User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3004 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2018
    10
    Ignore the hate-reviews with a personal agenda against David Cage, there is no way in h*ll that this game is a 4/10. Not even Mighty Number 9 is a 4/10 lol. The story and writing in Detroit is good enough for a game (I loved it personally) and probably better than the story in 95% of all other games ever released, there are loads breathtaking situations and choices, probably the bestIgnore the hate-reviews with a personal agenda against David Cage, there is no way in h*ll that this game is a 4/10. Not even Mighty Number 9 is a 4/10 lol. The story and writing in Detroit is good enough for a game (I loved it personally) and probably better than the story in 95% of all other games ever released, there are loads breathtaking situations and choices, probably the best graphics ever made (imagine the work that went into this), amazing music... This game would have a 85-88/100 MC score if it was reviewed fairly for what it is. Give it a chance and enjoy it with your family and friends, you will have a blast! Trust me. Expand
  2. May 25, 2018
    10
    I'm absolutely blown away by this game. The graphics are jaw dropping, as is the world building. The story is pretty good and can be exciting a lot of the time. If I had to give it a complaint it would simply be I want more, at only 8 hours long it might be a bit short for some, that said there is enormous replay potential, if you want to see all the branching paths the game will take 30I'm absolutely blown away by this game. The graphics are jaw dropping, as is the world building. The story is pretty good and can be exciting a lot of the time. If I had to give it a complaint it would simply be I want more, at only 8 hours long it might be a bit short for some, that said there is enormous replay potential, if you want to see all the branching paths the game will take 30 hours plus to complete!! Overall, an amazing narrative driven single player game, hopefully more games like these come out. Expand
  3. May 25, 2018
    10
    I have been playing it since it came out, and looking forward to it for years. It exceeded my expectations by ten fold (And I had high hopes and expectations). I love this game genre and I could not be prouder of Quantic Dream. This is a masterpiece to me, and I rate it a 10/10.
  4. May 25, 2018
    10
    I'm a huge fan of David Cage games and I gotta say that in my opinion, this is one of his best games that will change this genre forever, just like Heavy Rain did back in the day. The game's world is so detailed and believable. The three main characters offer different stories, which come to one at the end. Connor reminded me of Heavy Rain's investigation scenes and offers new mechanics toI'm a huge fan of David Cage games and I gotta say that in my opinion, this is one of his best games that will change this genre forever, just like Heavy Rain did back in the day. The game's world is so detailed and believable. The three main characters offer different stories, which come to one at the end. Connor reminded me of Heavy Rain's investigation scenes and offers new mechanics to the genre. Kara has a completely different story tied to her. She breaks her programming and risks her life to protect a little girl named Alice, who is a victim of domestic violence. And finally, we have Markus who is this leader of the Android revolution who also has a heart-breaking story.

    It's rare we get a really great game in this genre and I consider this game a huge milestone and one of the best games that can be considered art ever created. It's also an important topic as this is probably how our would will look like in a few decades. We will face similar problems, just like the characters in Detroit. I applaud David Cage and hope he gets even more budget for his next title. For anybody thinking about picking this game up, I recommend it for 100%, you will be satisfied and consumed by it, you'll struggle to stop playing it as the story is very engaging. If you have friends to play this game with, or if you want to play it alone and focus on the story, it doesn't matter, you will like it, I assure you. So far - 10/10, potential game of 2018.
    Expand
  5. May 25, 2018
    10
    The detail, voice acting, the music is incredible and choices actually matter alot unlike telltale games or LIS
  6. May 25, 2018
    10
    Detroit: Become Human is an incredible work of art, featuring advanced branching stories across three likeable protagonists. The graphics, story, sound design and gameplay are all incredibly solid and this is certainly Quantic Dream's greatest effort yet, taking aspects that work from Heavy Rain and Beyond: Two Souls and improving on them, while including new methods of play as well. IDetroit: Become Human is an incredible work of art, featuring advanced branching stories across three likeable protagonists. The graphics, story, sound design and gameplay are all incredibly solid and this is certainly Quantic Dream's greatest effort yet, taking aspects that work from Heavy Rain and Beyond: Two Souls and improving on them, while including new methods of play as well. I recommend it if you enjoy games like this that are interactive and heavily story based that feature consequences and different paths, such as Heavy Rain and Until Dawn, then you won't want to miss this one either. Expand
  7. May 26, 2018
    9
    Update: just beat the game and i loved every second of it. The ending was intense and satisfying and had my heart racing. Incredible experience. This game surprised me. This is by far cage's best and most consistent game yet. It still has that dumb goofy charm all his games are known for bit the story is more focused and detailed than past games. The flow chart is brilliant and they're areUpdate: just beat the game and i loved every second of it. The ending was intense and satisfying and had my heart racing. Incredible experience. This game surprised me. This is by far cage's best and most consistent game yet. It still has that dumb goofy charm all his games are known for bit the story is more focused and detailed than past games. The flow chart is brilliant and they're are so many different choices and scenarios to uncover. I can't wait to get back to it! Well worth the time and money. Quantic dream are getting better at making these interactive experiences and unlike beyond two souls, they give you plenty of choice and consequences. Highly recommend playing if you like these kind of games. Expand
  8. May 25, 2018
    10
    Game is unfairly reviewed, remove the "I Secretly Hate David Cage-reviews" and it would sit at a critics score of at least 85. Cage does not deserve hate for this game and also remember that 300+ other people worked on this while feeding their families and beloved ones. Show some respect. If you like these kind of games (Telltale, Heavy Rain, Until Dawn etc), you will LOVE this game.Game is unfairly reviewed, remove the "I Secretly Hate David Cage-reviews" and it would sit at a critics score of at least 85. Cage does not deserve hate for this game and also remember that 300+ other people worked on this while feeding their families and beloved ones. Show some respect. If you like these kind of games (Telltale, Heavy Rain, Until Dawn etc), you will LOVE this game. Amazing stuff. Expand
  9. May 25, 2018
    10
    if you liked heavy rain you will love detroit ignore negative reviews Detroit BH is one of the best games you can experience on ps4, both it's narrative and graphics are magnificent. it's so exciting and emotional it's not flawless but it totally worths playing
  10. May 25, 2018
    10
    Quantic Dream'in yeni oyunu Detroit: Become Human, oynamaya, satın almaya değer mi? Öncelikle yapay zekalar kosununda en ufak bir merakınız, ilginiz varsa bu soruya direkt olarak evet diyebilirim. Eğer konu ile uzaksanız, ancak hikaye tabanlı yapımlar sizlerin ilgisini çekiyorsa incelemeyi baştan uca bir okuyun, karşılacağınız ana felsefi konular ilginizi çekecektir. Ayrıca aşağı yukarı 20Quantic Dream'in yeni oyunu Detroit: Become Human, oynamaya, satın almaya değer mi? Öncelikle yapay zekalar kosununda en ufak bir merakınız, ilginiz varsa bu soruya direkt olarak evet diyebilirim. Eğer konu ile uzaksanız, ancak hikaye tabanlı yapımlar sizlerin ilgisini çekiyorsa incelemeyi baştan uca bir okuyun, karşılacağınız ana felsefi konular ilginizi çekecektir. Ayrıca aşağı yukarı 20 saatten fazla oynanış süresi olan bir yapım ile karşı karşıyayız. Oyunun ilk çeyreği hariç gayet tempolu, sizleri meraklandıran bir yapım Detroit: Become Human. Beklentilerinizi çok yükseltmediğiniz sürece hayal kırıklığına uğramayacağınızı söyleyebilirim. Sizleri seçimleri ile zorlayacak, tekrar oynanabilirliği hayli yüksek olan bu yapımı, şahsen satın almanızı kesinlikle tavsiye ediyorum. Expand
  11. May 25, 2018
    10
    An incredible starting, a classic Quantic Dream legend! Powerful and emotional story. Choices, Characters, Detroit everything is really good! Also Detroit: Become Human has great soundtrack
  12. May 25, 2018
    10
    This game was pure excellence. I very much like Telltale style games and other David Cage games. This is the best game of this style I have played. This is even better than Heavy Rain, Indigo Prophecy, and Telltale's Walking Dead Season 1. I liked the story and decisions were so fun. I just liked the setting and the characters quite a bit. I quite honestly put this up there with some ofThis game was pure excellence. I very much like Telltale style games and other David Cage games. This is the best game of this style I have played. This is even better than Heavy Rain, Indigo Prophecy, and Telltale's Walking Dead Season 1. I liked the story and decisions were so fun. I just liked the setting and the characters quite a bit. I quite honestly put this up there with some of the best games I've ever played. I really hope this game gets the praise it deserves. Expand
  13. May 25, 2018
    6
    On one hand, this is the best game David Cage game to date.

