Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71
Buy On
  1. Mar 11, 2019
    74
    Dead or Alive 6 serves up great fighting mechanics, solid offline mode variety, and looks good while doing it. If you're a fan of the series, it's well worth checking out, even as this latest entry stumbles in the online arenas and the disappointing approach to customization.
  2. Mar 2, 2019
    74
    I really want to like this game more. NiCO's a fun new character to add to the mix, and the DOA Quest mode is a lot of fun. But the middling story, and ridiculous costume grind kind of shows how little new content there is to this game. Maybe down the line it'll be a fully fleshed out experience, but at least it's off to a better start than Street Fighter 5.
  3. Mar 6, 2019
    72
    There’s a lot of things about the series, and DoA6 specifically, that aren’t all that endearing to me, but underneath that noise there is an impressive fighting game with some deeper mechanics than it appears at first look.
  4. Mar 6, 2019
    71
    Even without casual matchmaking, Team Ninja delivered an incredibly entertaining tournament until the weight of progression started to sink in. I clocked in close to 15 hours and only unlocked 3 outfits. I got one that I might have wanted, but I really wish I had a choice. And, I only unlocked those few skins because I slogged through the one, hyper-linear mode that gives decent rewards. Everything else awards pennies by comparison. All but the most hardcore players are liable to burn out before the first DLC drops. In the end, Dead or Alive 6 ran a marathon and put a grind wall (some might call it a paywall) before the finish line.
  5. May 3, 2019
    70
    The combat system has been tweaked just enough to keep things fresh for Dead or Alive 6, but there is this niggling feeling that the budget just wasn't there for this game, which is unfortunate, because there are plenty of modes and great characters to enjoy. A few too many aspects stand out as sub-par, though, leading to disappointment for many that have been waiting so long for the next entry in this franchise. Still a whole lot of fun and worth at least trying the free-to-play version out if curious, but it may be best to wait for the likely Ultimate edition.
  6. Mar 20, 2019
    70
    DoA 6 offers fast and frantic fighting gameplay wrapped up in its signature sex appeal to deliver a solid entry in the series - but it lacks single-player and online content to match its contemporaries in the genre and truly shine.
  7. Mar 15, 2019
    70
    Dead or Alive 6 is a good addition to the fighting game scene, although it doesn't stand out from the crowd. The story is okay, but probably resonates better with longtime fans. The combat is fluid, action-packed, and plenty of fun regardless.
  8. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 14, 2019
    70
    An approachable fighter with plenty of depth for those wanting to sink their teeth in. It’s much more than a pretty face, but why does it keep insisting on flashing its pants at us? [Issue#160, p.86]
  9. Mar 6, 2019
    70
    Dead or Alive 6 offers the same fun the previous installments did. There is not a huge leap forward in graphics, but in terms of gameplay there are some fun new elements. Unfortunately the game lacks diversity in multiplayer modes.
  10. Mar 5, 2019
    70
    Although Dead or Alive 6 has nothing new to offer, it's still a very solid and fun fighting game that fully satisfies the hardcore fighting fans.
  11. Mar 4, 2019
    70
    Dead or Alive 6 successfully transitions the franchise into the year 2019, by challenging its energy into solid fighting mechanics that are easy to pick-up but difficult to master. Even with its toned-down approach to its female characters, the game is sure to please die-hard fans and may even be good enough to entice some new blood to enter the ring.
  12. Mar 4, 2019
    70
    Dead or Alive 6 is a solid new chapter in Team Ninja’s long-running fighting game series that has rarely been satisfied with just being “solid.” All of the groundwork that needed to be built here was built, but upon it was placed a mostly by-the-numbers experience that is too often just as frustrating as it is fun. While a reworking of the game could leave it in a much better place in the future (and on newer consoles), for now it’s a good release for people wanting more Dead or Alive as long as they don’t mind its value is limited.
  13. Mar 4, 2019
    70
    The beautiful visuals, fun battle arenas, and easy-to-grasp fighting gameplay of Dead or Alive 6 make for a brawler that packs a punch.
  14. 70
    Ultimately, I’m not sure if Dead or Alive 6 is the game that fans expected after a seven-year wait, but with its thrilling combat and amazing visuals, it still serves up a fulfilling experience — fanservice and all.
  15. Mar 1, 2019
    70
    Dead or Alive 6 retains the stellar action the series is known for, but it doesn’t do enough to warrant an immediate upgrade from previous entries. With only a handful of new fighters at launch, more casual fans might want to wait a bit.
  16. Mar 1, 2019
    70
    As ever, Dead or Alive 6 is a polished 3D fighter that will likely still struggle for acceptance on the ‘serious’ fighting circuit thanks to the excesses of its character’s costumes.
  17. Mar 1, 2019
    70
    Dead or Alive 6 is a fun experience, but lose any comparison with the previous chapters of the series. The gameplay suffers from the inclusion of new mechanics, and the offer doesn’t shine for a technical sector that's far from modern standards.
  18. Mar 1, 2019
    70
    A robust combat system, plentiful characters and a meaningful progression system combine to create a worthwhile fighter that I’d recommend checking out. It certainly isn’t the finest the genre has to offer, but it does more than enough to stand out.
  19. Mar 19, 2019
    68
    Small additions to gameplay still manage to keep Dead or Alive 6 as a solid alternative in the fighting genre. However, much of its appeal has vanished in order to fit a gargantuan season pass that betrays its collecting soul.
