Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
Buy On
  1. May 31, 2016
    100
    Some remasters can feel a bit mailed in when it comes to how much they’ve actually been improved, but Dead Island: Definitive Edition is not one of them. Who knows what is going to happen to Dead Island 2 at this stage, but one thing that is true is Deep Silver has reignited the franchise with Dead Island: Definitive Edition.
  2. May 31, 2016
    85
    Dead Island Definitive Collection offers plenty of content and improved graphics, although there are still some issues from the original games. Solo mode is weak compared to co-op.
  3. May 31, 2016
    80
    Dead Island and Dead Island: Riptide are two great open world RPG's in their own right but they are also fantastic zombie survival games as well. Killing zombies never gets old and the island is a beautiful place to explore. If you missed out on these games last generation, now is a good as a time as ever to try them out as they both feel like one huge game that provides hundreds of hours of non stop, zombie slaying fun.
  4. May 31, 2016
    80
    Dead Island and the expansion Riptide are good examples of how to combine RPG, action, survival horror, splatter and exploration with solid gameplay mechanics, especially in the combat system area.
  5. Jun 2, 2016
    75
    Techland has done a good job with this collection, but it's aimed at a new audience rather than at those who played the originals, since it offers very few additions to those.
  6. Jun 1, 2016
    75
    Two in one sandbox / survival game with fun game mechanics, up to four players at once in co-op online mode and visual upgrades.
  7. Jun 3, 2016
    73
    Not the best remaster that we have seen due its lack of polish and variety, but a nice compilation capable of entertaining for more than 40 hours.
  8. Jun 2, 2016
    72
    Dying Light is a better game, but it was Dead Island that started it all. If you want to take a vacation on a tropical Island during a zombie invasion, this is the game for you.
  9. Jun 21, 2016
    70
    A competent collection which vastly improves the two Dead Island games included, adding a third game which can be fun in short bursts. Both Dead Island and Dead Island Riptide never looked better, with a slew of technical enhancements and solid performance which makes revisiting both titles quite enjoyable. Most the gameplay issues, however, haven't been addressed, so those who couldn't stand the original releases won't change their opinions with the remastered releases. Solid games, for sure, but not for everyone.
  10. Jun 11, 2016
    70
    Definitely one of the strongest remasters available on the current gen consoles, with enough improvements to more than compete with most new games. In a surprise turn, it also manages to better its original release - it’s been a long time since the title “Definitive Edition” was this well earnt.
  11. Jun 10, 2016
    70
    Nothing new on this edition for those who never played Dead Island games before and now can enjoy it on a single package with dozens of hours of tropical nightmares. It's a decent remaster that looks very good on the current generation consoles.
  12. Jun 7, 2016
    70
    Those who haven't played Dead Island or its sequel can do it now the best way possible, with all the DLC content and Retro Revenge as an interesting bonus. The franchise still has some technical issues, but with so many hours of gameplay and the visual enhancements of this remaster, Definitive Collection is really an interesting game.
  13. Jun 3, 2016
    70
    If your looking for a game that you can sink plenty of hours into, that looks better than ever and satisfying gameplay, then its worth checking out. That being said if you weren’t a fan of the gameplay the first time around nothing has changed on that side of things.
  14. Jun 1, 2016
    70
    With around 35 hours of gameplay packed in and a fun little retro beat 'em up to complement it all, though, it's the best way to play if you missed these zombie-smashers.
  15. May 31, 2016
    70
    Dead Island Definitive Edition is a great example of how a previous gen title can be improved on current-gen. Techland has done more than required in porting the games over to PS4 and Xbox One, resulting in a package that is tremendous fun and technically up to par. That's a sentence I never thought I'd be saying.
  16. 70
    Dead Island: Definitive Collection may not be enough of a reason for those who have already experienced the original and Riptide to warrant making the return trip, but for everyone else this is the best way to experience these games. The improved visuals and lack of bugs makes getting through the main courses less of a chore, and Retro Revenge is a fun little side dish.
