User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 778 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    So far from what I have played its every DBZ fan's wish for a proper RPG addition to the franchise :) its good and I am having fun with it.
  2. Aug 17, 2020
    7
    DBZ: Kakarot does a great job telling us the main story from the anime, however, that is all it really does. Graphics look good of course, but when not sticking to just the main story, and when jumping to events that never occurred in the show, not to mention the ridiculous amount of side and fetch quest, which make the game more of a chore to play, I cannot say we have the greatest DBZDBZ: Kakarot does a great job telling us the main story from the anime, however, that is all it really does. Graphics look good of course, but when not sticking to just the main story, and when jumping to events that never occurred in the show, not to mention the ridiculous amount of side and fetch quest, which make the game more of a chore to play, I cannot say we have the greatest DBZ game ever developed here. The gameplay itself works, the combat is good, for the most part, but overall it just doesn't achieve what it should have set out to achieve. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2020
    7
    A tad on the grindy side and I really wish you could turn of those annoying character remarks that is uttered and repeated constantly whenever an enemy is nearby

    Also, there is a game breaking buggy area at the area where you can train.
    I lost my 90 hour save file cause it decided to crash during a save.
    And even though there are 10 slots, it corrupted the entire thing
  4. Apr 5, 2020
    7
    Juego solo recomendado para fans de Dragon Ball. Yo lo he disfrutado durante bastante horas pero tiene muchas carencias, faltan momentos epicos del anime, a veces la historia esta muy resumida, faltan musicas, los combates son todos iguales, el mundo abierto es soso....
  5. Jan 27, 2020
    7
    Un juego de Dragon Ball que puedes disfrutar como fan, pero que no aporta nada nuevo... Ni está demasiado bien, ni mal.

    POSITIVO - Historia: revivirla de manera muy fiel (desde Raditz). - Banda sonora: temas y sonidos originales de la serie. - Enciclopedia Z: muy muy amplia, incluso con explicaciones muy determinadas de ciertos elementos. - Animaciones: hay ciertas partes de la
    Un juego de Dragon Ball que puedes disfrutar como fan, pero que no aporta nada nuevo... Ni está demasiado bien, ni mal.

    POSITIVO

    - Historia: revivirla de manera muy fiel (desde Raditz).
    - Banda sonora: temas y sonidos originales de la serie.
    - Enciclopedia Z: muy muy amplia, incluso con explicaciones muy determinadas de ciertos elementos.
    - Animaciones: hay ciertas partes de la historia que parecen sacadas frame a frame de la serie animada. Pero que se ven mejor que nunca.

    NEUTRO

    - Combates: Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot NO es un juego de peleas. No existen los combos elaborados, no hay que pulir tu habilidad para hacer buenos y espectaculares combates.
    - Desplazamiento: resulta bastante agradable volar a toda velocidad por los mapas de este mundo semi-abierto a porciones.
    - Sistema de Comunidad: está bien recolectar emblemas de todos los personajes e implementarlos en un tablero de sinergias para obtener mejoras. El problema es que estas mejoras no se notan demasiado en el gameplay.

    NEGATIVO

    - Misiones secundarias: completamente banales. A estas alturas sobran este tipo de misiones repetitivas y vacías. Lo único que aportan bueno es ver algún personaje clásico y conseguir su emblema.
    - Equilibrio: hay ciertos entrenamientos y misiones secundarias que no están bien ejecutados. Si el nivel recomendado es 30, no puede ser que te revienten a nivel 28 y los destroces a nivel 31. No resulta satisfactorio, puesto que no parece que dependa de ti.
    - Niveles de EXP: fatal. Experiencia ridículamente baja farmeando enemigos por el mundo, y desproporcionadamente alta durante los combates de la historia principal. No sirve de NADA combatir en el mundo abierto.
    - Habilidades: no hay problema con la poca variedad (eso es Dragon Ball), sino en que se desbloquean más por historia que otra cosa (y las que son por nivel, me remito al punto anterior. Es muy complicado subir nivel fuera de la historia). Está claro que no vas a conseguir el Súper Saiyan 3 antes de Freezer, pero, ¿por qué no el KameHameHa Guiado o el Combo +1, +2, etc?.
    - Tiempos de carga: EL PEOR ASPECTO DEL JUEGO. Es ridículo, y lo peor es que, sabiéndolo, lo diseñen así. En una PS4 normal, los tiempos de carga son de entre 25-35 segundos. Si hubiera alguno suelto, no habría problema, pero es que el diseño de misiones y la narrativa lo requieren muy a menudo. Como es un mundo semi-abierto (porciones de mapa más o menos grandes entre las que te mueves con un mapa de viaje rápido) hay tiempos de carga entre ellas, y hay misiones en las que tienes 3 o 4 seguidas entre momentos o conversaciones de 5 segundos. Si me vas a hacer recoger cinco p***s manzanas, no me hagas irme a otro mapa, cogerlas y volver, que estoy más tiempo cargando que jugando. Igual que con ciertas conversaciones de la historia que se suceden en distintas zonas del mapa y que duran 4 segundos con tiempos de carga entre todas ellas... FATAL.

    RESUMEN

    Si tiene un 7 es porque es Dragon Ball.
    Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2020
    6
    #DashReviews

    Completed Game: 1/31/2020 Played Game Time: 55 Hours Intro The long-running Dragon Ball franchise has delved into its first attempt into an Open World Action RPG which is a route many longtime fans have wanted for decades. Dragon Ball Z story has many retellings and this game follows in the same footsteps. While many anime games have a stigma of not being that great,
    #DashReviews

    Completed Game: 1/31/2020
    Played Game Time: 55 Hours

    Intro

    The long-running Dragon Ball franchise has delved into its first attempt into an Open World Action RPG which is a route many longtime fans have wanted for decades. Dragon Ball Z story has many retellings and this game follows in the same footsteps. While many anime games have a stigma of not being that great, can this game break the mold like Dragon Ball FighterZ?

    Story/World Building – 2/3

    I have never seen the Dragon Ball Z anime but this game does a good job retelling the story in a way that someone like me could still follow and enjoy. If you have never seen the anime, most would tell you to watch that instead but this is not a bad substitute if you don’t have the time. If you have seen the anime, you’re missing nothing in the story department. While it is told competently, there is a varying level of quality between cutscenes. Due to the overwhelming amount of DBZ games retelling the anime story, this might burn out fans wanting to pick this title up.

    Gameplay – 2/4

    Exploring the vast landscapes or fighting one of the many iconic villains from DBZ can be a lot of fun but there is a lot of fault with it. Fighting mechanics consist of an easy one to two-button press combo that looks flashy but can become repetitive especially when grinding for EXP if you want to max out all 7 playable characters. Most fights will not be difficult because characters automatically level up with the story making side quest pointless. Side quests are boring fetch quests with uninteresting stories and no voice acting. Other side activities like fishing and crafting are almost an afterthought and have little bearing on anything else in the game. There is fun to be had in the 40 to 50 hours you will spend in the game, but mix in the negative of the gameplay and a story you most likely have played though before, the game offers very little for a 2020 release.

    Technical/Performance – 2/3

    LOAD SCREENS! Load screens are a major issue in this game to the point that you will spend 1/3 of the game in just load screens. Graphics look nice some times and look a little dated in others. It’s pretty disappointing to see almost flawless looking cutscenes, and then static characters with little to no life right after. The soundtrack is pretty generic with most songs lifted straight from the anime but it gets the job done. It’s not the worst technical performance I have seen from a game but improving load times would help.

