User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10676 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2019
    5
    At first glance, Death Stranding is a beautiful vision. Sprawling landscapes, stylised design by the extremely talented Yoji Shinkawa and a stellar cast. Underneath the surface, what you’re treated to is hours and hours of monotonous walking, frustrating enemies known as BT’s which only serve as an extra factor to soak up some of your time like the productivity sponge that this is. KojimaAt first glance, Death Stranding is a beautiful vision. Sprawling landscapes, stylised design by the extremely talented Yoji Shinkawa and a stellar cast. Underneath the surface, what you’re treated to is hours and hours of monotonous walking, frustrating enemies known as BT’s which only serve as an extra factor to soak up some of your time like the productivity sponge that this is. Kojima was miles off the mark with the gameplay on this. It’s on par with his infamous MGS2 cinematically, but without the incredible storytelling that game sported. With games like the incredible BOTW and RDr2 showing everyone how grand expansive open world games should be done, how can a designer possibly go wrong? There are some positives. The social strand concept is very good. Having a group of people congratulating you on such a well placed ladder is a perverted take on the Instagram generation and as I’ve said before, it’s absolutely beautiful to look at. Please Mr. Kojima;
    Make films. Not games.
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If this is a game on the ground, 7 points. -2 points for polluting the definition of art. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2019
    5
    Death Stranding is a game about delivering packages and connecting america. the story is only told in Cutscenes with no direct interaction of the Player. There is no decision to make, no Dialog between the characters. It feels you are not part of it. Looking from the outside. I think the interesting part of the game is the multiplayer where you help each other with other players. If youDeath Stranding is a game about delivering packages and connecting america. the story is only told in Cutscenes with no direct interaction of the Player. There is no decision to make, no Dialog between the characters. It feels you are not part of it. Looking from the outside. I think the interesting part of the game is the multiplayer where you help each other with other players. If you like being challenged with difficult terrain, a lot of micromanaging stuff and confusing menu, go for it play the game. For me my precious time I can spend otherwise. There are interesting ideas throughout the game but I think the building up of excitement takes too much time. Its very repetitive. at least for me. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2019
    5
    O jogo é monótono e repetitivo ao extremo. Possui bons gráficos, mas não superam RD2 e GEARS5 nesta geração!
    O que me incomoda é mesmice dos cenários internos das bases. E fora da base é até bonito no primeiro momento, mas depois fica tedioso. Possui em alguns momentos falhas de textura e queda de frame. A parte positiva do jogo são as CGs e sonoridade em geral Faço está observação com
    O jogo é monótono e repetitivo ao extremo. Possui bons gráficos, mas não superam RD2 e GEARS5 nesta geração!
    O que me incomoda é mesmice dos cenários internos das bases. E fora da base é até bonito no primeiro momento, mas depois fica tedioso. Possui em alguns momentos falhas de textura e queda de frame. A parte positiva do jogo são as CGs e sonoridade em geral Faço está observação com base no PS4 Fat. Não sei como está no PS4 PRO.
    Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    Cool premise. Beautiful world. Bland gameplay. Terrible writing. Plenty of indie games do a better job interweaving gripping gameplay with meaningful stories, and they do it humbly, on shoestring budgets, in ways that respect your intelligence. ( Outer Wilds! )

    The biggest oversight of the game design becomes painfully obvious. A) weirdness mystery and intrigue and B) open world traversal
    Cool premise. Beautiful world. Bland gameplay. Terrible writing. Plenty of indie games do a better job interweaving gripping gameplay with meaningful stories, and they do it humbly, on shoestring budgets, in ways that respect your intelligence. ( Outer Wilds! )

    The biggest oversight of the game design becomes painfully obvious.
    A) weirdness mystery and intrigue and B) open world traversal - could support C) Exploration and discovery! These should have been the mechanics which tell the story! Players could have felt involved in uncovering the weird mystery and piecing together the lore of this admittedly fascinating world, but no. Do not play to explore and piece together the mystery of it. Do repetitive package delivery for hours, then watch as minor celebrities exposit a weird backstory you can't play.

    Just shut up while Kojima takes these discoveries which could have been your achievements and instead passively beats you over the head with intended meanings. Literally taking all the fun out of it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    The game simply lacks gameplay, engaging gameplay, substantive gameplay.
    The presentation of the game is very pretentious, which is a problem I had with the presentation of the story telling of the MGS games. The game does alot of things very well be it all meaningless if you are just watching and barely engaging only doing minimal task and actions.
    I feared this since the release date
    The game simply lacks gameplay, engaging gameplay, substantive gameplay.
    The presentation of the game is very pretentious, which is a problem I had with the presentation of the story telling of the MGS games. The game does alot of things very well be it all meaningless if you are just watching and barely engaging only doing minimal task and actions.

    I feared this since the release date trailer, I had a feeling the game was going to be overly cinematic while lacking gameplay. This is all Kojima fault.... he thinks way too highly of himself and wants to do these over cinematic pretentious games. He needs a reality check. MGS5 was not good and the only MGS game I did not bother to finish. BUT we put the put the blame on Konami cuz there was evidence of bad doing on their part, but people over looked the problem Konami had with Kojima: he was too ambitious, he wanted an bigger and bigger budget, and he was taking too long to develop the game.

    Everyone was supporting and giving Kojim,a all the benefit of the doubt with Death Stranding. Everyone was hype and willing to wait as long as it took, and he failed to deliver. Instead he delivered the cinematic Hollywood movie he always wanted to make. This was an ego project for Kojima. He did not think about the gamers at all when making this game.
    Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Just really feels like a movie instead of a game. It's a good movie tho, but I'm disappointed by the gameplay. Me and my bro switched playing every 10 mins because we got so bored.
  8. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Very very disappointed. Amazing graphics but...

    Boring Gameplay, Tedious Cut Scenes.

    Sooo slow...

    :/
  9. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Tiene una trama interesante pero tiene muchas cinematicas y eso para mi es una basura, ya que es un videojuego no una pelicula interactiva. Y la jugabilidad es muy sencilla, aparte de un mundo abierto muy vacio y tedioso, todo esto convirtiendolo muy aburrido y estrezante.
  10. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Big fan of his early work, Policenauts, Snatcher etc. but Hideo's new entry can't really interrest me. It's too slow, too repetitive and there's too many damn cutscenes. Visually the game looks stunning, and it's an interesting concept, but it doesn't work well.
  11. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    El juego de lo mas aburrido, podra tener gragicos buenos y una historia... decente y un poco interesante... pero a tal grado que valga la pena tragarse todo el gameplay?... NO!!
    Tedioso, muy repetitivo, solo se trata de entregar cosas de Punto A - Punto B, los enemigos al principio parecian interesantes, pero despues de horas de gameplay se vuelven aburridos y repetitivos.
    En resumen...
    El juego de lo mas aburrido, podra tener gragicos buenos y una historia... decente y un poco interesante... pero a tal grado que valga la pena tragarse todo el gameplay?... NO!!
    Tedioso, muy repetitivo, solo se trata de entregar cosas de Punto A - Punto B, los enemigos al principio parecian interesantes, pero despues de horas de gameplay se vuelven aburridos y repetitivos.
    En resumen... No recomendaria este jurgo, es mas.. si eres de los que aveces no tiene nada que hacer con su vida, esta aburrido y solo quiere estar haciendo el minimo esfuerzo mientras "juega" este es para ti, si buscas algo entretenido y/o divertido te recomiendo que mejor busques otras opciones.
    Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    I love Kojima for Metal Gear, but this game just shows that you can't let him do a game if the gameplay doesn't carry his weird ideas.
    The Story might be good and some will play to see it unfold, but everything in between is boring and tedious. You get new stuff to make the deliverys easier and better, but its not enough to make this walking simulator fun.
    The combat is also boring and
    I love Kojima for Metal Gear, but this game just shows that you can't let him do a game if the gameplay doesn't carry his weird ideas.
    The Story might be good and some will play to see it unfold, but everything in between is boring and tedious. You get new stuff to make the deliverys easier and better, but its not enough to make this walking simulator fun.
    The combat is also boring and really basic, the first boss you encounter is so easy that you can't even die to it when you stand still.
    Graphics look nice, but everything looks very sameish. The menuing in the game or just the fast travel are also very tedious.
    Overall i would say this game also shows perfectly the sad state of game journalism. Giving highscores even when the review didn't read perfect at all or they say that the walking is not fun and boring.
    I would say try it yourself if you really want to play the new Kojima game and are a fan of him, but overall the game has just the weakest gameplay of this generation.
    Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Un juego bastante aburrido nada que te emocione a la hora de jugarlo prefiero más el Metal Gear Solid
    de SNAKE
  14. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    It has very good graphics, even good cinematics, but if the gameplay is boring, they could have introduced more action moments, shots, to give more life to the game's theme, this weighs more than good graphics and it also seems to me that they are excessively Long cinematics.
  15. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    Una película con aires de juego...
    Kojima se preocupa tanto por la historia que no toma en cuenta la finalidad de un juego, entretener y presentar un reto..
    Mecánicas repetitivas, juego que no presenta ningún reto aún en difícil , mundo vacio Ir de un punto a otro quizá es la es entretenido para algunas personas pero no para mí. Cómo puntos positivos puedo decir que el juego está bien
    Una película con aires de juego...
    Kojima se preocupa tanto por la historia que no toma en cuenta la finalidad de un juego, entretener y presentar un reto..
    Mecánicas repetitivas, juego que no presenta ningún reto aún en difícil , mundo vacio
    Ir de un punto a otro quizá es la es entretenido para algunas personas pero no para mí.
    Cómo puntos positivos puedo decir que el juego está bien pulido y la banda sonora es destacable
    Expand
  16. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    Soy fan del trabajo de Kojima desde Metal Gear Solid de PSX. Su nombre estará irremediablemente unido al éxito de esta franquicia. Después de ver los primeros trailers esperaba un juego similar a su anterior trabajo pero con nuevas mecánicas apoyadas sobre el nuevo universo creado para el juego.

