User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 180
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2017
    4
    First impressions - 8 or 9 out of 10. But playing for a few hours, you quickly realise that the handling is way too easy, there's no way in hell a rally car grips that well, especially under braking. The thing seems glued to the track, even on slippery surfaces, even with "simulation" mode on. Then, you experience deja vu, and you swear you just went through that combination of corners 30First impressions - 8 or 9 out of 10. But playing for a few hours, you quickly realise that the handling is way too easy, there's no way in hell a rally car grips that well, especially under braking. The thing seems glued to the track, even on slippery surfaces, even with "simulation" mode on. Then, you experience deja vu, and you swear you just went through that combination of corners 30 seconds ago. This feeling repeats itself and becomes more frequent, until you can basically predict 3/4 of the course, even though it is 'randomly seeded'. They did enough to pull the wool over reviewers eyes but there is no longevity in this game whatsoever. Stick to Dirt Rally which has lovingly hand crafted courses with some real variety. All the dirt 4 courses feel identical. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2017
    3
    If you are a big fan of Dirt Rally, like I am, the Dirt 4 is a bit of a disappointment.

    First of all, the tracks of the Dirt Rally were designed perfectly well, but in Dirt 4 they don't feel like anything. It's like you were always driving the computer generated roads that all are the same and dull. Also, I loved the distinctiveness on different countries of Dirt Rally. There still is
    If you are a big fan of Dirt Rally, like I am, the Dirt 4 is a bit of a disappointment.

    First of all, the tracks of the Dirt Rally were designed perfectly well, but in Dirt 4 they don't feel like anything. It's like you were always driving the computer generated roads that all are the same and dull. Also, I loved the distinctiveness on different countries of Dirt Rally. There still is some kind variety between countries, but it's not that clear anymore. And finally what I miss most from the Dirt Rally are the Finland, Monaco and Germany, those countries were so different. There's no feel of speed in Dirt 4 like there were in Finnish or German tracks in Dirt Rally.

    One more thing about the tracks is that this game have a lot more different tracks than Dirt Rally had. Basically in Dirt Rally you drove same tracks or parts of them in both directions. The developers told us that in Dirt 4 it's more like actually rally where you don't learn the tracks, but instead learn only to drive by the co-driver guides. In some points the co-driver's notes might be a bit too late or there are harder parts to drive in tracks. In Dirt Rally when you played enough, you learned how to drive some parts. I liked the Dirt Rally more in this because in gaming, the game should reward the player for improving. In both games if you improve on driving by the co-driver notes, you'll drive better, but only in Dirt Rally you could also improve by learning some harder points of some tracks. Dirt 4 have taken this out from us. The developers tried to add realism and get rid of one aspect of fun of playing. Maybe it's just less expensive to let computer generate maps than use human designers to make them?

    Now comes the second major failure with Dirt 4 which will shorten the lifespan of this game radically if average track quality doesn't. In Dirt Rally when you ranked high enough in champion ships, you got to next level which automatically increased difficulty by making opponents harder. Also you had to drive more and more tracks in every level. If you failed, you couldn't restart the championship but just try to drive and improve your skills and start again once the whole championship is over. This added major adrenaline rush because you really had to drive faster and faster but not to fail or you have to drive all tens of tracks from start again. I have played Dirt 4 for couple of days only, but in Dirt 4 all this adrenaline rising mechanism seems to be gone because you can freely select easier/harder opponents for each short event/championship. If you don't do well enough in some tracks, just lower the difficulty and you will get to the next level anyway. And even if you try to drive against harder opponents, you only have to restart from couple of tracks earlier, so it's not that big deal.

    When I bought Dirt Rally about a year ago, I wanted to have best available wheel and the pedals and ended up buying Thrustmaster T500 RS. It was better than I expected with Dirt Rally, I even had to lower down the force feedback to make it playable, the force is so strong with this once. It turns out the Dirt 4 doesn't initially support T500 RS. When trying, it seems to work, but it disconnects after couple of minutes from starting a race and acceleration pedal stops working after that. A workaround for this is to disable the force feedback. It feels very dull to drive without it and you lose the feel of the road, but at least you can play. Codemasters haven't announced whether they will fix the issue or not, they have only reported that it's not in the list of (initially?) supported list of wheels.