    Verdict

    Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is a game I want to like due to how much I got into the story and this game being my gateway into watching the Dragon Ball Super anime but there are quite a few flaws that show up in this RPG despite its potential. If you want to experience an Action RPG in the DBZ universe, this is still the best one (only because it's the only one) but I would wait for a price drop and for the game to be released with all DLC before making a purchase.
    Expand
  7. May 28, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So many great ideas for this game, poor execution. One of the more aspects for me was cooking setup. Only make one item at a time, takes way too long. The constantly switching between characters was also annoying. Artificially extending boss fights by adding lame mechanics that make them invulnerable almost. The power curve for levels and exp is way out of portions as well. The biggest annoyance was how bad the voice acting and lip sync was. Expand
  8. Feb 6, 2020
    7
    Buen juego y buena adaptación a videojuego de la famosa saga de Dragon Ball. No es precisamente lo que muchos esperabamos pero hay que reconocer que es un buen juego.
  9. Feb 16, 2020
    6
    Cada vez que veo las puntuaciones de la gente a los juegos de esta página entiendo menos a la humanidad, pero comprendo por que el mundo va como va.
    Este juego ESTA BIEN, pero de ahí no pasa, me lo he pasado al 100%, me ha entretenido bastante y por eso le doy un aprobado, pero de ahi no pasa, es un juego tremendamente repetitivo, las mecánicas introducidas para hacernos creer que es un
    Cada vez que veo las puntuaciones de la gente a los juegos de esta página entiendo menos a la humanidad, pero comprendo por que el mundo va como va.
    Este juego ESTA BIEN, pero de ahí no pasa, me lo he pasado al 100%, me ha entretenido bastante y por eso le doy un aprobado, pero de ahi no pasa, es un juego tremendamente repetitivo, las mecánicas introducidas para hacernos creer que es un rpg son absurdas, es un juego de peleas normal y corriente, las cinemáticas a veces son brutales y a veces se nota que querían hacerlas deprisa y corriendo(como en la saga de buu que crean ciertas incoherencias).
    Evidentemente recomiendo jugar a este juego a cualquier fan, pero a la persona que compre este juego sin ser un tremendo fan incondicional de la saga, le diría que no gaste mas de 30 euros.
    Expand
  10. Mar 8, 2020
    7
    Great visuals, looks and feels as the tv series. Combat is simple but fun. Gets a bit repetitive specially the secundary missions which are just fetch quests without any purpose.

    I would recommend this game to fans of the anime but if you aren't a fan then id wait for a sale to purchase it.
  11. Feb 1, 2020
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As it stands right now, the game feels as if it needed a lot more polishing and technical work, and just simply more time. Constant bugs, some that even make me reboot the game to continue plague the game right now, and it has some of the worst voice acting I've ever heard in a dragonball Z game. All the main voice actors do a great job, but then the delivery is off in a lot of scenes, or they just use the same recorded "Okay!" about 500 times. Voice lines repeat, play out of order, and there are some instances of brief scenes that had 0 audio.

    Some of the other voice actors (Android 17 especially) were just awful. Sounded like they were just reading a book out loud, instead of actually playing a character.

    Most of the issues I have with the game can be fixed though. The game itself is pretty fun, if not a little grindy (But a hell of a lot less grindy than most RPGs). I'd definitely recommend people wait to buy, after a few more patches maybe things will be improved.
    Expand
  12. Feb 1, 2020
    7
    Do not let the ultra fanboys lie to you, This game is average at best, it is not a 10. The gameplay is boring, the controls kinda suck, the fighting is ok, the generic enemies are very generic and show up all over, I avoided them at all costs, and the sidequests are just pretty boring.

    Don't get me wrong is not a horrible game in any way, it is a decent attempt at a semi open-world DBZ
    Do not let the ultra fanboys lie to you, This game is average at best, it is not a 10. The gameplay is boring, the controls kinda suck, the fighting is ok, the generic enemies are very generic and show up all over, I avoided them at all costs, and the sidequests are just pretty boring.

    Don't get me wrong is not a horrible game in any way, it is a decent attempt at a semi open-world DBZ game. The graphics are good and the animations look really good when performing attacks but that really doesnt make up for all thats lacking.
    Expand
  13. Feb 4, 2020
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the game, fighting and the story, but as for RPG genre the side quests and character progression/grinding was just useless if completing the main story gives you 100x the reward of completing a side quest which were most of the time pick up or kill something. Expand
  14. Feb 10, 2020
    6
    Enjoy the love & care shown to the DBZ world & story. The gameplay does feel very repetitive and lacks depth at times. Enjoyable as a fan of the series but overall a flawed experience, though a step in the right direction for DBZ games
  15. Feb 14, 2020
    7
    Over all it's a great game and graphics, but it is very glitchy. Sometimes during special attacks, even at point blank range with your opponent dead center of your target circle, no damage to the guy you're fighting. Also about mid way through a special attack, your opponent will go from taking damage to behind you. Of course if you're in the middle of an attack from an opponent youOver all it's a great game and graphics, but it is very glitchy. Sometimes during special attacks, even at point blank range with your opponent dead center of your target circle, no damage to the guy you're fighting. Also about mid way through a special attack, your opponent will go from taking damage to behind you. Of course if you're in the middle of an attack from an opponent you can't break the attack, half way through. You have to dodge at the beginning, There are a few more small glitches but over all a good game. Expand
  16. Feb 16, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I heard a new RPG that of DBZ will come out I was expecting something like Goku Legacy from GBA or Buus Fury, but no, this game should have been called.....DRAGON BALL Z: Long Loading Screen and unnecessary side-missions.

    I am putting 6 just for the nostalgic experience and the fights but that is only the 40% of the game, the rest is crap, you don’t have to farm heroes to level up, not necessary pay attention if the meals, not necessary use the soul board or other items or machines. Just go straight to the main story and you are fine. This game waste my time a lot with unnecessary scenes, chats and loading screen. I was an idiot buying it right away it came out.
    Expand
  17. Feb 22, 2020
    6
    Honestly,The game is very underwhelming. The dragon ball franchise has repeated the DBZ storyline so many times that this game just sums up to a water downed open world xenoverse 2 with not much character customization at all. The game is beautiful graphics wise but the combat is very repetitive and lacking, the story is short and just a straight rip out of all the other dragon ballHonestly,The game is very underwhelming. The dragon ball franchise has repeated the DBZ storyline so many times that this game just sums up to a water downed open world xenoverse 2 with not much character customization at all. The game is beautiful graphics wise but the combat is very repetitive and lacking, the story is short and just a straight rip out of all the other dragon ball games, The open world doesn't have that much to do RPG wise besides side quests that either have you fight some robots and such. A good experience and worth the pick up if its your first dragon ball game, if it isn't, you're better off going back to xenoverse 2 and spend 60$ on DLC. Expand
  18. Mar 25, 2020
    5
    DBZ: Kakarot.. should be DBZ Gohan. I basically played the whole game from Gohans POV not Goku's. Felt like I rebought the dbz DVD series and got to button mash. Include the extra movies at least or make the fighting more than smash smash smash Super end.
  19. Apr 1, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's under 9,000

    Enjoyed the game overall, but there are problems. Graphics are mostly good and there's a huge amount of detail and lore in the game's Z Encyclopedia, plus plenty of post-story content and a huge world to explore. Unfortunately, it's plagued by stability issues ranging from frame rate drops to crashes and failing to recover when returning to the game from the PS4 dashboard. Gameplay is what we've come to expect from over-the-shoulder DBZ titles. Ultimately it becomes button mashing and nothing but beam attacks because the controls are unresponsive and the camera is broken. You can't record certain gameplay segments and you're forced you to agree to an in-game EULA before you can play at all. I'm done w/ Bandai Namco.

    Audio

    1. No VO in side-quests besides repetitive, awkward grunts or random mono-syllabic phrases to represent entire paragraphs of subtitles. The final VO for many conversations is "hi." Disgustingly obvious shortcut.

    2. Idle VO is repetitive and often nonsensical; within seconds of eating, characters complain of hunger. Every time a mob gets close, the same character VO plays. It's annoying.

    3. Bad dialogue pacing and usually too much pause after each line (see item 7 in gameplay).

    4. Mostly original voice cast.

    5. Frequent sound dropout, most noticeable with team finishing moves and transformations.

    Gameplay

    1. Some NPC interactions seem like they're going to be sidequests but aren't, which is confusing.

    2. Battle camera is completely broken--no better than it was in the Tenkaichi series. Doesn't help that you get pinned against scenery and the player character disappears completely when multiple opponents are shooting particle fx.

    3. Driving is awful. No matter how much you upgrade your car, the driving never improves because the camera doesn't turn with the car therefor you can't see where you're going. You have to move the camera manually as you turn so that you're not looking at the side of the car.

    4. Feels like every enemy attack stuns you, and you get attacked through your own beams. When attacking a stunned enemy at close range, no matter what you do, you will get knocked back as soon as their stun period ends.

    5. Mini map is useless. It's too small and everything on it looks the same. Can't even tell which direction you're facing. When certain items are added to the larger map screen, it might be impossible to find them because they overlap other map icons.

    6. Lazy development lead to in-game healing items. There's no limit to how many you can buy or how many you can use in a fight. It's as if the devs played the game, realized it was broken, and threw healing items in at the last second as a "fix."

    7. Just like in Dragon Ball Fighterz, you're forced you to press X after every line of subtitled dialogue which breaks the pacing of the exposition. Turning off subtitles only affects a handful of cut scenes, it doesn't actually do what you'd expect.

