User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 778 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2020
    7
    DBZ: Kakarot does a great job telling us the main story from the anime, however, that is all it really does. Graphics look good of course, but when not sticking to just the main story, and when jumping to events that never occurred in the show, not to mention the ridiculous amount of side and fetch quest, which make the game more of a chore to play, I cannot say we have the greatest DBZDBZ: Kakarot does a great job telling us the main story from the anime, however, that is all it really does. Graphics look good of course, but when not sticking to just the main story, and when jumping to events that never occurred in the show, not to mention the ridiculous amount of side and fetch quest, which make the game more of a chore to play, I cannot say we have the greatest DBZ game ever developed here. The gameplay itself works, the combat is good, for the most part, but overall it just doesn't achieve what it should have set out to achieve. Expand
  2. Feb 4, 2020
    7
    A tad on the grindy side and I really wish you could turn of those annoying character remarks that is uttered and repeated constantly whenever an enemy is nearby

    Also, there is a game breaking buggy area at the area where you can train.
    I lost my 90 hour save file cause it decided to crash during a save.
    And even though there are 10 slots, it corrupted the entire thing
  3. Apr 5, 2020
    7
    Juego solo recomendado para fans de Dragon Ball. Yo lo he disfrutado durante bastante horas pero tiene muchas carencias, faltan momentos epicos del anime, a veces la historia esta muy resumida, faltan musicas, los combates son todos iguales, el mundo abierto es soso....
  4. Jan 27, 2020
    7
    Un juego de Dragon Ball que puedes disfrutar como fan, pero que no aporta nada nuevo... Ni está demasiado bien, ni mal.

    POSITIVO - Historia: revivirla de manera muy fiel (desde Raditz). - Banda sonora: temas y sonidos originales de la serie. - Enciclopedia Z: muy muy amplia, incluso con explicaciones muy determinadas de ciertos elementos. - Animaciones: hay ciertas partes de la
    Un juego de Dragon Ball que puedes disfrutar como fan, pero que no aporta nada nuevo... Ni está demasiado bien, ni mal.

    POSITIVO

    - Historia: revivirla de manera muy fiel (desde Raditz).
    - Banda sonora: temas y sonidos originales de la serie.
    - Enciclopedia Z: muy muy amplia, incluso con explicaciones muy determinadas de ciertos elementos.
    - Animaciones: hay ciertas partes de la historia que parecen sacadas frame a frame de la serie animada. Pero que se ven mejor que nunca.

    NEUTRO

    - Combates: Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot NO es un juego de peleas. No existen los combos elaborados, no hay que pulir tu habilidad para hacer buenos y espectaculares combates.
    - Desplazamiento: resulta bastante agradable volar a toda velocidad por los mapas de este mundo semi-abierto a porciones.
    - Sistema de Comunidad: está bien recolectar emblemas de todos los personajes e implementarlos en un tablero de sinergias para obtener mejoras. El problema es que estas mejoras no se notan demasiado en el gameplay.

    NEGATIVO

    - Misiones secundarias: completamente banales. A estas alturas sobran este tipo de misiones repetitivas y vacías. Lo único que aportan bueno es ver algún personaje clásico y conseguir su emblema.
    - Equilibrio: hay ciertos entrenamientos y misiones secundarias que no están bien ejecutados. Si el nivel recomendado es 30, no puede ser que te revienten a nivel 28 y los destroces a nivel 31. No resulta satisfactorio, puesto que no parece que dependa de ti.
    - Niveles de EXP: fatal. Experiencia ridículamente baja farmeando enemigos por el mundo, y desproporcionadamente alta durante los combates de la historia principal. No sirve de NADA combatir en el mundo abierto.
    - Habilidades: no hay problema con la poca variedad (eso es Dragon Ball), sino en que se desbloquean más por historia que otra cosa (y las que son por nivel, me remito al punto anterior. Es muy complicado subir nivel fuera de la historia). Está claro que no vas a conseguir el Súper Saiyan 3 antes de Freezer, pero, ¿por qué no el KameHameHa Guiado o el Combo +1, +2, etc?.
    - Tiempos de carga: EL PEOR ASPECTO DEL JUEGO. Es ridículo, y lo peor es que, sabiéndolo, lo diseñen así. En una PS4 normal, los tiempos de carga son de entre 25-35 segundos. Si hubiera alguno suelto, no habría problema, pero es que el diseño de misiones y la narrativa lo requieren muy a menudo. Como es un mundo semi-abierto (porciones de mapa más o menos grandes entre las que te mueves con un mapa de viaje rápido) hay tiempos de carga entre ellas, y hay misiones en las que tienes 3 o 4 seguidas entre momentos o conversaciones de 5 segundos. Si me vas a hacer recoger cinco p***s manzanas, no me hagas irme a otro mapa, cogerlas y volver, que estoy más tiempo cargando que jugando. Igual que con ciertas conversaciones de la historia que se suceden en distintas zonas del mapa y que duran 4 segundos con tiempos de carga entre todas ellas... FATAL.

    RESUMEN

    Si tiene un 7 es porque es Dragon Ball.
    Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2020
    6
    #DashReviews

    Completed Game: 1/31/2020 Played Game Time: 55 Hours Intro The long-running Dragon Ball franchise has delved into its first attempt into an Open World Action RPG which is a route many longtime fans have wanted for decades. Dragon Ball Z story has many retellings and this game follows in the same footsteps. While many anime games have a stigma of not being that great,
    #DashReviews

    Completed Game: 1/31/2020
    Played Game Time: 55 Hours

    Intro

    The long-running Dragon Ball franchise has delved into its first attempt into an Open World Action RPG which is a route many longtime fans have wanted for decades. Dragon Ball Z story has many retellings and this game follows in the same footsteps. While many anime games have a stigma of not being that great, can this game break the mold like Dragon Ball FighterZ?