    Nada más lejos de la realidad, ya que la filosofía del juego se aleja totalmente de la
    Soy fan del trabajo de Kojima desde Metal Gear Solid de PSX. Su nombre estará irremediablemente unido al éxito de esta franquicia. Después de ver los primeros trailers esperaba un juego similar a su anterior trabajo pero con nuevas mecánicas apoyadas sobre el nuevo universo creado para el juego.

    Nada más lejos de la realidad, ya que la filosofía del juego se aleja totalmente de la acción y los momentos en que aparece son demasiado simples y repetitivos.

    La variedad de misiones brilla por su ausencia, y ese camino de introspección y unión con la comunidad no son suficientes para enganchar. El impacto gráfico se diluye a lo largo de las horas y la progresión como jugador se pierde, Sam obtiene mejoras que aumentan sus estadísticas pero no aportan nada al gameplay. Un mundo precioso, aunque desierto y totalmente desaprovechado.

    Por desgracia, su original premisa termina siendo su principal "carga".
    Expand
  17. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    El tema del juego es bastante interesante. Me recuerda la pelicula de The Postman de Kevin Costner, pero con un twist muy mejorado. Las cinematicas son brutales de bellas. La musica es excelente. Los escenarios (para ser un periodo post apocaliptico) estan bien bellos, poca vida, pero muy buen diseño; en especial el agua. La trama es bastante atrayente y no puedes despistarte porque sinoEl tema del juego es bastante interesante. Me recuerda la pelicula de The Postman de Kevin Costner, pero con un twist muy mejorado. Las cinematicas son brutales de bellas. La musica es excelente. Los escenarios (para ser un periodo post apocaliptico) estan bien bellos, poca vida, pero muy buen diseño; en especial el agua. La trama es bastante atrayente y no puedes despistarte porque sino te pierdes.

     

    No le di un 9 o mas por lo siguiente: se supone que este jugando un videojuego. El tiempo que le di me senti que estaba viendo una serie de Netflix. Las cinematicas son muy largas, y el tiempo de gameplay es muy corto. Puedes recostarte en el sofa, soltar el control y cualquiera que te ve dira: esta viendo TV o alguna serie. Eso es lo que parece. Al menos en otros juegos, dentro de la cinematica te mandaban a presionar ciertos botones para ver la siguiente accion cinematica. O sea, interactuabas. Este no lo tiene. Es ver lo que ponen y ya. La jugabilidad es muy corta y repetitiva. Entonces recomiendan evadir los combates, por algo que sucede en el juego (no dare spoilers de que es lo que pasa). O sea, que la unica accion que veré de mi parte es caminar del punto A al punto B. Si quiero mas accion tendre que esperar a otra cinematica o que me chupen al dark side para enfrentarme al perro negro gigante. Para mi, es un big fail. Zelda BotW era amplio y vacio, pero dentro de ese vacio interactuabas con cosas, enemigos, etc. habia accion. Aqui no te recomiendan que tengas ese tipo de accion. Por que? Juegalo y sabras lo que digo.

     

    Dicen que despues de las 20 hrs es que se pone Bueno… yo digo: por que esperar tanto cuando lo puedes hacer desde el minuto 1? Acaso la explicacion de toda la historia son 20 hrs y el resto es: ahora sal y has lo que quieras? Definitivamente este no es un juego para todo el mundo. Antes de tirarte de pecho a comprarlo porque “es Kojima” o “tiene buenas graficas”… ve mejor varios gameplays para ver si el ritmo del juego te va a mantener jugandolo. Seria una perdida de $$ el comprarlo a ciegas y luego te desencantes. Esto me recuerda a Mighty No.9 con Inafune. Algo asi me senti con DS… aunq lo de Inafune fue una puñalada al Corazon, pero algo asi me senti. Le falto algo para que fuese un “juego” entretenido; lo veo mas como un Peli-Juego. Ojo: son mis gustos. Espero que a ti que me lees te guste el juego y lo disfrutes. Mi nota es de 6.5 por lo mencionado a principio.
    Expand
  18. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    El juego tiene buenas gráficas, buena música, buenas cinemáticas, una historia que no esta nada mal e innova en cuestión de mecánicas de juego, pero simplemente la mecánica de ir a misiones de Punto A a Punto B en todo el juego y la dificultad sea cuidarte de la lluvia, rocas, ríos etc. hace que a las 2 horas ya te hallas muerto de aburrimiento. Este juego no tiene acción, creo que estaEl juego tiene buenas gráficas, buena música, buenas cinemáticas, una historia que no esta nada mal e innova en cuestión de mecánicas de juego, pero simplemente la mecánica de ir a misiones de Punto A a Punto B en todo el juego y la dificultad sea cuidarte de la lluvia, rocas, ríos etc. hace que a las 2 horas ya te hallas muerto de aburrimiento. Este juego no tiene acción, creo que esta muy sobrevalorado solo por ser de KOJIMA, este juego es para un nicho muy pequeño no es para todo publico la verdad. Expand
  19. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    Very unique game game with brand new mechanics , but actually , I can't recommend it to you , cause it may be really boring.
  20. Nov 12, 2019
    5
    I Wanted to like this game but it's just so boring. The story is good and the multiplayer is interesting on What you do in the world impacts other players games but that is all that's good.This game is worth $10 at the most.
  21. Nov 12, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Take your baggage of point A and going to point B... Only... Kojima knows than your name and used this from ropaganda of this... Expand
  22. Nov 10, 2019
    5
    Pelo amor, que jogo horrível, a história é legal mas não curti esse gameplay, recomendo pra quem tem tempo e paciência, eu não tenho.
  23. Nov 12, 2019
    5
    Es muy lento el progreso y aburre caminar tanto. Parece un simulador de reparto con cinemáticas.
  24. Nov 12, 2019
    5
    Death Stranding foi o game mais esperado dessa geração , incluindo a mim . uma pena o game ser cheio de bugs , uma gameplay horrivel , esperei muito tempo para joga-lo , desde o primeiro anuncio , resumindo ... Dead Stranding é mais um game que nos deixou hypado , mas não entrega nada novo , como fora anunciado por Kojima , é apenas mais um game generico , com uma historia que ate é legalDeath Stranding foi o game mais esperado dessa geração , incluindo a mim . uma pena o game ser cheio de bugs , uma gameplay horrivel , esperei muito tempo para joga-lo , desde o primeiro anuncio , resumindo ... Dead Stranding é mais um game que nos deixou hypado , mas não entrega nada novo , como fora anunciado por Kojima , é apenas mais um game generico , com uma historia que ate é legal , mas peca em sua gameplay e também pecou muito em seu marketing , para descrever toda minha revolta com esse game , "era melhor ter ido ver o filme do pelé " . para finalizar , ainda tem varias notas de críticos que nem jogaram o game e dão nota alta para que o game não caia no limbo ! Expand
  25. Nov 12, 2019
    5
    Great soundtrack and visuals. Interesting storyline. Boring gameplay. This game will NOT respect your time and its too up its own ass to care.
  26. Nov 13, 2019
    5
    After investing hours into this game I can honestly say, "what is the point of this game?" I'm the only one left in the desolate country to carry packages. For a game that is about connection I felt completely isolated. Even when playing on the server it only polluted the world with nonsense. The game is extremely mundane with the same missiona that ot is just shameful this is a triple AAfter investing hours into this game I can honestly say, "what is the point of this game?" I'm the only one left in the desolate country to carry packages. For a game that is about connection I felt completely isolated. Even when playing on the server it only polluted the world with nonsense. The game is extremely mundane with the same missiona that ot is just shameful this is a triple A game. The voice acting is good, graphics are great but recycled. The story is bizarre but takes 30 plus hours just to peel away at the surface. I'm not sure how this is relaxing to play, it stressed me out to the point I diagnosed this game as insanity to continue playing. This game is far from revolutionary, and the best parts takes place in the opening cutscenes. If this game didn't have Kojima name on it, it would have recieved poor reviews across the world. This is one of the blandest open world games I have played. Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent game. Absorbing, innovative, original, beautiful graphics, clever systems. BUT. I am giving Death Stranding a terrible score. I have reached episode four. This chapter of the game throws everything good about the game out of the window. It betrays the whole mood and theme of Death Stranding up until this point. The level is unimaginative and frustrating to play ( on Hard mode). You trudge about a maze of trenches shooting 'undead' soldiers hunting down a 'boss'. The guns feel floaty and awkward to shoot especially the way the camera is set. You easily find yourself exposed to enemy fire which means you quickly die as you are unable to react quick enough. This section of the game does provide a change of pace but at what cost? It's awful doubly so as the game isn't really designed for combat.