    8. Unavoidable mobs which spawn infinitely and yield little XP. Just annoying, avoid them.

    9. Leveling is mostly scripted so that each character is at a minimum level at each point in the story. Not much customization.

    10. At certain points through the story you're boxed into an area w/ invisible walls, but there's no indication that this is the case until you automatically turn around when you hit one. Worst on Namek.

    11. First person ki-firing mechanic is terrible and unless you aim above your target you end up blasting the ground.

    12. Often difficult to find things and you might fly in circles for 20+ minutes searching for items or people.

    13. Baseball game needs a restart option to avoid completely unnecessary fumbling through menus and NPC conversations.

    14. When a sidequest requires a specific character, it's not enough that he be in your party, he has to be the player character. Rather than auto-switch for you when attempting to start the quest, you have to manually reconfigure your party. This happens a lot.

    Visuals

    1. Game looks nice overall. Some cut scenes are gorgeous while others are little more than talking heads with exaggerated breathing animations. Because of the aforementioned dialogue/pressing X issue, a lot of the animation comes across as unnatural (or even creepy) while characters hold a pose and an expression waiting for your controller input. Most noticeable w/ Mr. Satan's laugh...

    2. Load screens begin and end with a full white screen, be prepared to shield your eyes frequently. 3. English lip sync virtually nonexistent
    Expand
  20. Jun 23, 2020
    7
    Story 8/10
    Gameplay 8/10
    Graphics 6/10

    I Enjoyed the game overall but the combat is very repetitive and the graphics is just above average
  21. Jun 25, 2020
    7
    if for some reason someone didn't watch dragon ball Z this is a great way to experience it. You re playing the main story and seeing the events that occur while you control the characters.
    the music is nothing more of a nostalgic tone . I believe its the first RPG dragon ball since the original Game boy Legacy of Goku games. The worlds look massive and huge , and your interaction with it
    if for some reason someone didn't watch dragon ball Z this is a great way to experience it. You re playing the main story and seeing the events that occur while you control the characters.
    the music is nothing more of a nostalgic tone . I believe its the first RPG dragon ball since the original Game boy Legacy of Goku games. The worlds look massive and huge , and your interaction with it its amazing, from breaking the ground/mountains to rage the waters.
    battles are fast pacing and extremely good, the cutscenes gorgeous.
    Also worth mentioning that the way they combined the 2 Xenoverses into this with the secret boss is amazing

    HOWEVER
    this game cut some important scenes such as the final flash,rage form trunks and others.
    The game does not have the replay ability value (for me), some rpg elements such as food and Z board shouldn't even be there since they re useless :')
    Expand
  22. Jul 11, 2020
    7
    Como fan de Dragon Ball toda mi vida debo decir que el juego me ha gustado bastante y que lo he disfrutado de principio a fin, pero eso no quita que tenga bastantes carencias. El combate, para mí, muy parecido a los Tenkaichi de la PS2 y muy disfrutable con escenarios grandes y destructibles. La BSO con los temas originales de la serie anime son increíbles y haces que disfrutes más de lasComo fan de Dragon Ball toda mi vida debo decir que el juego me ha gustado bastante y que lo he disfrutado de principio a fin, pero eso no quita que tenga bastantes carencias. El combate, para mí, muy parecido a los Tenkaichi de la PS2 y muy disfrutable con escenarios grandes y destructibles. La BSO con los temas originales de la serie anime son increíbles y haces que disfrutes más de las escenas más épicas. A nivel gráfico es un juego normal, con estética anime, nada revolucionario. El mundo abierto es bonito, te dan ganas de explorar para buscar misiones y algunas objetos pero esto cansa después de unas cuantas horas de juego. Y por último, la historia, que abarca desde la llegada de Raditz a La Tierra hasta la amenaza del monstruo Buu. Creo que a Cyberconnect le faltado más tiempo de desarrollo, porque se nota que en las dos primeras sagas le metieron bastante trabajo y en las de Cell y Buu fueron corriendo porque faltan bastantes momentos de la historia y algunos resumidos y contados con imágenes estáticas con texto. Es un problema del juego y se nota bastante. A pesar de esto, como fan de DBZ es un juego que disfrutas de principio a fin. Recomedado. Expand
  23. Jul 19, 2020
    5
    As a die-hard DBZ fan since childhood, Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is the exact game I wanted as a kid. The trouble is since that time we have had 20 years of DBZ games, and by now its difficult not to see this as any more than Bandai Namco running out of ideas over what to do with the IP. Once you get over the initial buzz of flying around the open world as Goku in an RPG, it quickly makes wayAs a die-hard DBZ fan since childhood, Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is the exact game I wanted as a kid. The trouble is since that time we have had 20 years of DBZ games, and by now its difficult not to see this as any more than Bandai Namco running out of ideas over what to do with the IP. Once you get over the initial buzz of flying around the open world as Goku in an RPG, it quickly makes way for tedium. The open world levels are colourful and expansive, but the side content is completely dull and uninteresting. The main story is the best thing about this game, but it’s the same sagas we’ve been replaying in games for 2 decades. As far as the 3D arena fighting goes, I felt that Dragon Ball Xenoverse games pretty much nailed it. DBZ Kakarot seems to have taken a step back and made the fighting feel clunkier. When you aren’t fighting, you’ll be flying around collecting orbs and cooking recipes, playing inanely boring side quests and trying not to break the controller when you come up against the game’s random fluctuations of awful difficulty balancing. Sad to say that this in all honesty will be my last DBZ game purchase until they come up with new stories and more satisfying gameplay, this game was a sour note to end on. If you’re a DBZ fan there is enjoyment to be had and is no doubt rated higher by fans. As a game its boring and pretty tedious. Expand
  24. Jul 21, 2020
    7
    Les images sont magnifiques, histoire commence à être trop répétitif avec xenoverse 2 est celui-ci,la jouabilité est pas au top conparer a xenoverse 2
  25. Jul 23, 2020
    6
    El juego mola porque Dragon Ball mola, su banda sonora mola y volar subido en una nube mola. Si le quitas la skin de DB lo iba a jugar Rita La Cantaora. El mundo abierto, que no es tan abierto, es cutre y en dónde la mayor parte del tiempo te las pasas recogiendo orbes de colores que flotan y peleando contra enemigos random, poco variados, que te aparecen como si fueran Pokemons. ElEl juego mola porque Dragon Ball mola, su banda sonora mola y volar subido en una nube mola. Si le quitas la skin de DB lo iba a jugar Rita La Cantaora. El mundo abierto, que no es tan abierto, es cutre y en dónde la mayor parte del tiempo te las pasas recogiendo orbes de colores que flotan y peleando contra enemigos random, poco variados, que te aparecen como si fueran Pokemons. El combate tampoco es del DBZ pero está guay, sobre todo cuando de vez en cuando te salta una cinématica con algunos frames que se te caen los orbes al suelo. Expand
  26. Aug 7, 2020
    3
    I've played every Dragon Ball game you can play. I love them. I don't care if it's just repeat of the same old crap. This game however is horrible. The difficulty scaling is intense. I barely made it through the first fight with Raditz. It took me almost 3 days. And now that friezas lame arc (not the game, but frieza is lame lol) is over the game is unapproachable with its difficultyI've played every Dragon Ball game you can play. I love them. I don't care if it's just repeat of the same old crap. This game however is horrible. The difficulty scaling is intense. I barely made it through the first fight with Raditz. It took me almost 3 days. And now that friezas lame arc (not the game, but frieza is lame lol) is over the game is unapproachable with its difficulty again. Im glad I wanted for a sale but I still want a refund this game sucks so bad. Expand
  27. Jan 30, 2020
    4
    Great visuals and overall presentation, but everything else is just mediocre or straight up bad. I wasn't expecting anything deep but the game's mechanics are either too simplistic or annoying.

    1. You get 1 attack button that can't be cancelled into supers unless you do a full combo then pair it with a Kamehameha. Some supers are also broken due to input delay and others just don't
    Great visuals and overall presentation, but everything else is just mediocre or straight up bad. I wasn't expecting anything deep but the game's mechanics are either too simplistic or annoying.

    1. You get 1 attack button that can't be cancelled into supers unless you do a full combo then pair it with a Kamehameha. Some supers are also broken due to input delay and others just don't work properly like the consecutive energy blast.

    2. Boss fights are annoying. Their attacks are always paired with super armor and will often even go through your supers. If you get a boss down to it's last HP bar then they'll start to permanently rotate between super armor specials and super armor dash attacks. The joke about all this is that the gameplay isn't the slightest bit challenging, yet it tries so hard to annoy you in every single way possible.