    Story/World Building – 2/3

    I have never seen the Dragon Ball Z anime but this game does a good job retelling the story in a way that someone like me could still follow and enjoy. If you have never seen the anime, most would tell you to watch that instead but this is not a bad substitute if you don’t have the time. If you have seen the anime, you’re missing nothing in the story department. While it is told competently, there is a varying level of quality between cutscenes. Due to the overwhelming amount of DBZ games retelling the anime story, this might burn out fans wanting to pick this title up.

    Gameplay – 2/4

    Exploring the vast landscapes or fighting one of the many iconic villains from DBZ can be a lot of fun but there is a lot of fault with it. Fighting mechanics consist of an easy one to two-button press combo that looks flashy but can become repetitive especially when grinding for EXP if you want to max out all 7 playable characters. Most fights will not be difficult because characters automatically level up with the story making side quest pointless. Side quests are boring fetch quests with uninteresting stories and no voice acting. Other side activities like fishing and crafting are almost an afterthought and have little bearing on anything else in the game. There is fun to be had in the 40 to 50 hours you will spend in the game, but mix in the negative of the gameplay and a story you most likely have played though before, the game offers very little for a 2020 release.

    Technical/Performance – 2/3

    LOAD SCREENS! Load screens are a major issue in this game to the point that you will spend 1/3 of the game in just load screens. Graphics look nice some times and look a little dated in others. It’s pretty disappointing to see almost flawless looking cutscenes, and then static characters with little to no life right after. The soundtrack is pretty generic with most songs lifted straight from the anime but it gets the job done. It’s not the worst technical performance I have seen from a game but improving load times would help.

    Verdict

    Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is a game I want to like due to how much I got into the story and this game being my gateway into watching the Dragon Ball Super anime but there are quite a few flaws that show up in this RPG despite its potential. If you want to experience an Action RPG in the DBZ universe, this is still the best one (only because it's the only one) but I would wait for a price drop and for the game to be released with all DLC before making a purchase.
    Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2020
    7
    Buen juego y buena adaptación a videojuego de la famosa saga de Dragon Ball. No es precisamente lo que muchos esperabamos pero hay que reconocer que es un buen juego.
  7. Feb 16, 2020
    6
    Cada vez que veo las puntuaciones de la gente a los juegos de esta página entiendo menos a la humanidad, pero comprendo por que el mundo va como va.
    Este juego ESTA BIEN, pero de ahí no pasa, me lo he pasado al 100%, me ha entretenido bastante y por eso le doy un aprobado, pero de ahi no pasa, es un juego tremendamente repetitivo, las mecánicas introducidas para hacernos creer que es un
    Cada vez que veo las puntuaciones de la gente a los juegos de esta página entiendo menos a la humanidad, pero comprendo por que el mundo va como va.
    Este juego ESTA BIEN, pero de ahí no pasa, me lo he pasado al 100%, me ha entretenido bastante y por eso le doy un aprobado, pero de ahi no pasa, es un juego tremendamente repetitivo, las mecánicas introducidas para hacernos creer que es un rpg son absurdas, es un juego de peleas normal y corriente, las cinemáticas a veces son brutales y a veces se nota que querían hacerlas deprisa y corriendo(como en la saga de buu que crean ciertas incoherencias).
    Evidentemente recomiendo jugar a este juego a cualquier fan, pero a la persona que compre este juego sin ser un tremendo fan incondicional de la saga, le diría que no gaste mas de 30 euros.
    Expand
  8. Mar 8, 2020
    7
    Great visuals, looks and feels as the tv series. Combat is simple but fun. Gets a bit repetitive specially the secundary missions which are just fetch quests without any purpose.

    I would recommend this game to fans of the anime but if you aren't a fan then id wait for a sale to purchase it.
  9. Feb 1, 2020
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As it stands right now, the game feels as if it needed a lot more polishing and technical work, and just simply more time. Constant bugs, some that even make me reboot the game to continue plague the game right now, and it has some of the worst voice acting I've ever heard in a dragonball Z game. All the main voice actors do a great job, but then the delivery is off in a lot of scenes, or they just use the same recorded "Okay!" about 500 times. Voice lines repeat, play out of order, and there are some instances of brief scenes that had 0 audio.

    Some of the other voice actors (Android 17 especially) were just awful. Sounded like they were just reading a book out loud, instead of actually playing a character.

    Most of the issues I have with the game can be fixed though. The game itself is pretty fun, if not a little grindy (But a hell of a lot less grindy than most RPGs). I'd definitely recommend people wait to buy, after a few more patches maybe things will be improved.
    Expand
  10. Feb 1, 2020
    7
    Do not let the ultra fanboys lie to you, This game is average at best, it is not a 10. The gameplay is boring, the controls kinda suck, the fighting is ok, the generic enemies are very generic and show up all over, I avoided them at all costs, and the sidequests are just pretty boring.

    Don't get me wrong is not a horrible game in any way, it is a decent attempt at a semi open-world DBZ
    Do not let the ultra fanboys lie to you, This game is average at best, it is not a 10. The gameplay is boring, the controls kinda suck, the fighting is ok, the generic enemies are very generic and show up all over, I avoided them at all costs, and the sidequests are just pretty boring.