    The section would be a welcomed change of mood and pace if you've being playing the game on any difficulty other than hard but on hard, for myself at least, is too hard.
    Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2019
    5
    Very cutscenes heavy and repetitive fetch and delivery quests.Beautiful visuals though.
  29. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    This game is bad, Boring and monotonous. After 25 hrs i cannot find why it has perfect reviews.
  30. Nov 10, 2019
    5
    O jogo trás gráficos excelentes, mas o seu foco principal é a campanha. Diversas cutscenes que foram bem trabalhadas e uma história deveras intrigante.
    O jogo merece nota 5, porque um jogo não é feito apenas de história e gráficos, pois se não, seria melhor a produção de um filme do que um game. Em questão de Gameplay, o jogo não trás nenhuma novidade. Combates fracos, inimigos repetidos,
    O jogo trás gráficos excelentes, mas o seu foco principal é a campanha. Diversas cutscenes que foram bem trabalhadas e uma história deveras intrigante.
    O jogo merece nota 5, porque um jogo não é feito apenas de história e gráficos, pois se não, seria melhor a produção de um filme do que um game. Em questão de Gameplay, o jogo não trás nenhuma novidade. Combates fracos, inimigos repetidos, falta de missões variadas onde o gameplay se constrói a partir da entrega de caixas e afins.. um verdadeiro Walking simulator com algumas adições no seu gameplay. Digo até que o jogo trás as mesmas missões de entregas e com inimigos repetidos em 80% de seu tempo de jogatina, o que faz com que seja fácil o jogador parar de jogar por conta da falta de mutação da gameplay ao longo de sua campanha. Para quem venho da saga Metal Gear, não espere um jogo com ação e gameplay diferenciada com Death Stranding, aqui estamos tratando de um jogo com uma história forte, mas com gameplay fraca.
    4/5 para a história, 1/5 para a gameplay, totalizando a minha nota com 5.
    Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2019
    5
    Não faz o meu tipo, o jogo é um correio simulator sem emoção e entediante, além de ser altamente repetitivo
  32. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    Death Stranding is not an easy game. Actually, in terms of difficulty, it isn't hard at all, but when I say "easy", I mean the game will test your patience and will be an experience that just deforms into tedium rather quickly.

    Playing as Sam "Porter" Bridges, players are meant to connect the world one package at a time with much of the focus being around the journey from one place to
    Death Stranding is not an easy game. Actually, in terms of difficulty, it isn't hard at all, but when I say "easy", I mean the game will test your patience and will be an experience that just deforms into tedium rather quickly.

    Playing as Sam "Porter" Bridges, players are meant to connect the world one package at a time with much of the focus being around the journey from one place to another. In many respects Death Stranding is just that, a game where you are always delivering some sort of cargo all the while connecting the remaining cities of Americas.

    I'll be blunt here. What drove me in this game was the intrigue the world had, who was Sam? What where those creatures (BTs), What was the Death Stranding? Unfortunately the writing for the game feels very one note, it makes it hard to invest yourself into the story, into Sam. This game requires the player to set goals intrinsically because there is a strange lack of satisfaction in discovering the answer to these question, so much so that it left me numb within the first 4 hours. While many praise the story for its "Kojima" nature, I can't in good faith say it develops in any satisfying way, especially since the colorful cast doesn't fix what are some of the most grueling exposition dumps.

    I went for hours trying to justify the needlessly tedious game play with occasional the glimmers of joy that occurred when just experience the expansive world and the open ended nature of the actual music. It's those moments that click; when the music starts playing and you are having a nice stride to your next objective that I found the most appealing, but they in no way justify the experience as a whole.

    I'd hate to call this a walking simulator, specifically because it does do so much more. Wherein most walking simulators have almost no gameplay, this at least has some. Though it’s not without its flaws, the game sets out a very repetitive loop for its gameplay, not an all too uncommon practice, but oddly enough it fails because of its attempts at complexity. Here’s my best comparison, No Mans Sky. Hear me out. No Mans Sky had a repetitive loop that resulted in many people disliking it, but those who stuck around loved the mindless grind to it, something to listen a podcast to. The problem with Death Stranding is it complicates what should be a relaxing grind to one where it demands your attention for every menial task. It doesn’t give you too much time to just enjoy the scenery and make your slow journey across the nation relaxing, it demands your attention at every moment, controlling the trigger paddles and keeping track of storms. It’s a line to straddle carefully and I feel the game fails at it. There's no joy in overcoming these obstacles impeding on the "zen" like nature of the game, and so it just ends up feeling like literal work.

    The graphical beauty, the expertly crafted sound design, it's all gone to waste on a game intent on making you relate to Sam's miserable journey by actually part taking in an arguably miserable game. The only thing I can genuinely commend the game on is that the soundtrack for the game was one that was well done and the game featured some nice shots in the cutscenes, But those don't save a game where the story is an arguable mess and the game play is a lesson in tedium.

    TL;DR

    I do not recommend this title, even if you liked games like RDR2 and Euro Truck Simulator, unless you are willing to put up with a un-involved story and tiring game play mechanics.
    (Review made after 12 hours)
    Expand
  33. Nov 14, 2019
    5
    Genious and primitive in same time. For instance boss fight. Excellent cut-scene and then just throwing granades. No day/night changing, no dynamic weather, no NPC, no physical objects, no interiers. Just great film passages + classic OW go and bring boring activity in empty world. it´s NOT new genre! It´s weak game with great actors and world lore.
    Sorry BB! 5/10
    5/10
  34. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    Jogo com muita cg, combate chato e repetitivo, caminhadas entediantes sem fast travel, o que ajuda o game e a parte gráfica dos personagens e dublagem, parte gráfica do ambiente também ficou devendo.
  35. Nov 11, 2019
    5
    Death Stranding is a splendid wasted opportunity. The world has a lot of potential in discovering the post apocalyptic wasteland where resources are delivered by couriers.

