Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 10, 2016
    90
    A shining example of how to do a remaster, and the visuals really stand tall. The original game is more accessible (and nearly modern in some aspects) than I recall. Coupled with the included 'Maniac Mansion' and Vita support, this ought to make a great adventure game romp for a great swathe of players.
  2. Apr 7, 2016
    90
    After 25 years Day of the Tentacle is still a brilliant game. Irresistible, ironical, with an outstanding style and an amazing screenplay. Double Fine did a great job with the remastering process, modernizing every aspect of the game.
  3. Mar 28, 2016
    90
    A must-have for fans of the original and a great point of entry for anyone new to the formula, Day of the Tentacle Remastered harbours a fantastic charm that can scarcely be found elsewhere.
  4. Mar 27, 2016
    90
    Day of the Tentacle is a master piece of the graphic adventures, and this remaster delivers everything we can expect from it. If you haven't played it, now it's the best time to do it.
  5. Mar 24, 2016
    90
    A masterpiece that doesn't shows its age despite the time that has passed since its original release. An outstanding remastering that manages to retain the magic from the original game.
  6. 90
    Day of the Tentacle Remastered isn't just a simple port, it's also an amazing achievement in its own right. The new visuals are gorgeous, and the gameplay has been updated to be streamlined, yet still stay true to the original. Double Fine have outdone themselves here.
  7. Mar 21, 2016
    90
    Day of the Tentacle is a classic, and this remastered version is a great way for old fans to see the time-hopping adventure looking its best. Hopefully, it’ll also give a new generation of players a chance to experience all of the silliness for themselves...The few technical terrors I encountered were annoying, but they only momentarily zapped the smile that I wore throughout the rest of my playtime.
  8. Mar 23, 2016
    89
    A great adventure game that returns with improved graphics, but with all the hallmarks that made it popular in the 90s. Don't doubt and let yourself be conquered by the Purple Tentacle. Day of the Tentacle Remastered is pure nostalgia.
  9. Mar 25, 2016
    85
    Day of the Tentacle: Remastered gets everything right. And did I mention it includes the original Maniac Mansion as well? This was a very funny and captivating adventure back then and it remains that way even today.
  10. 85
    Overflowing with buckets of self-aware humor and charm, and bringing the beloved point-and-click cartoon adventure into gorgeous HD, this should be a priority for both fans of the original game as well as anyone looking to play an important and influential part of gaming history.
  11. Mar 29, 2016
    83
    Day of the Tentacle is largely removed from the adventure genre’s shortcomings, such as obtuse puzzle design, though it lacks a certain depth to its story. Nonetheless, its strange premise, witty one-liners, and brain-teasing puzzles help it remain something special.
  12. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 18, 2016
    80
    The occasional flat gag notwithstanding, DotT’s long awaited PlayStation appearance is sublime. [June 2016, p77]
  13. Play UK
    May 16, 2016
    80
    It will wrap itself around any adventure game fan and refuse to let them go, regardless of whether they have any nostalgia for the original or not. [Issue#269, p.78]
  14. May 12, 2016
    80
    Much like last year’s Grim Fandango Remastered, Day of the Tentacle Remastered brings classic point and click adventure games to a new generation to great effect.
  15. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 8, 2016
    80
    Parts of the script are, sadly, not as timeless as I'd imagined in the '90s, but in all other areas this deserves its classic status. Keep the remasters coming, Double Fine. [May 2016, p.93]
  16. Apr 21, 2016
    80
    Day of the Tentacle: Remastered is the next game in a long line of successful updates from Double Fine, and it does a lot to show that adventure games still have a place in the growing library of games and genres.
  17. Mar 23, 2016
    80
    One of the best point ‘n’ click adventures of all-time still has much to teach modern gaming in terms of puzzle design and engaging characters.
  18. Mar 21, 2016
    80
    Day of the Tentacle Remastered is a solid port of an excellent cult classic.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 147
  2. Negative: 18 out of 147
  1. Mar 23, 2016
    6
    When asked what my favorite video game of all time is, my answer is always Day of the Tentacle. I was ten years old when this game came out inWhen asked what my favorite video game of all time is, my answer is always Day of the Tentacle. I was ten years old when this game came out in 1993, and it impacted me in a way that is difficult to articulate. It inspired me to become an artist.

