically without even trying!

    My only gripe is that there are no multiple saves, and you can't even replay the Old Gods of Asgard / Ashtray Maze level without losing the progress you made after that (unless by making a new profile or whatever).
    Expand
  38. Jul 12, 2020
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece - a brilliant mind-bending story, stunning visuals and very enjoyable gameplay. I haven't had this much fun exploring the game world since the Mass Effect trilogy.
    Amazing job Remedy, thank you so much for this gem!
  39. Aug 3, 2020
    9
    É um jogo maravilhoso.
    História 9
    Graficos 9
    Trilha Sonora 9
    Gameplay 10
  40. Jul 25, 2020
    9
    Personal game of the year 2019 - unique narrative, amazing art direction, challenging battles, linear yet flexible exploration possibilities.
  41. Jul 19, 2020
    10
    El juego es una pasada. La historia es alucinante. La única pega es el doblaje en español, recomiendo la voz en inglés y los subs en español. El diseño, cómo juegan con imagen real, el color rojo, es una obra de arte.
  42. Jul 26, 2020
    10
    Awesome story, presentation & gameplay brought out in this beautiful, well crafted world, a truly unique & amazing experience. Oh and amazing graphics too. Totally dig the environment destruction.
  43. Jul 31, 2020
    10
    Control was a blast to play. Once I started getting a hang of the combat and unlocked most of the abilities, I started craving longer and more difficult fights. I got completely sucked into the game play and story. The enemy variation kept me having to constantly rethink my load out and swap around my weapon mods, so I never got bored. For a game set in a boring government building,Control was a blast to play. Once I started getting a hang of the combat and unlocked most of the abilities, I started craving longer and more difficult fights. I got completely sucked into the game play and story. The enemy variation kept me having to constantly rethink my load out and swap around my weapon mods, so I never got bored. For a game set in a boring government building, Control has a lot of excitement and so many nooks and crannies to find. Ultimately, this game was held back by my PS4 Pro's hardware. If I had the chance, would have played it first on PC, but I still had a great time on PS4. If you're looking for a game with great game play and fun exploration, look no further. While Control had some minor flaws and room for improvement, it was still a stellar title. Expand
  44. Aug 15, 2020
    9
    If you do not play story games, then at least for the sake of the mechanics of this game you should play
  45. Sep 20, 2019
    5
    You are stuck in a labyrinth and constantly have to fight enemies as you move through it, which would be fine if this were a decent shooter, but the combat mechanics are simply ok. The rooms are sprawling and disorientatingly claustrophobic, which was fun for a while, but several hours in, and there's a repetitive pattern creeping in, of opening up new areas, then running into enemies, inYou are stuck in a labyrinth and constantly have to fight enemies as you move through it, which would be fine if this were a decent shooter, but the combat mechanics are simply ok. The rooms are sprawling and disorientatingly claustrophobic, which was fun for a while, but several hours in, and there's a repetitive pattern creeping in, of opening up new areas, then running into enemies, in every corridor and room almost, even the ones you've already cleared. The Hiss are annoying. Then there's the boss fights, which are also annoying, and made worse by the unforgiving save system where you need to start again from a pre-determined save point, which might mean running around for a minute to get back to the place where you keep dying. This game seriously lacks having a buddy companion, either A.I or friend. I think Prey did it better. I gave up. Expand
  46. Sep 11, 2019
    6
    This game is a disappointment to rate. The plot and world building is excellent. The art style, atmosphere, and special effects are top notch. The exploration and metroidvania style gameplay is fun. The major problem in the game is the terrible, repetitive combat loop. If you enjoy dying more than actually playing a game, then this is your game. The combat usually involved a neverThis game is a disappointment to rate. The plot and world building is excellent. The art style, atmosphere, and special effects are top notch. The exploration and metroidvania style gameplay is fun. The major problem in the game is the terrible, repetitive combat loop. If you enjoy dying more than actually playing a game, then this is your game. The combat usually involved a never ending stream of cloned bad guys that can kill you so fast and the loading screen after death takes a long time. If you like dying a lot and then waiting for a long loading screen over and over and over again, thats what this game offers. I think this game had a lot of potential to be rated a lot higher if the combat wasn't so hard, repetitive, and a chore to play through. Expand
  47. Sep 10, 2019
    6
    Awesome aesthetic and story completely TORN down by awful gameplay and awful boss fights.

    Remedy should seriously consider adding the ability to change difficulty levels because as is some areas are so incredibly frustrating in terms of plain difficulty on top of being poorly designed in and of themselves that it is prohibitive to progressing for players (like me) who both aren't good
    Awesome aesthetic and story completely TORN down by awful gameplay and awful boss fights.

    Remedy should seriously consider adding the ability to change difficulty levels because as is some areas are so incredibly frustrating in terms of plain difficulty on top of being poorly designed in and of themselves that it is prohibitive to progressing for players (like me) who both aren't good at games and don't have the time to spend to "get better" at them. (Also, walked into a boss-fight area, the big font popped up saying I discovered this place, and I couldn't see **** and died immediately. So good planning game).