    You want to keep going to see where the world ends up. But the core gameplay loop is super boring and frustrating. It's like Breath of the Wild with the good bits in between taken out. You don't really want to explore
    Death Stranding is a splendid wasted opportunity. The world has a lot of potential in discovering the post apocalyptic wasteland where resources are delivered by couriers.

    You want to keep going to see where the world ends up. But the core gameplay loop is super boring and frustrating. It's like Breath of the Wild with the good bits in between taken out. You don't really want to explore because the world has nothing much in it to explore, and it's peppered with 2 types of enemies that you can't really kill until later and swarm you when you are discovered. Good luck if you're discovered while hauling a big load of goods.

    BotW made the combat fun and rewards you for exploration. Death Stranding constantly punishes you. Timefall is super annoying, especially when it goes on and on and on and on and on and on. Even Sam in the game comments on it "come on...", "when will this end". Perfectly reflecting the players mind. If the objective was to frustrate the player. This game has succeeded wildly.

    I get the concept that YOU are supposed to make the game easier. By building roads, shelters, safehouses along the way. But it's so damn annoying, you don't really want to do it. There is some form of fast travel later on in the game. But nothing that helps you with deliveries. Those you have to hoof it, or if you're lucky, be able to take a vehicle.

    Which brings me to the controls. Be it on foot or on vehicle, the game controls like a drunk moron. You trip on everything, and the vehicles get stuck on every small piece of pebble. You can jump a little. But it doesn't really help. I have 3 vehicles completely stuck on the map and counting, because it mounted some piece of rock that it cannot move or jump away from.

    The game also suffers from poor writing. I don't a crap about any of the characters save for maybe Fragile. I end up skipping all the dialogues and BB scenes. By mid game, I wish I could just shoot the BB and deal with the BTs without it. Not like it ever helped me. I rather just triggered the fight and kill the BT, than deal with the nonsense stealth segments.

    Whoever gives this a 10 or even a 9 must be paid or crazy.
    Expand
  36. Nov 13, 2019
    5
    No es un juego digno de kojima, las primeras horas son muy aburridas y le pega mejor una musica de beny hill ya que es un poco comico
  37. Nov 14, 2019
    7
    Beautiful game but not even that can make this game good with its clunky gameplay and easy bosses.
  38. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    I wasn't expecting anything "out of this world" in particular, I bought this game because it's a Hideo Kojima game. And as a Hideo Kojima game it's on pair with his weakest titles, but as a standalone game it's barely makes the cut. And one moment i felt as I was playing this game only because of Hideo-san name, not because it was interesting, or there was a compelling story. Gameplay isI wasn't expecting anything "out of this world" in particular, I bought this game because it's a Hideo Kojima game. And as a Hideo Kojima game it's on pair with his weakest titles, but as a standalone game it's barely makes the cut. And one moment i felt as I was playing this game only because of Hideo-san name, not because it was interesting, or there was a compelling story. Gameplay is really boring and nothing to write home about. Story is not very compelling to say the least, it's on pair with Sci-fi books you found with a great cut in price in every books shop, i even would say it's on level with mediocre sci-fi tv series. Music was actually pretty good it was one of redeeming qualities of this game for me. Graphics look really well especially on great TV. Overall it was not a revolution in terms of gameplay or anything else in particular as Hideo-san was promising with "stick and rope" interviews he gave, many times before the release. I hope that this game sales well and find it's fans, so that Hideo-san could keep on making more games. But as of know this is not the masterpiece or genre defying game, it's a definition of word "mediocre" that's all. Expand
  39. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Looks pretty, but have to admit that maybe the gameplay loop is why there was so much mystery at the beginning all the way up to just before release. Huge disappointment.
  40. Nov 11, 2019
    5
    First 30 mins amazing game, after 3 hours the game is crap, repettitve, and honestly im almost at 20 hours of gameplay thats why i made a review the game is the same all over again, the people who gives a 10 or a 9 or even a 8 is because they are starting playing the game, wait until you play the game entirely or almost entirely and then they will give a 6 or a 5 being benevolent, anyway,First 30 mins amazing game, after 3 hours the game is crap, repettitve, and honestly im almost at 20 hours of gameplay thats why i made a review the game is the same all over again, the people who gives a 10 or a 9 or even a 8 is because they are starting playing the game, wait until you play the game entirely or almost entirely and then they will give a 6 or a 5 being benevolent, anyway, history, sucks if there is any, characters are SLOOOOOOOOOOOWWWW to move, idiotic IA, scenery is garbage, graphics are amazing, BUT THATS NOT THE GAME. is a 5 for me. Expand
  41. Nov 12, 2019
    6
    The gameplay really sucks for me personally. I was looking for the time when enemies will appear and you have to fight but it got even worse after i experienced that. Wait for a sale if you are interested in this game anyways. Graphic and story is really good tho.
  42. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    The controls are alright, but not revolutionary. It feels similar to Metal Gear Solid V. The story itself is also quite bland and convoluted. The dialogue is quite abysmal in some sections, but I'll keep it spoiler free. I'd rather not play a game where the mechanics are half of the selling point. Giving this score so early is perhaps too high.
  43. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    So I can review even though not playing it lol well I don,t know about this game but the rating system sims ****
  44. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    I would place it at mediocre. It’s only original if your knowledge of games is The Last Of Us...and that’s it.
    Gameplay-wise, it boils down to a trekking simulator where weight, health, weather conditions, and enemies need to be monitored to successfully complete deliveries.
    The mysterious nature of the plot is it’s biggest redeeming factor, but there’s a lot that kills the experience, and
    I would place it at mediocre. It’s only original if your knowledge of games is The Last Of Us...and that’s it.
    Gameplay-wise, it boils down to a trekking simulator where weight, health, weather conditions, and enemies need to be monitored to successfully complete deliveries.
    The mysterious nature of the plot is it’s biggest redeeming factor, but there’s a lot that kills the experience, and most of it comes in the form of advertising, heavy mission repetition, or confusing menus.
    When your character showers, you’ll be reminded of AMC’s Ride with Norman Reedus. When your character is thirsty and in need of energy, you’ll be reminded that Monster Energy Drink gives you what plants crave.
    The asynchronous multiplayer (again, not new to video gaming) only helps muddy the waters. Turn a corner and the world can be littered with peoples junk, making you feel like the janitor at the end of a block party.

    So why the 5? There’s good times to be had playing this. Gradually getting more and more perks provides a nice slow progression curve, feels nice when you get a motorcycle or a little robo-mule. Besides that, trekking is enjoyable to me IRL and some of that comes across while playing.

    We’re all out here to experience some escapism, it’s okay to not like something. It is also okay to like it. Be safe everyone, keep connecting.
    Expand
  45. Nov 14, 2019
    6
    I'm writing this review as a rabid Kojima fan, so take this into account.

    Death Stranding's apparent promise to the new player can be written thusly; "This is a game that is about to introduce you to about a half dozen characters. Some of them may share a history with you, some of them may even be related to you, some of them will inexplicably wear masks and give your orders. Who
    I'm writing this review as a rabid Kojima fan, so take this into account.

    Death Stranding's apparent promise to the new player can be written thusly; "This is a game that is about to introduce you to about a half dozen characters. Some of them may share a history with you, some of them may even be related to you, some of them will inexplicably wear masks and give your orders. Who they are and what they are to you exactly you may find out much later (or not). But first, you have to save America, so deliver these boxes. Oh, also, the underworld is trying to push you over and make you lose your boxes and if you do, well then you're going to be chasing them down a river or on the side of a mountain. We'll give you stuff to make moving boxes around easier, but that's later. First, we're going to make you deliver things by foot like an idiot."

    I'm into around 20 hours of the game, and that pretty much sums up my experience with Death Stranding. I was careful to not write an opinion on this game until I had enough hours put in as Kojima games can take a little time to get going, but he tends to start off at a warm temperature and by the end of the game things get nuclear. That's typically his style, so a player is usually not going to have trouble signing up for one of his journeys. But Death Stranding is no thrill ride. Even the dangerous stuff isn't all that dangerous and in the absence of motivation, I'm having difficulty justifying the time spent to endure Kojima's latest work.