  17. 70
    Dead Island: Definitive Collection presents a lot of fun, albeit dated and repetitive gameplay for an affordable price. As a remaster, it's not perfect, but that's almost part of these games' charm.
  18. Jun 2, 2016
    65
    Dead Island: Definitive Collection is a symbol of the franchise’s great ideas, hampered by what is merely an okay execution.
  19. Jun 1, 2016
    65
    So, once again, what Techland offers is Dead Island, Dead Island Riptide, and Retro Revenge in one package for 40 bucks. That still a pretty good offer. But just so you know, for 20 dollars more you can get Dying Light: The Following - Enhanced Edition, which is just a better game.
  20. Jun 3, 2016
    60
    This collection offers 3 nice games, but the remaster is visually and technically lazy.
  21. Jun 2, 2016
    60
    Dead Island: Definitive Collection is by no means perfect, but it still succeeds in providing you with a substantial slice of flawed but generally fine zombie slaying action. Despite offering a graphical upgrade, though, there may not be much here to lure in those who have played these titles before – especially seeing as no real changes have been made to the core gameplay, and because newcomer Retro Revenge disappoints.
  22. 60
    The one thing not lacking in this Definitive Edition of Dead Island is the content. Unfortunately, it's the same as some years ago, and if you already played it, there's no real reason to do so again.
  23. 60
    For those of us that have played Dead Island before, there’s not much in the Definitive Collection to drag us back. Lack of adding previously missing features like split screen and the inability to import last gen character saves make playing Dead Island again feel more like a chore than an enjoyable experience.
  24. May 31, 2016
    60
    Slapping a fresh coat of paint on a bent bumper doesn’t change the fact that it still needs to be fixed. While I appreciate the upgraded graphics, it’s nothing players can’t get from the PC version of the game, which is probably a better platform to play it on, especially due to the availability of modded content.
  25. 60
    A reasonably-priced pair of remasters that actually do improve upon the original games, plus you get a surprisingly decent bonus title in the mix too. Sadly, while technical hiccups are stifled in the main games, many of the mechanical flaws remain, with the passage of time not helping matters. This means Dead Island is better than it's ever been, but a lot harder to enjoy than it once was.
  26. May 31, 2016
    59
    Dead Island Definitive Collection is the best way to get these two flawed experiences, ones that are enjoyable despite some poor design choices. There’s still nothing quite like Dead Island’s analog combat, but the game’s poor structure can’t be saved with a graphical facelift.
  27. May 31, 2016
    52
    A case of projection clashing against reality, almost a meta-level statement on Dead Island's inability to step up and perform on key. Unfortunately the only rendition that sticks is one of deteriorating enthusiasm. 2011 was charitable to Dead Island. 2016 almost holds it in contempt.
  28. Jun 2, 2016
    50
    If you were a fan of the original Dead Island games despite their shortcomings, they're worth a revisit. I never was able to play with the fifth character in either DI or Riptide so that's where my focus has been. Purchasing the physical collection gives you Retro Revenge, which makes this a decent value.
  29. Jun 1, 2016
    50
    It’s inspired, but turgid. Brilliant, but flawed. Fun, but infuriating. If you’ve never played it before, the Definitive Edition may just provide you with enough of a laugh to be worth picking up.
  30. May 31, 2016
    50
    As good a remaster as Dead Island fans could hope for, since nothing but a complete remake could solve the game’s deep-rooted gameplay and structural issues.
  31. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Aug 24, 2016
    40
    Do the right thing and get spiritual sequel Dying Light, plus all its DLC, instead. [September 2016, p75]
  32. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jul 17, 2016
    40
    A festering corpse given an unnecessary kiss of life. [Aug 2016, p.93]
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 94
  2. Negative: 21 out of 94
  1. Jun 2, 2016
    8
    What can I say its good to be back on the island even though old problems are gone and new ones have popped up its still enjoyable as it wasWhat can I say its good to be back on the island even though old problems are gone and new ones have popped up its still enjoyable as it was back in 2011 so let get on the cruise and head to Banoi shall we?