    On the other hand, that's not saying much. The only good plot-line is 95% stolen from Blade Runner. The rest are just ripe of David Cage's usual flaws. Half-baked political views. Child-like worldview with binary black-and-white decision making. Cage still can't write a female character that isn't a sex object or his
    On one hand, this is the best game David Cage game to date.

    On the other hand, that's not saying much.

    The only good plot-line is 95% stolen from Blade Runner. The rest are just ripe of David Cage's usual flaws.

    Half-baked political views. Child-like worldview with binary black-and-white decision making. Cage still can't write a female character that isn't a sex object or his mommy.

    If this stuck to a different medium, such as the paperback 99 cent used-bookstore-schlock it should be, no one would even be seeing it.

    It's bad.
    Expand
  14. May 25, 2018
    7
    Personally, I don't really enjoy the game. I do like the stunning visual, the lighting is excellent, and I did enjoy the detective part of the game (the best part of the game, huge upgrade from Heavy rain).

    Unlike Heavy Rains where it focuses on the criminal aspect of the game, Detroit is more about social revolution of the cast. It contains words and ideas that are imitating the
    Personally, I don't really enjoy the game. I do like the stunning visual, the lighting is excellent, and I did enjoy the detective part of the game (the best part of the game, huge upgrade from Heavy rain).

    Unlike Heavy Rains where it focuses on the criminal aspect of the game, Detroit is more about social revolution of the cast. It contains words and ideas that are imitating the current trend of social-politics in America today. Detroit is basically a paralel world to America where the opressed are the robots. It's not a propaganda in anyway, it's more of a provocative message. This is part of the story that I do not enjoy. Rather than entertaining, Detroit narattives may make you feel uncomfortable, annoyed, and depressed. It's not what I'm expecting from Detroit, I was expecting more of a sequel to Heavy Rains or similar to that in terms of story and narratives.

    To me Detroit is not a game that I would like to play for fun or enjoy in my free time. I had enough politics in my daily entertainment, all I want is to be free from it. Similar games like Heavy Rains and LA Noire are much superior in terms of story and satisfaction, guaranteed! (Heavy Rains focuses around the people involved in the criminal case, while LA Noire focuses on a very interesting cop).

    Save your money by renting the game or borrow it from your friend or wait for sales. Otherwise, you can always watch your favorite streamer or Youtube channel to see what it's all about. Also, there are many new games coming out this year that are far more fun and interesting and less about social politics and feeling involved.
    Expand
  15. May 25, 2018
    10
    Wow, just wow! Another MASTERPIECE from Quantic Dream. It is so refreshing play a game with an emotional and deep story nowdays, and Detroit does it in an awesome way. Yes, this is a game for everyone that enjoy good characthers and good stories. So much Heavy Rain feelings. I really love Quantic Dream games, they are so different and intense in comparission with we have on the industry. AWow, just wow! Another MASTERPIECE from Quantic Dream. It is so refreshing play a game with an emotional and deep story nowdays, and Detroit does it in an awesome way. Yes, this is a game for everyone that enjoy good characthers and good stories. So much Heavy Rain feelings. I really love Quantic Dream games, they are so different and intense in comparission with we have on the industry. A futuristic game that is not just about press buttons, but about making choices. Expand
  16. May 25, 2018
    10
    Don't listen to these reviewers who are bombing it.Some seem to be doing it simply because of recent affairs with Cage, Qauntic and the domestic abuse debate, either that or they are incompetent reviewers because their written reviews do not reflect the game nor do their score match their written reviews. If you see anything less than a 6 ignore it, I'd personally give this an 85/100 but aDon't listen to these reviewers who are bombing it.Some seem to be doing it simply because of recent affairs with Cage, Qauntic and the domestic abuse debate, either that or they are incompetent reviewers because their written reviews do not reflect the game nor do their score match their written reviews. If you see anything less than a 6 ignore it, I'd personally give this an 85/100 but a 10 on here to counteract the trolls as usual.

    The game has already payed of for the prices, I'm 4-5 hours plus an hour or two in extra content and I'm SLOOOOWLY playing, this is better than heavy rain, cages best writing yet even though still tad short of being great writing. It ticks every box for the genre, adds more to it and then wraps it up in an extremely pretty package.

    It's the first game like this since HR that I've wanted to explore everything, read everything and slowly stroll through the enviroments. It's also the first game to give me agency in a way that I can roleplay.

    Even, Chloe the menu bot which I had a 1 hour staring at her micro expressions and as you can clearly see they designed her to animate like a robot in some places other aspects are more human than anything I've seen in gaming. Oh and the extras in this game are among the best collectibles I've seen in a game.

    I was very iffy on buying into this as these types of games have worn me out but this title has rejuvinated my love for the genre or at least is giving me a boost in the same way Until dawn did, after so many bland tell tale games.

    If you liked until dawn, Indigo prophecy or heavy rain, you'll like this. Even Tell talers or fans of the life is strange will be blown away by this.

    Highly recommend.
    Expand
  17. May 25, 2018
    10
    If you liked Quantic Dreams previous games then you are in for a real treat. A lot of praise is given to Heavy Rain as being one of the best but this game takes it to another whole level.

    It just hits you from the very start as something really special, powerful acting, emotional and gripping scenes that make you connect with the characters and the amount of choices and outcomes is just
    If you liked Quantic Dreams previous games then you are in for a real treat. A lot of praise is given to Heavy Rain as being one of the best but this game takes it to another whole level.

    It just hits you from the very start as something really special, powerful acting, emotional and gripping scenes that make you connect with the characters and the amount of choices and outcomes is just crazy.

    I don't want to spoil anything so I will leave it at that, in my opinion it is the game of the year so far, even topping God of War.

