Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DRAGON QUEST XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age tells a captivating tale of a hunted hero and is the long-awaited role-playing game from series creator Yuji Horii, character designer Akira Toriyama and composer Koichi Sugiyama. While it is the eleventh mainline entry in the critically acclaimedDRAGON QUEST XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age tells a captivating tale of a hunted hero and is the long-awaited role-playing game from series creator Yuji Horii, character designer Akira Toriyama and composer Koichi Sugiyama. While it is the eleventh mainline entry in the critically acclaimed series, DRAGON QUEST XI is a completely standalone experience that features entirely new characters, a beautifully detailed world, finely tuned turn-based combat, and an immersive story that promises to appeal to longtime fans and franchise newcomers alike. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dragon Quest XI - 'The Legend of Luminar' Official Trailer | E3 2018
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Sep 3, 2018
    100
    Dragon Quest XI is one of the best role-playing games I have ever played. Not only is it wonderfully well-made and great fun but it also has a fantastic story with lovable characters created by Akira Toriyama and a beautiful musical score by the legendary Koichi Sugiyama.
  2. Aug 28, 2018
    95
    Dragon Quest creator Yuji Horii deemed DQXI the culmination of the series' thirty years of tradition. I'm more than inclined to agree with him, as it embraces and enhances almost all of the virtues that make DQ such a beloved franchise. It remains unabashedly true to its roots as a JRPG fan's JRPG, and fans of the series are in for a treat at a scale of epic proportions. The best DQ games embody the spirit of grand adventure. In Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age, Square Enix has delivered to us the grandest Dragon Quest of them all.
  3. Aug 28, 2018
    92
    Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age moved me in ways a Japanese RPG hasn’t done in years.
  4. Aug 28, 2018
    90
    This isn’t the game for everyone. Dragon Quest 11 is unabashedly a traditional JRPG. For some, the slower pacing and linear experience aren’t going to be appealing. However, for those who have fallen in love with the genre, and grew up adoring Dragon Quest, Final Fantasy, and others, this game is the ultimate expression of the traditional JRPG.
  5. Sep 27, 2018
    85
    Dragon Quest 11 falters in the pacing of its story and features an unimpressive OST but at the end of the day, this game is like getting together with an old friend and hanging out on a cool summer’s day; it’s familiar and oh so comforting.
  6. Sep 24, 2018
    80
    Dragon Quest XI is a fantastic, fun and journey through a beautiful world. It's a shame the music wasn't given more attention.
  7. Aug 28, 2018
    60
    It’s traditional to a fault. It may look beautiful and the voice acting is a worthwhile addition, but overall Dragon Quest XI does nothing to push the JRPG genre forward. It’s a shame, as despite Square pushing XI as its big Western RPG this is a game that’s incredibly hard to recommend to a new audience.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 74
  2. Negative: 3 out of 74
  1. Sep 30, 2018
    10
    Dragon quest games never disappoint , and this one is particularly good. Definetly best classic jrpg of the year so far.
  2. Sep 6, 2018
    10
    Last year the best JRPG on the PS4 was Persona 5, and this year is Dragon Quest XI! Persona 5 was a great success for Atlus because it keptLast year the best JRPG on the PS4 was Persona 5, and this year is Dragon Quest XI! Persona 5 was a great success for Atlus because it kept its unique style - they used the same formula which they used in the predecessors. The same thing Square Enix has done with Dragon Quest XI. The story of this game is great, but I will not talk about the story because of spoilers. I will actually say something about gameplay. Dragon Quest XI is a turn-based RPG with a semi-open world. The semi-open world allows to player to explore the world through the story, so that you can explore a new region then you must first advance through the story. This way the player can enjoy the story and a gameplay at the same time (it's not like open world games where you can completely ignore the story and use only the mechanics of gameplay). There is no more random encounter. Now, the enemies are moving freely on the map and if the player make a contact with the enemies, the battle screen will open. The battle system is the same as the predecessor with a couple of new elements. Now, the player can choose between two styles in battle: classic style (characters are stationary on battlefield) and modern style (characters can be moved around battlefield). One of new element is a swapping system which allows players to change characters during battle with those who are outside the active team (this reminds me of battle system from FFX). This function can allow you to make a better strategy (tactic) in battle. When comparing gameplay of Dragon Quest XI with Dragon Quest VIII (the best Dragon Quest game), I can say that Dragon Quest XI is an upgraded version of Dragon Quest VIII (so for this reason would like to see the remake of Dragon Quest VIII for the PS4 with the same engine). Full 14 years, Dragon Quest VIII has kept the title of the best Dragon Quest game, and now it has been surpassed by Dragon Quest XI. As a conclusion I can say that Dragon Quest XI has a great story, gameplay, very beautiful graphics and great sound. This game is the best Dragon Quest game and is one of the best JRPGs ever. We need more such JRPGs on PlayStation, with turn-based battle system and semi-open world. Persona 5 and Dragon Quest XI prove that such games can be more successful than some action RPGs. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2018
    10
    This is one of the best RPG's in YEARS! As many RPG's seemingly are trying to leave turn based attacking and reinvent the wheel, DQ11 goesThis is one of the best RPG's in YEARS! As many RPG's seemingly are trying to leave turn based attacking and reinvent the wheel, DQ11 goes back to the roots of what made us all fall in love with RPG's in the first place! This game is great for beginners and DQ veterans alike, I feel this game will go down as the best DQ game in the series to date! 10 out of 10!!! Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2018
    10
    A masterpiece of video games. It made me feel something special again that I had not felt with a video game for years.
    Dragon Quest XI is at
    A masterpiece of video games. It made me feel something special again that I had not felt with a video game for years.
    Dragon Quest XI is at the height of the VIII, reaching to exceed it in certain points, it has certainly become one of my favorite games and for sure it is a game that will mark a before and after in the RPG and in the Dragon Quest Saga.
    Excellent music, exceptional story plot, sublime graphics.
    Honestly I can not speak badly about this game in anything. A perfect game for my liking.
    Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2018
    10
    This is a modern classic it's a old friend returned a comfort a familiarity that's lasted like no other in gaming.....it's Dragon Quest atThis is a modern classic it's a old friend returned a comfort a familiarity that's lasted like no other in gaming.....it's Dragon Quest at it's finest ♥️ Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2018
    9
    The game is almost perfect, but the Midi soundtracks along with the voice acting is preventing the game to get a perfect score.
    I know the
    The game is almost perfect, but the Midi soundtracks along with the voice acting is preventing the game to get a perfect score.
    I know the Japan version does not have voice acting, but the Eng Dub is absolutely horrible.

    You feel no passion at all, it's like they ask their own Devs Employees to do overtime by forcing them to do the voice acting of the characters...

    But yep, almost a perfect score! Still giving the game a solid 8.5 out of 10 for the exquisite gameplay and level design, along with the storytelling.

    Hopefully they will also add the option to buy the orchestrated soundtracks!
    Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2018
    0
    WoW, this game is not more then the worse game I ever played.
    random combat systen
    really bad balanced boss fights much to easy in the
    WoW, this game is not more then the worse game I ever played.
    random combat systen
    really bad balanced boss fights
    much to easy in the normal fights
    backtracking
    boring grinding
    horrible story (after 40 h)
    Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall

    The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall Image
    Published: August 29, 2018
    Preview over 20 of the most-anticipated video games arriving this fall, including Red Dead Redemption 2, Spider-Man, Fallout 76, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, and more.