    3. Uneccessary rpg mechanics. What's the point of having a leveling system when each time you change characters they get 1million XP for free? No reason to grind. The skill tree is also just a bunch of upgrades for attacks that you get through the story. What's the difference between this and the capsule system that was used in Budokai 3? Maybe the fact that companies today need to have "rPg eLemeNtZ" in order for their game to sell.

    TL;DR Style over substance.. Bandai is a company that makes low effort garbage and Kakarot is yet another proof of that.
    Expand
  28. Jan 31, 2020
    9
    After over 60 hours of gameplay, completing the game & maxing out everything I can give this game a solid 9/10. Very close to 10/10 but I had to be fair in this case even if DBZ is a big part of my childhood. This is now my favourite DBZ game, with Budokai Tenkaichi 3 & FighterZ being slightly behind.
    The DBZ game we all wanted, an semi open-world DBZ game! This is perfect for the people
    After over 60 hours of gameplay, completing the game & maxing out everything I can give this game a solid 9/10. Very close to 10/10 but I had to be fair in this case even if DBZ is a big part of my childhood. This is now my favourite DBZ game, with Budokai Tenkaichi 3 & FighterZ being slightly behind.
    The DBZ game we all wanted, an semi open-world DBZ game! This is perfect for the people that hasn't watched DBZ but is a gamer and wants to understand the DBZ universe. You can be caught up in a lot of the story before DB:Super. There are some slight bugs here and there but this can easily be looked over. The combat and gameplay are great! Animation is perfect! Voice acting can be cringe sometimes but that's not a problem. Missing out on a side-quest can be annoying as you won't have access to them anymore through the story until you complete the entire game.
    The perfect DBZ story-telling game in an RPG element! Now all we have to do is for them to do DB:Super as well and then this will be the PERFECT GAME! There are a couple of things to do after the game but I'll let that to you to find out yourself.
    Expand
  29. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    It is a great game and the best way to play the anime. You can play without watching dragon ball. Its like the anime and you’ll know the important parts of dragon ball z.
  30. Feb 2, 2020
    10
    nice game nice gameplay but grapichs are little bad but soundtracks are nice
  31. Feb 8, 2020
    3
    This game is incredibly boring. Yes, the story is very nostalgic and you get the experience of playing through very recognizable Dragon Ball Z moments but other than that there isn't much to this game. It's a very simplistic combat system that gets a bit repetitive and the "RPG" aspect of the game is almost entirely missing. If you like the story and just want to play through for it,This game is incredibly boring. Yes, the story is very nostalgic and you get the experience of playing through very recognizable Dragon Ball Z moments but other than that there isn't much to this game. It's a very simplistic combat system that gets a bit repetitive and the "RPG" aspect of the game is almost entirely missing. If you like the story and just want to play through for it, that's great, if you wanted a fun game to pour hours into then this isn't it. Expand
  32. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This game is amazing. So much fun so far. I just went to explore the whole world and do the quests later like this is the game I've always wanted for dbz anyone that says its borning needs a reality check.
  33. Jan 31, 2020
    3
    MAL

    1 NO es un juego RPG bajo ningún parámetro 2 El juego después del primer capitulo es pobre en el sentido de innovación y enfrentamientos, vale decir, repetitivo, peleas constantes y molestas contra, siempre, los mismos enemigos (genéricos) mientras te mueves, (enemigos que no aportan nada, ya que su loot es pobre e invariable, y la experiencia que dan es insignificante) 3
    MAL

    1 NO es un juego RPG bajo ningún parámetro

    2 El juego después del primer capitulo es pobre en el sentido de innovación y enfrentamientos, vale decir, repetitivo, peleas constantes y molestas contra, siempre, los mismos enemigos (genéricos) mientras te mueves, (enemigos que no aportan nada, ya que su loot es pobre e invariable, y la experiencia que dan es insignificante)

    3 Demasiadas cinemáticas y cargas, básicamente el juego carga durante 30 segundos mínimo, entre cada 20 segundos o 2 minutos de juego. El 60% del tiempo que estas jugando solo estas viendo cinemáticas, otro 20% estas cargando, por lo que de juego queda bien poco.

    4 Los diseños no están a la altura de otras entregas, en ocasiones se ven cutres o poco detallados

    5 Las batallas son monótonas, todas caen en las mismas mecánicas, después de un rato de jugar, cuando debes aprender skills nuevas, todos los desafíos son iguales, lo cual hace que pierda todo dinamismo y en definitiva no te den ganas de sacarlas, pues con dos o tres puedes derrotar a todos sin problemas.

    6 El juego adolece de sistemas diversos, la única cosa diferente es conducir un auto, mientras otros elementos simplemente son irrelevantes como el farmeo de materiales, la comida incluso la recolección de esferas de poder, en este aspecto el juego es deprimente pues lo único que haces es apretar un botón y moverte a una nueva pelea.

    7 El juego dice tener entre 45 y 80 horas de juego, lo que es verdad, pero como mencione antes, en realidad de juego no tiene mas de 35 si le quitas las cinemáticas y las cargas constantes.

    8 El costo del juego es muy elevado para lo poco que ofrece, básicamente, es el costo de un juego como inquisition o cuando salio witcher 3, entre muchos otros de ese nivel de calidad, sin embargo es un juego muy olvidable.

    9 Cero rejugabilidad, un típico RPG lo puedes jugar muchísimas veces; sin embargo, este titulo por su sistema de juego y peleas mas las cargas y cinemáticas, definitivamente no querrás volver a jugarlo, ademas de que en el juego jamas tomas una decisión por lo que no hay posibles variantes o resultados así como tampoco hay finales diferentes, lo cual es lógico por que es la historia de Goku; sin embargo, es tan limitante esto ultimo que es insultante que lo denominen como rpg.

    10 No tiene sistema de pelea pvp, tampoco eventos que siempre llaman la atención como la configuración de un torneo o cualquier cosa que no sea hacer lo mismo por horas.

    BIEN

    1 El sistema de pelea es simple y esto hace que sean rápidas y vertiginosas dando una sensación inmersiva de velocidad, pero solo eso.

    2 Si bien encontré varios bugs, ninguno fue serio o dramático, en ese sentido el juego esta bien.

    3 La animación de los movimientos es fluida y bien lograda tanto para moverse libremente como en las peleas.

    4 Es un buen resumen de la historia, y si bien hay partes que hubiese querido jugar, la mayoría están ahí.

    5 La música esta bien puesta, me refiero a que suena precisamente la que debería sonar en cada momento del juego.

    6 El mapa, los lugares, las ciudades y escenarios están bien logrados, dan la sensación correcta, y dan ganas de recorrerlos.

    CONCLUSIÓN

    El juego esta bien logrado en los aspectos visuales en su mayoría, también en la animación de movimientos y combate, sin embargo es tedioso, repetitivo, sin rejugabilidad. Tiene una absoluta carencia del genero RPG y no aporta nada ni al genero ni a la saga. Es un juego limitado tanto por la historia original como por el exceso de cinemáticas y cargas, lo que tampoco ayuda a sopesar las constantes batallas contra enemigos molestos e insípidos que vagan por el mapa, los cuales solo varían en lvl pues su forma de pelear como su imagen siempre es la misma.
    El juego trata de sorprender con sistemas de comida, pesca, carreras y un farmeo ágil, sin embargo todas esas mecánicas quedan obsoletas al resultar casi inútiles para el juego, ya que no aportan realmente nada al desarrollo de los personajes, quedando en el rincón de las anécdotas.
    Tomando en cuenta todo lo anterior, el juego tiene un valor excesivo para lo mediocre que resulta al concluirlo, Es un juego que dura un par de semanas y luego quedara en el cajón guardando polvo.
    En definitiva si tuviera que definirlo en una sola palabra, seria: DECEPCIONANTE
    Expand
  34. Jan 23, 2020
    7
    Have played a decent amount of Budokai and Budokai Tenkaichis to compare this game's quality.

    The story aspect is awesome. Lots of detail and scenes that weren't included in the anime and the DBZ encyclopaedia is one of the best in game lore I've seen. That's where it pretty much excels at. Everything else is pretty sub par. The combat is lacklustre, I can spam blasts with all
    Have played a decent amount of Budokai and Budokai Tenkaichis to compare this game's quality.

    The story aspect is awesome. Lots of detail and scenes that weren't included in the anime and the DBZ encyclopaedia is one of the best in game lore I've seen.

