Days Gone Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 108 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3633 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the beautiful, volcanic scarred high-desert of the Pacific Northwest, Days Gone is an open-world action-adventure game in which you assume the role of Deacon St. John, a Drifter and bounty hunter who would rather risk the dangers of the broken road than live in one of the “safe”Set in the beautiful, volcanic scarred high-desert of the Pacific Northwest, Days Gone is an open-world action-adventure game in which you assume the role of Deacon St. John, a Drifter and bounty hunter who would rather risk the dangers of the broken road than live in one of the “safe” wilderness encampments. The game takes place two years following a global pandemic which has wiped out just about everyone, but transformed millions of others into what survivors call Freakers – mindless, feral creatures, more animal than human but very much alive and rapidly evolving. Made up of hundreds of individual Freakers, Hordes eat, move and attack together, seemingly as one. Some Hordes roam the highways at night, while others, like the one in the demo, have found a food source that keeps it in a single location. Skills learned in his prior life as an outlaw biker have given Deacon a slight edge in the seemingly never-ending fight to stay alive. But will it be enough? [Bend Studios] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Days Gone Has Desperate Survivors - Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 108
  2. Negative: 4 out of 108
  1. Apr 28, 2019
    100
    Superb zombie-slaying combat and enjoyable motorcycle gameplay are integrated perfectly with a well-paced story. But the game’s major highlights are the terrifying zombie hordes which are unlike anything seen in a videogame so far.
  2. May 9, 2019
    84
    Days Gone offers fun open-world exploration and survival-horror gameplay elevated by a compelling post apocalypse narrative and top-notch presentation.
  3. Apr 25, 2019
    80
    Days Gone is a grim, beautiful B-movie; its action and writing are full of pulpy thrills, and by the end of it, I found myself liking a character called Deacon St. John – an achievement in itself.
  4. May 6, 2019
    75
    Although Days Gone is suffering from tons of technical issues and, of course, unbelievably weak AI, it still manages to make up for them by offering solid, diverse gameplay, wonderful atmosphere and world design, and great music and sound design. Let's just hope that Sony gives Bend Studio another chance.
  5. Apr 25, 2019
    70
    Days Gone has a couple of fantastic ideas, including the blockbuster horde battles that offer some of the most heart-pounding zombie spectacles I’ve seen yet. Unfortunately, these fantastic moments are fleeting, with generic missions, a messy story, and a plague of technical bugs holding back Days Gone from becoming a zombie-slaying classic.
  6. Apr 25, 2019
    65
    Days Gone has moments where it reveals its brilliance, but they’re buried under a litany of uninteresting and repetitive missions and numerous technical issues.
  7. Apr 25, 2019
    30
    The game meets the baseline level of quality we might expect from a big-budgeted joint, yet it remains a tiresome, empty experience.

See all 121 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 26, 2019
    10
    DAYS GONE – a breath of fresh air in its genre. I have long wanted to plunge into the World as the plot of the series the Walking dead. SoDAYS GONE – a breath of fresh air in its genre. I have long wanted to plunge into the World as the plot of the series the Walking dead. So far, only the first hours of the game, and I'm absolutely delighted. The plot unfolds without haste, the hero is interesting, he wants to empathize. You want to live with him this way. And of course his bike! This is a separate topic for discussion. Thank you Sony for another interesting plot game. Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2019
    10
    Awesome Walking Dead but open world style. Play like a charm like Horizon. Should be a 9 but will give a perfect 10 to offset those stupidAwesome Walking Dead but open world style. Play like a charm like Horizon. Should be a 9 but will give a perfect 10 to offset those stupid negative critic reviews. Expand
  3. Nax
    Apr 26, 2019
    10
    Well I was about to send back my copy after bad reviews. I said “screw it” and opened the box. I am really glad I did. Game is awesome. If youWell I was about to send back my copy after bad reviews. I said “screw it” and opened the box. I am really glad I did. Game is awesome. If you enjoy post apocalyptic open world games this game is awesome period. Don’t listen to bad reviews, there are minor bugs but they already patched big part of them with a huge 1.04 patch today.

    Graphics are awesome, you didn’t see such detailed unreal engine game.
    Wind system gives the environment life.
    HDR implementation is super

    Gunplay is hard and heavy, very similar to “the last of us”
    World is huge
    Melee and stealth is really satisfying
    There are lotsa craftables, weapons, items and strategies to play around.

    This game deserves a solid 8+, but I am giving it 10 because mainstream reviewers tried to ruin the game.

    I repeat, if you like open world post apocalyptic games, this game is the best on the market period. Awesome game.
    Expand
  4. May 12, 2019
    9
    After an approx. of 25 hours of playing this game i love it. Don't believe what hating press say, just buy and try it, you'll love it. TheAfter an approx. of 25 hours of playing this game i love it. Don't believe what hating press say, just buy and try it, you'll love it. The only bad point of the game is that sometimes, happen a diminution of FPS, but soon it will be fixed. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2019
    9
    DAYS GONE- 호불호가 극명하게 갈립니다 그래픽과 음악은 훌륭합니다. 부드러운 애니메이션과 아름다운 분위기는 기괴한 좀비 세계를 현실로 만듭니다. 스토리 텔링은 단순하고 알기 쉽습니다.DAYS GONE- 호불호가 극명하게 갈립니다 그래픽과 음악은 훌륭합니다. 부드러운 애니메이션과 아름다운 분위기는 기괴한 좀비 세계를 현실로 만듭니다. 스토리 텔링은 단순하고 알기 쉽습니다.
  6. Apr 30, 2019
    8
    Não achei Days Gone um jogo que posso falar que é um dos melhores já feito, mas de forma alguma é um game ruim. Seus gráficos, os personagens,Não achei Days Gone um jogo que posso falar que é um dos melhores já feito, mas de forma alguma é um game ruim. Seus gráficos, os personagens, a gameplay e sua narrativa são muito boas. O único defeito que eu me incomodei são os Loadings demorados; tirando isso, achei o exclusivo da Sony excelente. Mas realmente, o que peca é a falta de originalidade. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. que jogo bugado, arrependido muito de ter comprado isso. totalmente bugado no ps4 isso nem deveria existir como jogor, sério como fizeram isso? já quero reembolso. Expand

See all 1286 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.
  2. 2018 Videogame Preview: PlayStation 4 Games

    2018 Videogame Preview: PlayStation 4 Games Image
    Published: January 19, 2018
    Get details on 35 of the most-anticipated games headed to the PlayStation 4 console in 2018.