Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71
Buy On
  1. 100
    Dead or Alive 6 is amazing. It’s the best looking fighting game out there, bar none, and has a combat system that is both instantly accessible for newcomers, without feeling condescending, and yet also offering plenty of depth and complexity for experienced fans. It’s not perfect; the story mode is enjoyable but slightly undercooked, and one suspects that we’ll have to wait until pretty deep into the DLC strategy for the real over-the-top humour that the series is most famous for to start to really shine through. But then, those criticisms also applied to Dead or Alive 5, and that was a game that I played on an almost weekly basis for six years. I can’t see Dead or Alive 6 being any different.
  2. Mar 1, 2019
    90
    Ultimately, the game goes much beyond the alluring eye candy that may appear to be its biggest selling point to a casual observer. While it doesn't neglect the fanservice, it's a rock solid fighting game with complex and nuanced mechanics that will likely satisfy even the most demanding genre enthusiasts.
  3. Mar 1, 2019
    85
    The wonderfully crisp fights are still the greatest strength of the series and play more smoothly than ever in Dead or Alive 6.
  4. 85
    Dead or Alive 6 is the first great fighter of the year. It proves that once you strip the "fan service" away, you see how deep and masterful the core combat can truly be.
  5. Mar 1, 2019
    85
    Dead or Alive 6 represents a solid fighting game and one of the most complete on the market, with a deep combat system, a perfect training mode and plenty of challenges.
  6. Mar 1, 2019
    85
    While it does have some issues, the core gameplay of Dead or Alive 6 is fluid and brilliantly fun. It’s certainly the best in the series so far.
  7. 84
    Dead or Alive 6 is probably the best chapter in the series thanks to its good gameplay mechanics, both polished and perfected for the newcomers.
  8. Mar 1, 2019
    84
    Dead or Alive 6 isn’t revolutionary, and we miss some bigger changes in the roster, but we’ve had a great time with it and we think fans of the series will too.
  9. Mar 13, 2019
    83
    Dead or Alive 6 continues the trend of being a fun title that has a low barrier of entry, but offers those who wish to go deeper a lot of tools to accomplish that. The title remains one of the more visually appealing fighting games out there in the market. Team Ninja has created the framework for a tournament ready title, It’s tough to have to appeal to a mass market, the fighting game community AND the community that stuck with them for all these years. They just need to avoid unnecessary controversies, maybe pump the breaks sheer amount of paid cosmetic DLC.
  10. Mar 1, 2019
    81
    Dead or Alive 6 improves on the franchise's core fighting system while retaining its tight action-packed gameplay. Although it could definitely use more content, what's here makes for a more than promising start.
  11. Mar 9, 2019
    80
    "Bouncy physics" aside, Dead or Alive 6 is first and foremost a great game, with an absolutely fantastic fighting system and superb graphics. It falls a bit short when it comes to its online modes, but this is balanced out by the wealth of the offline content.
  12. Mar 7, 2019
    80
    A great fighter which is newbie friendly because of the DOA Quest addition. This mode provides one of the best tutorials we have ever seen in a brawler. DOA 6's action, audiovisual qualities and the overall execution are other standout features. The main complaint we have is DLC related. A playable character in story mode needs to be purchased so that you can use this character in other modes, which is crazy. The story is incoherent too but that is to be expected from a DOA game. Overall, a fine new addition to the franchise.
  13. Mar 6, 2019
    80
    Dead or Alive 6 is a mechanically solid and foundationally sound fighting game. At its core, playing matches with others is a fun and thrilling experience that’s easy to grasp if you’re new to fighters or the series. Its lack of modes, however, coupled with its small roster, and a recently revealed $92 season pass raise a lot of questions as to what ideals drove the game’s development. For those looking for a well-designed core fighter, Dead or Alive 6 is definitely a great buy, whether you’re #Teamjiggle or #Teamnojiggle.
  14. Mar 5, 2019
    80
    Dead or Alive 6 improves everything in terms of gameplay. Better stun system, great S action button and fast-paced combat nearer to DOA 2 than its predecessor.
  15. Mar 4, 2019
    80
    A satisfying 3D fighting game plenty of characters, options and game modes to choose from. Great control and neat graphics. The addition of the Break Gauge is a nice new feature.
  16. Mar 4, 2019
    80
    Those who have enjoyed Dead or Alive games in the past will love Dead or Alive 6 – it looks and feels like it always did, but with state-of-the-art graphics and engine technology. Unfortunately, the fact that it has also preserved the tone of its predecessors will limit its appeal.
  17. Mar 2, 2019
    80
    Dead or Alive 6 is not a revolutionary entry for the series, but stands as one of the best entries of the series. Its gameplay mechanics and corrections implemented make it an enjoyable game and one with an awesome approach for beginners. Also the few new ideas added to the formula are well-received and provide a degree of freshness to this well-known experience.
  18. Mar 1, 2019
    80
    Dead or Alive 6 has complex, satisfying combat and enough variety to keep players of all skill levels happy. It has great graphics, it's stylish, and it's packed with bonuses. It's also full of what still feels like unintentional humor, which somehow makes the experience more of a spectacle. Sadly, the unimpressive online infrastructure and convoluted character customization serve as two big blots that mar the overall experience.
  19. Mar 1, 2019
    80
    Dead or Alive 6 has its place in the today’s gaming. It’s a fast, flashy and content-rich fighting game. I’m happy that Dead or Alive is back and is relevant again, and it’s always a pleasure to play as the game’s pretty cast. I also love NiCO, she’s such a bad-ass intellectual and the best new character in fighting games in ages (she wins over Tekken 7’s Lucky Chloe for being smart instead of a fluffy teen idol).