    The car and team management is improved from Dirt Rally a lot and you can choose your sponsors which adds some mini goals to races like winning certain amount of stages in an event or driving perfectly without hitting anything outside the road.

    I haven't tried rally cross or other mini games, I like to play actual rally only, so this review was about rally itself only.

    It might be only me, but I also liked the Dirt Rally graphics a little bit more. Now it's like a little bit dull and outdated.

    They added actual songs in this game. It's OK to have them, but I liked Dirt Rally soundtrack bit better. The theme for Dirt Rally was lot better than Dirt 4's main theme. This is just a minor thing.

    FINAL CONCLUSION
    If you love Dirt Rally, this game is OK but it's not even close to Dirt Rally feeling, game play and most of the adrenaline rush is gone. I wish they had only released new countries to Dirt Rally instead creating Dirt 4. I would have paid the same for new Dirt Rally tracks any day. Dirt Rally is still king of the hill of rally games.
    Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2017
    10
    Ask yourself 2 simple questions: do you play games to have fun or do you want to be frustrated to the tenth degree? This game is alot more fun than dirt rally was, that was a great game too but the realism in it made it so frustrating it was not fun. GameRogue has an unfair opinion that games should cater to hard core gamers, but most of us have jobs, families, friends etc so we cantAsk yourself 2 simple questions: do you play games to have fun or do you want to be frustrated to the tenth degree? This game is alot more fun than dirt rally was, that was a great game too but the realism in it made it so frustrating it was not fun. GameRogue has an unfair opinion that games should cater to hard core gamers, but most of us have jobs, families, friends etc so we cant spend hours upon hours playing games. Especially if they are so punishing that they are not fun. There are alot more causal gamers than hardcorps gamers, so game companies need to focus on us or they simply cant make enough money to survive. Best. Option would be to make games that have sim and arcade settings to please both types of gamers. Giving a game a 0 because the difficulty isnt perfect to just you is ridiculous. I could give dirt rally a 0 for that reason, but since I am rational I would say that while it is to focused on sim for my taste, it is a great game for those looking for that. Dirt 4 is a great game for those that just want a fun racing game thats easily accessible. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2017
    8
    As a rally fanatic I thought Dirt Rally was incredible, even bought a gaming pc cause couldn't wait for console.It was during this romance that Dirt Rallys sister Dirt 4 showed up to stay and while knowing nothing of her it was hate at first sight, While prettier and better dressed she was shallow,repetitive and her behaviour was erratic when cornered so we rarely spoke.Sadly one nightAs a rally fanatic I thought Dirt Rally was incredible, even bought a gaming pc cause couldn't wait for console.It was during this romance that Dirt Rallys sister Dirt 4 showed up to stay and while knowing nothing of her it was hate at first sight, While prettier and better dressed she was shallow,repetitive and her behaviour was erratic when cornered so we rarely spoke.Sadly one night Dirt Rally fell over and couldn't get up so i took Dirt4 for a drink at a new bar called ps4 pro where we talked and laughed all night.I still talk to Dirt Rally and will never forget her but her sister is proving to be alot of fun. Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2017
    8
    This game will be and needs to be compared to Dirt Rally. Both are 90% rally driving with a little extra thrown in on the side. This game is far easier which will invite more gamers in but this means that the game's life will be shorter. If you have played Dirt Rally you might want to skip this game, if you have played neither, start here.
  6. Jun 11, 2017
    4
    If you're a fan of DiRT Rally, this game will offer little more than what the fun but shallow offerings from Milestone in this genre can provide. If you feel like a fun offroad racer, maybe pick this up in a sale.
  7. Jun 9, 2017
    2
    Sadly most everything that was good about Dirt Rally has been lost here on just another simcade rally title. The presentation and structure is abhorrent and has no connection to any form of realistic rally events. It is a shame to see so many misleading and narrow minded critic reviews on this title which will no doubt lead to its sales success. Buyer beware.