  20. Mar 1, 2019
    68
    Dead or Alive 6 sports a robust fighting system, but the framework around it doesn’t capitalize on that. While the tutorial and DOA Quest mode do a decent job of getting you up to speed on what makes combat tick, the awful story mode does it no favors, and the barebones online puts a damper on what could have been a second wind for the series.
  21. Mar 11, 2019
    65
    It's not the fights, cause the new Break system makes Dead or Alive 6 a nice deep fighting game which you can enjoy for tens of hours. However, the hypersexualization of the female fighters, limited online possibilities and weak offline multiplayer make this a disappointing game.
  22. Mar 1, 2019
    65
    Dead or Alive 6, with its good character roster and some nice ideas, unfortunatly fails to bring what we expect from a 2019 versus fighting game: namely, it's technicaly outdated, the TAG battle is absent from the game and it has a disappointing story mode.
  23. Mar 2, 2019
    63
    DOA 6 is a capable fighting game that will probably entertain hardcore fans of the series. However, it's hard to imagine it adding to its fanbase as it offers nothing that broadens horizons, and fails to provide the sort of depth expected. DOA 6 can be fun in spurts but doesn't have the staying power of some of the elite fighting titles.
  24. Mar 11, 2019
    60
    Dead or Alive 6 has a lot going for it – solid combat mechanics and an incredible tutorial mode being the elements that stands out the most – but overall it feels a little too bland and lacking in content to stand out in the sea of great fighting games of yesteryear.
  25. Mar 4, 2019
    60
    Dead or Alive 6’s buried and yet still aggressive fanservice will no doubt alienate potential newcomers and at the same time, its lack of content will frustrate returning players.
  26. 60
    Dead or Alive 6 maintains the same excellent fighting engine and graphical fluidity of past entries, but it's bogged down by a litany of problems. From the tedious grinding to unlock costumes to the bare-bones online play, it's a disappointing debut on current-gen consoles.
  27. Mar 4, 2019
    60
    Dead or Alive 6 is certainly a looker; make no mistake about that. It’s even really fun to play at times, and anyone from season veterans to button-mashers can get in on the action with no problem at all. But everything else about the game makes it difficult to recommend unless a free-to-play version launches down the line.
  28. Mar 4, 2019
    60
    Dead or Alive 6 is an okay fighting game, but it is too limited to really impress us. Hopefully Team Ninja has some updates up their sleeve.
  29. 60
    A sequel that seems somewhat embarrassed of the series’ sexist past and shallow combat but fails to do anything meaningful about either.
  30. Mar 1, 2019
    60
    Dead or Alive 6 carries much of the franchise's risque DNA, but shows a bit more initial restraint. The more revealing costumes are unlockable and the jiggle physics tend towards a bit more realism now. Combat remains accessible, but new moves like the Break Blow and evasion add new layers for DOA vets. Dead or Alive 6 could use a little more graphical polish and its netcode needs to be better, but it's a pretty good fighter all around.
  31. Mar 1, 2019
    60
    Dead or Alive 6 finds itself in this slightly awkward middle space where it's certainly a sequel, but it's not nearly the jump that we were expecting -- especially since it's been almost seven years since Dead or Alive 5. The new additions to combat are welcome but they're not exactly exciting, and the overall package is reasonably robust, but let down by tedious grinds and a terrible story mode. As a fighter, Dead or Alive is still fun, punchy, and accessible, but as an upgrade on the already solid Dead or Alive 5: Last Round, it feels underwhelming, and even a little rushed.
  32. Mar 1, 2019
    60
    It's deja vu all over again.
  33. Edge Magazine
    Mar 28, 2019
    50
    What used to be a decent fighting game with comical breast physics is now a pervier DOA Xtreme with punches instead of presents. Honestly, we're getting a bit old for it, and so is the industry around it. [Issue#331, p.116]
  34. Mar 27, 2019
    50
    Under all the questionable choices, cut content and overall lack of value, Dead or Alive 6 is still a decent fighter. That said, many of the problems are hard to look past, and it feels like a bare-bones effort given the amount of recycled content on display. With an inferior roster, dull stage design and the hard reset on purchased content from anyone who was crazy enough to buy into the exorbitant amounts of DLC released during DOA 5‘s lifespan, it’s hard to recommend Dead or Alive 6 as it currently stands.
  35. Mar 6, 2019
    50
    Throughout, you may be gripped by the feeling that you’ve seen all that there is to see in the fighting game genre.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 1, 2019
    Dead or Alive 6 stumbles into 2019 like a drunken uncle staggers onto the dancefloor at a wedding: past it and likely to embarrass.
  2. Mar 1, 2019
    It strips away the tawdry trappings of past installments, leaving a fabulous fighting game with compelling characters worth caring about.
  3. Mar 2, 2019
    Dead or Alive 6 is an immensely fun package. Fights are thrilling, regardless of skill level, and the cast of characters is varied and fun to experiment with. But the game is dragged down by the series’ tired adherence to a sexed-up cast and bouncing body parts, as well as the business of selling provocative costumes.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 14, 2019
    0
    This is going to be a fair review based on the launch release of a deluxe pre-order I made on this game. Way too many reviews anywhere areThis is going to be a fair review based on the launch release of a deluxe pre-order I made on this game. Way too many reviews anywhere are being too generous for what's going on here.

