Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 109 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 109
  2. Negative: 4 out of 109
Buy On
  1. May 2, 2019
    45
    I was ready to love Days Gone, and in some ways, I still do. It didn’t love me back, though. If SIE Bend had cut the length by a third, cleaned up the technical problems and had more variety in level design, it could have been one of my favorite games of all time. It’s tragic in hindsight, because I can feel the love and passion flowing through it. Unfortunately, the shared appreciation of our homeland pales in comparison to the astoundingly long list of problems on display here. It’s heartbreaking, but only homesick Oregonians like myself need apply.
  2. May 2, 2019
    40
    Days Gone is far from the worst specimen of its genre but in a year already packed with 50 hour+ endeavours, it rarely makes the case for its own existence.
  3. Apr 25, 2019
    40
    There is no denying that Days Gone is visually impressive, heightened by expressive motion capture and a lifelike wilderness. The signs of life that should make for a great experience are all there. But in every shining sunset, detailed human face, and open clearing, I couldn’t find any shred of soul.
  4. Apr 25, 2019
    30
    The game meets the baseline level of quality we might expect from a big-budgeted joint, yet it remains a tiresome, empty experience.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 25, 2019
    If you're hungry for a new weekend-filling zombie adventure on PS4, Days Gone is an easy rental recommendation. If you're already working your way through a big-game backlog, on the other hand, you should probably spend your days on other fare. [Impressions]
  2. Apr 25, 2019
    A disappointing dud among the litany of quite remarkable recent PlayStation exclusives. After epics such as God Of War, Spider-Man and Horizon Zero Dawn, this is a game that wavers between boring and frustrating. A game that’s had more than enough time in development, and which has such uninspired design choices at its core, that more time probably wouldn’t have solved them. Days Gone simply doesn’t offer anything sufficiently fresh or interesting to carry it to the finish line.
  3. Apr 25, 2019
    A frequently gorgeous, sadly generic open-world game that runs out of steam well before its extended play-time is over.
  4. Apr 25, 2019
    It's . . . fine, I guess? Not something I'd urge you to go pick up on day one, but a pretty good time-suck regardless. I like it, I just don't love it. I don't hate it, either. It's just perfectly okay. [Impressions]
  5. Apr 25, 2019
    Look no further than the game developers calling the zombies “freakers,” and expecting us to take that as something new.
  6. Apr 25, 2019
    Days Gone seems like an accurate reflection of how things would go after an actual, IRL zombie apocalypse: clumsy, violent, and filled with failure.
  7. May 2, 2019
    Like a zombie, it lurches through the motions, hungry for brains, lacking its own.
  8. Apr 25, 2019
    Days Gone is by far the weakest Sony-backed PS4 exclusive to have come out in a while. Doesn't mean it's bad, it's just not particularly great. It takes inspiration from Red Dead Redemption, The Last of Us, and plenty other games, but fails to find its own voice or sense of charm. It's alright though, if you want yet another zombie game.
  9. Apr 25, 2019
    The problem is that it’s all wrapped around a painfully generic zombie story, one that ultimately plays out like a dozen games you’ve experienced before. All of that effort feels wasted, especially in a world where Sony also publishes the brilliant The Last of Us, which took a seemingly straightforward post-apocalyptic zombie narrative in interesting new directions. Meanwhile, in Days Gone, the end of the world is somehow incredibly bland.
  10. Apr 25, 2019
    I would’ve gladly dealt with choppy gameplay if it meant more horde encounters, as they were truly the highlight of Days Gone. SIE Bend Studio at least reignited my interest in zombie-fighting, a genre with little gas in the tank after years of movies, TV shows and video games dealing with the living day. Sad, then, that Days Gone saves its best moments as a kind of reward for slogging through a cliche-ridden journey across post-apocalyptic Oregon, tied to a sullen and angry hero.
  11. Apr 25, 2019
    The lack of seamless transitions between gameplay and cutscenes means you’re often staring at a black screen as the game interrupts you, the story is predictable, your activities are repetitive, and the technical issues – frame rate drops, freezes, and myriad bugs – are a constant annoyance. While it’s still slightly better than most recent Xbox One exclusives, Days Gone just isn’t anywhere near the quality of the majority of PS4 first-party releases.
  12. Apr 25, 2019
    And that’s Days Gone in a nutshell: a waste of time that doesn’t get you anything decent in return. I could have written everything here after a few hours of playing, but I kept thinking “There’s gotta be something around the corner to justify all this.” And so I’d play a few hours, and then a few more. Soon, a big plot turn was being communicated, and so I gave the game another chance. But that, like Deacon’s code, was just a long con. A game with a billion carrots on a stick, but no matter how many you eat, you’re still hungry, but at that point, the sunk cost of eating these damn carrots is so large you might as well keep eating. [20 Hour Impressions]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5971 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Apr 26, 2019
    10
    DAYS GONE – a breath of fresh air in its genre. I have long wanted to plunge into the World as the plot of the series the Walking dead. SoDAYS GONE – a breath of fresh air in its genre. I have long wanted to plunge into the World as the plot of the series the Walking dead. So far, only the first hours of the game, and I'm absolutely delighted. The plot unfolds without haste, the hero is interesting, he wants to empathize. You want to live with him this way. And of course his bike! This is a separate topic for discussion. Thank you Sony for another interesting plot game. Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2019
    10
    This game will get a ton of hate therefore will get a 10. Especially Xbox Fanboys. But if I were to score it based off of pure gamingThis game will get a ton of hate therefore will get a 10. Especially Xbox Fanboys. But if I were to score it based off of pure gaming enjoyment, it gets a 10 still. PS4 exclusive quality and it is just a great game period. Compared to any other game out here now, it is top tier. I don't get the hate. Seriously, never had so much fun since horizon zero Dawn. Maybe I love this game because I am an adult. Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2019
    9
    Great game and really enjoing it at the moment , the story is ok and the gameplay is pretty awesome , but the bike physics feel alittle slow,Great game and really enjoing it at the moment , the story is ok and the gameplay is pretty awesome , but the bike physics feel alittle slow, other than that is a fun great game Full Review »