  8. Jun 9, 2017
    7
    Dirt 4
    Deep but generic
    Dirt 4 is a racing game all about rally cars, and this rally simulator gets pretty deep… Before the game starts it asks if you’re here for fun or here for simulation... I chose fun but the game just couldn’t deliver for me… Dirt 4 Features a lengthy career mode, an academy to learn the ropes, free roam, free play, trials, and competitive online options with up
    Dirt 4
    Deep but generic
    Dirt 4 is a racing game all about rally cars, and this rally simulator gets pretty deep…
    Before the game starts it asks if you’re here for fun or here for simulation...
    I chose fun but the game just couldn’t deliver for me…
    Dirt 4 Features a lengthy career mode, an academy to learn the ropes, free roam, free play, trials, and competitive online options with up to 8 players…
    There are 4 types of event you can do here….
    There’s land rush which is truck and buggy racing around boring dirt tracks… rally cross which is a circuit race around boring asphalt tracks… and finally Rally and Historic Rally which are really the stars of this show…
    The game has a great soundtrack but sadly during races you have a voice in your ear telling you the upcoming turns as there is no mini map to race with…
    And each race gives you challenges for extra credits that you can use to buy new cars, upgrade your parts, and pay your team that you hire to repair your car more efficiently as you do take damage, which is why it’s important to pay attention to the commands from your partner while racing..
    Sadly these rally races much like the circuit races also get boring fairly quickly…
    There are seemingly endless amounts of rally tracks here with different terrain and weather to deal with….
    These tracks are endless because they are procedurally generated…
    In modes outside of career in particular, you choose the length and complexity on a slider and with that information the game generates a track
    if you’ve been around my channel long you know that procedural generation is my favorite thing in the world...
    That’s sarcasm…
    I hate procedural generation and Dirt 4 does a great job of showcasing why this is…
    Every single track despite being different feels exactly the same no matter the weather I’m dealing with…
    The problem with procedural generation is that it lacks the handcrafted care levels in practically every game need… this is especially true for racing games
    Its artificial replayability…
    I’ll play the same great hand crafted track 100 times before ill play 100 procedural tracks…
    This procedural generation quickly exhausts this game for me…
    And that’s a shame because it is so deep…
    The cars handle wonderfully, there are time attacks and smash attack obstacle courses to finer tune your drifting and handling skills….
    There is love in this game… just not in the actual tracks where it desperately needs to be..
    Again, at the start of the game you’re asked if you want fun or simulation...
    Those that choose simulation no doubt in my mind will think this game is great or even amazing...
    But those here for fun...
    Look someplace else…
    I give Dirt 4
    a 7.5/10
    Expand
  9. Sep 7, 2017
    7
    If you have a wheel, and you like this game buy DiRT Rally! You will love it. DiRT Rally is better in every aspect. And no, it is not too hard (speaking a relatively noob), it's just the best rally sim you can play on PS4. It's the closest thing to having fun with a car in real life. It will make you rally happy, believe me :)
  10. Feb 17, 2018
    10
    I have had this game for a while now.

    Initially, after a first few hours of playing, I didn't find it much fun and as I was playing with a game-pad and the car seemed difficult to control on the simulation mode. So I stopped playing it for a while and even thought about selling it. Few weeks later I decided to go back to it – this time I googled for the best gamepad settings and
    I have had this game for a while now.

    Initially, after a first few hours of playing, I didn't find it much fun and as I was playing with a game-pad and the car seemed difficult to control on the simulation mode. So I stopped playing it for a while and even thought about selling it.

    Few weeks later I decided to go back to it – this time I googled for the best gamepad settings and tried again. That made all the difference.
    The more hours I put to this game, the more I realize how well made it is. Now I love most things about it.