    It's a marvel to look at, but I'll get to the point; there's no excuse to make 30 fps games any more. I've been critical of other titles like Assassin's Creed: Odyssey and Horizon: Zero Dawn for running at that framerate and when this title comes out next year on PC, likely running at a blazing 60 fps and above (as is typically the case in the PC world), I suspect that we all may feel kind of silly about playing games in this manner. The only title I would give a pass for 30 fps would be Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, which is a masterpiece that should be shown at The Louvre. BoTW is a work of art that changed the world. No other game gets this pass, certainly not Death Stranding.

    Kojima gets some points in the form of technical achievement, but when you're attempting to immerse the player in a game that can last 50 hours or more, you're not being profound by withholding details about characters, settings, and context when you need these elements to establish an emotional connection to the player. If the game doesn't build its case for the player to continue on a journey within 5 minutes of pressing start, the experience will feel hollow. It saddens me to think that when I compare this to anything else Kojima has done, it does not stand shoulder to shoulder with any other title from his body of work. An unpleasant surprise.
    Expand
  46. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Kojima used to be a visionary that I held in high regard but his work has been going downhill since MGS4. Despite the problems with MGS4, Peace Walker and MGS5, they at least still had moments of greatness. The same can't be said for Death Stranding. Kojima's obsession with Hollywood actors has resulted in a pretty yet bland and empty open world devoid of any interesting landmarks orKojima used to be a visionary that I held in high regard but his work has been going downhill since MGS4. Despite the problems with MGS4, Peace Walker and MGS5, they at least still had moments of greatness. The same can't be said for Death Stranding. Kojima's obsession with Hollywood actors has resulted in a pretty yet bland and empty open world devoid of any interesting landmarks or features. The incoherent story desperately wants to convince you that its deeper than it actually is. The shoehorned social elements are hardly new and end up feeling half baked. Konami are an awful company but I'm starting to think they were right about Kojima. Maybe Fukushima really was the true talent that kept Kojima's worst tendencies in check and helped elevate his work. Expand
  47. Nov 9, 2019
    7
    Not perfect, but no bad, I thought I would be disappointed, and although it is not the big deal, the game entertains, that that is the function of a game, so far I am enjoying it
  48. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Su creatividad es muy buen, la historia atrapa, pero los detalles de jugabilidad, de crear emociones al momento de estar frente al mando y el televisor es muy floja, esperaba más .
  49. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Não posso dar nota vermelha para o jogo porque ele foi bom em alguns aspectos, o gráfico é bom (7,5 muito serrilhado, achei que a falta de elementos gráficos fosse proporcionar uma melhoria) as musicas são boas (7,0 existem muitos momentos de silencio que poderiam ter mais momentos com tilhas), jogabilidade péssima (2,0 chata, irritante, sem diferencial) o criador, claramente, quis fazerNão posso dar nota vermelha para o jogo porque ele foi bom em alguns aspectos, o gráfico é bom (7,5 muito serrilhado, achei que a falta de elementos gráficos fosse proporcionar uma melhoria) as musicas são boas (7,0 existem muitos momentos de silencio que poderiam ter mais momentos com tilhas), jogabilidade péssima (2,0 chata, irritante, sem diferencial) o criador, claramente, quis fazer um filme e a Netflix não abriu as portas então fez umas cutscenes e como é um jogo colocou uns momentos pra você andar de cena para cena, estou em busca da devolução do meu dinheiro Expand
  50. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Kojima is a great developer but its clear he needs supervision so as to stay on focus as to what a video game should be. When most publishers are not artistic enough Kojima is the opposite and its shows in this masterful delivery man simulator. The games mechanics may set new standards in gaming such as the one for keeping your balance and management of resources but unless you like a gameKojima is a great developer but its clear he needs supervision so as to stay on focus as to what a video game should be. When most publishers are not artistic enough Kojima is the opposite and its shows in this masterful delivery man simulator. The games mechanics may set new standards in gaming such as the one for keeping your balance and management of resources but unless you like a game about a UPS delivery man in a post super natural apocalypse America then best to pass on this.

    I hate to write this because I had high hopes for Kojima's first SONY game but he's blown it. Next HK game should be great as long as SONY has someone overseeing and helping keep Hideo Kojima on task with making a great video game and not just an artistic video game.
    Expand
  51. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Con una Historia llamativa, una musicalizacion repartida en el momento exacto, pero hay un detalle, vine por un Juego no por una pelicula, Entiendo que hay para todos los gustos pero me deja mucho que desear su Jugabilidad, con misiones repetitivas, y villanos si asi los podemos llamar, completamente olvidables, Gracias por el Hype Kojima Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    我是一个玩了十个小时的云玩家!!我的评价既不客观也不公正,我只是来吐槽一下,用户评分其实谁都可以发,不管你到底有没有玩过,有没有买这个游戏,还是只是单纯的看小岛秀夫不顺眼。
  53. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Nice setting, atmosphere, movies. And gameplay is just a walking-crafting simulator for No Man's Sky and Minecraft fans. It's really boring as action-adventure.
  54. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Horrible game as for movie part maybe good source material but week delivery,this game is like modern art in museum where u watch white painting and try to understand what is ha penning then u see **** article in new York times...
  55. Nov 10, 2019
    5
    Jogo lento Se torna chato nas primeiras horas
    E muito repetitivo Essa e minha revisão do jogo
  56. Nov 12, 2019
    5
    If you can, rent it first!
    That's what i did and I am glad!
    If you can't rent it from anywhere, borrow it for a night or two if a friend of yours have it. First impressions of this game brings a "Wow factor" that is undeniable. But it fades FAST! I rented the game on friday night, I was amazed and tought : "I guess I'll buy it upon returning the rental copy". Then after 2
    If you can, rent it first!
    That's what i did and I am glad!
    If you can't rent it from anywhere, borrow it for a night or two if a friend of yours have it.

    First impressions of this game brings a "Wow factor" that is undeniable.
    But it fades FAST!

    I rented the game on friday night, I was amazed and tought : "I guess I'll buy it upon returning the rental copy".

    Then after 2 straight nights of play, I already felt the "Wow factor" fading.
    Once you realise that you're not THAT easy to trip over, you begin caring less, and it loses its luster.

    Same goes for the BTs, once you get the hang of how your tracker works, you can blast through any zones without caring too much.

    All in all, the walking/stumbling delivery system could've been a great system as a PART of a game but not enough to make it a whole game by itself.

    After 5-6 hours you pretty much just end up dashing all over the place in a bored manner and you realise that is all that it's going to be
    Expand
  57. Nov 10, 2019
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. É bom porém superestimado lento em um modo geral a história é boa e a física tbm mas peca Expand
  58. Nov 10, 2019
    5
    I went from hyped about Kojima's new game to complete abandonment after what IGN had to report on it. Now, I'm not saying I trust IGN one bit, but the fact that they were brutally honest about how the game plays was shocking. Once I had a chance to actually see what Jim Sterling had to say it was all over, this whole project was to make a 70+ hour movie and Kojima trolled us all on it. II went from hyped about Kojima's new game to complete abandonment after what IGN had to report on it. Now, I'm not saying I trust IGN one bit, but the fact that they were brutally honest about how the game plays was shocking. Once I had a chance to actually see what Jim Sterling had to say it was all over, this whole project was to make a 70+ hour movie and Kojima trolled us all on it. I had a collector's edition waiting for me at GameStop that I kindly waved goodbye to, getting a refund. I'm sure there is an audience for this game, I'm just not part of that audience. Time to look forward to some other games that are being released. Expand
  59. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    they need to do way instain mother who kill their babbys becuse these babby cant fright back? it was on the news this mroing. a mother in ar who kill her three kids, they are taking the three babby back to new york too lady to rest. my pary are with the father who lost his chrilden ; i am truley sorry for your lots
  60. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    desde el punto de vista cinematográfico tiene cosas interesantes y podría ser una buena serie o película, excelentes gráficos y en cuanto a la historia puede o no gustar en cuanto al Gameplay no me gustó en los primeros capítulos llega a decepcionarte no me gusta el objetivo voy a la mitad no sé si después se ponga mejor pero me parece aburrido
  61. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Nunca he visto un juego con un apartado técnico tan pulido como Death Stranding, visualmente es exquisito y con pequeños detalles que muestran el amor de los desarrolladores por este juego. La banda sonora es memorable sin duda alguna y encaja perfecto para este título.
    El apartado del sonido del viento, hojas y efectos de agua, lluvia, pasos, entre otros le da vida a un mundo complejo y
    Nunca he visto un juego con un apartado técnico tan pulido como Death Stranding, visualmente es exquisito y con pequeños detalles que muestran el amor de los desarrolladores por este juego. La banda sonora es memorable sin duda alguna y encaja perfecto para este título.
    El apartado del sonido del viento, hojas y efectos de agua, lluvia, pasos, entre otros le da vida a un mundo complejo y misterioso. Todo lo técnico en este juego es superior y acompaña a una historia muy profunda y reflexiva que es sin duda la parte central del juego.