    I struggle to recommend it because while I love the aesthetic and the story (as much as I have gotten in the first several hours), the gameplay is SO Frustrating and the loop is just not fun enough to merit the difficulty level being where it is. I don't know who's decision that was but they made a serious mistake by not allowing players an option to change difficulty (an option present in I think every single Remedy game prior so its not as though there's precedent). Example: In most games, if there's an area I just cannot get past, I turn the difficulty level down to get through it, then pop it back up to where it was prior. Games like this that go from fairly straightforward and fun go to **** Dark Souls in an instant and it's ALL over the place.

    Watch a Let's Play instead, unless you have hours and hours to improve at the gameplay, or unless you actually think *you'll* enjoy it. Fully subjective, but to me it's not at all worth the effort of the gameplay just to get to the story, which is what i was excited for.
    Expand
  48. Sep 14, 2019
    7
    It Is a wonderful game in an artistic's point of view, but the game don't have a good level of difficulty. The boss fight could be impossible and punitive, expecially with a joypad for the console version, but the regular fight are easy! I don't explain thiis choice, i use to play hardcore game, but a cinematics game likes this shouldnt be to much hard! I want Just to enjoy the story andIt Is a wonderful game in an artistic's point of view, but the game don't have a good level of difficulty. The boss fight could be impossible and punitive, expecially with a joypad for the console version, but the regular fight are easy! I don't explain thiis choice, i use to play hardcore game, but a cinematics game likes this shouldnt be to much hard! I want Just to enjoy the story and the artistic's design choices. Expand
  49. Dec 21, 2019
    6
    Fantastic production design but the combat mechanics are atrocious. Deeply frustrating. Uninstalled and got a refund.
  50. Sep 2, 2019
    5
    Interesting, SCP-like concept. And the PS4 Pro handles it just fine most of the time, there are some frame rate drops, but they are few and far between. The 2 biggest detriments to gameplay immersion are the live actors, who are NOT of the same caliber as Quantum Break. And the character models are also a big step back from QB. They don’t look like their human counterparts. The heads areInteresting, SCP-like concept. And the PS4 Pro handles it just fine most of the time, there are some frame rate drops, but they are few and far between. The 2 biggest detriments to gameplay immersion are the live actors, who are NOT of the same caliber as Quantum Break. And the character models are also a big step back from QB. They don’t look like their human counterparts. The heads are weirdly big and misshapen and shadows make them look even worse. The security chief and the main character are the worst.

    Then there’s the constant inner voice-overs in whispery, cringe-worthy form, mixed with closeups of eyes that, don’t match the character models. And lastly the painful grind of having to go through rooms again, every time you die, filled with enemies, just to try to get to your destInation again - also filled with enemies. And any one of them taking you down, means starting over again and again. I’m seriously thinking about putting the game down because I’m stuck in one of these hateful loops.

    Wait for updates. Wait for a sale. The trailer looked soooo good, but that energy doesn’t translate and the artistry is diluted when there’s nothing but that same look over and over and it’s populated with bad distractions. So disappointed.
    Expand
  51. Sep 1, 2019
    5
    The good:
    - Beautiful brutalist level design
    - Interesting story - "Force powers" are fun... for a while The bad: - Slow texture loading / popup - Very bad frame rate, happens very frequently (during combat it can dip below 10 fps!) - Even with the brightness slider set all the way to bright, some areas are incredibly dark, only to absolutely blind you a second later - Mini map
    The good:
    - Beautiful brutalist level design
    - Interesting story
    - "Force powers" are fun... for a while

    The bad:
    - Slow texture loading / popup
    - Very bad frame rate, happens very frequently (during combat it can dip below 10 fps!)
    - Even with the brightness slider set all the way to bright, some areas are incredibly dark, only to absolutely blind you a second later
    - Mini map is badly implemented, and also slow to load
    - Repetitive enemies which all looks kinda the same
    Expand
  52. Aug 31, 2019
    7
    Control is a a confusing game. No, not the ideas and concepts behind it but the implementation. The concepts and ideas explored in this game are unique and downright ingenious and there's one section where the game really takes off, the ashtray maze. I just wish there were more moments like that in the game but with a few clever twists and turns it still managed to hold my attention andControl is a a confusing game. No, not the ideas and concepts behind it but the implementation. The concepts and ideas explored in this game are unique and downright ingenious and there's one section where the game really takes off, the ashtray maze. I just wish there were more moments like that in the game but with a few clever twists and turns it still managed to hold my attention and fascination. One of the problems I ran into was the confounding map system that was completely terrible and could seemingly have you wandering aimlessly despite following it.

    Which brings me back to the implementation of the wacky ideas. It would have been great to explore more of what was contained in the case files rather than the straight forward plot marching. The side quests were fine but nothing too memorable. Even the boss fights were largely forgettable. The one interesting fight was repeated a second time and I felt that could have been a slot reserved for a different enemy but repetition bogged down the game quite often. There was a lot of world building yet surprising not enough exploring and I hope that's changed with some DLC so we can get into more of the mythos behind the FBC. I won't even get into the console frame rate issues. That kept me from giving it a higher score.