    Don't get me wrong is not a horrible game in any way, it is a decent attempt at a semi open-world DBZ game. The graphics are good and the animations look really good when performing attacks but that really doesnt make up for all thats lacking.
    Expand
  11. Feb 4, 2020
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the game, fighting and the story, but as for RPG genre the side quests and character progression/grinding was just useless if completing the main story gives you 100x the reward of completing a side quest which were most of the time pick up or kill something. Expand
  12. Feb 10, 2020
    6
    Enjoy the love & care shown to the DBZ world & story. The gameplay does feel very repetitive and lacks depth at times. Enjoyable as a fan of the series but overall a flawed experience, though a step in the right direction for DBZ games
  13. Feb 14, 2020
    7
    Over all it's a great game and graphics, but it is very glitchy. Sometimes during special attacks, even at point blank range with your opponent dead center of your target circle, no damage to the guy you're fighting. Also about mid way through a special attack, your opponent will go from taking damage to behind you. Of course if you're in the middle of an attack from an opponent youOver all it's a great game and graphics, but it is very glitchy. Sometimes during special attacks, even at point blank range with your opponent dead center of your target circle, no damage to the guy you're fighting. Also about mid way through a special attack, your opponent will go from taking damage to behind you. Of course if you're in the middle of an attack from an opponent you can't break the attack, half way through. You have to dodge at the beginning, There are a few more small glitches but over all a good game. Expand
  14. Feb 16, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I heard a new RPG that of DBZ will come out I was expecting something like Goku Legacy from GBA or Buus Fury, but no, this game should have been called.....DRAGON BALL Z: Long Loading Screen and unnecessary side-missions.

    I am putting 6 just for the nostalgic experience and the fights but that is only the 40% of the game, the rest is crap, you don’t have to farm heroes to level up, not necessary pay attention if the meals, not necessary use the soul board or other items or machines. Just go straight to the main story and you are fine. This game waste my time a lot with unnecessary scenes, chats and loading screen. I was an idiot buying it right away it came out.
    Expand
  15. Feb 22, 2020
    6
    Honestly,The game is very underwhelming. The dragon ball franchise has repeated the DBZ storyline so many times that this game just sums up to a water downed open world xenoverse 2 with not much character customization at all. The game is beautiful graphics wise but the combat is very repetitive and lacking, the story is short and just a straight rip out of all the other dragon ballHonestly,The game is very underwhelming. The dragon ball franchise has repeated the DBZ storyline so many times that this game just sums up to a water downed open world xenoverse 2 with not much character customization at all. The game is beautiful graphics wise but the combat is very repetitive and lacking, the story is short and just a straight rip out of all the other dragon ball games, The open world doesn't have that much to do RPG wise besides side quests that either have you fight some robots and such. A good experience and worth the pick up if its your first dragon ball game, if it isn't, you're better off going back to xenoverse 2 and spend 60$ on DLC. Expand
  16. Mar 25, 2020
    5
    DBZ: Kakarot.. should be DBZ Gohan. I basically played the whole game from Gohans POV not Goku's. Felt like I rebought the dbz DVD series and got to button mash. Include the extra movies at least or make the fighting more than smash smash smash Super end.
  17. Apr 1, 2020
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's under 9,000

    Enjoyed the game overall, but there are problems. Graphics are mostly good and there's a huge amount of detail and lore in the game's Z Encyclopedia, plus plenty of post-story content and a huge world to explore. Unfortunately, it's plagued by stability issues ranging from frame rate drops to crashes and failing to recover when returning to the game from the PS4 dashboard. Gameplay is what we've come to expect from over-the-shoulder DBZ titles. Ultimately it becomes button mashing and nothing but beam attacks because the controls are unresponsive and the camera is broken. You can't record certain gameplay segments and you're forced you to agree to an in-game EULA before you can play at all. I'm done w/ Bandai Namco.

    Audio

    1. No VO in side-quests besides repetitive, awkward grunts or random mono-syllabic phrases to represent entire paragraphs of subtitles. The final VO for many conversations is "hi." Disgustingly obvious shortcut.

    2. Idle VO is repetitive and often nonsensical; within seconds of eating, characters complain of hunger. Every time a mob gets close, the same character VO plays. It's annoying.

    3. Bad dialogue pacing and usually too much pause after each line (see item 7 in gameplay).

    4. Mostly original voice cast.

    5. Frequent sound dropout, most noticeable with team finishing moves and transformations.

    Gameplay

    1. Some NPC interactions seem like they're going to be sidequests but aren't, which is confusing.

    2. Battle camera is completely broken--no better than it was in the Tenkaichi series. Doesn't help that you get pinned against scenery and the player character disappears completely when multiple opponents are shooting particle fx.

    3. Driving is awful. No matter how much you upgrade your car, the driving never improves because the camera doesn't turn with the car therefor you can't see where you're going. You have to move the camera manually as you turn so that you're not looking at the side of the car.

    4. Feels like every enemy attack stuns you, and you get attacked through your own beams. When attacking a stunned enemy at close range, no matter what you do, you will get knocked back as soon as their stun period ends.

    5. Mini map is useless. It's too small and everything on it looks the same. Can't even tell which direction you're facing. When certain items are added to the larger map screen, it might be impossible to find them because they overlap other map icons.

    6. Lazy development lead to in-game healing items. There's no limit to how many you can buy or how many you can use in a fight. It's as if the devs played the game, realized it was broken, and threw healing items in at the last second as a "fix."

    7. Just like in Dragon Ball Fighterz, you're forced you to press X after every line of subtitled dialogue which breaks the pacing of the exposition. Turning off subtitles only affects a handful of cut scenes, it doesn't actually do what you'd expect.

    8. Unavoidable mobs which spawn infinitely and yield little XP. Just annoying, avoid them.

    9. Leveling is mostly scripted so that each character is at a minimum level at each point in the story. Not much customization.

    10. At certain points through the story you're boxed into an area w/ invisible walls, but there's no indication that this is the case until you automatically turn around when you hit one. Worst on Namek.

    11. First person ki-firing mechanic is terrible and unless you aim above your target you end up blasting the ground.

    12. Often difficult to find things and you might fly in circles for 20+ minutes searching for items or people.

    13. Baseball game needs a restart option to avoid completely unnecessary fumbling through menus and NPC conversations.

    14. When a sidequest requires a specific character, it's not enough that he be in your party, he has to be the player character. Rather than auto-switch for you when attempting to start the quest, you have to manually reconfigure your party. This happens a lot.