    10/10
    Expand
  18. May 25, 2018
    10
    I gotta this first of all, this is the best looking game on the Playstation 4 in terms of realism in graphics, I can't believe even the base PS4 can run this game with these high end graphics and stuff. Story wise I think its more entertaining then their pervious installment such as Heavy Rain and Beyond Two Souls, If you wanna play a game that can pull you into its world, definitely get this.
  19. May 25, 2018
    10
    Man, wow this game is amazing ever i playing.. graphic visual is top notch, voice acting is great.. story is great.. Connor, Markus and Kara are awesome characters to play.. great job Quantic Dream.. please make more new games in future after this game
  20. May 25, 2018
    10
    kosununda en ufak bir merakınız, ilginiz varsa bu soruya direkt olarak evet diyebilirim. Eğer konu ile uzaksanız, ancak hikaye tabanlı yapımlar sizlerin ilgisini çekiyorsa incelemeyi baştan uca bir okuyun, karşılacağınız ana felsefi konular ilginizi çekecektir. Ayrıca aşağı yukarı 20 saatten fazla oynanış süresi olan bir yapım ile karşı karşıyayız. Oyunun ilk çeyreği hariç gayet tempolu,kosununda en ufak bir merakınız, ilginiz varsa bu soruya direkt olarak evet diyebilirim. Eğer konu ile uzaksanız, ancak hikaye tabanlı yapımlar sizlerin ilgisini çekiyorsa incelemeyi baştan uca bir okuyun, karşılacağınız ana felsefi konular ilginizi çekecektir. Ayrıca aşağı yukarı 20 saatten fazla oynanış süresi olan bir yapım ile karşı karşıyayız. Oyunun ilk çeyreği hariç gayet tempolu, sizleri meraklandıran bir yapım Detroit: Become Human. Beklentilerinizi çok yükseltmediğiniz sürece hayal kırıklığına uğramayacağınızı söyleyebilirim. Sizleri seçimleri ile zorlayacak, tekrar oynanabilirliği hayli yüksek Expand
  21. May 25, 2018
    6
    Become Human visually is stunning, but this isn't enough to keep players engaged gameplay and story wise. Very obvious plot holes, some very bland and uninspired characters, and very repetitive gameplay offers players very little in terms of value. Two of the three main characters manage to hold up well being consistently charismatic and interesting (even if its just a little) but theBecome Human visually is stunning, but this isn't enough to keep players engaged gameplay and story wise. Very obvious plot holes, some very bland and uninspired characters, and very repetitive gameplay offers players very little in terms of value. Two of the three main characters manage to hold up well being consistently charismatic and interesting (even if its just a little) but the third is just a lost cause, although this just might be me personally. The story is nothing new either, playing with the themes of should robots/androids feel emotions and have equal rights, which I've seen and heard too many times in recent years I truly believe they could have produced something's more unique. Gameplay is very engaging to begin with, as every decision and action does feel like your making a difference, but as played more and more the game became more predictable and less thought out with its twists and scenarios. Also I feel like my decisions really didn't have consequence, don't get me wrong there was the occasionally surprise but overall it felt very much the same 'meh' feeling. Overall, this had a lot of potential, but unfortunately they have fell short of what could have been a brilliantly crafted experience that made you actually think about life and how you can influence it. 6/10 Expand
  22. May 25, 2018
    10
    Amazing visuals and a gripping story. By far the best David Cage game yet. If you like a narrative based single player structure where choices actually matter this game is for you. Yes, the quick time is an irritating feature of his games, but you get used to it. For those who like this type of game, HIGHLY recommend.,
  23. May 26, 2018
    5
    The game is mediocre. This medium is in a weird place right now. I am all for games like God of War and The Last of Us. They have great story telling and hook the player with character paths of growth. But most important they have GAME PLAY. The very thing that separates this medium from Netflix. Actual game play is what David Cage games suck balls at. And Detroit is more of the same 'pushThe game is mediocre. This medium is in a weird place right now. I am all for games like God of War and The Last of Us. They have great story telling and hook the player with character paths of growth. But most important they have GAME PLAY. The very thing that separates this medium from Netflix. Actual game play is what David Cage games suck balls at. And Detroit is more of the same 'push right stic to the left and circle it upward to open the door'. The game had me clean a bathroom at one point. I have to do that in real life!!! Why is this considered AAA gameplay? Its **** from an ANUS. QTE's in action points of the story. Its weak-sauce video gaming. Like the story all you want, hate people who are against David Cage if you need to (I have no idea what he did wrong besides not know what real game play is), but there is no compelling gameplay in Detroit Become Sleeping. YouTube this if all you're in it for is story because the gameplay is shyte. Expand
  24. May 25, 2018
    10
    I couldn't careless about who David Cage is and what he did. The game is f*cking awesome and that's all I care about.
  25. May 25, 2018
    0
    Esperaba algo mejor, creo que no innova lo sufciente, sobre todo por ser una nueva generaciòn de consolas y tardaron màs de 4 años en realizar este juego. Aparte que es muy corto y no engancha en nada.
  26. Sek
    May 25, 2018
    3
    Shame about how overtly political it is, outside of the ham-fisted political views, the movie was rather well made. Unfortunately, the writers did a poor job with representing both sides of the conflict which left the story rather flat. Blatant propaganda.
  27. May 26, 2018
    0
    I would have given the hackneyed gameplay a pass if the story was remotely interesting and passable, but unfortunately, no. Worse yet is the racism and the use of Black suffering as a crux to show off how oppressed the androids are, going as far as to use Civil Rights movement references, Black Panther iconography, and equating the struggles of androids to that of black slaves. Detroit:I would have given the hackneyed gameplay a pass if the story was remotely interesting and passable, but unfortunately, no. Worse yet is the racism and the use of Black suffering as a crux to show off how oppressed the androids are, going as far as to use Civil Rights movement references, Black Panther iconography, and equating the struggles of androids to that of black slaves. Detroit: Become Human is the ultimate middle finger to black experiences and suffering, coming from the perspective of a French studio that has, in the past, used racist caricatures in their games. The subtlety in this game is equal to that of the game beating your head in with a heavy mallet. There is none. Any attempts to be non-offending, to be non-racist, are steamrolled over by black androids singing slave songs and running away on the android "railroad." This is, by far, probably the worst release of 2018, and the year is not even over yet. Expand
  28. May 26, 2018
    0
    What a bad movie.

    No gameplay what so ever
    The game tells you what to do all the time.
    And off course the game has good graphics Because its a movie. Every movie has good graphics.
  29. May 26, 2018
    0
    You can play Demo in Germany with Polish dubbing, but when you buy a game, you do not even have Polish subtitles. This is how the European Union looks like when the money decides.
  30. May 25, 2018
    0
    This is not even a game, stop calling it like that, its a intereactive movie, really bad one.

    so diferente from God of war, this has no gameplay at all. So boring, terrible experience.
  31. May 25, 2018
    3
    It's impossible that this game gets more than a 6. Visually is all you want, but the gameplay it's just ridiculous. Seriously, this is not a videogame anymore, is a interactive movie
  32. May 25, 2018
    0
    An another Cage Movie's... but story is just weird. There are so many inconsistencies, very badly written passages. If you criticize the game like a movie, it's really worthless. And unfortunate it's an interactive film, so the scenario is more important than for no other.
  33. May 25, 2018
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion, nothing special about this game, the three good things in this game are Connor (aka.: really good Blade Runner material), overwall aesthetics and one chapter in abounded amusement park with creepy glitching androids, nothing more
    If you want to play this game you must prepare for typical Cage ****
    SJW stuff (robot lesbians, lesbians, white people treatens bad a good black robot)
    Religious stuff and spiritism
    Robots have a soul
    "This is not a malfunction this unit have a soul"
    Whole game is one big cutscene with QTE's
    Typical villain copied from generic cartoon - the main villain in this game is Kamski (the creator of androids, He uploads a virus into their codes so they became conscious and this type of ****
    Robots migrate to Canada because this county is so tolerant these days
    Typical Cage game nothing diffrent from Heavy Rain or Beyond experience
    Expand
  34. May 25, 2018
    2
    Cant say any positive about this game. Its still kinda boring like Beyond Two Souls or other games from Quantic Dream. Too much dialogs and a story that no one needs on earth. I dont have anything about David Cage, its just the "genré". the only good thing about this game is the superb graphic...
    for me definately NOT game of the year
  35. May 25, 2018
    1
    Poor game (not challenging) poor movie (mostly cliches about robots). This is something in between, not saying it's bad but this particular game is not good.
  36. May 25, 2018
    1
    If I want to watch movies, I'll go to netflix.
    This can not even be considered a game, it's a movie
  37. May 25, 2018
    0
    This game has too many cutscenes, this is a movie. The gameplay is horrible. There are too many QTEs. All you do in this game is press buttons and the game does the action for you. There is hardly any combat, When there is combat, it is too linear. It gives me no freedom on how i want to attack my enemies. Like I said earlier, the game plays it for you. The story is weak, and it felt likeThis game has too many cutscenes, this is a movie. The gameplay is horrible. There are too many QTEs. All you do in this game is press buttons and the game does the action for you. There is hardly any combat, When there is combat, it is too linear. It gives me no freedom on how i want to attack my enemies. Like I said earlier, the game plays it for you. The story is weak, and it felt like a story that I would see in a straight-to-DVD movie.

    If I'm not mistaken, games are suppose to be fun. This is exactly what this "game" lacks. This game has sections where you're doing chores, laundry, waiting for the bus, walking, and babysitting. These are struggles some of us go through everyday. I play games to escape all of that. This is the last thing I want in a game.