    So first, the praise for the game:
    - It is really thrilling to play. I love the weather effects and how different cars handle differently on different surfaces wet, dry and snowy. I love the weight shifting in this game. I love how going downhill on a wet tarmac with rain showers with minimal visibility gets me to the edge of the seat. I love the sense of really tight competition in rally cross and landrush events, where a mistake in one corner during the six lap race can cost you a position.
    - I love the randomly-generated stages, as they really make you listen more to the notes and less on relying on the memory of the track. In previous dirt titles I always ended up knowing the roads and being able to achieve better and better track times without even paying attention to the co-driver.
    - I also love the mini-events during the rally stages, like jumping and almost hitting a drone in the air, helicopter spinning up dust on the road that limits the visibility, kangaroos crossing the road on the last moment, co-driver stuttering during random moments.
    - I like the way how the career mode gives you a sense of accomplishment. You can upgrade the headquarters step by step, upgrade the parts on the car so they last longer, hire staff on different skill levels. I like the livery customisation of the team.
    - The soundtrack in this game is amazing. I literally love most of the songs in this game and have saved them to my music playlist.
    - The graphics are rather good in this game, for example driving on a wet tarmac or asphalt, the puddles and the reflections from the road are amazing. During cloudy weather, the colours in the game look kind of bleached, but this is also the case in real life. There were some problems with visibility in the forest roads in Wales (screen really dark and hard to see), but after adjusting the gamma settings, that got fixed.

    Lastly the criticism:
    - With the random generated stages sometimes, some curves repeat twice during the same stage. This doesn’t happen often though and doesn’t disturb me that much, but that’s a thing that could get sorted out.
    - Codemasters seem to have given up on the game, there hasn’t been any new content in a while, even though before the release they were talking about different plans what to add to the game later. As the people who have played dirt rally before are bringing down the opinions about this game (as I see a lot of content like the rallycross events are the same), it seems like this game does not sell so well as it was expected. That is a pity.