    Visuals

    1. Game looks nice overall. Some cut scenes are gorgeous while others are little more than talking heads with exaggerated breathing animations. Because of the aforementioned dialogue/pressing X issue, a lot of the animation comes across as unnatural (or even creepy) while characters hold a pose and an expression waiting for your controller input. Most noticeable w/ Mr. Satan's laugh...

    2. Load screens begin and end with a full white screen, be prepared to shield your eyes frequently. 3. English lip sync virtually nonexistent
    Expand
  18. Jun 23, 2020
    7
    Story 8/10
    Gameplay 8/10
    Graphics 6/10

    I Enjoyed the game overall but the combat is very repetitive and the graphics is just above average
  19. Jun 25, 2020
    7
    if for some reason someone didn't watch dragon ball Z this is a great way to experience it. You re playing the main story and seeing the events that occur while you control the characters.
    the music is nothing more of a nostalgic tone . I believe its the first RPG dragon ball since the original Game boy Legacy of Goku games. The worlds look massive and huge , and your interaction with it
    if for some reason someone didn't watch dragon ball Z this is a great way to experience it. You re playing the main story and seeing the events that occur while you control the characters.
    the music is nothing more of a nostalgic tone . I believe its the first RPG dragon ball since the original Game boy Legacy of Goku games. The worlds look massive and huge , and your interaction with it its amazing, from breaking the ground/mountains to rage the waters.
    battles are fast pacing and extremely good, the cutscenes gorgeous.
    Also worth mentioning that the way they combined the 2 Xenoverses into this with the secret boss is amazing

    HOWEVER
    this game cut some important scenes such as the final flash,rage form trunks and others.
    The game does not have the replay ability value (for me), some rpg elements such as food and Z board shouldn't even be there since they re useless :')
    Expand
  20. Jul 11, 2020
    7
    Como fan de Dragon Ball toda mi vida debo decir que el juego me ha gustado bastante y que lo he disfrutado de principio a fin, pero eso no quita que tenga bastantes carencias. El combate, para mí, muy parecido a los Tenkaichi de la PS2 y muy disfrutable con escenarios grandes y destructibles. La BSO con los temas originales de la serie anime son increíbles y haces que disfrutes más de lasComo fan de Dragon Ball toda mi vida debo decir que el juego me ha gustado bastante y que lo he disfrutado de principio a fin, pero eso no quita que tenga bastantes carencias. El combate, para mí, muy parecido a los Tenkaichi de la PS2 y muy disfrutable con escenarios grandes y destructibles. La BSO con los temas originales de la serie anime son increíbles y haces que disfrutes más de las escenas más épicas. A nivel gráfico es un juego normal, con estética anime, nada revolucionario. El mundo abierto es bonito, te dan ganas de explorar para buscar misiones y algunas objetos pero esto cansa después de unas cuantas horas de juego. Y por último, la historia, que abarca desde la llegada de Raditz a La Tierra hasta la amenaza del monstruo Buu. Creo que a Cyberconnect le faltado más tiempo de desarrollo, porque se nota que en las dos primeras sagas le metieron bastante trabajo y en las de Cell y Buu fueron corriendo porque faltan bastantes momentos de la historia y algunos resumidos y contados con imágenes estáticas con texto. Es un problema del juego y se nota bastante. A pesar de esto, como fan de DBZ es un juego que disfrutas de principio a fin. Recomedado. Expand
  21. Jul 19, 2020
    5
    As a die-hard DBZ fan since childhood, Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is the exact game I wanted as a kid. The trouble is since that time we have had 20 years of DBZ games, and by now its difficult not to see this as any more than Bandai Namco running out of ideas over what to do with the IP. Once you get over the initial buzz of flying around the open world as Goku in an RPG, it quickly makes wayAs a die-hard DBZ fan since childhood, Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot is the exact game I wanted as a kid. The trouble is since that time we have had 20 years of DBZ games, and by now its difficult not to see this as any more than Bandai Namco running out of ideas over what to do with the IP. Once you get over the initial buzz of flying around the open world as Goku in an RPG, it quickly makes way for tedium. The open world levels are colourful and expansive, but the side content is completely dull and uninteresting. The main story is the best thing about this game, but it’s the same sagas we’ve been replaying in games for 2 decades. As far as the 3D arena fighting goes, I felt that Dragon Ball Xenoverse games pretty much nailed it. DBZ Kakarot seems to have taken a step back and made the fighting feel clunkier. When you aren’t fighting, you’ll be flying around collecting orbs and cooking recipes, playing inanely boring side quests and trying not to break the controller when you come up against the game’s random fluctuations of awful difficulty balancing. Sad to say that this in all honesty will be my last DBZ game purchase until they come up with new stories and more satisfying gameplay, this game was a sour note to end on. If you’re a DBZ fan there is enjoyment to be had and is no doubt rated higher by fans. As a game its boring and pretty tedious. Expand
  22. Jul 21, 2020
    7
    Les images sont magnifiques, histoire commence à être trop répétitif avec xenoverse 2 est celui-ci,la jouabilité est pas au top conparer a xenoverse 2
  23. Jul 23, 2020
    6
    El juego mola porque Dragon Ball mola, su banda sonora mola y volar subido en una nube mola. Si le quitas la skin de DB lo iba a jugar Rita La Cantaora. El mundo abierto, que no es tan abierto, es cutre y en dónde la mayor parte del tiempo te las pasas recogiendo orbes de colores que flotan y peleando contra enemigos random, poco variados, que te aparecen como si fueran Pokemons. ElEl juego mola porque Dragon Ball mola, su banda sonora mola y volar subido en una nube mola. Si le quitas la skin de DB lo iba a jugar Rita La Cantaora. El mundo abierto, que no es tan abierto, es cutre y en dónde la mayor parte del tiempo te las pasas recogiendo orbes de colores que flotan y peleando contra enemigos random, poco variados, que te aparecen como si fueran Pokemons. El combate tampoco es del DBZ pero está guay, sobre todo cuando de vez en cuando te salta una cinématica con algunos frames que se te caen los orbes al suelo. Expand
  24. Jan 23, 2020
    7
    Have played a decent amount of Budokai and Budokai Tenkaichis to compare this game's quality.

