Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Dec 18, 2020
    100
    Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition earns my absolute highest recommendation. I cannot wait for more people to experience such a joyous celebration of all things Dragon Quest.
  2. Dec 11, 2020
    100
    If you've never played Dragon Quest XI, you can't go wrong picking up this enhanced version of the original game. The new content added on top of this already excellent game makes this a worthy addition to your game library. If you own the previous PS4 version, this is a great opportunity to revisit old friends and experience the game in a different way. If you're planning to play Dragon Quest XI, this is the version to buy.
  3. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    Dragon Quest XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age – Definitive Edition brings a lot of new additions to a perfect game that is still fun to play two years after its initial release. Having a fully orchestrated soundtrack, more adventures, a 2D option, and nostalgic places to explore just leaves room for one more upgrade — a PS5 update. Regardless, if you’re playing this on a PS4 or PS5, this is the best edition of the game to get and you won’t be disappointed.
  4. Dec 1, 2020
    100
    If you've never played a Dragon Quest game before, this is the best introduction to the series you could ask for. If you're a Dragon Quest fan and haven’t played it yet, then you need to get on this. This game made me re-approach how I view not just past Dragon Quest games, but every RPG I play from now on. Dragon Quest XI S is a near unrivaled masterpiece, one I wish I could erase my memory of and re-experience for the first time. Having said that, this second time through has been special in its own way. Going back and playing older Dragon Quest games has only increased my appreciation for it. This final version of the Definitive Edition of one of my favorite RPGs is a great send-off as we await the anticipated release of Dragon Quest XII.
  5. 100
    It's easy to say a game is amazing because you simply enjoy it. Dragon Quest XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age Definitive Edition on the other hand backs up that statement by providing one of, if not the best JRPG titles of all time. With so much added content and quality of life improvements, it's mind-blowing to me that a game so intricately designed could be made any better. Square Enix proved that no matter how good something is, it can always be better.
  6. Dec 1, 2020
    100
    I can’t help but feel like the Switch version of the game would be my preferred choice of platform, simply due to the fact that I could play the game anywhere, even if for just a few minutes at a time. However, the PlayStation 4 version comes highly recommended if you’re looking to take in the incredible visuals awaiting you in the world of Erdrea.
  7. Jan 4, 2021
    97
    I typically favor games that introduce something new to the gaming landscape, because I think trudging through old waters — even incredibly — doesn’t really push us forward as a culture or in terms of design. Dragon Quest XI is just too good, though. In fact, it’s one of the best games I’ve ever played. I laughed, I cried, and I’ve felt a part of this cast. I’m actually on hour 140 with no signs of stopping, and I couldn’t be happier. Without question, this is one of the best-designed games I’ve played to date, and I’ve had the beautiful opportunity to share it with my daughter who has adorably pointed at the screen, screaming, “It’s a monster octopus!”
  8. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 8, 2021
    90
    Though nothing groundbreaking, this version provides a collection of nice-to-have additions which boost an already great game, making it the one to go for (unless you’re a graphics snob). [Issue#184, p.89]
  9. Jan 8, 2021
    90
    Dragon Quest XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age - Definitive Edition takes an already amazing JRPG and gives it just enough to make it even better. Noticeable performance drops aside, this is one title everyone should experience.
  10. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    Dragon Quest XI S is a monumental game, the king of traditional JRPGs. If you want to bring back those "glory days", you don't need to search through the dusty closet, just play DQ XI S.
  11. Dec 3, 2020
    90
    Dragon Quest 11 still remains a great adventure for both newcomers and hardened JRPG fans, but this version is easily the best way to play this game. Only new fans may have some trouble getting accustomed to the game's atmosphere, but the game is incredibly rewarding for anyone who can. All of the enhancements make for a much improved gameplay experience, and the 2D homages to classic Dragon Quest are an awesome touch. This is easily the best way to play Dragon Quest 11.