    So my recommendation – if you are even a little bit interested about this game, go for it. But give the game some time. Mess with the controller settings and the visual settings. Mess with the difficulty settings. Find the thing that works for you and the game will be a lot of fun. In the simulation mode, you need to put in some effort to be good - with a tired head and concentration problems, no good result will come out of it. But if you are tired or just want to play the game to relax, there is always the option to switch to the gamer mode (which is too easy for my liking), but might be fun for someone who does not like to be challenged that much.
    Expand
  11. Jul 7, 2017
    7
    After some more playing I must come to the conclusion that it is still a great game. Except for the game modes that do not involve rally cars. Those are terrible. Bad AI, Bad physics. I had to turn down the difficulty of the whole game just to get these alternative modes done with and continue with the best part. Rally racing!
  12. Jun 9, 2017
    0
    If you are a fan of dirt rally, this is not what you’re looking for. The supposed “Sim” handling is on rails and the cars have an unrealistic amount for grip. When you through the back out the game steps in and assists with recovery, I matched the setting to my Dirt rally settings and it did not help. The car just seems to want to stay on the track and doesn’t have to be forced to stay on.If you are a fan of dirt rally, this is not what you’re looking for. The supposed “Sim” handling is on rails and the cars have an unrealistic amount for grip. When you through the back out the game steps in and assists with recovery, I matched the setting to my Dirt rally settings and it did not help. The car just seems to want to stay on the track and doesn’t have to be forced to stay on. The cars feel under powered and the sense of speed is gone. Hitting a random bump in the road and flying of track in to a tree at 100mph that’s rally that’s dirt rally. In dirt 4 when the car hits a jump or bump the physics feel heavy almost as if the track is magnetic. When in the air you can see the game forcing the car straight trying to land on either the left, right two or all four tyres as if those are the only 3 outcomes available instead of just letting the physics dictate it. The other users reviewing the game positively are newcomers and not hard-core fans, the applaud the games accessibility yet fail to see that the success of dirt rally was in its lack of accessibility. Hard-core gamers want hard-core games with no limitations in the physics to “assist” new comers, this game will never be competitive for this exact reason it’s not a level playing field. The entire gaming industry is threated by developers pandering to casuals for a quick buck instead of listening to dedicated life-long fans. It would not have been hard for Codemasters to simply add a Dirt rally handling option yet they have not….Why? because the physics don’t allow it. When I first heard of Dirt 4 I thought na it’s too good to be true this soon, I was proven right. The exact team who created dirt rally should be used for dirt rally 2 I don’t want to have to wait through another 3 of this trash before it happens. Come on codemasters you had it right with dirt rally all you needed to do was give us a few more tracks and cars and we would have been more than happy instead you pander to these scum casuals, even if you would have just gave us DLC for dirt rally I would have paid for it rather than waste money thinking this is it when it isn’t. The casuals you are appeasing will be gone when the next gimmicky trash comes along and we the real fans will be waiting as usual at the back of the queue. Expand
  13. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    I originally scored this incredible game and 8 but after several hours of riveting play in and out of career mode I can honestly say that this game deserves a 9.5. Yes sure the graphics are down a little in areas but you only really notice this in the short cinematics and leading into races with some aliasing & low textures here and there. Otherwise the game looks great with stellarI originally scored this incredible game and 8 but after several hours of riveting play in and out of career mode I can honestly say that this game deserves a 9.5. Yes sure the graphics are down a little in areas but you only really notice this in the short cinematics and leading into races with some aliasing & low textures here and there. Otherwise the game looks great with stellar weather effects. Cars handle brilliantly and audio quality is 10 out of 10. There's bucket loads of content on offer here and loads of progression, customizations , rewards and loot to be earned. There is plenty of REWARD FOR EFFORT which makes DIRT 4 a classic & can be best described as DESTINY ON WHEELS. Great stuff Codemasters. Best rally I've had the pleasure of playing. :)))) Expand
  14. Jun 6, 2017
    9
    While it may not be uber-realistic like RBR, or have the visual eye-candy of DriveClub or the massive car list and customisation of Forza... Dirt 4 offers a top-notch Rally/Rallycross racer, with excellent-feeling simcade physics that still conveys the enjoyment of mastering a vehicle's naunces over uneven terrain. Some of the most fun and thrills you can get out of a console racer thisWhile it may not be uber-realistic like RBR, or have the visual eye-candy of DriveClub or the massive car list and customisation of Forza... Dirt 4 offers a top-notch Rally/Rallycross racer, with excellent-feeling simcade physics that still conveys the enjoyment of mastering a vehicle's naunces over uneven terrain. Some of the most fun and thrills you can get out of a console racer this gen, and that enjoyment is amplified when up against other players online. Expand
  15. Jun 7, 2017
    9
    Another masterful delivery by Codemasters! For those who enjoyed with wild and challenging romp that was Dirt Rally but were hoping for more options on the difficulty scale (namely...some options below the level of "insanely difficult" :) )...and for more customization and diversity along the career track...this is the game for you.

    As with Dirt Rally, graphical fidelity improves the
    Another masterful delivery by Codemasters! For those who enjoyed with wild and challenging romp that was Dirt Rally but were hoping for more options on the difficulty scale (namely...some options below the level of "insanely difficult" :) )...and for more customization and diversity along the career track...this is the game for you.