    Sin embargo, el gameplay aunque complementa bien con la temática del juego, no es lo suficientemente variada, y muchas veces nos vemos obligados a realizar misiones repetitivas y monótonas con tal de revelar el misterio que ha caído en está América apocalíptica, para empeorarlo, el juego está lleno de mecánicas que podrían encontrar en juegos FPS, RPG, simulación, conducción, estrategia e incluso de survival terror, pero se sienten incompletas y no son aprovechadas al 100%. La historia brillante debería ser el complemento del gameplay bien pulido en un videojuego, no al revés, y esto es lo que convierte a Death Stranding en una pélicula interactiva.

    El género "Strand" que Hideo quiere implementar sin duda es algo interesante, muchas veces hemos visto al online o multiplayer en el principal enemigo de campañas en solitario o un jugador, él quiere incluir esto en su historia y también beneficia mucho a la historia. A diferencia del cooperativo, un segundo jugador no interviene directamente, como en una red social, comentando, guiando o dejando su marca en partes del mapa para varios jugadores que pueden apoyar (dar like) a sus acciones. No obstante, un juego no puedo construirse al rededor de esta idea y mas bien queda como una mecánica extra durante el viaje.
    Este juego a dividido a toda la comunidad de videojuegos y es algo positivo que la industria se atreva a realizar juegos diferentes, que innoven mecánicas y sobre todo incluyan contenido completo y de calidad como Kojima Productions ha hecho. Este juego muestra que no se debe comprar un juego por el "HYPE", debemos saber lo que compramos y no guiarnos solamente por la prensa que muchas veces es cómplice en alabar un título.

    Este juego no es para todos, lo narrativo y lo visual es la obra maestra, si buscas aventura y variedad pues no lo aconsejo. Mi nota es dividida, pero considero al juego un gran mensaje positivo para la industria actual de videojuegos.
    Expand
  62. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    This better be a movie. Plot and cutscenes - OK. Gameplay - hell of a fright. Problem is - you can't skip this agelong absolutely uninteresting gameplay to see the next cutscene.
  63. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Not a disaster but not the masterpiece many credit it as. Visually gorgeous, it's very clear that the team has put in a lot of hard work creating this world and ensuring that the system holds up for it. It's just a shame the story and gameplay can't live up to it.
  64. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Daha önce çoğu kojima oyununu oynadım hepsinide severek oynadım özellikle Metal Gear Solid 4ü bu oyunda yeni şeyler deneyeme çalışmış ama bence pek başaramış mekanikler çalışmıyor bazı buglarla karşılaştım grafikler başarılı hikaye anlatılımı fena değil ama oynanış hiç zevkli gelmedi bana benim için başarısız bir kojima oyunu hayal kırıklığı
  65. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Me esperaba mas del maestro Kojima, el juego en si es increíblemente aburrido. Apenas llevo 15 horas de juego y el 50% es de cinemáticas algunas muy entretenidas y otras de relleno, pero el objetivo central de juego es tedioso a niveles del sopor. Es mi crítica inicinicial, espero con el paso de las horas mejore.
  66. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Great story (if a bit cheesy), interesting world building; but a good game Death stranding is not. Gameplay MUST come first in a video GAME, and the activities here are simply B O R I N G. I don't care how good your story is, how many star-studded actors you hired. If the game's not fun, WHY BOTHER?
  67. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    The gameplay of the game is extremely boring, it does not make my style but I liked the story and arrested me at certain times, I found some bugs in the game and the physics of the game is ben bad too
  68. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    Ok no el juego no es un 0 como muchos dicen, los gráficos son geniales y la historia es interesante. El problema es que es muy lento y poco interesante de jugar.
    Si tienes poco tiempo en tu día para jugar (menos de 2 horas) no lo recomiendo.
    Es una lastima por que si tenia mucho interés en este juego.
  69. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    Encantador en bastantes aspectos detallistas en el gameplay, apartado gráfico espectacular así como banda sonora, pero sumamente tedioso en cuanto a desarrollo de la historia, misiones tremendamente repetitivas, sistemas de combate vagos. Simplemente aburrido.
  70. Nov 10, 2019
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bonito. Confuso. Cansativo. Não da pra entender porque a história não desenrola. Expand
  71. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    This game definitely makes it hard to like. We know this game's gonna be cutscene heavy but even then there are too many and nearly all of them are too long. The gameplay is while passable is not enough to interest you the whole way. The only reason I gave this '6' is because of the story. Word of warning though, the story is too complicated even for a Hideo Kojima game. So you have toThis game definitely makes it hard to like. We know this game's gonna be cutscene heavy but even then there are too many and nearly all of them are too long. The gameplay is while passable is not enough to interest you the whole way. The only reason I gave this '6' is because of the story. Word of warning though, the story is too complicated even for a Hideo Kojima game. So you have to play it and watches the cutscene for about 10 hours before you can understand the game. And I admint, this is not some game you can just turn on and says I hate it. You have to play it(and watch it) to understand and like it. Expand
  72. Nov 11, 2019
    6
    Kojima spend all of Sony's money to make such a nonsense? If you want to be ambitious, you have to meet certain requirements. The artistic part has its touch but playably it is a terrible disaster! A shame as paid media have endorsed such "game" crap.
  73. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    I do not enjoy the gameplay, nor do I enjoy or understand any of the plot, it literally drags onward way too slow to grasp me.

    Kojima, please make real movies and stop trying to create videogame genres. This is Paperboy NES+Horror elements evolved, not a new genre at all. The model for Amelie is a technical marvel, based entirely off of a photo of Lindsay Wagner 40+ years ago, and
    I do not enjoy the gameplay, nor do I enjoy or understand any of the plot, it literally drags onward way too slow to grasp me.

    Kojima, please make real movies and stop trying to create videogame genres. This is Paperboy NES+Horror elements evolved, not a new genre at all.

    The model for Amelie is a technical marvel, based entirely off of a photo of Lindsay Wagner 40+ years ago, and that's about the only positive I have for this game.

    Lastly, you can slam monster energy drinks like no tomorrow with no health repercussions, and shake babies with no penalty (ie: the motion control sensor is too sensitive and can shake the baby rather than cradle it), these two things I disagree with fundamentally.
    Expand
  74. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Es un juego ABURRIDO, por lo tanto no vale la pena su compra, lo interesante son sus grafucos, e historia, pero tranquilamente me puedo ver un longplay y ahorrarme el dinero, el resto es solo caminar y caminar, una verguenza
  75. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    Симулятор курьера "Чумазика" от которого ушла жена оставив годовалого ребенка.
  76. Nov 9, 2019
    7
    This would be such a good game, if Kojima would care about gameplay just as much as about story telling.

    Combat: - enemies and bosses are way to easy and uninteresting to fight - there is not much weapon variety (bola gun, grenades, your fists), you cant even use the electric spears of the enemies, which would have been a lot of fun. - attacking enemies while wearing your payload
    This would be such a good game, if Kojima would care about gameplay just as much as about story telling.