  12. 90
    The reality is that at this point Dragon Quest XI is an older release, and Dragon Quest XI S: Definitive Edition is itself not really that new. I have no idea what percentage of prospective Dragon Quest fans have somehow avoided playing this yet, but I imagine it's a now a very small number. With that being said, that "8-bit" mode really is a breath of fresh air to the original 3D game, so if you don't own a Switch and haven't had the opportunity to play this game that way yet, then it's actually worth the upgrade and replay even if you own the original.
  13. Dec 2, 2020
    90
    The original version of Dragon Quest XI was already a near perfect JRPG that I would’ve recommended to anyone to at least try out. Though the changes aren’t huge, Dragon Quest XI S adds just enough to make it the objectively better option between the two. If you have any interest in replaying Dragon Quest XI or if you’re looking to play it for the first time, Dragon Quest XI S is the way to go.
  14. Dec 2, 2020
    90
    To call this the definitive edition of the original game is a bold move but it achieves that. It doesn’t add a huge pile of new things but it doesn’t detract from the original in a single way. Even the soundtrack can be flip at will if you like the old MIDI one. This is merely an addition to the base game and that base game is rather wonderful. Dragon Quest is comforting in a year that hasn’t been – a solace from the proverbial dark. I didn’t want to leave Cobblestone but by the time I had, I didn’t want to go back. Dragon Quest is a very special game. It always has been. It always will be.
  15. Dec 1, 2020
    90
    No, Dragon Quest XI S is not technically perfect. It has Switch graphics, is a little on the easy side, and isn’t going to convert any non-JRPG fans. But it is a game that shines so brightly! The story, visuals, music, and gameplay come together to create an unforgettable experience. This is one of the games I will always have a physical copy of and will revisit every few years for the rest of my life.
  16. Dec 1, 2020
    90
    Dragon Quest XI remains a game to get lost in. We weren't entirely sold on the idea of playing through such a gigantic adventure all over again, but Dragon Quest XI S has only served to solidify our opinion that this is one of the best Japanese RPGs ever made.
  17. Dec 1, 2020
    90
    Dragon Quest XI S: Echoes of an Elusive Age is a highly enjoyable game that screams 'high quality production.' Despite its lack of gameplay innovation it still provides a certain level of enjoyment most JRPGs do not.
  18. 90
    Dragon Quest XI S is an excellent version of an excellent game and, if you have the time to spare, an enjoyable JRPG for the whole family.
  19. Dec 10, 2020
    88
    While it's a shame the game is just a port of the Switch version from last year, there is no denying this is one of the best JRPG's in recent memory. The game is excellent in almost every way. If you can't get the Switch version, this is the way to go.
  20. Dec 6, 2020
    88
    The quality of life changes, the return of an orchestral soundtrack, the new side stories and Tockington challenges all add up to make Dragon Quest XI S the best way to play this JRPG classic (as long as you mind the graphical downgrades), but with no new content that wasn't already added to last year's Nintendo Switch release, it's a tough sell for players that have already enjoyed the Luminary's adventure once or twice already.
  21. Jan 12, 2021
    80
    The extra features make Dragon quest XI S one of the best role playing games in recent history, but also make it a tough job. To explore the entire game world, finish the epic story and unravel all its secrets, you will need more than 100 hours of playtime. However, it also makes it the ideal companion to bring some light to these dark winter days.
  22. Jan 8, 2021
    80
    Even though it suffers from a few graphical downgrades being a Switch port, the Definitive edition truly is definitive. Packed with content, it's what you should get if you are even considering trying the Dragon Quest XI out.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 84
  2. Negative: 12 out of 84
  1. Dec 7, 2020
    10
    This game is a love letter to JRPG fans, and a great introduction for people that want to get into the genre. Not only one of the JRPGs I'veThis game is a love letter to JRPG fans, and a great introduction for people that want to get into the genre. Not only one of the JRPGs I've ever played, but one of my favorite games of all time, this is a masterpiece no one should miss out on Full Review »
  2. Dec 10, 2020
    10
    This game is a masterpiece you should definitely play it. Open world game great story good characters overall perfect game.
  3. Dec 6, 2020
    10
    This is a must-play for JRPG fans. The price is also pretty good for its value.