    The story aspect is awesome. Lots of detail and scenes that weren't included in the anime and the DBZ encyclopaedia is one of the best in game lore I've seen. That's where it pretty much excels at. Everything else is pretty sub par. The combat is lacklustre, I can spam blasts with all
    Have played a decent amount of Budokai and Budokai Tenkaichis to compare this game's quality.

    The story aspect is awesome. Lots of detail and scenes that weren't included in the anime and the DBZ encyclopaedia is one of the best in game lore I've seen.

    That's where it pretty much excels at. Everything else is pretty sub par. The combat is lacklustre, I can spam blasts with all fighters to win most battles (similar to Xenoverse). The AI are pretty dumb as they strafe into your blasts. There's only one combo per character where you just pretty much tap the punch button with no variation. The Budokai Tenkaichi games at least had some combo variations and even some throw moves.

    The divided open world is large but the things to do is really basic. The fishing mini game is rubbish and hover car racing? Cmon! Collecting the Dragon Balls is just not rewarding (No I don't want to fight the Ginyu Squad again!!).

    The RPG elements is weak. No gear to equip and it's just unlocking skills when you hit a certain level and you fight ghost figures of yourself to unlock new moves.

    Overall, if you are new to DBZ you will enjoy the epic story. I really thought they would get the fighting right since they've release a million versions of fighting games since the 90s.

    Calling this game an RPG is a joke. It's an action adventure game with very little RPG elements.
    Expand
  25. Jan 18, 2020
    6
    A game like this has very very high potential, probably the highest of any dragon ball game released and I think a possible sequel to this game with more content in it could be the best dbz game ever. as for how kakarot is I think the gameplay is repetitive especially the combat, there isn't much to do after you finish except collect meaningless orbs and a few other things, it's lackingA game like this has very very high potential, probably the highest of any dragon ball game released and I think a possible sequel to this game with more content in it could be the best dbz game ever. as for how kakarot is I think the gameplay is repetitive especially the combat, there isn't much to do after you finish except collect meaningless orbs and a few other things, it's lacking any dragon ball super content however it does have a very nice open world which apart from a lack of very many things to do in it,, is absolutely astonishing and practically saves the rest of the game for me

    Right now I'd give it 65/100 but I think any sequel it gets could easily be 100/100 and I can't wait to see what a future release looks like
    Expand
  26. Jan 19, 2020
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Best Game of dbz i play in Xbox one x and work perfect the sound and all Expand
  27. Jan 20, 2020
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Me parece un buen juego de dragon ball desde hace mucho tiempo no se veia un juego tan currado a nivel de historia pero aun asi faltan partes de historias importantes como el destello final de super vegeta contra semsemiperfecto o super trunks contra cell perfecto. Cuidan detalles y otros no no se si por falta de tiempo o que pero eso resta al juego. Luego otra cosa q no me gusta ed q ested explorando tranquilamente y no puedas hacerlo porq cada 5 metros te saltan enemigos q mas q te divierte te agobia y molesta por lo demas el juego me esta gustando como dije hacia tiempo q no se veia un juego asi pero falta detalles y partes de historia por pulir Expand
  28. Jan 20, 2020
    5
    Pero que habéis hecho desgraciados??!! Ibais bien con xenoverse 2 solo necesitaba pulirse y tal vez un modo campaña más completo pero la base estaba bien. Ahora me sacáis esta mierda con un modo exploración totalmente olvidable a lo coge orbes tipo superman 64 y queréis coronaros como mejor juego de dragonball??? Venga por favor!!! Combates aburridos y monótonos, sistema de progresiónPero que habéis hecho desgraciados??!! Ibais bien con xenoverse 2 solo necesitaba pulirse y tal vez un modo campaña más completo pero la base estaba bien. Ahora me sacáis esta mierda con un modo exploración totalmente olvidable a lo coge orbes tipo superman 64 y queréis coronaros como mejor juego de dragonball??? Venga por favor!!! Combates aburridos y monótonos, sistema de progresión leeeeeento y sin ningún tipo de aliciente para seguir progresando, modo historia largo pero muy aburrido, pero que mierda es esto??? Tan difícil era coger el sistema de combate de por ejemplo el zenkai battle royale que es cojonudo en Japón y añadirle un buen modo historia??? Un modo historia a base de cinemáticas soso!!! No tiene espectacularidad como la serie. Me lie a comparar la muerte de Raditz con la del juego y es soso no lo siguiente. Gran decepción!!! Estoy cabreadisimo!!!! Un restaurante no es mejor por tener más platos sino por la calidad que estos tengan. Por mucho contenido que hayan puesto no es de calidad, es un relleno asqueroso. Por mi cyberconnect se puede ir a hacer juegos de Naruto si quieren porque de Dragonball no tienen ni puta idea. Expand
  29. Jan 23, 2020
    7
    Como fã de Dragon Ball, eu achei o game incrível, ele deu um toque mais bonito e mais sentimental aos personagens, principalmente Goku, a história sendo recontada desse jeito foi incrível.