    Story: NO SPOILERS the story for both Dead island and Riptide where never that big of a deal or that complicated you wake up with the worst hangover and suddenly the whole island is overrun by the undead and you have to find a way off. The story wasn't the main focus on the games and you'll see it when you play but there are a few heart pullers in their just not as much as I would have hoped for. Most of the quests are fetch quests and protect quest but for me its still very fun.

    Gameplay: Best part of the game by far. You have 4 characters to play as each with their own special skill trees adding an RPG element to each character the only problem with the 4 character is that 1 character is specialized in Guns and in the game guns are very rare and hard to come by and so a character specializing in Guns really wasn't the best choice in my opinion. There are lots of weapons on the island which you can use from rusty pipes to katanas and with blueprints that you acquire over time you can upgrade them to do special damage such as a flame mod which adds fire damage to a baseball bat and so on and so forth. The gameplay is what you'll be coming back for because its so much fun just to bash all the skulls in.

    Performance/Graphics: Both games run at 1080p 30fps and its very stable I know alot of people would have preferred that it be 60 fps but honestly I can play games that are both 30 and 60 the only thing i care about is if its stable and it is so im happy with it. Now on to the bad stuff the game still has glitches and bugs and i hope in the future they will patch them out. The most annoying of these issues is the audio problems in Co-op the audio shorts out to where you can only hear music and no sound affects also the cars you drive are now lacking tire screeching noise like they did in the original so the driving sounds really weird. When you kill a zombie they have no facial expression this might be a personal thing but I just find it weird and also every time you behead a zombie the zombies head will go bald even if they had hair prior to the beheading. A couple of beachballs are scattered around the resort but for some reason have been nailed to ground even though in the original you could kick them and could cause damage to the undead. I just hope in time they patch these out, none of these are game breaking but they are just annoying at least to me they are. The graphics are more beautiful and realistic then ever before and you'll see it as soon as you hop into the game though what they did to the water is up for debate.

    The beginning of a Legend:Now alot of people compare this to dying light and rightfully so they were all made by the same developer and Dead island and riptide were both their first major releases, But too often people say that dead island suck and to just get Dying light instead well im here to say that Dead island does not suck at all and is a very god game, Dead island came out in 2011 and riptide 2 years later, they took what they learned from dead island and made dying light which is an awesome game but dead island doesn't deserve all the hate is gets because without dead island dying light would have never happened. There are a few things I enjoy more in dead island that I did in dying light but both offer something unique and I love them both.

    Personal Thoughts/Verdict: Even though the game still suffers from bugs its still good to go back to the roots of a legendary game that made headlines and ive enjoyed my time back on the blood soaked island my final verdict is a 8 out of 10 hopefully they patch out the remaining bugs but until then ill have fun just like i did many years ago in 2011. I hope my review was helpful to you have a nice day
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 1, 2016
    0
    A download code for Riptide - really? My internet connection is pathetic so downloading this game is not an option for me so I paid for oneA download code for Riptide - really? My internet connection is pathetic so downloading this game is not an option for me so I paid for one game technically speaking. Not impressed deep silver because you should have included 2 discs instead of one if space was an issue. Lame lame lame. Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. i really like this game , i dont have play dead island on ps3 but i can say , this is a very fun game , the graphics are really great the gameplay is extremely soft . it is a big game , you can spend a lot of hours since you can do endless upgrades on your skills and on your equipment . it is really look like like dying light but for me this is better because it has not so many conversations , it is more about killing and action . i dont believe this game deserve just a 6 and is really sad for me to realise that people dont give a **** about any game , people just go with the famous brands like call of duty or battlefield or any game created by a well known developer and honestly this games goes worst and worst especially call of duty and trust me they sell millions , black ops 3 was the worst on reviews and the best seller game of 2015 at the same time , i mean this is ridiculous. it is a shame for real.. i give just an 8 because i expect a 10 for the dead island 2 which is coming soon . Full Review »