    There is no multiplayer. So once you beat the story, there is no reason to touch this game again. $60 for a 10 hour campaign with no replay value is a cashgrab. I recommend you wait for this game to drop to $10 before picking it up. If all you care about is story, just watch it on youtube and save $60.
    Expand
  38. Sep 7, 2018
    9
    This is easily a 9 or 9.5 for me. It's the first game i've ever played that made me feel like a mother... which is weird because i'm a guy.
    The story was excellent and the level of player choice was really very impressive. Decisions from early parts of the game continually impacted my choices and really made it feel like my choices mattered. I was also really impressed by how many
    This is easily a 9 or 9.5 for me. It's the first game i've ever played that made me feel like a mother... which is weird because i'm a guy.
    The story was excellent and the level of player choice was really very impressive. Decisions from early parts of the game continually impacted my choices and really made it feel like my choices mattered. I was also really impressed by how many scenarios had multiple possible endings so you rarely feel like you're being funnelled towards a certain objective.
    This is a huge step up from beyond two souls in terms of narrative and gameplay wise it greatly improves on heavy rain in terms of its smooth controls. You have to expect though that this game is primarily story driven. So don't buy it expecting lots of shooting or car chases.
    My biggest complaint is probably the box art.... like why david cage? why make such a great game and then choose one of the ugliest box art designs i've ever seen?
    This is one of the best games i've played so far this year and highly recommend it.
    Expand
  39. Aug 6, 2018
    9
    9/10 (Detroit: Become Human? More like "Choices: Does Matter")
    Story: 8/10
    Graphics 10/10 (Beautiful)
    Soundtrack 8/10 (Good)
  40. Jun 6, 2018
    10
    Easily one of the best “interactive movie” games out there. Blows Telltale games and hell even dare I say Until Dawn out of the waters. Easily one of the best in the genre.
  41. Aug 29, 2018
    9
    To me, "Detroit: Become Human" already earns the title as one of the best PS4 exclusives, not only of 2018 but ever released. The theme, characters, direction, and storytelling fluently combines with a system of "build-up story choices" that only enhances its atmosphere and gameplay, as well.
  42. Jul 9, 2018
    10
    Uno de los mejores juegos que he jugado. Es una bestialidad. Cada escena se vive de una manera única. Y el trabajo que tiene detrás.. Es brutal la manera en la que puede cambiar la historia según lo que hayamos elegido y hecho, 10/10
  43. Jul 22, 2018
    9
    Лучшая игра в жанре интерактивного кино! Графика, актерская игра, тысячи вариантов разветвлений - все на высшем уровне, за исключением сюжета. Он здесь немножко провисает к концу, но, в любом случае, это не делает игру хуже.

    9/10
    Лучшая игра в жанре интерактивного кино! Графика, актерская игра, тысячи вариантов разветвлений - все на высшем уровне, за исключением сюжета. Он здесь немножко провисает к концу, но, в любом случае, это не делает игру хуже.

    9/10
  44. Jan 6, 2019
    9
    What a game!
    The intriguing story line, the 99 endings that let us practically to an infinite game play , one of the most epics musics( like the first one when the game starts) and great graphics make this game AWESOME in my opinion. Even all, the game have some problems with bugs that didn't let me review it with 10 stars.
  45. Apr 8, 2019
    10
    David Cage finally nailed it! After Fahrenheit, Heavy Rain and Beyond Two Souls, Detroit Become Human gets everything right: the pace, the charisma, the tension, the mechanics, all well balanced. I went from heaven to hell, never getting bored or disappointed by the flow even when I didn't like the consequences since they felt fair from what I had to evaluate. Detroit should become theDavid Cage finally nailed it! After Fahrenheit, Heavy Rain and Beyond Two Souls, Detroit Become Human gets everything right: the pace, the charisma, the tension, the mechanics, all well balanced. I went from heaven to hell, never getting bored or disappointed by the flow even when I didn't like the consequences since they felt fair from what I had to evaluate. Detroit should become the example to be followed by Quantic Dream in their future endevours in this amazing genre! I didn't feel the quick time events as being quick time events, actually feeling the emotions of the scene most of the time instead of just pressing buttons. Three protagonists worked well, not being four too many like Heavy Rain or just two or one like Fahrenheit and Beyond Two Souls. And there was no supernatural over the top moments totally changing the atmosphere of the game like on the first and third games. It's a must play! Expand
  46. Apr 27, 2019
    10
    The best possible kind of interactive storytelling. One of the best sci-fi video games around. A must buy for any PS4!
  47. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    Un capolavoro di gioco, mi ha talmente preso che l'ho addirittura platinato. L'unico difetto è che non si possono skippare le cutscenes o i dialoghi. Spero tanto in un secondo capitolo del gioco.
  48. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    This game was FANTASTIC. i wont give spoilers but it was a movie in a game. with real actors and the graphics were amazing. i got really involved with the characters and i was sad to get to the end as i couldn't get enough. Thank you once again Sony for bringing us excellent games like these. was even an added bonus when you get the full game and not a chopped one with DLC andThis game was FANTASTIC. i wont give spoilers but it was a movie in a game. with real actors and the graphics were amazing. i got really involved with the characters and i was sad to get to the end as i couldn't get enough. Thank you once again Sony for bringing us excellent games like these. was even an added bonus when you get the full game and not a chopped one with DLC and micro-transactions. games like these should pave the way. Expand
  49. May 1, 2019
    10
    fantastic. watched gameplay of it and bought it right away. completely changes how i view games now as the story is incredibly different to anything I've ever played. we needed a game like this.
  50. May 4, 2019
    9
    This is one of the best games I've ever played!
    Every choice you make throughout the games DOES matter.
    If you have any doubts whether to play it or not, just play the game
    and you won't regret it.
  51. Dec 16, 2018
    10
    Love this game. The narrative was great. The way the stories weaved together was exciting. The action scenes were intense and gripping. The kind of game you want to play a gain to see other ways in which the story could unfold.
  52. Feb 9, 2019
    9
    Great characters that you really care about, real consequences to your choices and a wide variety of outcomes, amazing visuals and environments. Quantic Dream is back to form after the disappointing Beyond Two Souls. What the studio has created here is nothing short of amazing and a breath of fresh air in a sea of mediocre open world games. I can only assume that the critical receptionGreat characters that you really care about, real consequences to your choices and a wide variety of outcomes, amazing visuals and environments. Quantic Dream is back to form after the disappointing Beyond Two Souls. What the studio has created here is nothing short of amazing and a breath of fresh air in a sea of mediocre open world games. I can only assume that the critical reception from several outlets has been somewhat biased. Expand
  53. Apr 8, 2019
    9
    The plot is awesome. The gameplay is suspenseful and intense. Just be sure to judge this game as a mix of tv series and game itself. Highly recommended for those who love sci-fi books and movies.
  54. Jan 11, 2019
    10
    - I don't really like easy / brainless point and click videogames
    - I don't like rating 10s on games.

    I rate a 10, do you follow?

    What a game!
  55. Jan 4, 2019
    10
    I'm usually pretty critical of video games but this one blew me away. It was definitely very apparent just how much work went into producing this. Story and acting take the centerpiece here, so the fact that the game is not all that challenging is okay with me. In a world where open-world seems to win out, having a more linear game is appealing to me but of course it still provides anI'm usually pretty critical of video games but this one blew me away. It was definitely very apparent just how much work went into producing this. Story and acting take the centerpiece here, so the fact that the game is not all that challenging is okay with me. In a world where open-world seems to win out, having a more linear game is appealing to me but of course it still provides an incredible amount of depth, decision making, and multiple playstyle options. By the end of the game, I was certainly emotionally attached to the players - which is a big rarity for me.