  20. Mar 1, 2019
    80
    Dead or Alive 6 is the most enjoyable and accessible title in the fighting series yet, though its story and online modes leave a bit to be desired.
  21. Mar 1, 2019
    80
    Dead or Alive 6 has a great fighting system and a bunch of small extras that enhance the experience. Is it better than Dead or Alive 5? That's harder to determine. As it stands this is an awesome fighting game, but the character roster feels a bit light and the story is predictably rubbish. At least the games I played in the Online Ranked mode were incredibly solid, which is sure to please fighting game fans.
  22. Mar 1, 2019
    80
    Despite still struggling to tell a captivating story, Dead or Alive 6 is an improvement in nearly every area from its predecessor. Not only has it become more beginner friendly due to a great tutorial and the Fatal Rush mechanic, but players have more reasons to hone their skills offline due to the DOA Quest mode.
  23. Mar 1, 2019
    80
    Dead or Alive 6 doesn’t make any drastic deviations from the previous titles, but adds just enough new features to feel fresh and exciting. The changes that were implemented in the training mode help make what is traditionally one of the most boring game modes enjoyable and helps a lot with mastering the fighting mechanics.
  24. Mar 1, 2019
    80
    Dead Or Alive 6 is still a very good fighting game which allows instant fun, even for a novice player, but you'll need serious skills to defeat a seasoned player. We only regret long, loading times and a weird storyline.
  25. Mar 1, 2019
    80
    Dead or Alive 6 is a very good fighting game, with a lot of game modes, but you must be aware that you'll have to pay more to make the game more complete with costumes and fighters.
  26. Mar 31, 2019
    79
    Dead or Alive 6 looks even better than its already stunning predecessor, and it succeeds in being more accessible for newcomers while keeping the fundamentals that fans have come to love intact. The tutorial and story modes do their job, but an online mode that only has ranked matches ultimately renders it unwelcoming to many players.
  27. Mar 1, 2019
    78
    With great 3D fighters like Tekken 7 and SoulCalibur VI on the market, my personal assessment is that DOA6 is a fine fighter to try, but for now will only amount to a flavor of the week.
  28. Mar 2, 2019
    77
    Dead or Alive 6 makes a strong case for the franchise’s fundamental combat by making it easier to understand what sets it apart from other fighters, other than its infamous “jiggle physics.” The story campaign is disjointed but it and the other training modes serve as effective instruction for getting new players up to speed for online combat quickly, and the new Break Hold and Break Blow moves give you a way out even when you seem locked into an endless juggle of doom. It really needs to work on its online multiplayer options, though, since they’re currently skimpier than La Mariposa’s outfit.
  29. Mar 1, 2019
    77
    Team NINJA demonstrates once again that they're one of the best studios out there at creating fast paced, rock-solid and extremely satisfying combat systems. Dead or Alive 6 is also the best entry for newcomers, but lacks some content and evolution.
  30. Mar 31, 2019
    76
    Fast paced, addictive and funny as always, but it doesn’t seem the best episode in the Dead or Alive series, so far.
  31. Mar 8, 2019
    75
    DOA brings justice to a fighting game series that has stood the test of time, bringing a perfect mix of fun combat, the same interesting characters we all know and love, and clothes not suited for colder seasons. The graphics are good, the combat mechanics are polished and revitalized with the introduction of the Break-Holds and Break Blows, and the outfits are plenty and more customizable than ever. In fewer words, DOA 6 is the "DOA-est" entry in the franchise so far, and the new tutorial system is perfect for introducing new generations of players to the game.
  32. Mar 6, 2019
    75
    Dead or Alive 6 is a solid and fun fighting game, but it doesn't really offer something new. Content doesn't match some other games in the genre too, which offer more value.
  33. 75
    Enhanced approachability and single player modes help build upon a stable of already solid content. If only Team Ninja could get past the sophomoric need to toe the line of decency and tacky content, it could really evolve the series into a mainstay on the competitive scene. The game makes baby steps in the right direction, but still has plenty of growing up to do before it can live up to its full, ass-kicking potential.
  34. Mar 1, 2019
    75
    Dead or Alive 6 maintains its status as a solid and surprisingly deep fighting game that gets hidden underneath the readily apparent fan service. The tweaks to the fighting system only improve the accessibility while not hurting the more advanced players. The 24-character roster is refreshed, but the customization feels more limited. The same can be said for the levels and graphics, which are fine but lack any signs of ambition.
  35. Mar 1, 2019
    75
    Dead or Alive 6 delivers a nice, traditional single player experience, but the online multiplayer mode lacks important options and suffers from frequent lag spikes.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 1, 2019
    Dead or Alive 6 stumbles into 2019 like a drunken uncle staggers onto the dancefloor at a wedding: past it and likely to embarrass.
  2. Mar 1, 2019
    It strips away the tawdry trappings of past installments, leaving a fabulous fighting game with compelling characters worth caring about.
  3. Mar 2, 2019
    Dead or Alive 6 is an immensely fun package. Fights are thrilling, regardless of skill level, and the cast of characters is varied and fun to experiment with. But the game is dragged down by the series’ tired adherence to a sexed-up cast and bouncing body parts, as well as the business of selling provocative costumes.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 14, 2019
    0
    This is going to be a fair review based on the launch release of a deluxe pre-order I made on this game. Way too many reviews anywhere areThis is going to be a fair review based on the launch release of a deluxe pre-order I made on this game. Way too many reviews anywhere are being too generous for what's going on here.