    I like DOA, quite a bit actually, and with DOA5LR, I had my many issues with the game overall, but I still had a lot of fun. So it's nice to be able to see some of the problems I had before get addressed here in DOA6. I will give a list summary here of my core problems in DOA5LR that I think did well here in DOA6:

    1.) Music - This might annoy some people but even with the addition of previous title's tracks put into the game for DOA5LR I still didn't enjoy the soundtrack much. It felt underwhelming and incomplete to me and while people may not like the soundtrack for DOA6, the music I've heard so far I really do like.

    2.) Stages - I didn't like most of the stages in DOA5LR, they felt very lifeless and stale to me. Almost like there was no flare to them. DOA6 i've enjoyed the stages a lot so far, so definitely an improvement there.

    3.) Combat - DOA5LR had a great system, but I always felt it needed a change, or some tweaking. DOA6 is really fun and the strongest part of the game for me. A few little things I'm not a big fan of, but so far it's hitting a mark that I and lots of others like.

    4.) Visuals - Hear me out. Visually it's less impressive than DOA5LR, but overall I like them better here. I'm not adamant about games looking super realistic. I like games to look like games after all. Plus it feels like the characters have their own base design models instead of being copies and pastes like in DOA5LR.

    5.) Story - Cool concept, just badly thrown together here in DOA6. It, at the very least, is still better than DOA5LR, but it's still bad regardless.

    6.) Customization - An obvious improvement, while overshadowed by several other fighting game titles, is still a nice addition for this franchise.

