Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Nov 13, 2019
    85
    Two games that people of any age will love.
  2. 85
    I had just as much fun playing through Disney Classic Games: Aladdin and The Lion King in my thirties as I did 25 years ago as my eight-year-old self. And yes, I finally completed The Lion King; albeit with some assistance from the rewind function! Hakuna Matata. It means “no worries.”
  3. Oct 29, 2019
    85
    Not content to simply remake these games, this collection offers a nearly complete (sorry SNES Aladdin fans) look into these games and what made them so special. If you weren’t a fan in the 90s, you won’t be persuaded now, but for older players looking to tap into some sweet nostalgia or a new generation discovering these for the first time, this collection hits all the right notes.
  4. 85
    Disney Classic Games: Aladdin & The Lion King is a superb package offering some of the best retro platformers of their day. While the difficulty spikes may seem off-putting - and there's definitely some frustrating moments to be had, particularly in The Lion King. All the same, there's some brilliant platforming to be found in these retro classics that's worth experiencing for fans and newcomers alike.
  5. Oct 30, 2019
    82
    Two classic platformers and more extras than you can shake a stick at! Disney Classic Games: Aladdin And The Lion King is the new benchmark for how to release retro games in the modern world. If you’re at all curious, or are wondering if you should give these classics another look, the answer is yes! There has never been a more thorough release of retro games.
  6. Oct 29, 2019
    80
    Disney Classic Games: Aladdin and The Lion King is a prime example of how a retro game collection should be assembled. The included games are both great games from the 16-bit era.
  7. Oct 29, 2019
    79
    Retro game compilations are rarely as fully featured as Disney Classic Games: Aladdin and the Lion King. Although it basically just contains 2 short but sweet games, the amount of extras and care put into this package make it something truly special.
  8. Nov 13, 2019
    77
    A nice retro collection with two Disney oldies still delivering while offering a steep challenge. But even with all the bonus content it has a hefty pricetag.
  9. Dec 2, 2019
    70
    Jump back in time to the 16-bit era with these Disney classic games originally found on the Super Nintendo and Sega Genesis. Not a collection for everyone, but for those gripped by this pure nostalgia. These titles haven’t necessarily aged well, but there are enough added features to mitigate some unfair difficulty with; save features, a rewind button, extra difficulty settings, and the ability to watch a game playthrough and jump in at any point. Also with a lot of bonus content with multiple versions of each game, interviews with the creators and a plethora of original art that grounds you in the context to help you appreciate the games more.
  10. Oct 29, 2019
    70
    Digital Eclipse revitalizes two classic platformers with quality emulation on current generation consoles, although there's some that keeps this from being a pixel-perfect collection.
  11. Oct 29, 2019
    70
    The collection serves as a wonderful dive into a pair of early tie-in successes. If you're a fan of the games, the films, or both, you'll find something to take away here -- it's a fully featured and fascinating trip down memory lane.
  12. Oct 29, 2019
    70
    Disney Classic Games is a perfectly preserved opportunity for anyone looking to explore the video game movie tie-in culture of the 1990s.
  13. Jan 13, 2020
    60
    Should this collection exist? I’m not sure. Am I glad it exists? Absolutely. Disney Classic Games did a great job of bringing two past greats to modern platforms. Although I wouldn’t recommend it to those with no nostalgia for the originals, I’m confident that those who remember them will appreciate this trip to the past. Now excuse me as I blast the volume to Be Prepared and start a fresh no-rewind playthrough of Lion King — I’m a masochist.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 14 out of 28
  1. Jan 16, 2020
    10
    8.5/10 But worth it, if you loved these games as a kid!!!! 10/10 for all these dumb 0-1 rating lol.

    If you loved theses games as a kid
    8.5/10 But worth it, if you loved these games as a kid!!!! 10/10 for all these dumb 0-1 rating lol.

    If you loved theses games as a kid you'll love theses games as an adult. Wait for a sale if $30 is too much for you( I got it for $20). I always like the sega Aladdin better so I don't mind it's missing the S.N. version. Lion King is as hard/fun as you remember it ( save files help with the anger lol). I honestly love how these games! I feel like I'm playing on my Sega.... FLAWS AND ALL BABY!! No game is perfect but it's easy to be jaded with all the games out today. Enjoy my old school sega friends!!
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 24, 2019
    1
    really don't know why this release? I think I never spent 30€ on something bad like this in my life, bought it cause as I read prerelase thatreally don't know why this release? I think I never spent 30€ on something bad like this in my life, bought it cause as I read prerelase that those would be Remasters and what would I think if I read that? Ofcourse that these games will be Remastered like Crash Bandicoot or Medievil. they would be very beautiful but like this I dont know wtf really?!? Don't waste ur money its not worth its really bad. Full Review »
  3. Nov 9, 2019
    7
    Nice old school games .. but its too short and too hard for my kids ^_^ it take us to the old days..