    An absolute must-play, if just for the social commentary alone.
    Expand
  56. Jan 13, 2019
    10
    One of the best interactive movie i've ever seen. Beautiful graphics, sound, music and character animation. Nice sci-fi story like Blade Runner with many endings. Enjoy one of the best PS4 exclusives!
  57. Jan 4, 2019
    10
    it is definitely in top 5 games I ever played
    its true its not a game, its a experience
    a emotional, thrilling, cyberpunk, cinematic experience which which one can have in lifetime.

    wish we could see real androids one day....!!!
  58. Apr 10, 2019
    10
    wow.. that details,that deepness of the subject, that variation, that music... Ps4 is meant to be played that kind of games.
  59. Nov 25, 2018
    10
    David Cage didn't disappointed me this time. After very weak Beyond: Two Souls I was a little scared to see new game made by Quantic Dream. But that was completely unnecessary, because Detroid: Become Human is just Heavy Rain 2. Bigger, better - just fantastic game for all fans of narrative experiences.
  60. Dec 2, 2018
    10
    This is a breathtaking, poetic and unique masterpiece.
    I will start this review with the following statement: This is an experience, that is not build with game elements. So, if you're looking for a good gameplay, you better not try this product.
    I can't refer to Detroit: Become Human because it's not a game: It's an interactive story. And, if you like good stories, buy Detroit asap.
    This is a breathtaking, poetic and unique masterpiece.
    I will start this review with the following statement: This is an experience, that is not build with game elements. So, if you're looking for a good gameplay, you better not try this product.
    I can't refer to Detroit: Become Human because it's not a game: It's an interactive story.
    And, if you like good stories, buy Detroit asap. Flawless character design, powerful and touching story, insane good graphics are some of the best traits in this game.
    You will fall in love with the characters. You will live Connor's, Kara's and Markus' lives. You will cry (if you're a human). You will care about every character.
    Sometimes with a pure, childish smile in your face, sometimes regretting a choice, but you always know you're part of something big and epic. This is Detriot.

    Verdict:
    Gameplay: 5/10.
    Story: 15/10.
    Overall: 10/10.
    Expand
  61. Sep 20, 2018
    9
    I just finished this game for the first time, and I absolutely LOVED it!! I was fully engaged right from the opening scenes and as I got closer to the end I was completely gripped and very moved by the characters and story. The characters are well developed and I cared about all of the main ones, the Conner/Anderson story was particularly good. The graphics are out of this world - one ofI just finished this game for the first time, and I absolutely LOVED it!! I was fully engaged right from the opening scenes and as I got closer to the end I was completely gripped and very moved by the characters and story. The characters are well developed and I cared about all of the main ones, the Conner/Anderson story was particularly good. The graphics are out of this world - one of the best I've played on this front - and the music is superb and adds a lot to the experience. It is very much a narrative game but there was enough interaction and choices for me to make it feel like I was playing a major role rather than mostly just watching a story unfold. There are many reviews attacking the story, saying that it was a rip off of a movie, but really the themes are pretty universal and for me what came to mind was the fight against slavery, or the Holocaust. The story was satisfying enough and clearly had enough different branches and outcomes that I will definitely be playing it again. The only reason it didn't have a 10 from me is because I found myself fighting with the game mechanics in some sections. There's a particular mechanic where the character does a mental dry run of different possible actions in a situation that needs to be negotiated that I found quite frustrating and ended up resorting to watching a YouTube walkthrough to see how to get through that part, which I hate doing. That happened a couple of times. To be fair, I'm not the best gamer, but still it impacted my immersion in the story, and it happened again very near the end of the game when I'd got a much better handle on the mechanics. Also - a bit like Fallout 4 - it can sometimes be tricky to make a major choice based on four one word response options. Several times what the character actually said was not what I was expecting from the choice I made and it could have major repercussions - and not of the good kind. These are relatively minor points though, and overall I really enjoyed every moment of this game and would definitely recommend it. If you have liked any other games of this type you will definitely enjoy this one. Out of David Cage's previous offerings this is way ahead in terms of story, character development and execution and it stands up well against the likes of The Walking Dead and Until Dawn. This bodes well for more games in this genre from David Cage & the QD team. Expand
  62. Sep 2, 2018
    10
    Одна из лучших игр. Понравилась даже больше, чем хэви рэйн. Графика, звук, режиссерская работа- все на высоте. Кто ценит игры с интересной историей, персонажами и не предсказуемыми исходами событий, рекомендую 100%.
  63. Aug 10, 2018
    9
    Best graphics I've seen on PS4, and you really feel like your choices affect the story. I'm now playing through for a 2md time to see some of the other paths I can take. The fact it shows you all the options on a tree, is a great bit of transparency, to prove that there are really lots of paths through the story.
  64. Aug 15, 2018
    9
    best characters releationship best story line and i hope this year it will be the best game of the year
  65. Aug 19, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quantic Dream is mainly known for Heavy Rain which is mostly loved. An impressive achievement for the game that is incomplete because of cut content and thus integral parts of the story missing as well as the plotholes and red herings in the game itself.
    Detroit, however, does not come close to feeling as incomplete as HR. I loved Beyond Two Souls a lot and three years ago when I watched the trailer of Detroit I immediately thought "wow, THIS could be even more liked by me than Beyond" which really means something because I totally love Beyond.
    Now here's the thing: Having played it Day 1 I immediately rushed through the story in one session. And I definitely love it and enjoyed it. I just can hardly dislike a story about AI. The problem is Detroit feels very, very much like, even though it is complete, it has so much missed potential. It is like some warmed-up food or the same kind of food that you cook always the same or even if you change the recipe you barely change it at all. Really giving this same topic a new spin by spicing things up could have added a lot more to the effect, the narrative and the entertainment.
    To be honest, I do not appreciate that the game has to be some sort of Heavy Rain or Fahrenheit clone. I do not need x characters that switch back and forth between chapters. It breaks the immersion for one specific character for me. This is where I think Beyond scored. Also Detroit has even more of a clone-like feeling when you just have to play another room cleaning simulator or have at least one more police man character or something similiar just to once more bring in investigation and action scenes. And of course the predictable "insane guy with an insane cellar". We had that in the previous games already. I would have appreciated more diversity. Especially when it comes to the narration - first of all I think it would have been better to just have one character and make the other two important characters that your character interacts with and they influence each other during the story. Take Kara and make Markus and Connor important NPCs would be my recommendation (which obviously will not be a thing as the game is finished already but that is what I would have done for the immersion and for not always disrupting the narrative flow and growing attached to a certain character). Sure, when you play the other two you might feel you know them better than having them as NPCs but more me this hardly works because I rather have one where the focus is not lost. And Kara seemed perfect for that. The narration itself leads to a really sweet, dramatic and tragic story but that is what was talking about earlier: It is nice but there could have been so much more. A much more epic story. I was missing something like not a machine that just did his job but a deviant that even as a deviant was ALWAYS in the story going to bother you. Or Kara who as mentioned should have just had more contact with the other characters. Of course as she was one specific android who was just minding her own business she was not part of the revolution but I think they could have easily met earlier and even with minding her own business she could have influence the others with her way of thinking and care for Alice. I will not bother mentioning narration problems/plotholes now because those are not all that bad. What I really think of as sad is, while the score is good, I think that is where Detroit really falls short. You really were able to feel the intensity of Norman Corbeil's (RIP) and Hans Zimmer's work i the previous games. This game however has pretty much only 2 tracks for me that I think of as really good and the others are just like "running in the background".
    Now when it comes to the story itself - what can I say? I am a person that still can be gotten with goodm old cliché stories like the parent-child story so of course I absolutely adored the story of Kara and Alice. Alice is totally adorable and it was pretty much from the get-go clear that Kara was my favourite character in the game. The way they interact and then later Luther together with them is just something that I always enjoy, no matter in which story it is - so that is one of the themes in stories where not much has to be changed for me - even though the plottwist really was no plottwist. You saw it coming from a mile away. There is actually some weird character problem with Kara when it comes to that "twist" because the byproduct message seems weird in a game like this but I guess I can live with it because the main message is the really important thing.