    I like DOA, quite a bit actually, and with DOA5LR, I had my many issues with the game overall, but I still had a lot of fun. So it's nice to be able to see some of the problems I had before get addressed here in DOA6. I will give a list summary here of my core problems in DOA5LR that I think did well here in DOA6:

    1.) Music - This might annoy some people but even with the addition of previous title's tracks put into the game for DOA5LR I still didn't enjoy the soundtrack much. It felt underwhelming and incomplete to me and while people may not like the soundtrack for DOA6, the music I've heard so far I really do like.

    2.) Stages - I didn't like most of the stages in DOA5LR, they felt very lifeless and stale to me. Almost like there was no flare to them. DOA6 i've enjoyed the stages a lot so far, so definitely an improvement there.

    3.) Combat - DOA5LR had a great system, but I always felt it needed a change, or some tweaking. DOA6 is really fun and the strongest part of the game for me. A few little things I'm not a big fan of, but so far it's hitting a mark that I and lots of others like.

    4.) Visuals - Hear me out. Visually it's less impressive than DOA5LR, but overall I like them better here. I'm not adamant about games looking super realistic. I like games to look like games after all. Plus it feels like the characters have their own base design models instead of being copies and pastes like in DOA5LR.

    5.) Story - Cool concept, just badly thrown together here in DOA6. It, at the very least, is still better than DOA5LR, but it's still bad regardless.