    That's where it pretty much excels at. Everything else is pretty sub par. The combat is lacklustre, I can spam blasts with all fighters to win most battles (similar to Xenoverse). The AI are pretty dumb as they strafe into your blasts. There's only one combo per character where you just pretty much tap the punch button with no variation. The Budokai Tenkaichi games at least had some combo variations and even some throw moves.

    The divided open world is large but the things to do is really basic. The fishing mini game is rubbish and hover car racing? Cmon! Collecting the Dragon Balls is just not rewarding (No I don't want to fight the Ginyu Squad again!!).

    The RPG elements is weak. No gear to equip and it's just unlocking skills when you hit a certain level and you fight ghost figures of yourself to unlock new moves.

    Overall, if you are new to DBZ you will enjoy the epic story. I really thought they would get the fighting right since they've release a million versions of fighting games since the 90s.

    Calling this game an RPG is a joke. It's an action adventure game with very little RPG elements.
    Expand
  35. Jan 24, 2020
    8
    Jugabilidad
    - Sin duda en este apartado nos encontramos un juego muy pulido, no es demasiado difícil entender su mecánica, ni sufrimos en exceso con el mando en las manos cuando tenemos que movernos y maniobrar con los distintos personajes. Si bien es cierto que hay veces que que todo parece un poco lento y encajamos golpes que no deberíamos por la imposibilidad de cancelar ataques y
    Jugabilidad
    - Sin duda en este apartado nos encontramos un juego muy pulido, no es demasiado difícil entender su mecánica, ni sufrimos en exceso con el mando en las manos cuando tenemos que movernos y maniobrar con los distintos personajes. Si bien es cierto que hay veces que que todo parece un poco lento y encajamos golpes que no deberíamos por la imposibilidad de cancelar ataques y defendernos a tiempo.
    Gráficos
    -En este apartado, su estilo gráfico de dibujo animado juega muy a su favor. Es difícil que se vean mal unos dibujos coloreados. Nada de lo que podamos quejarnos aquí.
    Música
    - Un fantástico punto sin duda, toda la música original de la serie, ataca directamente al corazón y es simplemente fantástico.
    Historia
    - Juego largo, como deben ser, con variedad de tareas que poder realizar. Nos encontramos con los personajes principales de la saga y su combate contra todos ellos. Si ya se conoce la historia, ya se sabe lo buena que es.
    Multijugador
    - El viejojuego carece de este apartado, por lo que no hay nada que decir.
    Duración
    - Muy buena. Es un juego para experimentar toda la saga pero siendo nosotros los personajes, justo lo que se podía esperar de este videojuego. Era una serie larga, es un juego largo.
    Innovacion
    - No es un juego que rompa barreras de ninguna clase. Se podría decir que es como cualquier otro juego, buscar, recolectar, matar y volver a empezar. No es algo malo, pero no hay nada destacable.
    Expand
  36. Feb 1, 2020
    10
    if your a dbz fan you'll love this game, if not you will probably quit playing halfway.
  37. Apr 29, 2020
    8
    Viciante, divertido, tão com ótimas animações, já até adquiri o DLC tanto que gostei.
  38. Jan 28, 2020
    8
    First off, I am a huge supporter of CyberConnect2. I will however not allow that bias to interfere with my review.

    Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is a faithful adaption of the manga/anime that we all love with some extra side content. The game's fighting system can be a bit clunky at times, but I do enjoy using different characters when the story calls for it. I'm gonna sink more hours into it
    First off, I am a huge supporter of CyberConnect2. I will however not allow that bias to interfere with my review.

    Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is a faithful adaption of the manga/anime that we all love with some extra side content. The game's fighting system can be a bit clunky at times, but I do enjoy using different characters when the story calls for it. I'm gonna sink more hours into it to see how it turns out, but I am having some fun with it.
    Expand
  39. Jan 25, 2020
    4
    The last DBZ related game I played was Budokai on the PS2. I thought it was fun and to the point. This game is just very bloated. It bombards the player with menus explaining how to play and just window after window explaining what things do. That is just lazy. I don't want to sit and read text boxes. Granted I was frustrated for the first few hours because I didn't know how to do certainThe last DBZ related game I played was Budokai on the PS2. I thought it was fun and to the point. This game is just very bloated. It bombards the player with menus explaining how to play and just window after window explaining what things do. That is just lazy. I don't want to sit and read text boxes. Granted I was frustrated for the first few hours because I didn't know how to do certain things.

    Does it really need the tacked on RPG elements and open world with nothing there? I'm tired of developers making open world games but never put any effort into the environment. It reminds me of Death Stranding. There is no incentive to explore. The world is just peppered with orbs you can't even use right away, and ingredients for the food crafting mechanics. Aside from the main story characters, all the NPCs look like lifeless dolls. There is no detail to them at all. Instead they could have easily just made it one screen where you just choose the next story event. That's all this game feels like. But instead you just fly through an open empty world to the next event.

    This game is falsely advertised as an RPG. Not sure what is the point of making it like an RPG when you can't really level grind either. I guess to give you the sense you're getting stronger like in the show? But if you try to power up too much and get certain abilities, the game locks you out from using them. So what's the point in training like in the show when you can't even play the way you want and use abilities you earned? Just because it doesn't follow the story? Then why make it like an RPG?

    Normal mobs are easy to kill and some boss fights are very hard if you don't bring healing items. It's very unbalanced. Bosses just spam their special moves. Battle is boring. It's basically just dodge a lot and wait for an opening to get a few hits in. Makes combat take forever on tough fights. It's not fun. What's fun is really beating the crap out of an enemy and feeling good about it. I don't want to sit here and dodge a lot waiting to get a few hits in. This isn't Dark Souls!

    Not very satisfied with this game. It's the same story we've all seen before. Honestly I'm just skipping all the story and dialogue. I know the plot points. I don't want to sit through it all again. If the new content was worth it maybe I'd be into that, but the side quests are boring and repetitive. There really ISN'T a whole lot here that I haven't seen before content wise. If they were going to redo the same story. The least they could have done was make some fun alternative story content.

    This game is just another cash grab on people's nostalgia, and I fell for it. Just avoid this rubbish. The load times are straight up out of PS1 era of bad. Can they fix it in a patch? Anyway, just buy a real open world RPG like Witcher 3.
    Expand
  40. Jan 18, 2020
    6
    A game like this has very very high potential, probably the highest of any dragon ball game released and I think a possible sequel to this game with more content in it could be the best dbz game ever. as for how kakarot is I think the gameplay is repetitive especially the combat, there isn't much to do after you finish except collect meaningless orbs and a few other things, it's lackingA game like this has very very high potential, probably the highest of any dragon ball game released and I think a possible sequel to this game with more content in it could be the best dbz game ever. as for how kakarot is I think the gameplay is repetitive especially the combat, there isn't much to do after you finish except collect meaningless orbs and a few other things, it's lacking any dragon ball super content however it does have a very nice open world which apart from a lack of very many things to do in it,, is absolutely astonishing and practically saves the rest of the game for me

    Right now I'd give it 65/100 but I think any sequel it gets could easily be 100/100 and I can't wait to see what a future release looks like
    Expand
  41. Jan 19, 2020
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Best Game of dbz i play in Xbox one x and work perfect the sound and all Expand
  42. Jan 20, 2020
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Me parece un buen juego de dragon ball desde hace mucho tiempo no se veia un juego tan currado a nivel de historia pero aun asi faltan partes de historias importantes como el destello final de super vegeta contra semsemiperfecto o super trunks contra cell perfecto. Cuidan detalles y otros no no se si por falta de tiempo o que pero eso resta al juego. Luego otra cosa q no me gusta ed q ested explorando tranquilamente y no puedas hacerlo porq cada 5 metros te saltan enemigos q mas q te divierte te agobia y molesta por lo demas el juego me esta gustando como dije hacia tiempo q no se veia un juego asi pero falta detalles y partes de historia por pulir Expand
  43. Jan 20, 2020
    5
    Pero que habéis hecho desgraciados??!! Ibais bien con xenoverse 2 solo necesitaba pulirse y tal vez un modo campaña más completo pero la base estaba bien. Ahora me sacáis esta mierda con un modo exploración totalmente olvidable a lo coge orbes tipo superman 64 y queréis coronaros como mejor juego de dragonball??? Venga por favor!!! Combates aburridos y monótonos, sistema de progresiónPero que habéis hecho desgraciados??!! Ibais bien con xenoverse 2 solo necesitaba pulirse y tal vez un modo campaña más completo pero la base estaba bien. Ahora me sacáis esta mierda con un modo exploración totalmente olvidable a lo coge orbes tipo superman 64 y queréis coronaros como mejor juego de dragonball??? Venga por favor!!! Combates aburridos y monótonos, sistema de progresión leeeeeento y sin ningún tipo de aliciente para seguir progresando, modo historia largo pero muy aburrido, pero que mierda es esto??? Tan difícil era coger el sistema de combate de por ejemplo el zenkai battle royale que es cojonudo en Japón y añadirle un buen modo historia??? Un modo historia a base de cinemáticas soso!!! No tiene espectacularidad como la serie. Me lie a comparar la muerte de Raditz con la del juego y es soso no lo siguiente. Gran decepción!!! Estoy cabreadisimo!!!! Un restaurante no es mejor por tener más platos sino por la calidad que estos tengan. Por mucho contenido que hayan puesto no es de calidad, es un relleno asqueroso. Por mi cyberconnect se puede ir a hacer juegos de Naruto si quieren porque de Dragonball no tienen ni puta idea. Expand
  44. Jan 23, 2020
    7
    Como fã de Dragon Ball, eu achei o game incrível, ele deu um toque mais bonito e mais sentimental aos personagens, principalmente Goku, a história sendo recontada desse jeito foi incrível.