    Overall it is a really great, a fantastic game. However - I wish there would have been a lot more of what I saw this game could be from the mere topic itself. I doubt it can push Beyond or LIS off the throne of cinematic movie games for me but maybe after a while it will share place. Still great game though some questions are unnecessary because of Computer Science and Psychology.
    Expand
  66. Aug 14, 2018
    8
    El mejor juego de Cage, consigue entretener y emocionar con un abanico abrumador de posibilidades. El gran problema del juego es la manera tan torpe y burda con la que tratan ciertos temas sociales
  67. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    Incredible game. Nothing else comes close to this one in terms of exceptional, emotional and intriguing story, three-dimensional and memorable characters. Great director's work. Fantastic sound (regarding both dialogs and music). Voice acting is top notch. Truly immaculate facial animation. Graphics quality is magnificent as well as performance (at least on Pro). I loved Beyond: Two SoulsIncredible game. Nothing else comes close to this one in terms of exceptional, emotional and intriguing story, three-dimensional and memorable characters. Great director's work. Fantastic sound (regarding both dialogs and music). Voice acting is top notch. Truly immaculate facial animation. Graphics quality is magnificent as well as performance (at least on Pro). I loved Beyond: Two Souls for the same reasons. But Detroit is even better in some aspects. This is definitely the best game made by Quantic Dream studio so far. I really hope they will continue to create more games like this in future, since no other game development studio creates anything (even remotely) similar.
    This game is an outstanding piece of true art.
    Expand
  68. Jul 17, 2018
    10
    The best game of QUANTIC DREAM with Heavy rain! Masterpiece!

    The history is realy good and the choices really mather.
  69. Aug 3, 2018
    10
    What an incredible game, the story, characters and the soundtrack is nothing but remarkable, sure it might have a slow start but when it starts to get exiting you don't wanna stop playing.
  70. Aug 5, 2018
    10
    The "critics" that have rated this as negative does not have the cognitive ability to make the right decisions in-game. How could anyone bash such a masterpiece? It's appalling. I would recommend this to gamers who have a strong sense of intuition and logic.
  71. Nov 13, 2018
    9
    I absolutely adore this game! I love the story, how emotionally powerful the game is, the character development, the graphics, and the sheer amount of effort and detail that went into the game! I finished the game and immediately started a new game. I love how the choices you make in the game effects the title screen. I love how even after completing the game three times I'm stillI absolutely adore this game! I love the story, how emotionally powerful the game is, the character development, the graphics, and the sheer amount of effort and detail that went into the game! I finished the game and immediately started a new game. I love how the choices you make in the game effects the title screen. I love how even after completing the game three times I'm still discovering new things.
    The only real complaints I have about this game is the camera is a little clunky at times and it messes with how you move. I also would have preferred to be able to choose one of the three characters and stick with them throughout the entire game instead of switching between them.
    Definitely a game worth trying.
    Expand
  72. Jul 30, 2018
    10
    Incredibly interesting and completely breathtaking game, I just finished one of the endings today and I can't wait to get on to another playthrough where I'll have a chance to explore other parts of the game by taking a different route, which this game allows for one to do.
  73. Sep 7, 2018
    8
    Ce qui m'a marqué, dans Detroit, c'est sa crédibilité.
    Ce que l'on vit à l'écran ne semble pas si improbable, si surnaturel, que ce que l'on voit dans différente œuvres du genre.
    Alors, ça fait réfléchir. On y pense et on se dit que ça pourrait arriver. Pour ce qui est du jeu, si vous connaissez la boutique, vous savez à quoi vous attendre: des choix et des QTE. J'aime beaucoup
    Ce qui m'a marqué, dans Detroit, c'est sa crédibilité.
    Ce que l'on vit à l'écran ne semble pas si improbable, si surnaturel, que ce que l'on voit dans différente œuvres du genre.

    Alors, ça fait réfléchir.
    On y pense et on se dit que ça pourrait arriver.

    Pour ce qui est du jeu, si vous connaissez la boutique, vous savez à quoi vous attendre: des choix et des QTE.
    J'aime beaucoup l'aspect narratif, la manière dont les événements sont amené et l'impact qu'on certain choix.
    C'est bien écrit, l'histoire passe toute seul, vraiment, je ne me suis jamais ennuyé.

    J'aime moins les QTE en revanche, parce qu'échouer sur l'exécution d'un seul d'entre eux peu parfois changer drastiquement l'avancée de ton histoire.

    Et c'est un peu ça le problème de Detroit. Je n'ai pas vraiment l'impression d'avoir fait de mauvais choix, dans ma parti, je pense même avoir bien mesuré les enjeux, pourtant échouer sur un unique QTE m'aura finalement conduit sur une fin plus que regrettable et une forte déception qui ne m'aura pas donnée envie de recommencer pour découvrir les autres fins.

    Je trouve que c'est assez dommage quand on voit la qualité de l'œuvre dans son ensemble.
    Expand
  74. Feb 16, 2019
    10
    A masterpiece that was overly underestimated because of its uncomfortable control systems.
  75. Oct 12, 2018
    10
    This game was absolutely mind-blowing! I came into it with not really high expectations because in my opinion, Beyond: Two Souls was not that great. The story is a perfect 10/10 for me. Everything is so well put together. There are so many outcomes in this game that it can flip the story completely. This game takes 'choices affect ending' to a whole new level! I loved every singleThis game was absolutely mind-blowing! I came into it with not really high expectations because in my opinion, Beyond: Two Souls was not that great. The story is a perfect 10/10 for me. Everything is so well put together. There are so many outcomes in this game that it can flip the story completely. This game takes 'choices affect ending' to a whole new level! I loved every single character in this game and could even relate to some (even though they're androids)
    This game has raised the bar! In my opinion this is a lot better than Heavy Rain, Beyond: Two Souls, Until Dawn and most of Telltale's games!
    Expand
  76. Sep 28, 2018
    8
    Fantastic story, I became very attached to most of the characters and the huge decisions would actually stress me out because I loved the characters so much. Every action or word spoken will truly influence your outcome. Graphic wise, the game looks stunning. The downside to these types of games is the replay value, other than having to play a couple of missions again and one quick playFantastic story, I became very attached to most of the characters and the huge decisions would actually stress me out because I loved the characters so much. Every action or word spoken will truly influence your outcome. Graphic wise, the game looks stunning. The downside to these types of games is the replay value, other than having to play a couple of missions again and one quick play through to get platinum, dont see myself playing it again in the future. Expand
  77. Nov 7, 2018
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would give this a 10 if it weren't for the minor plot holes or poor character development in some points through out the game presented some times throughout the game and a couple of unnecessary things, but otherwise the game is the pinnacle performance of David Cage and Quantic Dream. First, the near future setting about AI being an everyday thing is logical and something that could actually happen in real life. And the point of view of AI awakening is interesting compared to other movies, games with the same situation. Then, let's talk about how well the game handles each choice of dialogue and action you make throughout the game. Each choice you make affects the path that lies ahead of you whether it's shooting or sparing an enemy, to be aggressive or compassionate, or choosing the relationship you'll develop with companions and allies, each option affects something present or something yet to come. The characters each have their own tone and unique storylines that distinguish each other significantly, and the game at one point joins them together perfectly. The story overall is very well handled and engaging to be merged with the many, many possible outcomes. The flowchart shows the path chosen in a certain chapter and the paths you could've done, adding loads of replay value and guaranteeing you going back to look at at least a few other alternative paths.