    6.) Customization - An obvious improvement, while overshadowed by several other fighting game titles, is still a nice addition for this franchise.

    And now comes my major problems with the game. First of all, it's an unfinished game. No online lobby matches, single victory/match start poses, a very watered down and stale DOA Quest mode, high priced season passes as usual, etc.

    For a game that's $60, this isn't worth it. It's actually infuriating that this game costs $60 for an incomplete game that has plans to include the "remaining parts of the game" the coming MONTHS. I said months. This is absurd, and I could forgive most of it a bit more if lobby matches were a part of the launch game and unlocking costumes through costume parts weren't completely random. The fact that this game was hyped up to have all these different "modes" that have existed since the 90s (arcade, time attack, vs, survival, tutorial, and so on), I shouldn't have expected much out of what we got here. I love DOA, I want to see it get better.

    But how it stands, this game is not good. Shady practices of giving your paying customers an essential beta/demo for a full priced AAA title, a very mediocre new Quest mode, giving fans the same costumes as the previous game, making said costumes stupidly hard to unlock because you can't even get points towards the character you're using, offering previous characters as paid DLC, a bad story that looks rushed, rank only online currently (lol, this is the biggest joke here), odd character animations for some of the characters, plenty of bugs (some are ludicrous), a ridiculously overpriced season pass, and just the overall lack of actual content this game has.

    I am not okay with how greedy the creators of this game are being. If I could I would rate below a 0 for how much garbage that is, but as a game itself it's still pretty good in its own right. The absolute best part is the combat, where it matters most, but I can't forgive all the missing stuff and charging fans the amount that they have for an unfinished game. Very very bad move there.

    **EDIT**

    So not only are we not getting lobbies yet, but now we're getting a temporary point multiplier after it was confirmed by the company themselves prior that it was permanent. Sooo, they lied there, and now they're waiting to add lobbies until the END of March, AFTER they release an adjustment to where points are assigned for costumes, while adding costumes to buy. Give me a break, I'm changing my score to a flat zero now. Pushing back their mediocre patch, giving us crap that should've been given already, still holding off on content to COMPLETE the game further down the road. No, you can take a fat zero.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2019
    0
    Well, they cut off Ryu’s balls and killed the Ninja Gaiden series. I guess it only makes sense to hack off Kasumi’s money makers and throw theWell, they cut off Ryu’s balls and killed the Ninja Gaiden series. I guess it only makes sense to hack off Kasumi’s money makers and throw the DOA series in the same grave.

    Once again the Team at Koei Tecmo (the real Team Ninja died back in 2008) shows a fundamental lack of understanding of what makes their games work and what content their fans expect from them. Dead or Alive has always been a bubbly and ridiculous 3d fighter, never taking itself too seriously. Dead or Alive 5 Vanilla tried to take the serious “I’m a fighter” stance and it quickly fell flat. Thankfully the Ultimate and Last Round editions brought back the outrages costumes and over the top stages.

    But here we are with DOA 6… and it kinda feels like I jumped back in time and I’m back with the basic and boring DOA 5. Other than bringing Street Fighter 4’s focus meter into the DOA Series, there is precious little, new and exciting content in the game. The only thing more boring than the two new characters is the selection of costumes to unlock… most of them being color swaps!

    I’ll admit I’m an older Team Ninja fan and the DOA5s were my least favorite in the series… it does not change the fact that I bought all three games and a bunch of DLC. Looking at DOA6 I can’t help but wonder… what am I paying for? Where are the new characters? I already paid to use Phase 4, Tengu, and Mai, why are they behind a paywall… AGAIN! Where are all the cool costumes? Why not design costumes that match better with the stages? Fighting on a Spanish Galleon? Give me a bloody pirate outfit!

    End of the day whether you a fan of the classic games or the 5s, it’s hard to recommend this game to anyone, there is simply not enough new content for the asking price.

    One last Note: Can you Imagine the outrage if Ryu from Street Fighter series was in a wetsuit on the Box for SF 5? Kasumi’s classic blue outfit is CLASSIC and I don’t see why Koei Tecmo is embarrassed by their characters and their fans… shame on them.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2019
    10
    I love boobs. The boobs are over 9000. But the gameplay is not much different from the previous entry. And the DLC price!! God save our lust.