    Very cool ideas in a very good game that needed more time to develop itself.
    Expand
  53. Sep 2, 2019
    8
    A very beatifully crafted game. One of the most interesting and unusual games of this generation, probably one of the best Remedy games. Maybe even GOTY 2019 contender.

    Atmosphere, setting, story, lore, location, graphics, physics, abilities, writing, characters, sound design, art design, architecture - literally lots of games aspects are amazing.
  54. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    I love this game! The atmosphere of the game is amazing. You can really get immersed in the world.
    - Graphics to this game look fantastic, even on low settings
    - Weapons feel good, shoot good, and make you feel powerful with each shot. Also includes bullet speed, and one-shot headshots
  55. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    I thought Death Stranding might be the most original game this year, but Control certainly will be in second, if not first, by the end of the year. The aesthetic is astounding and nothing like I've seen in a game. It reminds one of Cronenberg, David Fincher, or David Lynch. Also it reminds me of the the film Beyond the Black Rainbow - strange, unsettling vibes that get under your skin.I thought Death Stranding might be the most original game this year, but Control certainly will be in second, if not first, by the end of the year. The aesthetic is astounding and nothing like I've seen in a game. It reminds one of Cronenberg, David Fincher, or David Lynch. Also it reminds me of the the film Beyond the Black Rainbow - strange, unsettling vibes that get under your skin. The sound, story, and action are beautifully balanced and play off each other. And the combat is fun as hell. Remedy should be proud of what they have done - it's just simply amazing. Expand
  56. Aug 30, 2019
    9
    Visuals are incredible. Very unique game and concept. Boss battles can be difficult at times but rewarding once you get passed them. I like your hand isn't held all throughout this game. You have to work for information.
  57. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Just another masterpiece from Remedy! Perfect gameplay mixed with a intriging story.
  58. Aug 31, 2019
    9
    The game has some minor technical issues and a little bit of jankiness/clunkiness but overall a great game, nothing unplayable or game breaking. Perhaps some tightening up will happen through patches. The game story and world is very strange, deliberately so. It seems the story has gone far over most peoples heads writing reviews here. Some parts of it are weird just to be weird and set aThe game has some minor technical issues and a little bit of jankiness/clunkiness but overall a great game, nothing unplayable or game breaking. Perhaps some tightening up will happen through patches. The game story and world is very strange, deliberately so. It seems the story has gone far over most peoples heads writing reviews here. Some parts of it are weird just to be weird and set a certain tone for the world. I get some Twin Peaks vibes from the game. Gameplay wise its nothing groundbreaking but its still quite fun. Expand
  59. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Increíble juego, tiene una trama atrapante y excelente jugabilidad en una PS4 pro, ahora saben que consola comprar... Dejen la STD
  60. Aug 29, 2019
    10
    Remedy has released its new masterpiece - really a great game. Intriguing gameplay mechanics and beautiful environments
  61. Aug 30, 2019
    9
    Very interesting concept. Wonderful graphics and story, not to mention the music! If you love action games you should definetely give it a try.
  62. Sep 4, 2019
    7
    This is a very typical Remedy game, which includes all the usual pros and cons that come with a Remedy game. Plot revolves around an other worldly type event occurring and your protagonist, this time its introspective Jesse Faden, is dragged into it. They went back to the Noir style monologues from their previous games, like Max Payne or Alan Wake. It doesn't come off as well as it did inThis is a very typical Remedy game, which includes all the usual pros and cons that come with a Remedy game. Plot revolves around an other worldly type event occurring and your protagonist, this time its introspective Jesse Faden, is dragged into it. They went back to the Noir style monologues from their previous games, like Max Payne or Alan Wake. It doesn't come off as well as it did in those games but its not terrible. The gameplay is ok but can be a bit too chaotic at times, which can lead to some very cheap deaths towards the end of the game when a lot of enemies and two or three shot you even with full health. Performance wise, there's a lot of problems with this game. Especially for the consoles. If you are going to play this game on a base PS4 or Xbone then I'd suggest waiting till its patched as there's tons of slow down and performance issues that will grind your game to a halt. It's only slightly better on the Pro and the One X too. If you had to play it now, get this for the PC as it seems to be the most stable version. But if you can play it, there's a lot of fun to be had here, even if the game is very short. Although, I should mention how easy this game is to 100% complete for that Platinum trophy/Gamerscore here. I barely put in 15-20 hours and got it easy. So for achievement hunters, this game will be very rewarding. At the end of the day, its a fun game, that's short and has performance issues. If you can find this for around 30 bucks, do it. But I wouldn't recommend it for much more then that right now. Once the performance issues are taken care of, this is a very solid 8/10 game, just like a lot of Remedy's previous games have been. Expand
  63. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    Decent at times, overrated, and frustrating combat. The game can be a lot of fun, picking up things telepathically and dodging in mid air can feel great. The story is mysterious, albeit nonsensical (thats the point though), and does push you forward well. The biggest pro and con for this game is the combat though. It can feel incredibly well done sometimes, but it can get extremelyDecent at times, overrated, and frustrating combat. The game can be a lot of fun, picking up things telepathically and dodging in mid air can feel great. The story is mysterious, albeit nonsensical (thats the point though), and does push you forward well. The biggest pro and con for this game is the combat though. It can feel incredibly well done sometimes, but it can get extremely annoying. Healing is a pain, because you have to run around like a headless chicken while rockets are coming from EVERYWHERE- and them BAM, you're dead. You get sent all the way back to the checkpoint and it gets very tedious. Honestly the game is too challenging for this type of genre and I had a harder time with it then Dark Souls. Very annoying not knowing where multiple rockets are constantly bombarding you from. And while the effects, lighting and art are excellent, especially the physics, the game picture wise looks like poop on a Pro on a 4K tv. You can really tell the developer only put time into the PC version and neglected the consoles. Frame rate stays consistent for the most part, but 1080p/30 is unacceptable for a "premium" console. Badly optimized. Obviously this is all subjective, but I would wait until its around $20, maybe get it now if you have a beast PC if its like $40 on PC. Expand
  64. Sep 15, 2019
    6
    Good for RTX card owners but other than that