    As with Dirt Rally, graphical fidelity improves the closer one gets to the car beneath one's seat and the dirt immediately beneath one's wheels. In that tight area, driving dynamics are immersive and visceral with delightfully responsive car physics and element effects around the car itself. Beyond that immediate area...well....best not to look too close at the trees, distant hills and those in the crowd cheering you on. Graphics are definitely dated out there in the periphery. But, honestly...who really cares? Maybe some graphics-fanatics who need that microscopic level of detail to ensure a high level of immersion wherever one might look. IMHO, Codemasters puts the power of their gaming engine (pun intended) right where it's supposed to be...beneath the hood of the car. There's plenty of excitement and "realism" engendered in the barely-controlled madness of the driving itself to keep one's attention glued to the immediate surroundings. In terms of rally racing, I don't think anyone else does it better in this respect.
    Expand
  16. Jun 9, 2017
    10
    Love it! Game changer in terms of making a rally game a true rally game. The importance of the co-driver calls and player reactions makes this a truly 'on the edge you seat' experience, race after race!
  17. Jun 6, 2017
    8
    Great gameplay, really puts you in the race and I love the environments. The graphics are sub-par for this generation. With a PS4 Pro, Xbox One s and a 4k TV I'm going to have trouble going to this game when Forza Horizon 3 blows this game out of the water in terms of sheer beauty, but Dirt 4 is worth picking up for the rally racing.
  18. Oct 19, 2017
    8
    For me this is one of the best driving games to be released on the PS4. Having just purchased GT sport and being extremely let down I have gone back to dirt 4. It is exciting, it is tense, it is everything a driving game should be. I am so determined to platinum this game but it looks like I might suffer due to the online mode as it is extremely difficult to find anyone in the server. Great game!
  19. Jun 9, 2017
    9
    a gem ! it is for sure the best rally game i have ever played , and also i can say that so far it is the best game with cars on the ps4.. it was the dirt rally before but this is certainly better that the previous one ! the game on my screen look just so pretty.. the graphics are amazing and the cars and everything look just so brilliant.. also i love the racing , it has a perfect controla gem ! it is for sure the best rally game i have ever played , and also i can say that so far it is the best game with cars on the ps4.. it was the dirt rally before but this is certainly better that the previous one ! the game on my screen look just so pretty.. the graphics are amazing and the cars and everything look just so brilliant.. also i love the racing , it has a perfect control and sound effects also the car feels great when you race.. it is just a very high quality game and thanks to codemasters for bringing such a good work .. anw i put a 9 only because i am expecting to put a 10 on gran turismo sport if it is ever released.. Expand
  20. Jun 17, 2017
    9
    Pure adrenaline. Great game for both simulation players and those who prefer arcade style. Good sound effects and music. Just buy it if you like racing games
  21. Jun 8, 2017
    9
    Masterful job by Codemasters by keeping what worked with DiRT Rally and improving to make the game more accessible for new players. It still packs an amazing challenge and captures the incredible challenge that is rally, but also adds variety and makes a strong case for the best game in the Colin McRae Rally series.
  22. Jan 15, 2018
    3
    I've never been so frustrated with a racing game like this in my life. The racing itself is fine. Its fluid, responds well and seems some-what consistent. But the single player campaign is a complete piece of junk. Just middle tier races consist of 4 events with 6 races each. Which seems doable but each race is pretty much an endurance race. Same track, same corners, same music... over andI've never been so frustrated with a racing game like this in my life. The racing itself is fine. Its fluid, responds well and seems some-what consistent. But the single player campaign is a complete piece of junk. Just middle tier races consist of 4 events with 6 races each. Which seems doable but each race is pretty much an endurance race. Same track, same corners, same music... over and over and over again. It gets so old. The championship races are even worse. Even MORE races per event. It's like eating glass... I hate this game. It is NOT fun. Expand
  23. Nov 3, 2017
    8
    Graphics: 8.5 Sound: 8.2 Gameplay: 8.2 Fun/Story: 8.0