    RPG: Mas como um gamer, posso dizer que o jogo está longe de ser perfeito, ruim não é. Fazer um RPG de Dragon Ball e fazê-lo funcional não é uma ideia ruim, porém, o jogo se torna maçante em certo
    Como fã de Dragon Ball, eu achei o game incrível, ele deu um toque mais bonito e mais sentimental aos personagens, principalmente Goku, a história sendo recontada desse jeito foi incrível.

    RPG: Mas como um gamer, posso dizer que o jogo está longe de ser perfeito, ruim não é. Fazer um RPG de Dragon Ball e fazê-lo funcional não é uma ideia ruim, porém, o jogo se torna maçante em certo tempo de gameplay, andar pra lá e pra cá, enfrentando inimigos genéricos foi meio chato pra mim, o mapa é grande e retrata bem a Terra do anime, porém, não tem tanta variedade de coisas pra se fazer, o que torna a exploração frustrante, as missões secundárias são bem parecidas e não existe uma vontade de "quero mais".

    Lutas: Pra mim, de longe, um dos melhores Dragon Ball nesse quesito, as lutas são incríveis, divertidas e os efeitos são muito bons, apesar de ter seus problemas, o que chega a irritar em certas horas, como a falta de poise nos inimigos quando estão carregando um ataque (eles podem te cancelar, mas você não pode cancelar o ataque deles, estranho, não? Além de frustrante, pois não ocorre vez ou outra, e sim em todos os combates).

    Técnico: Em requisitos técnicos o jogo não deixa a desejar, não vi muitos bugs e parece ser bem polido, apesar da câmera ser esquisita e entrar na terra as vezes, não é algo recorrente mas incomoda quando acontece. Os loadings estão por toda parte e isso é realmente irritante, vi que no lançamento estava pior e eles estão consertando, porém, como estão em todo lugar, chega a ser chato, sempre que uma cutscene acaba, é loading, algumas vezes sair de um mapa pequeno ou entrar precisa de loading, isso irrita e frustra (perdi a vontade de jogar algumas vezes por isso).

    É um jogo bom, nada demais, tem seus problemas e erros, reconta a história que já vimos centenas de vezes e nunca cansamos. Recomendo esperar o preço baixar pra comprar, e só compre se você for realmente fã de Dragon Ball, pois apesar dos problemas, ainda tem o carisma e a nostalgia que as vezes só Dragon Ball proporciona.
    Expand
  45. Jan 24, 2020
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game could have been much better, if only they added COOP. Even if they did not they could have added custom characters. The combat is repetitive with the opponent repeating the same attacks without giving you time to charge ki or move. Even when using burst the opponent is unaffected. Also, you cant switch between character until finishing the game, some characters are unplayable as they can only be used for support. And some side quests can only be played as certain characters. Even when you have finished the game and are roaming in the open world you cant use attacks instead of ki blasts. You are also repetitively ambushed in the open world when you are trying to roam around. The dragon balls have very limited wishes. Some battles such as the great ape Vegeta fight had hitboxes that were impossible to hit. During some missions, you are unable to leave. Doing some missions causes you to be unable to complete other missions without finishing the game.Opponents also have an unfair amount of health compared to the player and have attacks that can deal half a bar of health. Some combos do not do any damage even though they re are shown as hitting the opponent Expand
  46. Jan 28, 2020
    5
    How can this game get anything better than a 5? I keep getting disappointed at every turn. Rather than make competent ai they just give absolutely everything invulnerable super armor. Rather than dive into dbz lore and dig out interesting enemies they give us constant recolors of the same robots, sibamen and freiza soldiers. To save a small ammount of money they outright ignore a lot ofHow can this game get anything better than a 5? I keep getting disappointed at every turn. Rather than make competent ai they just give absolutely everything invulnerable super armor. Rather than dive into dbz lore and dig out interesting enemies they give us constant recolors of the same robots, sibamen and freiza soldiers. To save a small ammount of money they outright ignore a lot of fighters and make what could be a fun battle nothing more than another fight with recolor robots. This had the potential to be everything I ever wanted from a dbz game, but it turned into a lazy disappointment at every chance.. Expand
  47. Feb 1, 2020
    8
    A awesome treat for hardcore DBZ fans & also a nice change in the Dragon ball game genre instead of always getting a fighting game or online co op game we got a single player action rpg. Yea I understand we played through the DBZ story plenty of times but never like this. This is a day one buy for any die hard dragon ball fan and if you are still not sure about the game then wait for it toA awesome treat for hardcore DBZ fans & also a nice change in the Dragon ball game genre instead of always getting a fighting game or online co op game we got a single player action rpg. Yea I understand we played through the DBZ story plenty of times but never like this. This is a day one buy for any die hard dragon ball fan and if you are still not sure about the game then wait for it to go on sale but it’s a must play I hope we get more games like this for Dragon ball and also other anime aswell such as Naruto and my hero. Expand
  48. Feb 3, 2020
    8
    As a long time fan of the Dragonball franchise I did have a lot of fun with DBZ: Kakarot but a few things stopped my rating being higher than 8. Mainly there are only 2 types of side quest with the got mechanics feeling more bolted on then being a crucial game mechanic. I had achieved the platinum trophy within two weeks without playing it non stop and I took on the highest level enemiesAs a long time fan of the Dragonball franchise I did have a lot of fun with DBZ: Kakarot but a few things stopped my rating being higher than 8. Mainly there are only 2 types of side quest with the got mechanics feeling more bolted on then being a crucial game mechanic. I had achieved the platinum trophy within two weeks without playing it non stop and I took on the highest level enemies at around lvl 90 and didn't feel a need to continue playing. But as I said my time spent with the game was mostly enjoyable Expand
  49. Feb 26, 2020
    8
    This game is a solid 8 for me the only problem is the movement system is a bit wierd and needs geting used to other then that evrything is amazing IF you ir a dragon ball fan IF you ir not ? then this game might not be for you if this wasnt a DBZ game i wold probably give it a 5 or 6
  50. Apr 4, 2020
    8
    este juego es una completa maravilla me encanta volver a revivir mi infancia y poder disfrutarla al máximo es de los mejores juegos de dragón ball que he visto
  51. Apr 6, 2020
    8
    realmente nostálgico, increíble la calidad del juego gracias a la colaboración de cyberconcect2 se nota la calidad de el, la razon por la cual no se le puede dar una mayor calificación, es debido a errores garrafales en lo que son la continuidad de la animaciones a ratos se queda pegado siendo que se jugo en una xbox one ,la nostalgia que produce el juego es realmente hermoso por esarealmente nostálgico, increíble la calidad del juego gracias a la colaboración de cyberconcect2 se nota la calidad de el, la razon por la cual no se le puede dar una mayor calificación, es debido a errores garrafales en lo que son la continuidad de la animaciones a ratos se queda pegado siendo que se jugo en una xbox one ,la nostalgia que produce el juego es realmente hermoso por esa razón un aplauso para los creadores. Expand
  52. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    bes DBZ game i ever played!!!
    As a huge dragonball fan myself I never realize how much I would love a game where I can explore the dragonball universe
  53. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Not perfect, but whipes the floor with Xenoverse and FighterZ. it´s a dream to play and there is MASSIVE CONTENT.
  54. Feb 9, 2020
    0
    The game is nothing special but for some reason, people praise it because "nostalgia vibes" while every couple of years you get a dragon ball game that goes through the story, I already did this in Budokai 3 where I had a bunch of characters to choose from...
    cheap ass adventure fighting game that my 6-year-old son might enjoy, It's like those legos made for 3-7 years old.
    not worth 60$
    The game is nothing special but for some reason, people praise it because "nostalgia vibes" while every couple of years you get a dragon ball game that goes through the story, I already did this in Budokai 3 where I had a bunch of characters to choose from...
    cheap ass adventure fighting game that my 6-year-old son might enjoy, It's like those legos made for 3-7 years old.
    not worth 60$ and don't believe the reviews, it's just full of fans praise, this game is not even close to this score.
    Expand
  55. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    El mejor juego de DBZ actualmente.
    Si tuviera audio latino sería prácticamente perfecto.
  56. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    If you are a dragón ball fan, this game is a must have. Best dragon ball game since budokais.
  57. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    Ignore all the negative reviews! If you love Dragonball Z like I do this game will give you all those feelings you had when you used to sit watching it. When the intro kicked in it was like going back to my childhood and reliving the series again. Nothing can beat the feeling of pure nostalgia and cyberconnect2 have done an awesome job, you can really tell a lot of love went into makingIgnore all the negative reviews! If you love Dragonball Z like I do this game will give you all those feelings you had when you used to sit watching it. When the intro kicked in it was like going back to my childhood and reliving the series again. Nothing can beat the feeling of pure nostalgia and cyberconnect2 have done an awesome job, you can really tell a lot of love went into making this game.