    the game looks washed out on traditional GPUs, consoles etc. everything is movable and lightning is not static. looks like a quick effort for a ray tracing demo but added some story and levels to call it a day... the beginning of the game is infuriatingly ambiguous , after two hours, the story gets laid out a bit but two hours is no good
    Good for RTX card owners but other than that

    the game looks washed out on traditional GPUs, consoles etc.
    everything is movable and lightning is not static.
    looks like a quick effort for a ray tracing demo but added some story and levels to call it a day...

    the beginning of the game is infuriatingly ambiguous , after two hours, the story gets laid out a bit but two hours is no good for today's trends...
    Boring game play, awkward storytelling, same old motion blending, sterile physical destruction. To REMEDY ent:Stop abusing the talents of the artists, visuals and sfx will only get you so far.

    No sensible AI
    No captivating story
    Nothing fancy on animations, always the same animations on loops
    No interesting gameplay. same stuff from 15 years ago, the dynamic environments and fancly lightning should not count as "gameplay".

    I wont be suprised if Remedy closes its door soon. It s been decade since they released a solid, entertaining gameplay, just the "AW franchise after Mpayne.
    Expand
  65. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Extremely beautiful graphics and superb story. Nice voice acting. Highly recommended!
  66. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    This is a masterpiece! Remedy nails it again. Atmosphere is awesome, Graphics are stunning and the story is really addicting. One of the rare must-buy-games of the 2019.
  67. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Nice game all in all, very satisfying to smash objects from the surroundings to enemies!
  68. Aug 31, 2019
    9
    Great game, really enjoying what I've played so far! The lore withing the game is really compelling and makes you want to find out more and wander around the map for more pieces of info. One big downside though is that even running on a PS4 Pro, there is alot of frame rate issues in combat and also textures and environments take a little bit of time to load in
  69. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    This game is just incredible entertaining and original in the sense of high-quality actions combined with super natural powers.
  70. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    I found the World of the game, which is the Oldest House, really atmospheric and special. The game has this eerie and really unique feel to it, which is like no other game I've played before. I highly recommend this game.
  71. Aug 29, 2019
    10
    Overall a brilliant game - and one of Remedy's finest so far. Kudos to the studio for combining a strong story narrative with frenetic gameplay & combat. A true marvel and really enjoyed playing it.
  72. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Compelling story, with many hidden details and great humor.
    Combat is fun and it gest more and more entertaining as you unlock new powers.
    Jesse is a very relatable character.
  73. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Amazing game, one of the best in 2019. Story and atmosphere keep you interested through the game. So sad that people are rating this 0-2 even there is no big problems, kids just want to protest and downvote. Definitely worth to buy and let also others to know about this game!
  74. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Just wow! Its the type of a game I have been looking for years. I was always into eerie-vibe-strange movies and never that jolly fello anyway.. The deepness chills my bones and this one really makes you wanna check your brain. Something Kafka would like to sit deep into.
  75. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    A fantastic game, love the graphics and the story. Congrats to Remedy team!
  76. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Супер! Я доволен что купил её. Не знаю что ещё можно добавить, видео-обзоры уже все сказали за меня. Я солидарен) Remedy молодцы
  77. Aug 28, 2019
    10
    So far i'm really enjoying Control. The setting is pretty unique and it changes in interesting ways. There are some cool setpieces built in as well which will change your location.
    The gunplay is fun too but the powers are the area in which this game stands out. The lack of a cover system is probably the biggest departure from past remedy titles.
    The story feels like a David Lynch show.
    So far i'm really enjoying Control. The setting is pretty unique and it changes in interesting ways. There are some cool setpieces built in as well which will change your location.
    The gunplay is fun too but the powers are the area in which this game stands out. The lack of a cover system is probably the biggest departure from past remedy titles.
    The story feels like a David Lynch show. It's eery and entertaining but i'm not far enough in to say whether or not it has a great plot.
    I wouldn't listen to the babies downvoting this game. I assume most of them are doing it because the game is a timed exclusive on the epic store. A lot of games seem to get downvoted for that reason these days unfortunately.
    I'd recommend checking out some reviews and if you like what you see then you'll probably enjoy control :).
    Expand
  78. Sep 6, 2019
    10
    CONTROL IS OUT OF CONTROL!!! Wow and lets get the little things out of the way first....the frame rate issue and the map taking a little time to display sometimes is such a minor thing that can be easily overlooked. Remedy is working on a patch and once this is fixed the game is a MASTERPIECE!!! This game has elements of a third person Half Life concept with Allan Wake, Max Payne andCONTROL IS OUT OF CONTROL!!! Wow and lets get the little things out of the way first....the frame rate issue and the map taking a little time to display sometimes is such a minor thing that can be easily overlooked. Remedy is working on a patch and once this is fixed the game is a MASTERPIECE!!! This game has elements of a third person Half Life concept with Allan Wake, Max Payne and Quantum Break all in the mix. It took me around an hour to really understand what was going on and then the story just goes somewhere you can't even imagine.... AND THEN IT GOES DEEPER AND DEEPER. BRAVO REMEDY and thank you for giving me this gaming graphical experience! My GOD! Expand
  79. Aug 28, 2019
    10
    Ótimo jogo! Gráficos bonitos, jogabilidade fantástica. A história também é bem interessante. Vale muito a pena!
  80. Aug 29, 2019
    9
    Remedy showed a high quality action game, gameplay is awesome, I just can't stop enjoy with shooting, throwing everything in enemies, there are so much action, all locations made with style, location by location blowed my mind LOVE IT!))))) Thank you Remedy!!
  81. Aug 31, 2019
    8
    There's some bugs that need to be patched e.g. loading the map. The story could have been a bit clearer too. I really like the abilities you gain as you progress. The combat and gameplay is awesome. Overall a fun game.
  82. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    Amazing game experience .
    Не понимаю хейт вокруг игры, если все дело в оптимизации, то она не критична. Но те кто ноют про серость и сюжет , зачем вы брали игру если вам не нравится такой стиль и тематика?! Мне игра понравилась
  83. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    Exelente juego me gustó la jugabilidad y una trama interesante
  84. Nov 30, 2019
    9
    SCP / X-Files / Warehouse 13 THE GAME:

    Control is the video game equivalent of the X-Files, Warehouse 13, and the SCP files. Made by Remedy Entertainment, the studio behind Max Payne and Alan Wake, brings a world of conspiracy and mystery to life in their newest outing. Control is a 3rd person action/adventure game that leans HEAVILY on lore developed through written files and
    SCP / X-Files / Warehouse 13 THE GAME:

    Control is the video game equivalent of the X-Files, Warehouse 13, and the SCP files. Made by Remedy Entertainment, the studio behind Max Payne and Alan Wake, brings a world of conspiracy and mystery to life in their newest outing. Control is a 3rd person action/adventure game that leans HEAVILY on lore developed through written files and audio/video recordings to life. You do not by any means have to read all of the files you come across, but the world of the game makes much more sense if you do.
    At its core, the game moves you through much of the The Oldest House, a paranaturally clandestine facility housing the Federal Bureau of Control (FBC). You use different weapon types and paranatural abilities to dispatch a variety of enemies who impede your progress. As you go you encounter new and strange objects and phenomena. There are a number of optional side missions which can be tackled which boost your abilities or give you new ones. My one real gripe with the game is that some of the side missions can feel fetch questy and rely a little too much on back tracking to areas you’ve already been through.
    The gameplay is solid, but this title really shines in its narrative. Anyone who disliked this game was probably looking for a run-n-gun game and didn’t bother to dive into the rich lore. Though, the main story is still solid without having to read through everything.
    Again, this is a MUST play for anyone who is a big fan of media like Warehouse 13, the X-Files, or SCP.
    Expand
  85. Gu5
    Nov 3, 2019
    6
    The Visuals are amazing, but the main plot is pretty shallow and the gameplay with the environment gets repetitive pretty quickly... The obvious NPC spawn trigger points get really annoying after passing through the same place for the 5th time.
    Control feels a bit like 2001: A Space Odyssey - It certainly is visually and aesthetically stunning, the underlying lore (That you have to
    The Visuals are amazing, but the main plot is pretty shallow and the gameplay with the environment gets repetitive pretty quickly... The obvious NPC spawn trigger points get really annoying after passing through the same place for the 5th time.
    Control feels a bit like 2001: A Space Odyssey - It certainly is visually and aesthetically stunning, the underlying lore (That you have to intentionally dig for) is intriguing, but overall - it is not very entertaining...
    Expand
  86. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    This game got me hooked fast.

    I am very in love with the Half-life franchise, I'm a big fan of reading into psychologic texts and I absolutely adore lyncean films, I love dream-logic and narrative centred around these concepts. Control **** me up, it was like this beautifully crafted love letter to the weird wonderful world of supernatural occurrences within games. The game is just
    This game got me hooked fast.