    A good game, with nice visuals and consistent framerate. Lacks of variety of rally stages. Much more accessible to mainstream than Dirt Rally.
  24. Dec 18, 2017
    4
    Keep Dirt Rally, Dirt 4 is trash. The graphics are even worse with bland textures with poor arcade physics, it's seriously junk. It's not like Dirt 3. It's indescribable. Any other review is lying.
  25. Jul 26, 2017
    9
    I am arcade gamer and I love it.Great sounds,graphics etc. but not enough car model maybe with DLC going to be good (I hate DLC).So if you like arcade race games you should buy.
  26. Oct 19, 2017
    9
    I appreciate the time that was put into this game to make it feel like I'm really driving. I'm no game expert, but I enjoy driving and golf games. I haven't checked out many, but this just took over the Gran Turismo series as my favorite driving game. It was rough getting through the early stages, but the annoying things diminish as the game progresses.
    I finally made it to the part
    I appreciate the time that was put into this game to make it feel like I'm really driving. I'm no game expert, but I enjoy driving and golf games. I haven't checked out many, but this just took over the Gran Turismo series as my favorite driving game. It was rough getting through the early stages, but the annoying things diminish as the game progresses.
    I finally made it to the part where super cars come in and the game changed dramatically. By this point in the game, sponsons and staff should be level A, B, or C for the most part, so their contracts are longer and they're less hassle. The races now are somewhat of a joke, but I guess that's the goal here... to get to a point where you're the best. Not sure how much longer it will hold my attention, but it's a blast for now kicking everyone's ass by a lap.
    Best driving game I've played! Have fun!
    Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2017
    10
    First i want to start out by saying i love racing games so keep that in mind when reading this. The car physics is towards the arcady style and that suits me just fine. Wrecking a car is also a ton of fun and the deformation it provides is satisfying. Sometimes the menu system gets to me but once you are in a race its all fun and games!
  28. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    This game has one unfortunate distinction; it followed the immensely popular DiRT Rally.

    DiRT 4 however has lasting gameplay with three different disciplines and a stage generator which seems to get blasted by a lot of reviewers. You can either race the same stages over and over until you memorize them, or you can get new stages every time. Yes, corners start to look the same after a
    This game has one unfortunate distinction; it followed the immensely popular DiRT Rally.

    DiRT 4 however has lasting gameplay with three different disciplines and a stage generator which seems to get blasted by a lot of reviewers. You can either race the same stages over and over until you memorize them, or you can get new stages every time. Yes, corners start to look the same after a while, but nothing beats evening the playing field when you’re up against someone that’s played DiRT Rally for 1000 hours.