    Combat:

    - enemies and bosses are way to easy and uninteresting to fight
    - there is not much weapon variety (bola gun, grenades, your fists), you cant even use the electric spears of the enemies, which would have been a lot of fun.
    - attacking enemies while wearing your payload feels extremely clunky and unfun to perform
    - not much enemy variety either
    - you cant kill human enemies, because of them turning into void outs, so you only can stun them for a few seconds

    Traversing the environment:

    - walking around with a giant 120 kg, 3 meter high jenga tower on your back, while stumbling over rocks without falling, or climbing up ropes with the strength of your bare hands, while wearing the entire jenga tower on your back,looks just so immersion breaking. As if Kojima never heard of the terminology: center of mass. Couldn't they have restricted the backpack height just a little and gave him in exchange a few more drones which carry part of his payload and follow him around instead ? So that his movement while wearing the payload does not look as ridiculous?

    Story:

    -The story is overall well done and it shows that Kojima does understand cinematography very well, but does his stories always have to be so esoteric and melodramatic ? I could have done easily without the paranormal ghost story in exchange for a alternate dimension colliding with our world sci fi approach. Let the deads rise up and void out, but at least try to give a halfway believable explanation for all of that, instead of resolving to pure esoteric giberish. After him explaining the reasoning of why the BBs (bridge babies) can see the BTs he totally lost me. That was the single most stupid thing i ever heard. Someone really needs to buy Kojima a few weeks of physic lecture on some university or college,so that he gets his facts straight and doesn't always have to resolve to pure esoteric nonsense in his story lines.

    Summary:

    This game is a graphical milestone. The gameplay idea of having to constantly balance your payload on your back with the shoulder buttons, orelse risking a fall and potentially payload lost or damage is a very interesting and unique concept, but traversing the environment lacks a bit of variety and can get monotone very quickly and it certainly does not carry over 50+ hours. Adding a few additional gameplay elements and making the combat a little bit more challenging and engaging wouldn't have hurt the game either. If you love builder and hiking games then you are good, otherwise you maybe should stay away or test it at a friends house before buying.
    Expand
  77. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    Las cinemáticas son impresionantes, pero el desarrollo es aburrido, los combates flojos y los enfrentamientos con los jefes son anodinos. Una pena, esperaba mucho más.
  78. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    El juego graficamente es impresionante, tomando encuenta que no hay nada Literalmente con que toparse, la musica o banda sonara es muy buena, pero nada del otro mundo, los controles y movimiento del personaje son torpes y lentos, las cinematicas son extremadamente largas y la historia cae en lo pretencioso y ridiculo, es un walking simulator con tintes de exploracion. No es la peor cagadaEl juego graficamente es impresionante, tomando encuenta que no hay nada Literalmente con que toparse, la musica o banda sonara es muy buena, pero nada del otro mundo, los controles y movimiento del personaje son torpes y lentos, las cinematicas son extremadamente largas y la historia cae en lo pretencioso y ridiculo, es un walking simulator con tintes de exploracion. No es la peor cagada del 2019, pero verga, hace ver a Call of Duty como una obra maestra, no desperdicien su dinero y si lo hacen, recuerden que fueron ustedes los que al final optaron por comprarlo Expand
  79. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Salve Galera, história boa, ótimas curte cene, narrativa boa, Trilha sonora espetacular, mais o seu maior Problema é o principal, games play, chato,enjoado, monótono, sem graça e entediante, desta vez tio Kojima Acertou em tudo, menos o que de verdade importa, que é game play, por isso nota 6 meu Canal do YouTube : Ovelha Games Expand
  80. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    Spoiler free.
    The environmental art is amazing, but the game-play and the sound is abysmal.
    The story is an absolute mess. The story might have you intrigued with strange concepts but half way you will find out they are just that concepts with no connection to the rest of the story. Dialogue in DS is partly average and sometimes so off you wonder if this was written by a french man and
    Spoiler free.
    The environmental art is amazing, but the game-play and the sound is abysmal.
    The story is an absolute mess.
    The story might have you intrigued with strange concepts but half way you will find out they are just that concepts with no connection to the rest of the story.
    Dialogue in DS is partly average and sometimes so off you wonder if this was written by a french man and put through google translate and something got lost in the translation.
    I wish someone would take the environments and make a fun game with it.
    Walking between the same locations multiple times delivering parcels is not fun.
    Why is there only one animation for each interaction and you have to watch it. If you drink a Monster(tm) it always plays the same animation this goes for everything adding only to the repetitive game-play.
    Who thought crying baby sounds are what a game needs? And the electric bike sounds will make you mute the game.
    Why make such a great environment when I just follow a line on the ground.

    TL;DR
    There were some really talented people working on this game but it all got degraded by hideous game-play and a general lack of overall direction. For a game so story heavy the story is heavily lacking.
    Expand
  81. Nov 8, 2019
    7
    The only good thing i can say about this game is that the graphics look good but too bad for kojima graphics dosen't make a good game the gameplay is lack luster bad and the over all gameplay is realy boring and very repeteriev... i don't get the 100 and 95 reviews this game gets reading them this game shouls have got a 75 at leastvfrom them and not a 100

    I've played the game now for 25h
    The only good thing i can say about this game is that the graphics look good but too bad for kojima graphics dosen't make a good game the gameplay is lack luster bad and the over all gameplay is realy boring and very repeteriev... i don't get the 100 and 95 reviews this game gets reading them this game shouls have got a 75 at leastvfrom them and not a 100

    I've played the game now for 25h the story is very good and intresting that is why i up my rateing from 5 to a 7.
    Expand
  82. Nov 9, 2019
    7
    O principal que seria o gameplay frenetico nao existe !!! Jogo puro filme !!!!
  83. Nov 10, 2019
    7
    What can I say about death stranding .
    The game almost Got it .
    Every single thing about the game is perfect but when you mix them together they don’t work in harmony , I feel like there’s something missing it needs something more .
    But in the end love it or hate it I do believe the Game is a experience that you should try to play it .
  84. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    Lo jugué durante 5 horas y me canse de ir entregando paquetes de un lado para otro. La música y los gráficos son increíble, pero con eso no alcanza para hacer algo divertido y acá no lo encontré.
  85. Nov 13, 2019
    6
    Jogo monótono, se anda mais do que se faz qualquer outra coisa ... Me surpreende alguns sites terem dado 10 (até porque esse game está longe de ser algo perfeito, se é que existe jogo perfeito.)
  86. Nov 13, 2019
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To all of you spending time rating 1 or 10, this game sits right in a centre zone. Rather than being amazing this game was a slightly fun pass time, but it all accumulated into nothing.

    The whole game had a cast of characters I just couldn't care less about and the only good characters were barely explored. Very disappointing.
    Expand
  87. Nov 14, 2019
    7
    Buen juego y la historia te atrapa aunque mucha caminata la verdad me entretuvo un muy buen rato
  88. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    El juego tiene detalles buenos, buena historia, graficamente muy bueno y buena banda sonora, pero el gameplay es sumamente aburrido, despues de 20 horas de juego se me hizo demasiado agotador seguir jugandolo, básicamente es dejar paquetes de un punto A a un punto B listo, dificultad nula y eso que lo jugue en Difícil, habia veces que preferia las cinematicas por la historia
  89. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    Вообще не понимаю как можно давать оценки игре не пройдя ее даже на половину. Игра вышла 8.11.2019, через 2 часа 200 оценок! С какого? В игре, говорят, 30 часов геймплея, минимум. По этому оценку пока не ставлю.
  90. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    Death Stranding (DS) is the evidence that kojima just dosnt want to make games, he wants to make movies and he probably could do great movies if he was paired with a good editor, DS have a superb history and the cinematics and CGI for the characters are epic, but thats all the gameplay feels lazy and boring theres no challange you can literally just walk up to the next cutscene, whichDeath Stranding (DS) is the evidence that kojima just dosnt want to make games, he wants to make movies and he probably could do great movies if he was paired with a good editor, DS have a superb history and the cinematics and CGI for the characters are epic, but thats all the gameplay feels lazy and boring theres no challange you can literally just walk up to the next cutscene, which feels a little egoistic from kojima, he should have asked someone to do the gameplay direction to have a real game.

    is a shame, looks like Kojima didnt care about the gameplay, is the other extreme of MGSV which had superb gameplay but no history.

    At the end we are buying a game, not a movie so, next time kojima, please make a movie or find someone to help you out with the gameplay.