    I never owned Day of the Tentacle. My parents found a local mom and pop rental store that rented PC games. I don't think that was legal, if we're being honest. But I was a kid, and what did I know? I did my chores so that every other week I could return to the store and rent the game again. During the week, I would daydream about the game. I told my friends at school about the game, and they couldn't wrap their heads around what I was telling them. I asked my parents for the game at Christmas that year. Unfortunately, it was another one of those that got away.

    It didn't take long for the rental store to belly up, and my access to the game was gone. By the late nineties when I got my first job, I went looking for the game. But it was long gone. I moved on with my life. It wasn't until the summer of 2008 when I played the game again. It was an incredibly nostalgic experience to replay it. I had forgotten a lot of the puzzles, so I got to experience that joy of solving them again.

    As an adult, I've continued to follow where the people who made this game have gone. Just like the "dream team" who created Chrono Trigger (my number two), we never really got to feel the magic a second time.

    This game, the remaster of Day of the Tentacle, is what I've been waiting for as a fan for just over twenty years. It's bittersweet for me. On one hand, I feel incredibly grateful that this was even made at all. On the other hand, I feel that it's very lacking and presents itself poorly among it's contemporary peers. The core content, the original game, it's all still here. And it's great. It's worth it to check out if you're interested in classic adventure gaming.

    Just like in the Monkey Island remasters, this game allows you to switch back and forth from the original graphics to the higher definition. If I'm being completely honest here, the new high definition upgrade is not great. At first glance, it looks slick. But if you sit and look at any background for some time, it starts to wear on you. Everything is very bland and lacking detail. But when you switch back to the original graphics, you realize that that's what it actually looked like, more or less.

    I found myself preferring to play the game with the original 1993 graphics. The problem with this, at least for a Playstation gamer, is that the game is much easier to play in HD. Your actions are executed much faster and simpler in the HD mode when you're playing with a controller. When you're playing with the original 1993 graphics, it takes longer because you have to roll the analog stick all the way down across the screen to pick a different verb, and then back up to complete an interaction. The game would benefit from an option to play the game with the original graphics and the new verb wheel system. This is Day of the Tentacle, man. Go nuts!

    I was pleasantly surprised to learn that you could also switch between the old and new soundtracks. I preferred the classic soundtrack. The new music sounds like they took the original compositions and ran them through a modern synthesizer. The new music doesn't improve upon the old in any way.

    It's mentioned during the developer's commentary that the composer was frequently sent back to eliminate tracks and crunch the size of each track down to under 32kb. The graphics had the same issue. Peter Chan mentions in the commentary that he had to make the backgrounds very simple and bland because technical limitations at the time wouldn't allow for greater detail. The new stuff is very faithful to the old stuff, and it's holding the game back.

    I would love to play a total remake of this game, detached from the original. I would love to see some Double Fine musicians and artists take a crack at fleshing out the details in the presentation of Day of the Tentacle. I would be open minded to a version that goes nuts and adds in the three deleted characters for a whole new game experience. Yeah, you'd lose a lot of what made this game so great and made us fall in love with it the first time, but it would stand up better to modern standards. The age of laying new games over the old, frame by frame, note for note, should end. Flipping the graphics over from old to new on the fly was a neat technical trick back in 2009, but it's really starting to hold these remasters back. Is it going to be the same story with Full Throttle?

    When my son is a few years older, I'm going to share Day of the Tentacle with him. I'll explain the remaster to him, but it's going to be the original PC game that I share with him that day.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2016
    10
    Day of the Tentacle is my favorite adventure game. If you enjoy really good humor in games, I would highly recommend this game to you. TheDay of the Tentacle is my favorite adventure game. If you enjoy really good humor in games, I would highly recommend this game to you. The remastered version is just as good as the original but more beautiful than ever. Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2016
    10
    This game is so good I was looking up development updates most days since it was first announced a year before. Even if adventure games areThis game is so good I was looking up development updates most days since it was first announced a year before. Even if adventure games are not your thing you will not regret buying this. The characters, story and atmosphere are so gripping you will want to complete it to unravel the story. Full Review »