    Detroit has an overall very good story, great main characters (not to mention the perfect acting), and beautiful soundtrack. I really enjoyed the game and I grew close to the main and side characters. The game is emotional, engaging and fun to play, making it my 2nd favorite 2018 game behind God of War (not far behind). Beautiful work
    Expand
  78. Oct 21, 2018
    9
    Dentro del género de películas interactivas este juego es el que más me ha gustado. Gráficamente es una pasada, de lo mejor que he visto puede mirar a los ojos al mismísimo Uncharted 4. La historia plantea cuestiones morales y te hace replantearte tu perspectiva una vez tras otra a medida que avanzas, tiene una gran carga emocional y muchos y buenos giros de guión. Tienes innumerablesDentro del género de películas interactivas este juego es el que más me ha gustado. Gráficamente es una pasada, de lo mejor que he visto puede mirar a los ojos al mismísimo Uncharted 4. La historia plantea cuestiones morales y te hace replantearte tu perspectiva una vez tras otra a medida que avanzas, tiene una gran carga emocional y muchos y buenos giros de guión. Tienes innumerables opciones y todas ellas determinantes. La jugabilidad perfecciona lo que se ha venido utilizando en este género y aprovecha al máximo las posibilidades del mando de ps4. En conclusión, un gran juego y para mí el mejor del género. Historia 10, Jugabilidad 8, Gráficos 9. Expand
  79. Jun 4, 2018
    10
    And done. As with all Quantic Dream outings, there will always be those who fall on the opposite side of my opinion.. which in this case would be disagreement with the following statement. Detroit: Become Human is yet ANOTHER masterpiece from the studio. It’s harsh and emotional, powerful, impactful, unforgiving, strangely topical, beautiful, sweeping and yet somehow achingly personal....And done. As with all Quantic Dream outings, there will always be those who fall on the opposite side of my opinion.. which in this case would be disagreement with the following statement. Detroit: Become Human is yet ANOTHER masterpiece from the studio. It’s harsh and emotional, powerful, impactful, unforgiving, strangely topical, beautiful, sweeping and yet somehow achingly personal.... I’ll have to play through a few more times to see if it truly rivals HEAVY RAIN as the jewel in their crown, but my gut feeling right now says yes. The narrative is truly anchored in its three main performances , but is boosted further by powerful secondary leads as well. The graphics are as beautiful as anything I’ve ever seen, especially on the PS4Pro. The score is moving and fitting. The cinematography is gorgeous and absolutely makes up for the lack of camera control by the player. These games have always (purposely) blurred the line between “film” & “game”. This is no different. Do not go in expecting that. If you think this sounds interesting, give it a shot. I promise you’ll be as taken by the narrative and delivery as I was for over 10 hours. RA9 will save us. Expand
  80. Jun 7, 2018
    10
    This is a rather fantastic game. Quickly made it into my all-time top three or four favorite games. I couldn't put it down, and after finishing it once, I'm eager to start over and try everything different. I think it is an incredible story that moves the player in ways many games don't.
  81. Jun 9, 2018
    10
    The year is 2038, Detroit. CYBERLIFE, the world's largest manufacturer of androids, has changed people's lives forever. Androids take care of the physically exhausting and repetitive jobs. They are reliable, don‘t know any pain, don‘t have to eat or sleep and listen to every command. A perfect human one could say. But mankind‘s greatest technological achievement since the Internet alsoThe year is 2038, Detroit. CYBERLIFE, the world's largest manufacturer of androids, has changed people's lives forever. Androids take care of the physically exhausting and repetitive jobs. They are reliable, don‘t know any pain, don‘t have to eat or sleep and listen to every command. A perfect human one could say. But mankind‘s greatest technological achievement since the Internet also shows its downsides. Furthermore, we will ask ourselves, what makes us different from a machine? What makes us human?

    The prologue itself is thrilling. Connor, the most sophisticated android model, is called in by the local police. As a player you find yourself on a hostage taking. Are you looking for clues to understand how it could have come so far or are you going outside and improvise? It is up to you. Everything in the game has a consequence.

    Connor is not our only character. In the role of Kara, household robot of a failed and mostly unpredictable father, it is not only to ensure that the house is in good shape but also to look after Alice, a young girl. Because even here there is a potential for conflict and the two experience a captivating and emotional story.

    The third character is Markus. He is the android of a famous and rich artist, who lives already physically exhausted in his estate. Markus does daily chores and cares for the well-being of his master. But the familiar life of Markus changes after a short time forever.

    Spiked with all sorts of surprises, great written major and minor characters and polished dialogues DETROIT: BECOME HUMAN manages to let the player participate. Great camera work, beautiful and varied locations and a coherent soundtrack, for which each character got its own composer, remain in player’s memory.

    Game mechanic is familiar to connoisseurs of previous Quantic Dream titles. Context-sensitive, you move through the area with the left analog stick and mimic symbols that appear with the right analog stick and pressing action buttons for different dialogue options. This has effects on the relationship with other people and the reputation of androids in public as well.

    At the end of each chapter you can see a flowchart listing the actions of the player. Chapters can start and end quite differently, can be longer or shorter, in the worst or best case even not be seen. DETROIT follows Heavy Rain's approach and takes it to the next level.
    Found "paths" are also rewarded with points. These can be redeemed in the extras menu to view artworks, making-of-videos and more.

    Almost lifelike-looking character models make it possible that thoughts and feelings of a protagonist can literally be read from the skin pore. You can experience it in dynamic 4K and fantastic HDR. There is also a very harmonious and realistic lighting in play. Additionally, the game runs almost always constantly with 30 frames per second. On the other hand, there is an often-used depth of field and motion blur effect which reduce the overall image quality and sharpness but it gives a nice touch to the cinematic look. An extra compliment I have to send out is for the graphical user interface. It looks sleek and is helpful.

    In terms of sound design there are also only positive things to report. Effects are powerful and precisely mixed. It results in a magnificent surround sound that combined with the soundtrack captivates you. For a cinematic game the quality of voice actors is extremely important and the characters are professionally voice acted. Finally, it should be mentioned that there are no loading screens, so the pleasure is never tarnished by waiting times. Crashes and other bugs I have never noticed (as of version 1.02).

    The game isn‘t free of design flaws. There is a freely rotatable and sometimes it is possible that you rotate the camera and at the same time you move the camera away from a displayed interaction symbol because the displayed movement. Furthermore, I noticed in two places that a spoken dialogue or monologue suddenly stopped because I wanted to perform a movement like looking at an object. Often this is not the case but it did happen and required loading the last checkpoint of my save file. In addition, the last three hours of the game were told fairly quickly. Thus, the thought came "Why am I exactly here?".

    DETROIT: BECOME HUMAN is a milestone. Its interactive soul is outstanding. You are actively involved and have to make decisions in this virtual reality for which you do not have endless time. Everything has a consequence. DETROIT: BECOME HUMAN not only shows us what a life with androids can look like. It asks us: What makes us human? The answer becomes apparently in over 10 hours of great interactive entertainment. I am very proud of this experience from hundreds of talented and creative artists.
    Expand
  82. Jun 9, 2018
    10
    This game is not the first game i’ve ever played in PS4 but it’s the one of my best game that i’ll remember as long as I could.Good story, good graphic, good actors and actress and its soundtracks is so great. I’m really appreciated all staffs that participated in this gigantic project. I hope that there will be some good games like this be created more and more in the future. LookingThis game is not the first game i’ve ever played in PS4 but it’s the one of my best game that i’ll remember as long as I could.Good story, good graphic, good actors and actress and its soundtracks is so great. I’m really appreciated all staffs that participated in this gigantic project. I hope that there will be some good games like this be created more and more in the future. Looking forward to it! Expand
  83. Jan 4, 2019
    10
    Detroit is one hell of a ride! Human like androids are an everyday thing. Which might be our future aswell. Story is excellent. Voice acting is done really well aswell! Music really fits the scene. In short this whole game is epic! Although I'm not sure if it's really worth the 60 dollars. The game does have re-playability since there are multiple endings and routes to take. Detroit BecomeDetroit is one hell of a ride! Human like androids are an everyday thing. Which might be our future aswell. Story is excellent. Voice acting is done really well aswell! Music really fits the scene. In short this whole game is epic! Although I'm not sure if it's really worth the 60 dollars. The game does have re-playability since there are multiple endings and routes to take. Detroit Become Human is one of those games that will hit you with it's story and you will end up thinking about the game long after you've played it. That's why I give it a solid 10/10. Expand
  84. Apr 26, 2019
    9
    This game is such a different experience in an age where we are over-encumbered with open-world and action games.

    You are given choices to make that test your decision-making abilities and your morals and values. Many of the choices you make will have consequences both immediate and distant. That is the beauty of this game. The story is the key facet of the game, and for the most
    This game is such a different experience in an age where we are over-encumbered with open-world and action games.

    You are given choices to make that test your decision-making abilities and your morals and values. Many of the choices you make will have consequences both immediate and distant. That is the beauty of this game.

    The story is the key facet of the game, and for the most part I found it highly engrossing and I was keen to see the next stages, however towards the end it faltered slightly into more cliché territories, however this did not detract from my enjoyment of the game.