    And now comes my major problems with the game. First of all, it's an unfinished game. No online lobby matches, single victory/match start poses, a very watered down and stale DOA Quest mode, high priced season passes as usual, etc.

    For a game that's $60, this isn't worth it. It's actually infuriating that this game costs $60 for an incomplete game that has plans to include the "remaining parts of the game" the coming MONTHS. I said months. This is absurd, and I could forgive most of it a bit more if lobby matches were a part of the launch game and unlocking costumes through costume parts weren't completely random. The fact that this game was hyped up to have all these different "modes" that have existed since the 90s (arcade, time attack, vs, survival, tutorial, and so on), I shouldn't have expected much out of what we got here. I love DOA, I want to see it get better.

    But how it stands, this game is not good. Shady practices of giving your paying customers an essential beta/demo for a full priced AAA title, a very mediocre new Quest mode, giving fans the same costumes as the previous game, making said costumes stupidly hard to unlock because you can't even get points towards the character you're using, offering previous characters as paid DLC, a bad story that looks rushed, rank only online currently (lol, this is the biggest joke here), odd character animations for some of the characters, plenty of bugs (some are ludicrous), a ridiculously overpriced season pass, and just the overall lack of actual content this game has.

    I am not okay with how greedy the creators of this game are being. If I could I would rate below a 0 for how much garbage that is, but as a game itself it's still pretty good in its own right. The absolute best part is the combat, where it matters most, but I can't forgive all the missing stuff and charging fans the amount that they have for an unfinished game. Very very bad move there.

    **EDIT**

    So not only are we not getting lobbies yet, but now we're getting a temporary point multiplier after it was confirmed by the company themselves prior that it was permanent. Sooo, they lied there, and now they're waiting to add lobbies until the END of March, AFTER they release an adjustment to where points are assigned for costumes, while adding costumes to buy. Give me a break, I'm changing my score to a flat zero now. Pushing back their mediocre patch, giving us crap that should've been given already, still holding off on content to COMPLETE the game further down the road. No, you can take a fat zero.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2019
    0
    Well, they cut off Ryu’s balls and killed the Ninja Gaiden series. I guess it only makes sense to hack off Kasumi’s money makers and throw theWell, they cut off Ryu’s balls and killed the Ninja Gaiden series. I guess it only makes sense to hack off Kasumi’s money makers and throw the DOA series in the same grave.

    Once again the Team at Koei Tecmo (the real Team Ninja died back in 2008) shows a fundamental lack of understanding of what makes their games work and what content their fans expect from them. Dead or Alive has always been a bubbly and ridiculous 3d fighter, never taking itself too seriously. Dead or Alive 5 Vanilla tried to take the serious “I’m a fighter” stance and it quickly fell flat. Thankfully the Ultimate and Last Round editions brought back the outrages costumes and over the top stages.

    But here we are with DOA 6… and it kinda feels like I jumped back in time and I’m back with the basic and boring DOA 5. Other than bringing Street Fighter 4’s focus meter into the DOA Series, there is precious little, new and exciting content in the game. The only thing more boring than the two new characters is the selection of costumes to unlock… most of them being color swaps!

    I’ll admit I’m an older Team Ninja fan and the DOA5s were my least favorite in the series… it does not change the fact that I bought all three games and a bunch of DLC. Looking at DOA6 I can’t help but wonder… what am I paying for? Where are the new characters? I already paid to use Phase 4, Tengu, and Mai, why are they behind a paywall… AGAIN! Where are all the cool costumes? Why not design costumes that match better with the stages? Fighting on a Spanish Galleon? Give me a bloody pirate outfit!

    End of the day whether you a fan of the classic games or the 5s, it’s hard to recommend this game to anyone, there is simply not enough new content for the asking price.

    One last Note: Can you Imagine the outrage if Ryu from Street Fighter series was in a wetsuit on the Box for SF 5? Kasumi’s classic blue outfit is CLASSIC and I don’t see why Koei Tecmo is embarrassed by their characters and their fans… shame on them.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2019
    10
    I love boobs. The boobs are over 9000. But the gameplay is not much different from the previous entry. And the DLC price!! God save our lust.