    I am very in love with the Half-life franchise, I'm a big fan of reading into psychologic texts and I absolutely adore lyncean films, I love dream-logic and narrative centred around these concepts.

    Control **** me up, it was like this beautifully crafted love letter to the weird wonderful world of supernatural occurrences within games. The game is just so fun, interesting and something that feels so fresh to get in 2019. A uniquely crafted, very well thought out, action game that doesn't dumb down its audience.

    I love this game. I don't think it's for everybody. It does have narrative issues, and the ending is incredibly anticlimactic (hoping that the DLC will fix this issue and pad the game out more) but for what it is, a very tight supernatural third-person shooter it truly is amazing.

    I absolutely adore control. Check it out!
    Expand
  87. Sep 18, 2019
    9
    I bought the digital deluxe edition on my base PS4 on day one, and have been playing it since. Platinumed it today, after about 40-50hrs of gameplay.

    What a ride, what an experience, what a game! It's a perfect blend of gameplay, narrative and style. I just felt engaged the moment I played it. Coming into the game, I thought I would be bored by it's setting but I learnt to appreciate
    I bought the digital deluxe edition on my base PS4 on day one, and have been playing it since. Platinumed it today, after about 40-50hrs of gameplay.

    What a ride, what an experience, what a game! It's a perfect blend of gameplay, narrative and style. I just felt engaged the moment I played it. Coming into the game, I thought I would be bored by it's setting but I learnt to appreciate it's brutalist art style and it reminded me so much of where I used to live near the University of Chicago.

    If you like atmospheric games like Bioshock, Alan Wake, Max Payne, Vampyr, where you are rewarded for playing it slow and explore everything, collecting documents and lore, you will love this game. It's story is told in a unique, non-direct style, where you have to pay attention 110% and even then, you may not understand all of it at once. That's what I love about it, it's sense of mystery and possibility. I love narratives that encourage discussion outside of the medium, in internet forums, youtube vids etc. It reminds me of TV shows like Lost and Twin Peaks where I had to read up more and watch it multiple times to pick up stuff I missed the first time round.

    In summary, these are what I like and dislike about Control:

    Pros:
    Brilliant, atmospheric narrative
    Great voiceovers and real-life acting (especially Dr Darling)
    Superb lead character
    Great gunplay
    Cool powers
    Exploration is very rewarding
    Excellent world-building
    Interesting side missions
    Engaging side characters
    Superb soundtrack
    Ahti

    Cons:
    Slight FPS drop in intense battles
    Background assets take time to load when you zoom in
    Respawn points are a pain
    Slow loading times during fast travel

    I really hope Remedy does more games. Can't wait for their next project. I will support this AWEsome developer always!
    Expand
  88. Sep 1, 2019
    9
    +Great graphics
    +Very impressive physics
    +Excellent sound +Fantastic 'gameplay loop' +Expert level design -Story a notch shy of the perfect score -Performance drops, no hdr, only 1080p on ps4 pro I was so hyped to play this game and once I got my mitts on it I was not disappointed! As a huge remedy fan I am pleased to report this is their strongest title yet. Thankfully they
    +Great graphics
    +Very impressive physics
    +Excellent sound
    +Fantastic 'gameplay loop'
    +Expert level design
    -Story a notch shy of the perfect score
    -Performance drops, no hdr, only 1080p on ps4 pro

    I was so hyped to play this game and once I got my mitts on it I was not disappointed! As a huge remedy fan I am pleased to report this is their strongest title yet. Thankfully they focused far more on the gameplay than any other aspect and if you enjoyed star wars the force unleashed then this is definitely going to impress you. Sadly even with a very well written story bolstered by the original voice actors of both max payne and alan wake, (sooo cool!) the story misses that exceptional quality for myself that would brand it as perfect score from me although it is very high quality and worth reading/listening/watching all the files/tapes/videos littered throughout the game. Cannot wait for the inevitable sequel!
    Expand
  89. Dec 9, 2019
    9
    PUBLIC SERVICE MESSAGE: People who give 0's for anything are literal monsters. A 0 is stating the piece of media could not be watched or played. Even a 99% broken game should receive at lowest a 1. Reserve 0's for what they are for, and not as a projection of the current emotional tantrum you are immaturely throwing.

    That being said...Control is f-ing amazing. If you love Twin
    PUBLIC SERVICE MESSAGE: People who give 0's for anything are literal monsters. A 0 is stating the piece of media could not be watched or played. Even a 99% broken game should receive at lowest a 1. Reserve 0's for what they are for, and not as a projection of the current emotional tantrum you are immaturely throwing.

    That being said...Control is f-ing amazing. If you love Twin Peaks, Welcome to Night Vale, or any type of funky weird pop mystery then you will love this game. If you don't love those then you should still enjoy the game. The graphics are good, the controls are tight, the story is interesting.

    You get to kill people at low hp by ripping them off the ground with such force that it breaks them. And then you get to hurl their lifeless corpses at other bad guys with such form it kills the other guy.

    Hideo Kojima has a frekin cameo!