    RPG: Mas como um gamer, posso dizer que o jogo está longe de ser perfeito, ruim não é. Fazer um RPG de Dragon Ball e fazê-lo funcional não é uma ideia ruim, porém, o jogo se torna maçante em certo
    Como fã de Dragon Ball, eu achei o game incrível, ele deu um toque mais bonito e mais sentimental aos personagens, principalmente Goku, a história sendo recontada desse jeito foi incrível.

    RPG: Mas como um gamer, posso dizer que o jogo está longe de ser perfeito, ruim não é. Fazer um RPG de Dragon Ball e fazê-lo funcional não é uma ideia ruim, porém, o jogo se torna maçante em certo tempo de gameplay, andar pra lá e pra cá, enfrentando inimigos genéricos foi meio chato pra mim, o mapa é grande e retrata bem a Terra do anime, porém, não tem tanta variedade de coisas pra se fazer, o que torna a exploração frustrante, as missões secundárias são bem parecidas e não existe uma vontade de "quero mais".

    Lutas: Pra mim, de longe, um dos melhores Dragon Ball nesse quesito, as lutas são incríveis, divertidas e os efeitos são muito bons, apesar de ter seus problemas, o que chega a irritar em certas horas, como a falta de poise nos inimigos quando estão carregando um ataque (eles podem te cancelar, mas você não pode cancelar o ataque deles, estranho, não? Além de frustrante, pois não ocorre vez ou outra, e sim em todos os combates).

    Técnico: Em requisitos técnicos o jogo não deixa a desejar, não vi muitos bugs e parece ser bem polido, apesar da câmera ser esquisita e entrar na terra as vezes, não é algo recorrente mas incomoda quando acontece. Os loadings estão por toda parte e isso é realmente irritante, vi que no lançamento estava pior e eles estão consertando, porém, como estão em todo lugar, chega a ser chato, sempre que uma cutscene acaba, é loading, algumas vezes sair de um mapa pequeno ou entrar precisa de loading, isso irrita e frustra (perdi a vontade de jogar algumas vezes por isso).

    É um jogo bom, nada demais, tem seus problemas e erros, reconta a história que já vimos centenas de vezes e nunca cansamos. Recomendo esperar o preço baixar pra comprar, e só compre se você for realmente fã de Dragon Ball, pois apesar dos problemas, ainda tem o carisma e a nostalgia que as vezes só Dragon Ball proporciona.
    Expand
  30. Jan 28, 2020
    5
    How can this game get anything better than a 5? I keep getting disappointed at every turn. Rather than make competent ai they just give absolutely everything invulnerable super armor. Rather than dive into dbz lore and dig out interesting enemies they give us constant recolors of the same robots, sibamen and freiza soldiers. To save a small ammount of money they outright ignore a lot ofHow can this game get anything better than a 5? I keep getting disappointed at every turn. Rather than make competent ai they just give absolutely everything invulnerable super armor. Rather than dive into dbz lore and dig out interesting enemies they give us constant recolors of the same robots, sibamen and freiza soldiers. To save a small ammount of money they outright ignore a lot of fighters and make what could be a fun battle nothing more than another fight with recolor robots. This had the potential to be everything I ever wanted from a dbz game, but it turned into a lazy disappointment at every chance.. Expand
  31. Jan 18, 2020
    6
    How this game works:
    Fly around and collect power-up balls.
    Engage in a battle. All battles are virtually 90% dodging the enemy attacks. This sound effect becomes extremely grating after the two hours or so of fighting. Even the fishing mechanic is half-assed. This game took everything dynamic and well developed within Xenoverses and scrapped it to make a lengthy nostalgia-bait game.
    How this game works:
    Fly around and collect power-up balls.
    Engage in a battle. All battles are virtually 90% dodging the enemy attacks. This sound effect becomes extremely grating after the two hours or so of fighting.
    Even the fishing mechanic is half-assed.

    This game took everything dynamic and well developed within Xenoverses and scrapped it to make a lengthy nostalgia-bait game.

    It's not a *bad* game. It's just a game that exists to be a cash grab.
    Expand
  32. Feb 8, 2020
    7
    I really enjoyed most of this game, and I recommend it to any Dragon Ball fan. Exploring the world and seeing familiar landmarks and characters from both Dragon Ball and DBZ is a real treat. Talking to those characters and doing the occasional side quest is a lot of fun. The RPG elements of the game are fun too, despite their lack of depth. Upgrading your abilities throughout the game andI really enjoyed most of this game, and I recommend it to any Dragon Ball fan. Exploring the world and seeing familiar landmarks and characters from both Dragon Ball and DBZ is a real treat. Talking to those characters and doing the occasional side quest is a lot of fun. The RPG elements of the game are fun too, despite their lack of depth. Upgrading your abilities throughout the game and seeing your characters progress as they did in the series is pretty neat. The art and animation are also great. The combat is fairly fun, but it doesn't have much depth and can get a bit repetitive. Most of the fights are extremely easy, but there are a few that are difficult in an annoying or unfair way (if you haven't been grinding or keeping up with all the different buff mechanics). This game is far from perfect, but it will still be an overall enjoyable experience for most DB fans. Expand
  33. Jan 20, 2020
    5
    I have been a big fan of the Dragon Ball series, ever since it started airing on a local station in my town in the early 90's. We have seen a lot of games come and go with this series. Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot may have been one of their more loftier goals. You can tell they put a lot of effort in to the game, but that doesn't mean there isn't room for improvement.

    The game has been touted
    I have been a big fan of the Dragon Ball series, ever since it started airing on a local station in my town in the early 90's. We have seen a lot of games come and go with this series. Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot may have been one of their more loftier goals. You can tell they put a lot of effort in to the game, but that doesn't mean there isn't room for improvement.

    The game has been touted as a semi-open world enviroment. And while it's true you can jump between area to area and fly around and stuff, there just isn't that much to actually do. The larger world is a mostly empty one, with nothing more than sweeping trails of "z-orbs" littering the landscape, waiting for you to pick them up. I am serious here, the amount of crap they want you to collect makes games like Mario 64 and Banjo Kazooie look tame. It's a waste of time and frustrating.