    In the end, this game is my favorite and most played on PS4.
    Expand
  29. Feb 23, 2019
    7
    Featuring excellent gameplay on challenging tracks, DIRT 4 also offers a nice variety of different rallying categories. Nevertheless, in the area that counts the most, timed stages, DIRT 4 offers too little variety in terms of events, with stages in only 5 different countries. To make matters worse, stages within the same countries all look the same.. In short, it’s decent rally game, butFeaturing excellent gameplay on challenging tracks, DIRT 4 also offers a nice variety of different rallying categories. Nevertheless, in the area that counts the most, timed stages, DIRT 4 offers too little variety in terms of events, with stages in only 5 different countries. To make matters worse, stages within the same countries all look the same.. In short, it’s decent rally game, but with not enough content. Expand
  30. Oct 17, 2019
    9
    El mejor juego de Codemasters desde Dirt 2 sin lugar a duda.. cuatro disciplinas diferentes en el modo campaña-competicion (Rally / RallyCross / Offroad / carrera de clásicos) todas y cada una de las disciplinas se juegan y se ¨sienten super diferentes¨ entre si, no solo por el tipo de vehículos y pistas si no también por las sensaciones a los mandos-Pad. Cada curva , cada vibración en elEl mejor juego de Codemasters desde Dirt 2 sin lugar a duda.. cuatro disciplinas diferentes en el modo campaña-competicion (Rally / RallyCross / Offroad / carrera de clásicos) todas y cada una de las disciplinas se juegan y se ¨sienten super diferentes¨ entre si, no solo por el tipo de vehículos y pistas si no también por las sensaciones a los mandos-Pad. Cada curva , cada vibración en el mando es increíblemente satisfactoria y diferente, tanto por el peso y tipo de autos, sedan, cupé , hatchbag (doble tracción o en las 4 ruedas), diferentes superficies , clima ,etc. Sin olvidarme claro del espectacular modelo de daños realista en todos y cada uno de los vehículos, en los que según la dificultad que elijas, se aceveran o disminuyen las roturas. No es arcade del todo , ni simulador.. esta en un punto intermedio pero incluso y según la dificultad o ayudas que modifiques , la trayectoria en la competición se torna mas amable o mas dura. En definitiva un juegazo !!! Expand
  31. Sep 15, 2019
    8
    El juego es muy bueno tanto en gráficos como en la opción de escoger variedad de vehículos, en algunas ocasiones se torna muy repetitivo ya que las pruebas de algunos circuitos no varían.
  32. Apr 27, 2020
    8
    Dopo Dirt Rally (scambiato per il successore del 3) Dirt 4 è per me un altra 'delusione'. Lo considero il migliore del genere, ma è incapace di impegnarmi ore online a differenza del 3, grazie alle più svariate modalità (ricordo Cat & Mouse). La novità è Landrush, per il resto la base è quella di Dirt Rally, migliorato sotto molti aspetti ma che non soddisfa. Capisala che ti espellono conDopo Dirt Rally (scambiato per il successore del 3) Dirt 4 è per me un altra 'delusione'. Lo considero il migliore del genere, ma è incapace di impegnarmi ore online a differenza del 3, grazie alle più svariate modalità (ricordo Cat & Mouse). La novità è Landrush, per il resto la base è quella di Dirt Rally, migliorato sotto molti aspetti ma che non soddisfa. Capisala che ti espellono con un click se li sconfiggi Expand
  33. Mar 1, 2020
    9
    Great driving game, good handling of cars and a good variety of tracks, in addition to the good challenges it offers.
    Nice to see that it has unlockable items and is not populated by DLC.
  34. Aug 24, 2020
    3
    Хуита, галимая. Графика хуже второй части на ps3, генерация трасс полный шлак, автопарк раз два и обчелся и ебучий режим joyride (за этот режим разработчикам надо хер поотрезать и отправить их на пидорский рынок на продажу)
  35. Nov 16, 2020
    8
    Good game for me. Nice modes and good online connection. Pleasant add on.. that's it. Worth.
  36. Jun 24, 2021
    8
    Grafika:
    ✅ Piękna
    ⬜ Fajna
    ⬜ Słaba
    Rozrywka:
    ⬜Wciągająca
    ✅Przyjemna
    ⬜Średnia
    Opłaca się zagrać?
    ⬜Bardzo się opłaca
    ✅A se kup
    ⬜Średnio
    ⬜Nie opłaca
  37. Jun 29, 2021
    10
    Best Dirt game so far on the main series. Big variation of race types and courses, although I would personally like a few more rally stages. Not too much emphasis on rallycross or landrush, just right, as it should be. New mechanics, like breaking parts during the race, sponsors, staff and facilities management. Different types of terrains and weather conditions. It combines most of theBest Dirt game so far on the main series. Big variation of race types and courses, although I would personally like a few more rally stages. Not too much emphasis on rallycross or landrush, just right, as it should be. New mechanics, like breaking parts during the race, sponsors, staff and facilities management. Different types of terrains and weather conditions. It combines most of the good aspects of Dirt Rally spinoff, but with an arcade approach. Sounds effects are good and the soundtrack is excellent. It is a shame that Codemasters dropped the ball on Dirt 5, it should be named "Dirt Shallow Rallycross". Expand
  38. Aug 18, 2021
    9
    I really like this game
    The option to use arcade physics or sim physics is a really nice feature and I enjoyed switching between the two
    the rallycross mode is a little bit lackluster because the AI dont try to fight back when your trying to over take them
    but other than that I would recommend buying it
  39. Mar 21, 2022
    9
    This is my favorite rally game, i love all the aspects of this game, good classic cars, nice physics and realism. Not too much different maps.
    I really enjoyed this game
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Feb 8, 2018
    90
    Once you strap yourself into the rollcaged bucket seat of Dirt 4 it’ll be extremely tough to extricate yourself from it anytime soon. [September 2017, p69]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Aug 9, 2017
    90
    Finishing a race carries as much emotional punch as entire other games. [Aug 2017, p.94]
  3. Jul 9, 2017
    78
    DiRT 4 is postulated as the best videogame of rallies of this generation. It has many hours of fun, many game modes and a competent online. However the technical section is not what was expected.