    It all takes place in a building that is alive and moves and shifts and reorganizes itself right in front of your eyes.

    The game is the start of something amazing. I feel bad for people who can't appreciate awesome.
    Expand
  90. Sep 7, 2019
    9
    Brilliant, brilliant game. Not perfect, and has some minor performance issues, but what a great experience. If you like single player games with a cool and strong narrative, you gotta play Control.
  91. Sep 29, 2019
    6
    Has potential to be really good, but drops the ball. First half of the game is really enjoyable, being very fun while still challenging the player. However, the second half is incredibly tedious as the fun is sacrificed for the sake of being overly challenging. Some parts are still enjoyable, but the majority of the second half is a chore to play through and quickly drains you of any funHas potential to be really good, but drops the ball. First half of the game is really enjoyable, being very fun while still challenging the player. However, the second half is incredibly tedious as the fun is sacrificed for the sake of being overly challenging. Some parts are still enjoyable, but the majority of the second half is a chore to play through and quickly drains you of any fun you're having. Expand
  92. Nov 11, 2019
    9
    This reminds me of a game from Valve back when they used to be cool. Oozing in a great sci-fi atmosphere, interesting story, and really cool innovative twists on shooter gameplay. The physics and environmental interactivity are some of the best I've seen in a game. It's a shame it doesn't seem to be selling more, I want to see more AAA games like this.
  93. Sep 2, 2019
    9
    Awesome game with an outstanding thematic, ambiance, and story with extra value for Sci-Fi fans. The game dynamics and structure are solid, my only complain and why doesn't gets excellence for me it's the frame rate drops, knowing that they're not for something bad in the game but quite the opposite its too much game for the machines to be able to handle it nevertheless with time getsAwesome game with an outstanding thematic, ambiance, and story with extra value for Sci-Fi fans. The game dynamics and structure are solid, my only complain and why doesn't gets excellence for me it's the frame rate drops, knowing that they're not for something bad in the game but quite the opposite its too much game for the machines to be able to handle it nevertheless with time gets annoying, the variety of elements with physics, particles, reflections, lights, and shadows make this game a technical achievement. Expand
  94. Sep 12, 2019
    6
    It’s ok. But graphics could be much better. A lot of artifact, blur. I can’t see anything on a long distance
  95. Sep 28, 2019
    10
    This is an exceptionally awesome game by any standard. The gameplay is fluid, intuitive, and just feels great. Jesse becomes a bad-ass Jedi over the course of the intriguing story & using her telekinetic powers to summon & launch objects at enemies NEVER ceases to be brutally satisfying. Definitely one of my favorite games of 2019 & the current generation of consoles in general...with oneThis is an exceptionally awesome game by any standard. The gameplay is fluid, intuitive, and just feels great. Jesse becomes a bad-ass Jedi over the course of the intriguing story & using her telekinetic powers to summon & launch objects at enemies NEVER ceases to be brutally satisfying. Definitely one of my favorite games of 2019 & the current generation of consoles in general...with one minor flaw: occasional frame-rate drops when fighting an (overcrowded) room full of enemies...but only in certain rooms. It doesn't happen often enough to be much of a problem, as it only tends to occur if/when I haven't finished off at least half of the first wave of enemies before their friends join the party & you acquire offensive upgrades pretty early on, so it sort of 'goes away' before it has much chance to become annoying. It's hard to fault the devs for it though because Control is essentially a next-gen game that pushes current consoles to their limits. Fortunately (for me) I recently upgraded to a PS4 Pro to give my poor old 2nd hand vanilla system a well-earned retirement after it started vomiting discs back at me in the middle of gameplay, so said issue wasn't much of an issue for me at all, but I can clearly see how it could be an immersion-breaking problem for "regular" PS4 & XBoxOne's (no idea about PC's). I experienced Days Gone on both my old & new consoles, but can only judge Control by how well it runs on my upgraded unit, & I have faith in the devs' commitment to optimizing this game because of all the love they clearly put into creating it. Aside from what's essentially a NON-issue for ME, I'm having a ******* blast! I'm taking my sweet-assed time savoring my playthrough & thoroughly enjoying every minute of it, so much so that I bought the season pass when I found out it that it unlocks an amusingky weird, existing side mission, & I'm already looking forward to the 2 promised expansions. Before I stfu, I have to credit the writing. The story is truly unique & interesting, with the added bonus of some darkly humorous gems to be discovered just about everywhere you venture. Solid 10/10 at full price - zero regrets for not waiting for a sale. Expand
  96. Aug 29, 2019
    9
    Just finished the main storyline about an hour ago and here are my thoughts.

    I have to say that I loved every bit of this game. Given there were moments of frustration but only because the game doesn't lend any kind of hand-holding whatsoever. That's a good thing! Almost every kind of game out there right now has some sort of indicator guiding the user through the story and through each
    Just finished the main storyline about an hour ago and here are my thoughts.