    Sure, you can go hunting and fishing and stuff, but it boils down to little more than a mini game, where even you worst efforts will likely be rewarded in some shape or form.

    Dinosaurs walk around, but you just blast them to pieces with energy attacks. There are monsters to fight, but based on what part of the series you are in, all of the enemies look the same. There's such a wide selection of characters to choose from and they end up just reusing the same crummy robot and solider sprites.

    There's supposed to be side quests you can do, but they are few and far between and almost all of them involves really shallow fetch quests. Most of these quests are not fun in any capacity.

    The controls aren't as bad as people say they are. I don't know why this was even a issue to begin with. People are just whiners.

    One of the biggest sins Kakarot has though would be the amount of censorship in the game. All the classic, violent, visceral moments of Dragon Ball Z have been either cut out completely or done so poorly you'd never be able to gues what's going on unless you had context from the anime. The bloody hole in Goku's chest? A burn mark. Guldo's head being cut off? Never happens. Frieza ripping that Namek's arm off? Nope. Frieza being cut to pieces? Both times it's done so poorly you couldn't tell that was being conveyed. Dr. Gero punching Yamcha through the chest? A black spot on his shirt.

    As far as stories go, Kakarot is likely to be the shortest, most censored of the story you'll ever get. Not to mention all the classic filler that people have come to love just being missing. Garlic Jr? Who the hell is that?
    Expand
  34. Jan 19, 2020
    7
    Graphics and voice acting looks poor, game play looks fun and enviroment also. They didnt pay attention to detail. But gameplay looks fun thougg
  35. Jan 20, 2020
    7
    Produce nostalgia jugarlo, y es divertido pero repetitivo.

    Lo malo . La misiones secundarias son solo de hacer recados, con todo el material que tiene el anime parece perezoso solo llenar las misiones secundarias con personajes de dragon ball que te piden ir aqui o alla. Que no tenga doblaje o subtítulos al latino. Lo bueno. Gráficamente es precioso, en algunas escenas se
    Produce nostalgia jugarlo, y es divertido pero repetitivo.

    Lo malo .

    La misiones secundarias son solo de hacer recados, con todo el material que tiene el anime parece perezoso solo llenar las misiones secundarias con personajes de dragon ball que te piden ir aqui o alla.

    Que no tenga doblaje o subtítulos al latino.

    Lo bueno.

    Gráficamente es precioso, en algunas escenas se recrean cuadro a cuadro las del anime.

    El efecto nostalgia es constante, si disfrutas el anime disfrutaras el juego.
    Expand
  36. Jul 25, 2020
    5
    Kakarot is excellent in parts that were not shown in the anime and it adds a lot of context, now I can't imagine dbz without those Goku-Gohan father-son moments kakarot added in the begining of the game.

    But when it comes to showing dbz's main story and iconic moment from the show itself, outside of couple of awesome cutscenes, kakarot just fails to deliver any epicness or emotion that
    Kakarot is excellent in parts that were not shown in the anime and it adds a lot of context, now I can't imagine dbz without those Goku-Gohan father-son moments kakarot added in the begining of the game.

    But when it comes to showing dbz's main story and iconic moment from the show itself, outside of couple of awesome cutscenes, kakarot just fails to deliver any epicness or emotion that anime gives.

    If we go saga by saga then saiyan saga is probably the best saga in terms of quality of content and delivery of this content. We see Goku-Gohan moments, we see growth of Gohan, we see that Piccolo was almost always around and he started to care about Gohan, we see what other fighters did before training with Kami and how Piccolo recognised their power. Nappa was a monster just like in the anime. Fight with Vegeta was done right. In short almost every key moment was done right. But other sagas were... BAD. Friezas saga gave no emotions anime game, Dodoria and Zarbon were scary in the anime, Ginyu Force was a real threat in the anime and none of that is in the game, iconic moments were all very poorly done, super saiyan was... I honestly don't even know how to express my disappointment. Cell/androids is my favorite saga in the anime, but in kakarot it's the worst saga, it's empty, SS2 Gohan is good, but before SS2 Gohan everything is so poorly done, iconic moments like introduction of Trunks, Androids, Tien blasting Cell, Final Flash, Goku vs Cell all of that was pretty much either rushed or skipped all together. Buu saga was boring until Vegito which was pretty much the end of the main story with only Kid Buu left to defeat. SS3 was skipped, majin Vegeta was not even a thing in this game.
    Kakarot is a story based game that can't tell the story.

    Other than main story and leveling up this game has no valuable content which really brings down the idea of even having an open world.
    Expand
  37. Sep 11, 2020
    6
    I am going to be honest and give my take how DBZ Kakarot is a empty boring repetitive experience.
    The combat is shallow and gets boring rather quickly.
    The story is the only thing going for it. The map may be huge and full of stuff to collect but it's empty and lifeless with not enough side quests for some what if scenarios. Dragon Ball should just to fighting games like Xenoverse or
    I am going to be honest and give my take how DBZ Kakarot is a empty boring repetitive experience.
    The combat is shallow and gets boring rather quickly.
    The story is the only thing going for it.
    The map may be huge and full of stuff to collect but it's empty and lifeless with not enough side quests for some what if scenarios.