    Graphics: bright and beautiful, character models look good as do environments. they might not blow you away but there's definitely a lot of detail and effort put in here.

    Audio: Classic soundtrack and original cast voices what else would a DBZ fan want?

    Gameplay: Although quite a bit of fighting takes place, being an rpg there are lots of other things to do which will make any DBZ fan smile, Anyone who has played previous Cyberconnect2 games will know how much content some of their games have. The fighting feels good and pretty satisfying and levelling up character moves etc is enjoyable. I had fun just wondering around each area exploring and seeing how much effort went in to each place you'd see in the anime or manga.

    The only reason I haven't given a 10 is because I believe there's always room for improvement.. but being a huge dragon ball fan this has definitely fulfilled everything I would want from a game. What dragon ball fan wouldn't want to step into Gokus, and other characters boots and explore the vast world of DragonBall Kakarot.

    Thank you Cyberconnect you've done a great Job!.
    Expand
  58. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Best Dragon Ball Z game in creation, this is the game I've been waiting for since forever.
  59. Jan 20, 2020
    10
    The world is fully realized with excellent attention to detail, flying feels really good, the combat feels very much like the show, this game is a dream come true for a hardcore Z fan.
  60. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This is everything I’ve wanted in a DBZ game and more. Full open world, gripping story, great battle mechanics.
  61. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Awesome game , Bright cutscenes best dragon ball game ever, its gonna bem the best way to relive the anime instead of watching.
  62. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Simply fun and amazing. Not bored at all I would love to play this game for hours and hours
  63. Jan 19, 2020
    9
    Finally a DBZ game where the story doesnt end at the frieza saga. The fighting and gameplay is awesome. The RPGs elements need to be fixed a little bit and offer a lot more but for the first entry for this style of dbz game, I think cyber connect did a good job
  64. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Great game and great gameplay but only bad thing and not so bad is open world some empty but however perfect
  65. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This game is basically a childhood dream fulfilled. Free roaming and flying around the world of Dragon Ball with lots of different characters. Combat is fun and flashy, like a better version of Xenoverse. The game looks great and the controls are good. Best Dragon Ball game so far!
  66. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Es uno de los mejores juegos que he probado de dragon ball Z, la historia, los gráficos tipo manga los detalles 100 % recomendado, el gameplay es muy entretenido.
  67. Jan 20, 2020
    10
    It's a fantastic game, the best dragon ball on ps4 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  68. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best DBZ Game ever you don't wanna miss out on this one trust me. This game is for dragonball fans all over the world Expand
  69. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Just reliving my whole childhood. Easily the best single player based dbz games in years
  70. Jan 20, 2020
    10
    This is the best retelling of the dbz story since budokai tenkaichi 3

    every dragon ball fan needs to play this.
  71. Jan 20, 2020
    9
    DBZ Kakarot is the latest and greatest in an exceptionally long lines of retold story through video games. That said, I am enjoying (almost) every second of it! The pacing makes it feel more like you are a part of the story rather than just jumping fight to fight. Some people seem to say they are bored with the cut-scenes but honestly, what is DBZ if not a bunch of talking with fightingDBZ Kakarot is the latest and greatest in an exceptionally long lines of retold story through video games. That said, I am enjoying (almost) every second of it! The pacing makes it feel more like you are a part of the story rather than just jumping fight to fight. Some people seem to say they are bored with the cut-scenes but honestly, what is DBZ if not a bunch of talking with fighting thrown in? Reconnecting, however briefly, with some of the lesser known characters like Eighter has been just a down right good time.
    Side quests don't have a whole lot of variety, I will say that, but I still find myself enjoying them just due to the beautiful map design and character interaction (even though the character animations are a little stiff sometimes.)
    My biggest issue so far, is that a lot of the quests take you between different (beautiful) locales and while I enjoy dropping in, finding an item, and dropping out, the load times make the gaps noticeable. There are times like when hunting for the dragon balls that i feel like i am more in the loading screen than the game screen. That's the ONLY reason it gets a 9/10 instead of a 10 for me.
    People complaining about the controls, oh well. There is a learning curve just like with any game, get used to it or don't play?
    Here's the thing, on its surface, DBZ Kakarot is a beautifully designed game with a HUGE nostalgia factor. If that is what you are looking for then DEFINITELY buy it. If you aren't in to seeing the story you know and, presumably, love repeated for the umpteenth time then don't. Honestly with how niche this game is, I would say it will drop in price to under $30 within a month or two so if you can wait it might even be worth it to do so.
    Expand
  72. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This is the Dragon Ball I've been waiting for 20 years for, beautiful animated graphics, music in which I feel amazing nostalgia
  73. Jan 19, 2020
    9
    This is the DBZ game that fans have always wanted. The combat feels very intuitive and captures the feel of fights on the show better than any DBZ game before has. The graphics look absolutely gorgeous. The original music and voice cast has been used. The only reason this game isn't getting a perfect 10 is because of some noticeable frame drops and a single crash that happened during theThis is the DBZ game that fans have always wanted. The combat feels very intuitive and captures the feel of fights on the show better than any DBZ game before has. The graphics look absolutely gorgeous. The original music and voice cast has been used. The only reason this game isn't getting a perfect 10 is because of some noticeable frame drops and a single crash that happened during the Saiyan saga. Expand
  74. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Um dos melhores se não o melhor jogo de dragon ball já feito, muito divertido, se você é um fã com certeza vai amar o jogo
  75. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Love this game been waiting for a long time and exceeded my expectations.......
  76. Jan 18, 2020
    9
    Fan de DBZ, jeu assez jolie, très fidèle et vraiment nerveux dans son gameplay. A tout les fans, foncez !
  77. Jan 18, 2020
    8
    Going into this game, I didn't really have much hope for it and saw it as just another Dragon Ball game. After playing the game until Vegeta vs Dodoria, I can say that my enjoyment of the game has been great, the fluid combat matched by the speed of the fights is really fun. Just exploring the world of Dragon Ball is a fun experience, sure the world is just a tad bit empty, but its notGoing into this game, I didn't really have much hope for it and saw it as just another Dragon Ball game. After playing the game until Vegeta vs Dodoria, I can say that my enjoyment of the game has been great, the fluid combat matched by the speed of the fights is really fun. Just exploring the world of Dragon Ball is a fun experience, sure the world is just a tad bit empty, but its not shallow by any means. Although I did have one issue with the exploration aspect of it and that I clipped out of bounds a few times when controlling Gohan. 10 Hours after playing this, I can safely say that the game has been great. Expand
  78. Jan 18, 2020
    9
    This game may seem like just the DBZ story all over again, but I assure you it has much more to offer than that. There is a lot packed in here by people who clearly love the Dragon Ball world and its lore. Side quests and scenes never before seen, and expanding on the lore in ways both veterans of DBZ and newcomers will both come to appreciate. It does a very good job in introducing theThis game may seem like just the DBZ story all over again, but I assure you it has much more to offer than that. There is a lot packed in here by people who clearly love the Dragon Ball world and its lore. Side quests and scenes never before seen, and expanding on the lore in ways both veterans of DBZ and newcomers will both come to appreciate. It does a very good job in introducing the story to people who may never have watched or even played Dragon Ball before. The combat is also very fluent, imagine a more polished and satisfying Xenoverse 2 in that regard. I cannot recommend this game enough, it might just be the best game interpretation of Dragon Ball Z to date. If you're interested at all in this product or DBZ in general, this is a must play! Expand
  79. Jan 18, 2020
    8
    Great fan service! There are a few things that could have been done better (sidequests, collectables, ...). But overall one of the best games of the franchise.
  80. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    As a fan since day one of the serie, Dragon ball Z kakarot represent years of waiting from a gaming company an attempt to tell the stories of Goku and others while making us travel and explore the world of Dragon Ball and enjoying the diverse confrontations we all know and love from the manga and show. As a fan, you can only be grateful and appreciate. Thank you Cyber connect 2. Worth theAs a fan since day one of the serie, Dragon ball Z kakarot represent years of waiting from a gaming company an attempt to tell the stories of Goku and others while making us travel and explore the world of Dragon Ball and enjoying the diverse confrontations we all know and love from the manga and show. As a fan, you can only be grateful and appreciate. Thank you Cyber connect 2. Worth the wait for me. It will be beautifully added to the rest of my collection. Ps: Can you take a look at Bleach? The last serie that deserve some love as well ( Either from you or Arc system works) Merci. Expand
  81. Jan 19, 2020
    10
    BEST GAME EVER I there is so much to do so much to play keeps me very entertain for a while hours and hours of game this was a amazing job only thing that I ask is to please at gt and super to make it interesting also please to add bardock where he meet his son. I love this game good job guys
  82. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    De todos os jogos do Dragon ball, esse é o MELHOR. A jogabilidade é espetacular os gráficos são os mais bonitos de todos os jogos do Dragon ball. O mapa e lindo, com diversos inimigos e várias coisas acontecendo. O menu é todo organizado e bem fácil de navegar, sempre soube que se um RPG de Dragon ball seria épico. Vale cada centavo
  83. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    It’s over 9000… Exp Dragon Ball Z Kakarot is more than your traditional anime fighter, in that it’s added numerous RPG elements to the mix, along with various open world hubs, that you can explore between missions. Throughout the open world hubs (that are connected via an World Map that allows you to select a destination – with a hefty loading time) you’ll find multiple coloured orbsIt’s over 9000… Exp Dragon Ball Z Kakarot is more than your traditional anime fighter, in that it’s added numerous RPG elements to the mix, along with various open world hubs, that you can explore between missions. Throughout the open world hubs (that are connected via an World Map that allows you to select a destination – with a hefty loading time) you’ll find multiple coloured orbs floating around. These orbs can be used to level up your abilities, and unlock new ones. You’ll also earn these orbs through battling, but they’re laid out through the open world in a fun manner, enticing you to fly through them. Expand
  84. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Best dragon Ball game ever. Like seriously critics never truly appreciate these games.
  85. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Get this game as soon as you can if you're a DBZ fan Who was waiting to live the Z adventure fully. Gameplay is great , visuals are pretty great , and the musics !!!
  86. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    This is a perfect example of a game that's for the fans of the series, you can see this when you compare the critic score to the user score.