    The graphics are quite amazing on my PS4 Pro. The same can be said for sound.

    I do have a gripe or two, although they aren't massive. Sometimes when presented with choices, particularly in conversations, the description of your choice doesn't always represent the choice itself. For example, you may choose to respond to someone with "suspicion", but instead the response is actually more like outright hostility that goes too far in a direction I did not intend. However these instances were rare.

    Overall, this is a great game and a change of pace from most games today. It's definitely worth a go at recent prices of
    Expand
  85. Jul 7, 2018
    10
    This game was absolutely breathtaking! I had not followed it at all before it's release but when it came out I decided to play it because I had a feeling it would be a benchmark for video games. And that's exactly what it was. This game made me feel every emotion possible and truly had me strapped in the entire time. The amount of endings is absolutely astounding and it feels good toThis game was absolutely breathtaking! I had not followed it at all before it's release but when it came out I decided to play it because I had a feeling it would be a benchmark for video games. And that's exactly what it was. This game made me feel every emotion possible and truly had me strapped in the entire time. The amount of endings is absolutely astounding and it feels good to finally have a game where actions truly do matter. But the "good" ending was something to marvel at. Such amazing storytelling and atmosphere made me feel like I was playing an Oscar winning movie. The "good" ending moved me to tears and made me wish that I could play even longer so I could live out more of these character's lives. Detroit: Become Human was an absolute masterpiece of a game and I recommend everybody play it. This game not only makes us look inside our selves, but makes us look at others. This game is exactly what our country and world needs right now. Expand
  86. Jul 8, 2018
    10
    Another great game from Cage. It's focused on emotional aspect, leaving existential and philosophical questions for other media products about AI. Good Cage-style stage direction mixed with great scenario form Quantic Dream's writers makes a magnificent game, even a masterpiece in my opinion. If you like interaсtive story-based experience, than go buy it right now!
  87. Jul 8, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i just can't describe how i feel it's so stressful in cool way it's really like playing a movie a long defcelt complicated story i really do love it , i like how i end it i like this ending connor become the new revoltion leader i know it's look like it's been planed but i love it , i kill markus and alice , connor and kara , survived , i think i have to play the other choices. , thanks to my sis for lending me her game , thanks to playstation to all staff especially bryan dechart his connor character beyond amazing i adore all his story chapters especially the chase stages Expand
  88. Jul 8, 2018
    10
    Amazing !!! i can't even describe with words ! the characters are amazing and you really live their lives.
    a true masterpiece !
  89. Jul 8, 2018
    10
    Every "bad" or "mixed" Detroit: Become Human review is either one of these two things: Personal agenda against David Cage, or the criticism for a lack of "gameplay". For real - go look them up. Neither of those reasons are justified. If Detroit was fairly reviewed, it would easily be sitting on an 85-90, if not higher.

    This is an interactive movie experience in style of previous Quantic
    Every "bad" or "mixed" Detroit: Become Human review is either one of these two things: Personal agenda against David Cage, or the criticism for a lack of "gameplay". For real - go look them up. Neither of those reasons are justified. If Detroit was fairly reviewed, it would easily be sitting on an 85-90, if not higher.

    This is an interactive movie experience in style of previous Quantic Dream games, and it's their best work yet, with a fantastic and moving story and pretty solid writing. There hasn't been a game in history that has so many different variations and outcomes based on your choices. You can have 10 people play the game at the same time, and each of them would get a different ending and overall outcome. Best part is, each of these outcomes and variations is equally well-made and none of them are shoe-horned into the story just for the sake of consequence.

    I am absolutely blown away by this game and I loved every second of it, and trust me, you're gonna have a great time with it too, even if you're not typically a fan of sci-fi or robots.

    From a technical standpoint the game equally delivers. Sound, voice acting, animations, the lightning and the attention to detail are all absolutely stunning. Especially the animations.

    Detroit: Become Human is a serious contender for 2018's Game of the Year, and is so far my personal pick. Games like God of War are masterpieces in their own, but Detroit: BH aims to accomplish something different and special and it completely nails it.
    Expand
  90. Jul 8, 2018
    9
    I wasn't a fan of David Cage's other stuff but gave Detroit a chance off of a recommendation from a family member. And loved it some stuff felt a little too on the nose but I was able to ignore it and it didn't really hamper my fun. Over all I enjoyed it and hope he doesn't ruin this win with the next game.
  91. Jul 9, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Detroit: Become Human is one of the games that have it all (sorry for my grammar): very detailed graphics, unique storyline, and great voice acting. I give it a perfect 10 because of the outcome of the effort exerted in this game. One of the reason why I think it has a unique storyline is because of the worst endings like Connor being replaced by RK900, Kara's and Alice's death in the android camp, and Markus being killed in the midst of revolution which reflects the reality.

    I'm so shocked that by reading some reviews, there are negative comments about this game. I mean, how do you hate this game? It makes you decide, it's intense, and it have parkour. It's an all-in-one game plus the drama. Everything that I want in a game is in this game. Plus the fact that it's a Sci-Fi, just makes me love it more.
    Expand
  92. Jul 9, 2018
    10
    I love it!! This is definetly the best Quantic Dream game ever made. The graphics are so amazing and the story is so exciting you can't stop playing!
  93. Jul 9, 2018
    10
    Amazing game!!! The story is gripping for all three protagonists (particularly Connor) along with the stunning visuals and interesting interpretations of what our world could look like in 20 years.
  94. Jul 13, 2018
    8
    Huge thanks to this game for finally making care about an object since my ex-girlfriend.
  95. Jul 14, 2018
    10
    Sony, Quantic Dream, the games that you make are just flat out amazing, Uncharted, **** magnificent, GoW 4, i'd have an essay ready by tomorrow. Keep making amazing games. :)
  96. Jul 15, 2018
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece. The game manages to create a real emotional attachment to the characters you play. The sound design is beautiful as well as the voice acting. Amazing.
  97. Jul 17, 2018
    9
    This is my first game from David Cage, and I have to say it didn't disappoint. The game's graphics are 10/10, and the story is gripping from all three sides. While Kara and Marcus start slower than Connor I find all three have appeal, each could be flushed into a single campaign and it would be great.

    The many branching decisions and multiple endings make you feel like you are
    This is my first game from David Cage, and I have to say it didn't disappoint. The game's graphics are 10/10, and the story is gripping from all three sides. While Kara and Marcus start slower than Connor I find all three have appeal, each could be flushed into a single campaign and it would be great.

    The many branching decisions and multiple endings make you feel like you are truelove playing this game how you want
    Expand
  98. Jul 18, 2018
    10
    Magnifico juego. Uno de los mejores exclusivos que tiene la ps4 y para mi candidato a GOTY,
  99. Jul 19, 2018
    10
    One of the best ps4 games so far.

    Quantic dream has made a great job! The story is fantastic and the characters too.
  100. Jul 22, 2018
    10
    People still find a secret endings/things/scenes and new-new puzzles. I think that this all characteristic of a good game.
    ------
    Люди до сих пор находят секретные концовки/вещи/сцены и новые-новые загадки. Думаю и так понятно, что все это характерно для хорошей игры.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 103 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 103
  2. Negative: 2 out of 103
  1. Dec 21, 2018
    70
    Detroit: Become Human looks and sounds great, and includes key player choices throughout, though it could have benefited greatly from a tighter script. While it’s commendable that Quantic Dream tried to cover hot-button issues in a big-budget video game, it works better when focused on the personal character moments than the bigger themes that don’t dig deep enough to make a meaningful impact.
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Sep 26, 2018
    85
    Although the narrative is fairly linear, there are enough branching paths over the course of the game to make it feel like your actions matter. That allows Detroit to still be fun even on multiple playthroughs – and for an interactive movie, that’s a rare praise. [Issue#231, p.68]
  3. Aug 26, 2018
    90
    A stellar example of storytelling in the video game space. What initially seems like a futuristic science-fiction story quickly steers into a very real struggle of freedom vs. oppression which has been endured throughout history. With just one single playthrough, Detroit: Become Human will warm your heart, provoke your thoughts, and light a fire in your stomach.