    Dragon Ball should just to fighting games like Xenoverse or DBFZ because it fails at RPG.
    Expand
  38. Aug 9, 2020
    6
    Simplesmente mais um jogo chato e repetitivo da Bandai, nada de diferente de outros da franquia ''Dragon Ball'', e esse aí apresente vários problemas de design gráfico e de programação que atrapalham na jogabilidade, com que fez que eu não desfrutasse corretamente.
  39. Aug 3, 2020
    7
    This game had me super hyped because of the trailers.... yea only the trailers. The hype went away after realizing that some moments in the anime were cut out from the game. I was baffled at how good the animations and cutscenes looked to only be disappointed in my favorite anime moments. Another thing is, if you’re expecting super mechanical fights, EXTENDED combos, and complex bossThis game had me super hyped because of the trailers.... yea only the trailers. The hype went away after realizing that some moments in the anime were cut out from the game. I was baffled at how good the animations and cutscenes looked to only be disappointed in my favorite anime moments. Another thing is, if you’re expecting super mechanical fights, EXTENDED combos, and complex boss fights... well I’m going to have to tell you to leave those expectations at the door. The combos are repetitive, fights are repetitive, the only part you’re hoping to see is the mid-fight cutscenes after doing a move. Either way, apart from all that the game is beautiful. It is the story of Dragon Ball Z all the way. Nice little interactions with fan favorite characters, amazing places to visit in such an open world. But that’s all the game has to offer in all honesty. There is going to be dlc for the game in later dates but seeing the pattern of the base game, it will be a hard pass for me. If you can live with everything I listed, and enjoy the manga based story. Then you’ll have a great time playing this game, guaranteed. Expand
  40. Sep 2, 2020
    6
    Um jogo que perde um potencial enorme com tão pouco.
    O jogo em seus trailers, passa que o jogo é uma adaptação incrível e moderna do clássico anime, mas peca terrivelmente em seu conteúdo.
    começando pelas cenas pré-renderizadas, o jogo não consegue entregar algo da própria engine, apesar dos gráficos serem lindissimos e detalhados, o jogo peca ao não confiar em seu motor gráfico, O
    Um jogo que perde um potencial enorme com tão pouco.
    O jogo em seus trailers, passa que o jogo é uma adaptação incrível e moderna do clássico anime, mas peca terrivelmente em seu conteúdo.
    começando pelas cenas pré-renderizadas, o jogo não consegue entregar algo da própria engine, apesar dos gráficos serem lindissimos e detalhados, o jogo peca ao não confiar em seu motor gráfico,
    O mundo aberto apesar de parecer recheado de novidades para explorar, não passa de algo vago com varios inimigos que te atacam a cada 1km que você passa, iniciando uma luta automaticamente e só te permitindo sair dela derrotando os mesmos, tornando o jogo cansativo, massante e até mesmo frustrante, algo completamente desnecessário.
    Fora também os órbes que ficam pelos céus, comprometendo o horizonte e seu cenário deslumbrante, voar e pegar esses órbes torna o jogo não muito superior que o Superman 64...

    Amo a Cyberconnect2 e seus jogos, tanto a franquia Storm quanto Asura's Wrath, e todos eles conseguem ser mais solidos e interessantes no final do que o jogo mais importante que a desenvolvedora teve em mãos, pois estamos falando das maiores obras do mundo pop, Dragon Ball Z..
    Expand
  41. Sep 24, 2020
    6
    Total: 60/100 - You’ve played Dragonball Z! Now play it like you’ve never played it before: Exactly like you have been for the past 20 years but with lousy RPG elements! Although I’m glad they did something different, but without fleshed out gameplay or an original story this is just Legacy Of Goku HD. At least it’s miles better and less predatory than Xenoverse and FighterZ. If you can,Total: 60/100 - You’ve played Dragonball Z! Now play it like you’ve never played it before: Exactly like you have been for the past 20 years but with lousy RPG elements! Although I’m glad they did something different, but without fleshed out gameplay or an original story this is just Legacy Of Goku HD. At least it’s miles better and less predatory than Xenoverse and FighterZ. If you can, just play Budokai Tenkaichi 3.

    Full Score Breakdown

    Story: 4/10 - The same story told thousands of times already but with some bits left out. Nothing new.

    Graphics: 7/10 - Not perfect, but better than your typical Bamco(Bandai Namco) game. Damaged walls and floors look like the image was just super stretched out. Very sloppy.

    Sound: 4/10 - English VA’s aren’t as good as they used to be. Music is fine. Can be played on mute.

    Gameplay: 5/10 - Button layout is bad and unchangeable. Other mechanics don’t feel explained too well. Some fights can be BS due to being ganged up on via Battle of Z. Can easily win anything with the Spirit Bomb and Big Bang Attack.

    Fun Factor: 7/10 - For the most part fights can pretty action packed. Side stuff is also ok.

    Stability: 7/10 - Occasional frame dropping and freezing. Some voice and sound runover is present if you advance dialog too fast. Very long load times.

    Game Vs Service: 7/10 - Playable offline. Has a season pass with no DLC of value and as of this review, still unreleased content. Unacceptable for a game that came out in January.

    Start To Finish: 6/10 - A little over 30 hours with side questing. Less with skipping the story you already know.

    Longevity: 8/10 - About 40ish hours to clean up and Trophy hunt. No real reason to keep playing after that.

    Worth: 5/10 - It’s DBZ. You know it. You’ve done this millions of times before. Wait a bit for a price drop to $30 or below.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Apr 30, 2020
    60
    Despite the numerous flaws, Kararot still offers a wonderful retelling of the main story, above-average graphics, and a great soundtrack, so it’s worth picking up for established and new fans of the series alike.
  2. Apr 10, 2020
    70
    Even though DBZ: Kakarot retells the same story the franchise has been telling for decades, it manages to do so in creative new ways for hardcore anime fans.
  3. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    A very few games can compare to Kakarot in terms of sheer love towards the original series and storytelling qualities. Not without its set of flaws that leave only regret not being even greater, Kakarot still manages to be a great game for fans. No, scratch that. It manages to be an amazing game! May they not stop here, and deliver more and more of love-letters like this. If it goes in the right direction, the next one could definitely be legendary.