Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 22
  2. Negative: 18 out of 22
  1. Jun 29, 2016
    40
    Light years away from the sheer playability, smoothness and variety of the original Kick Off.
  2. Jun 29, 2016
    40
    This soccer game didn’t conserve any of its retro charm. In 1989 this was kind of a milestone. Nowadays this is not entertaining at all.
  3. Jun 29, 2016
    40
    Dino Dini's Kick Off Revival is a rushed alpha version of a retro football game, that doesn't do justice to either the franchise or its creator: if you have the itch to play one of the best arcade recreation of your favourite sport, go back to the original or play Dino Dini's Soccer on SNES or MegaDrive. They're both much better.
  4. Jun 29, 2016
    40
    Dino Dini's Kick Off Revival's merit is in putting the original Kick Off series under the spotlight again. Use an emulator and go for the real thing: a game like Goal! is far better than this poor and lazy new version.
  5. Jul 1, 2016
    30
    What a disappointment. Let's see where the Sensible Soccer remake Sociable Soccer ends up on release.
  6. Jun 29, 2016
    30
    Nostalgia can't hide all the problems this game has. It's a shame we're not getting a more finished product, because at its current state it feels like a project that just came out of a game jam.
  7. Jun 29, 2016
    30
    Dino Dini's Kick Off Revival is probably one of the worst PS4 games ever. The controls are awful, the bugs are everywhere and you can play only friendly matches and European Championship. Do not buy this game.
  8. Jun 29, 2016
    30
    Dino Dini's Kick Off Revival is an affront to the memory of the original product: a bad game from every point of view.
  9. Jun 25, 2016
    30
    There's a place on the market for simpler, old school sports games that rely on arcade fun rather than authenticity. But this reboot of the franchise is actually a step backwards for the series in some ways, and the lack of a tutorial or help of any kind results in the learning curve being more of a learning brick wall.
  10. Jun 28, 2016
    25
    When the nostalgia fails, Kick-Off Revival rises. It's not the control or the mechanics, it's the product and the decisions of the developers to make the game. An amateur and discreditable approach to a football classic and the old-school video games itself.
  11. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 6, 2016
    20
    This may not be the worst Kick Off game ever, but even blind nostalgia can't redeem its many faults. [Sept 2016, p.108]
  12. Jun 27, 2016
    20
    Quite how anyone thought this game was ready for release is beyond me. It’s more like a proof-of-concept demo, and for the many people looking for a nostalgic return to classic football games, a massive disappointment.
  13. Jun 27, 2016
    20
    A weak football simulation that lacks any real depth, making you wonder what the necessity of trying to bring back was.
  14. 20
    A[n] oily, toxic pool of bad ideas, half-baked mechanics, and shoddy design masquerading as a tough retro-inspired football game. Kick Off Revival is just plain awful.
  15. Jun 26, 2016
    20
    A bad idea poorly realised, it’s hard to argue that Kick Off has any place in the modern world and this badly made revival seems to prove it.
  16. Jun 24, 2016
    20
    Dino Dini's Kick Off Revival is a bad game. It's one of the few games I've played in recent years that I've had to demo to others, just so I know it's a real game. If you want a retro take on football, this is not it. If you want a retro take on how to make a terrible game, you're in luck.
  17. Jul 5, 2016
    10
    Dino Dini’s Kick Off Revival should never been released in its current state. The game is clearly unfinished and it lacks depth and options.
  18. Games Master UK
    Sep 6, 2016
    8
    Like England's current squad this is woeful, broken, and actually depressing. [Sept 2016, p.85]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 5, 2016
    For most, it's better to let nostalgia remain nostalgia and leave this mess of a football game alone.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 70
  2. Negative: 40 out of 70
  1. Jul 2, 2016
    2
    Massively disappointed in how this turned out. One of the worst football games ever produced, and I've played some downright stinkers in myMassively disappointed in how this turned out. One of the worst football games ever produced, and I've played some downright stinkers in my time.

    For anyone to actually feel this deserves praise for just existing is a tad delusional, and really not helping the developers to learn from their mistakes.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2016
    0
    this game is pure crap, it's worse than the original game from 20 years ago. Don't buy it. it's price should be about 0.90c. No options,this game is pure crap, it's worse than the original game from 20 years ago. Don't buy it. it's price should be about 0.90c. No options, horrible graphics, horrible AI. There's nothing left to save. Full Review »
  3. Jul 4, 2016
    3
    Let me try to bring some balance to this. This game is not a '0' and it is not '10'. It does, however, veer closer towards 'bad game' than itLet me try to bring some balance to this. This game is not a '0' and it is not '10'. It does, however, veer closer towards 'bad game' than it does 'good game.'

    I have been playing soccer games for 30 years. Goal! made by Dino Dini, was one of my favourites. The graphics were basic, the content was sparse enough, but the gameplay was fantastic. A one button game that felt very natural. Very close to the real thing. I was really looking forward to this game, bought it on the day of release and would have preordered it had the option been available.

    When you ignore all the valid complaints people have about Kick Off Revival, with regard to content, options, presentation etc., and look at the core of the game, the gameplay, you are left with something I can only describe as inherently broken and disappointing.

    Let's look at an essential element of any football game. The ball. The physics of the ball, how it moves, and how characters interact with the ball are just plain wrong. The ball behaves more like a cross between a ping pong ball and a tennis ball than a football. When kicking the ball, I have seen, on occasion, the ball bounce up higher than when it was struck, like you would see a tennis ball behave when struck with top spin.
    When you slide tackle you slide 15 yards, the strafe mechanism is awkward and I have also managed to score a header from 40-50 yards, close to the halfway line.
    These things shouldn't happen in a football game.

    I never had these problems with Goal! It wasn't a perfect sim, but it was more natural, more intuitive. That game was made over 20 years ago. It shouldn't be too hard to achieve these basics now.

    This game is nowhere near finished. Most importantly, the gameplay is broken and full of glitches. But also, the lack of content, options and customization is quite shocking. It feels like a student's project.
    This is a PS4 game. One of the factors that make games so good these days is the amount of polish and detail that goes into them. This is not a AAA game, but you just can't release a PS4 game in this state and expect it to be acceptable. Maybe Dino Dini needed more people around him to help him with this.

    The saddest thing about the this games is that it feels like a cynical attempt to cash in on a brand name. Indie and Retro games are hot at the moment. They're trendy. Combine this with the brand name and Euro 16 and you've the perfect opportunity to cash in.

    Dino Dini's handling of criticism and the game's reception is also regrettable. Criticism is squashed. All praise is celebrated. It makes me think the game will never come close to its potential.

    Those who say it's a '0' are angry. Those who say it's a '10' are nostalgic, unrealistic and are comforting themselves, in my opinion.
    It's a shame they didn't just wait until it was finished and focus on making a game that would stand the test of time and become a cult classic again. In it's current state it won't.

    It's a '3' or '4' for me now. Hopefully they can get it up to a '6'. I would take gameplay improvements over content.
    Full Review »