    The good:

    Superb History
    Character CGI are awesome.
    Predictible but good plot twist.

    The Bad:

    where is the game?
    Expand
  91. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    "It’s Hideo Kojima, how can you not like this game"

    Please stop saying this, since I don't even think Hideo Kojima considered a lot about his Fans & other players while designing the game. The story and the music are good, but what else? All the other elements in this game are about average. I would love to see a cinema video made from the game story, rather than playing by myself
    "It’s Hideo Kojima, how can you not like this game"

    Please stop saying this, since I don't even think Hideo Kojima considered a lot about his Fans & other players while designing the game.

    The story and the music are good, but what else? All the other elements in this game are about average. I would love to see a cinema video made from the game story, rather than playing by myself because it's not fun.
    Expand
  92. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    I appreciate death stranding being unique. But I think people just don’t have the time for something such as a walking simulator. That’s exactly what this game is unfortunately.
  93. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    I went into death stranding with very high expectations, with it being a kojima game and was left disappointed with the tedious and boring gameplay loop of deliver item X to point A to point B.The world was beautiful and detailed and the story was interesting. It's ok.
  94. Nov 10, 2019
    6
    Good graphics, good soundtrack, interesting story but awful gameplay, very boring.
  95. Nov 11, 2019
    7
    Death stranding is the new Rick & Morty, you need an extremely high IQ to understand it.
  96. Nov 11, 2019
    7
    Not sure if i love or hate this game there alot of good part in game and alot of annoying boring walking part but i think it worth a try on discount:p
  97. Nov 13, 2019
    7
    I gave this game another chance after my 5/10 review. I put the difficulty down to very easy which has made the game a much more enjoyable experience since it basically negates all the durability systems and seems to make traversal easier. Basically hold L2/R2 to win. No matter what terrain I am on, if I hold the buttons I never fall. Graphics are still great. Story is interesting so far,I gave this game another chance after my 5/10 review. I put the difficulty down to very easy which has made the game a much more enjoyable experience since it basically negates all the durability systems and seems to make traversal easier. Basically hold L2/R2 to win. No matter what terrain I am on, if I hold the buttons I never fall. Graphics are still great. Story is interesting so far, but jeez the cutscenes are too long. It is dumb that the music player is only available in the private room...seems like a huge oversight that you can't play the game's tracks while walking, but I guess that is what my phone is for. The real star of the game though the community involvement. There is something fun about leaving ladders and ropes behind knowing you're probably making someone else's life a little easier. Reminds of Dark Souls a little bit. I like that you can drop lost cargo at any delivery station and entrust it to another player if the intended destination is out of your way. I also enjoy delivering other people's cargo for them. The system of walking trails appearing on routes that are frequently walked is cool too. Basically this game is saved by the asynchronous multiplayer. If it didn't have this my review would probably still be at a 5. Overall after giving it a second chance and dropping the difficulty I am enjoying it a lot more because durability and traversal are basically non-issues now. Expand
  98. Nov 9, 2019
    5
    Boring, repeating game. Getting bored after 10 mins. Fonts are so small that you have to use a telescope
  99. Nov 8, 2019
    5
    La historia es buena. Muy buena para ser sincero. Pero un juego es para ser bueno debe tener buena jugabilidad y ser entretenido de jugar, y este juego falla enormemente en esto. 8 horas de juego muy frustrantes.
  100. Nov 8, 2019
    6
    NEED A DEMO! I wanted to read reviews before investing in such a different game. I believe it is true that shooting games and sports games are best sellers because they require skill and practice. Any game must require the player to master their intended skills and therefore the feeling of becoming better and better is what makes people love gaming ( apart from story, graphics , soundtrackNEED A DEMO! I wanted to read reviews before investing in such a different game. I believe it is true that shooting games and sports games are best sellers because they require skill and practice. Any game must require the player to master their intended skills and therefore the feeling of becoming better and better is what makes people love gaming ( apart from story, graphics , soundtrack etc which are minimal entry requirements nowadays) i dare to say gameplay is the foundation of video games ( physical reflexes for punching buttons quickly or difficult puzzle solving is mainly what we love TODAY!) this game does not require being skilled at neither physical reflexes nor puzzle solving, therefore you don’t have a game right? This enters another category, the movie category maybe, death stranding is a 40 hours long real time movie filmed in one shot? Another category should be a new one called JOB SIMULATOR?, most people play games in order to escape the monotony of their lives and jobs , in a few words: to have a break! and the least thing most people want to do ( in occidental countries) is get a second job as a delivery guy on their free time, we mostly want to break things and throw shells to other go karts etc. BUT maybe there are some cultures who’s main life’s pillar is work ( like the Japanese ) and they might actually like to “EXPERIENCE ” another profession on their free time. Maybe I work as a dentist on real life and I would love to work as a delivery man in the middle of nature on my free time. Just saying this might be a sign of a future niche need out there ( one that we still don’t know we need)... not of “games” as we know them today but more as a mean to live a different virtual life, let’s say I am a mechanical engineer working at Toyota but I would like to experience life as a doctor, so I buy a doctor simulator game where I can experience being a doctor, and yes it might be monotonous but you get that’s the idea with any other job. Actual video games let you become pirates or cowboys in an already saturated market, FUTURE video games will let you become deliverymen, veterinarians , actors, etc. As for the experience of being this delivery man in death stranding I believe the itch behind Kojima’s game is to be able to scape your life and become a traveler, relax while you are delivering a package, the same way we all relax while we drive someplace ,take a hike, take a shower, assemble a lego set, these are opportunities for meditation and MAYBE that is the main purpose of this game, give the player a time to think about life etc. while he makes a delivery. THE ISSUE IS that if I am right and this is the main objetive behind the game , it was TERRIBLY MARKETED ( or was on purpose?) Since people don’t know how to judge this thing they compared it to Metal Gear or any other GOOD ACTUAL game they love and that is why it sucks for many people, they bought a job simulator thinking they where getting “something else” cooler, etc . On the other hand if they have marketed as the thing it is, this game would have sold 10% what it has sold on its release date because it would be a game for an actual relatively small niche that still don’t know they have an itch for these kind of experiences. It would be great if they launched this game with a DEMO! so we could all try it and know beforehand if this is the experience for us or not before spending 60 USD. In summary, I believe new experiences are coming to video games and we might someday be able to live other lives that don’t resume to violence against someone or competition as we know it in video games , I am talking about something more like being able to be a fireman on your free time, become a marketing advisor for a great firm, becoming an astronaut, Why not? Why not being a fireman this year and be a chef the next? Real life only allow most of us to have one profession in a lifetime . Let’s hope innovation comes sooner than later because we are getting bored of killing zombies or shooting something new year after year. Take for example Detroit : become human game, it is a job simulator as well , a negotiator detective job while facing the “west world dilema” of being a Droid. We need innovative experiences! Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 87 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 87
  2. Negative: 2 out of 87
  1. Nov 14, 2019
    90
    Death Stranding isn’t a masterpiece; it doesn’t have the nuance or depth for that kind of lofty praise, but it does straddle the line between being just a video game and a tool that pulls people together. Death Stranding revels in the mundane and the simple joy of taking a hike while delivering packages from one place to another. It also has something to say about human nature and the resilience of our species, and while the message itself gets muddied in all the other overwrought filler that bogs down the game, it feels earnest, heartfelt, and genuine.
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    83
    Death Stranding isn’t for everyone, but if you are looking for a neat experimental exploration of the fetch quest, you’ll enjoy it. If you are looking for something more traditional, though, you should probably look elsewhere.
  3. Nov 11, 2019
    94
    Death Stranding will not be for everybody. It seems meticulously engineered for a pretty specific kind of nerd. My wife, for example, loves this game, and when she loves a game, she dumps hundreds of hours into it. Me? I merely like this game, and probably wouldn’t invest a bunch of time into it were it not for work. Of course, there will be people who won’t like the game at all; it will feel like a chore to them. Fortunately, it doesn’t take long to determine whether or not Death Stranding is a game for you. I recommend experiencing it in some way, though, be it through a stream or a borrowed copy, because I think it will be talked about for years to come.