    Fans like myself will love the instanced open world. While not open world, it is very close to that feeling and with seeing the world of the series I grew up with is awesome.
  87. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This game is insane. I did not expect it to be so good. I just dont want to stop playing this is the dragon ball z game we have all been waiting for
  88. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This game is so awesome. Simply fun and amazing. This is the Dragon Ball I've been waiting for 20 years for. I really love this game
  89. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    It has its moments of tedium - side fights between the signature fights are more just for grinding ( shock horror in a RPG game made in japan ) - the side quests are just kill, fetch etc mainly although there are some really fun ones - but the combat is fun - it’s better than xenoverse and the boss fights are genuinely interesting mechanically - they not dark souls or whatever - but theyIt has its moments of tedium - side fights between the signature fights are more just for grinding ( shock horror in a RPG game made in japan ) - the side quests are just kill, fetch etc mainly although there are some really fun ones - but the combat is fun - it’s better than xenoverse and the boss fights are genuinely interesting mechanically - they not dark souls or whatever - but they do require a bit of thinking beyond just firing kamehameha- the fan service is the best in a game ever - the mini games and collectibles are fun - I’m a completionist so I have a higher level of endurance for grinding but even just playing them intermittently can be quite fun for players - the game doesn’t require you to do everything to progress but leaves it there if you want it - and there is good flair to everything with nice small touches - if you like DBZ - it’s a must buy - if you never seen DBZ it’s actually a brilliant game to get into the anime and have a decent time - and I would earnestly suggest anyone interested in getting into DBZ to getu Expand
  90. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    This game was marketed as a JRPG fused with Dragonball. This game pulls it off & immerses you into the world of Dragonball Z. I'm enjoying every aspect of the game so far.
  91. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    This game is so awesome. As a huge dragonball fan myself I never realize how much I would love a game where I can explore the dragonball universe. its lots of fun for any dragonball fan the nostalgic hits you every time. being able to play the story in this way is something you have to experience. its not a perfect game but its defiantly a must play for any dragonball fan out there.
  92. Jan 18, 2020
    6
    How this game works:
    Fly around and collect power-up balls.
    Engage in a battle. All battles are virtually 90% dodging the enemy attacks. This sound effect becomes extremely grating after the two hours or so of fighting. Even the fishing mechanic is half-assed. This game took everything dynamic and well developed within Xenoverses and scrapped it to make a lengthy nostalgia-bait game.
    How this game works:
    Fly around and collect power-up balls.
    Engage in a battle. All battles are virtually 90% dodging the enemy attacks. This sound effect becomes extremely grating after the two hours or so of fighting.
    Even the fishing mechanic is half-assed.

    This game took everything dynamic and well developed within Xenoverses and scrapped it to make a lengthy nostalgia-bait game.

    It's not a *bad* game. It's just a game that exists to be a cash grab.
    Expand
  93. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    I can't drop my pad since I started this game. Granted it's not visually perfect, but the combat system is so satisfying. Getting to play an open world Dragon Ball game is so amazing. This game is a Dragon Ball encyclopedia, and lets you relive the story.
  94. Jan 19, 2020
    10
    Uno de los mejores juegos de DBZ, debes darte la oportunidad de probarlo. Sin dudas cuenta la historia mejor que cualquier otro juego.
  95. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    It’s a beautiful Dragon Ball Z game! Such a great nostalgia trip for any fan. The fighting part is great, fun and challenging. It’s a different game... while not perfect it’s a dream game for someone that has loved dragon ball for decades
  96. Jan 17, 2020
    8
    Nostalgic story, good and easy fighting controls, the graphics are not bad and the exploration is okay, what make me sad is the fact that the game doesn't have Portuguese subtitles here in portugal. It's not a problem for me to play in English. I just prefer my native language that's all.
  97. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    Awsome game, but i need versus mode, tournament mode and more stories like super and gt.
  98. Jan 17, 2020
    10
    As a big fan... thanks cyberconnect2 for this amazing game
  99. Jan 19, 2020
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best DBZ games ever released, but quite sad to see that currently on PlayStation (and this is subject to change as things go) that 99% of players have completed the opening fight against Piccolo, 54% have defeated Vegeta in the Saiyan Saga, 23% have defeated Frieza in the Frieza Saga, 4.3% have defeated Cell in the Cell Saga, and 1.2% have defeated Buy in the Buu Saga. Expand
  100. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    Amazing! Game , the music the exploring everything! Best Dbz game to date!!!
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 30, 2020
    60
    Despite the numerous flaws, Kararot still offers a wonderful retelling of the main story, above-average graphics, and a great soundtrack, so it’s worth picking up for established and new fans of the series alike.
  2. Apr 10, 2020
    70
    Even though DBZ: Kakarot retells the same story the franchise has been telling for decades, it manages to do so in creative new ways for hardcore anime fans.
  3. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    A very few games can compare to Kakarot in terms of sheer love towards the original series and storytelling qualities. Not without its set of flaws that leave only regret not being even greater, Kakarot still manages to be a great game for fans. No, scratch that. It manages to be an amazing game! May they not stop here, and deliver more and more of love-letters like this. If it goes in the right direction, the next one could definitely be legendary.