    I have to say that I loved every bit of this game. Given there were moments of frustration but only because the game doesn't lend any kind of hand-holding whatsoever. That's a good thing! Almost every kind of game out there right now has some sort of indicator guiding the user through the story and through each objective. This game only offers you a map with a highlighted region of interest. All other sources of information are gathered by story narrative or by the environment. There were many times that I felt true accomplishment when I solved one of the many puzzles in the game. As many of them rely on environmental clues to informer the player.

    The environment is very brutalist. The game reminds me of the movie "Beyond The Black Rainbow"; A lot of the colors and simple geometry and futuristic undertones. Its got that same kinda crazy scientist secret government vibe to it as well. The graphics are very impressive, a lot of physics and detailed modeling and lighting throughout. Almost every single frame of this game is picturesque. There were moments of performance dipping but only limited to the menu system when you exit or close the menus. Since 99% of my game existed outside the menu system I feel this a non-issue. Something that will get patched soon I suspect. Being on PC I didn't experience the frame dipping from physics as console players are experiencing(sucks to suck console players ;p ).

    I really enjoy games with deep story elements and my goodness this delivers in full. You have lots of really good voice acting and story elements with the main characters but this is a small sliver of the content. Additional story comes in many forms. Littered throughout the levels are all kinds of documents and memos and folders of research that you can pour-over. Additionally, to that, there are audio recording in a kind of Bioshock fashion. But really the best kind of story comes from the these VHS and Reel to Reel live-action recordings. Some, disturbing, and some borderline hilarious productions especially towards the later levels.

    I think a lot of players were looking for a Max Payne kindof game from Remedy with all the talk of the combat from other reviews. To me, combat is a nice addition to a game built around a major story experience. I honestly had a lot of fun with the combat. The telekinesis powers grow and become more powerful as you progress and you turn into a master Jedi with a full seat on the council. Once you unlock the Charge gun type you become the infinite rick, a god. Then you really start to push the envelope of the physics and destruction engine this game offers. It has a nice progression that is non-linear, I finished
    the game without unlocking all the powers for instance,

    All in all the game is great. It disturbed me, it made me laugh, It left me in awe, and I highly recommend this to someone who is looking for a deep story to get lost in and continue even after the credits roll.

    9/10 Good job Remedy(how much acid did you take to make this game?)
    Expand
  97. Sep 8, 2019
    9
    A great game with amazing graphic style, atmosphere and gameplay. It is unique in many ways, give it a chance. Respect to Remedy!
  98. Aug 27, 2019
    9
    Remedy never disappoints. Control is so far one of my favorite new games to play this year. I love the challenges and atmosphere Remedy & 505 Games put into the game, that makes the game worth exploring. Beside the few bugs (which can be fix by update) that happens in the game, it doesn’t stop me from enjoying the game, which is a huge plus for me. Control is my first ever game I boughtRemedy never disappoints. Control is so far one of my favorite new games to play this year. I love the challenges and atmosphere Remedy & 505 Games put into the game, that makes the game worth exploring. Beside the few bugs (which can be fix by update) that happens in the game, it doesn’t stop me from enjoying the game, which is a huge plus for me. Control is my first ever game I bought from Remedy and judging from the game and my review, it seems that they got a new fan. Definitely going to check out other big titles by Remedy in the near future. Expand
  99. Aug 27, 2019
    9
    Remedy proves once again that they are one of the best studios in the industry

    + Great Visuals and Effects + Immersive Story + Addictive Game-play + Soundtrack (and music from Poets of the Fall) Is awesome. - Lip sync and animations in some of the conversations (cut-scenes) are little bit bland, and it sometimes seems that side characters are much better looking than the main
    Remedy proves once again that they are one of the best studios in the industry

    + Great Visuals and Effects
    + Immersive Story
    + Addictive Game-play
    + Soundtrack (and music from Poets of the Fall) Is awesome.

    - Lip sync and animations in some of the conversations (cut-scenes) are little bit bland, and it
    sometimes seems that side characters are much better looking than the main character.
    - Small frame-rate issues in big fights, likely will be fixed-
    Expand
  100. Aug 27, 2019
    10
    Great game, love to see someone with balls of doing something different and then pull it off like this!
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 25, 2019
    90
    Impactful gunplay bolstered by a telekinetic twist, and a mystery you’ll be turning over for a long time afterwards. Welcome to the Oldest House, Director. [Issue#167, p.79]
  2. Sep 18, 2019
    80
    The writing, direction, and performances are consistently brilliant. This is Remedy at the peak of its game. Control feels like a company rediscovering itself, waking from a long slumber. Remedy’s legs work as intended once more, the vestiges of sleep paralysis a distant memory.
  3. Sep 17, 2019
    100
    I don’t want to use the word masterpiece lightly, but what else do you call the combination of gleefully chaotic gameplay with earnest storytelling in a setting as refreshingly unique as Bioshock? What else do you call a combat system that goes so far beyond the simple act of shooting a gun without drilling down into a set of intricate menus and complicated controls? What else do you call darkly malevolent horror that doesn’t feel like it was cribbed from someplace else? What else do you call the crowning achievement of a studio with a unique voice, an uneven track record, and 25 years of experience? If there’s a better word to describe what Remedy has achieved with Control, I can’t think of it.