Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
Buy On
  1. 100
    Koei Tecmo has done a remarkable job of telling the many stories of the many people that make Romance of the Three Kingdoms such a compelling book and period of history, and the beautiful cinematic consistency makes it the most perfect realisation of everything Koei Tecmo has been aiming for with this series over many years now.
  2. Feb 13, 2018
    85
    Dynasty Warriors 9 has finally entered the next generation of gaming, bringing the series' tried and true 1-versus-1,000 fights into a massive open world while sticking true to its roots, for better or for worse.
  3. Feb 13, 2018
    85
    Dynasty Warriors 9 is the most ambitious title of the Musou series. For the first time, an open-world mechanics are embraced, which proves to be a success. If you never tried a Musou, now is the time.
  4. Feb 13, 2018
    84
    The open world, RPG elements and new battle system make Dynasty Warriors 9 the first refreshing entry in this old series. This is without a doubt the way to go for future games in the Dynasty franchise.
  5. Feb 13, 2018
    80
    Dynasty Warriors 9 is a fun and fresh take of the series with the familiar 1 vs 1000 action people expect but frame rate issues and no multiplayer component keep it from reaching it's full potential.
  6. Feb 13, 2018
    80
    Whether a die-hard fan or a newcomer to the series, Dynasty Warriors 9 is sure to delight lovers of the hack and slash genre. The story is interesting enough to keep you playing, but the main focus will be on the combat. The open world aspect of the game gives you more freedom of choice, which players will appreciate. There are a few issues, but nothing too overwhelming.
  7. Feb 13, 2018
    80
    The fact of the matter is that Dynasty Warriors 9 works as an experiment. This is Omega Force’s first attempt at an open-world title, and though not every aspect is great, it is a package that over-delivers where it counts and that, at its core, retains and improves upon the original hack and slash experience.
  8. Feb 13, 2018
    80
    An incredible step forward for the classic musou franchise from Tecmo Koei. New game mechanics and a revamped graphic engine ensures a new level of freedom and enjoyment for musou fans.
  9. 80
    The transition to an open world has not been easy, quite rough in fact. Still, Dynasty Warriors 9's many changes to the musou formula hold great promise for the future. This is the rebirth the series needed, regardless of its issues.
  10. Feb 13, 2018
    78
    With Dynasty Warrior 9 Koei Tecmo makes a decisive turning point for the saga, and despite several structural flaws, the game turns out to be a solid framework for the upcoming episodes.
  11. Feb 16, 2018
    75
    If you're a fan of the DW hack and slash formula, like I consider myself to be, then you'll get the most out of DW9. The game's open world and extra tasks (side missions, material gathering, hunting) offer a good distraction from the usual gameplay. The gameplay has been given more depth, so there is more variety this time around, but it still gets repetitive after several hours. Players that aren't that interested in the DW formula might find something to enjoy with DW9 but even with all the extra additions, they feel like only a minor distraction from the base hack and slash gameplay that you'll ultimately be thrown into. Overall, the game is a good step forward for the DW series, but it still needs work in making its open world more attractive and fun to explore.
  12. Feb 13, 2018
    75
    It’s neat to see the franchise trying something new, even if it doesn’t totally succeed. More importantly, none of the new stuff takes away from what makes Warriors games fun in the first place: you still get to single-handedly mow down enemy army after enemy army. No matter what else may have changed, that core fact remains the same in Dynasty Warriors 9 — and as long as that’s true, that’s really all that matters.
  13. Feb 13, 2018
    75
    Dynasty Warriors 9 does a very good job of making you feel part of a larger war that is happening all around you.
  14. Feb 13, 2018
    75
    Dynasty Warriors 9 is far from perfection. It has technical issues, its gameplay needs time to be appreciated and seems a bit lazy when he must do something different from action. But it's also powerful and passionate, strictly following Guanzhong's original Romance of the Three Kingdoms. Perhaps the limited open-world system will seem a missed opportunity, but the advice we can give is to give it a chance, and to do it without any preconception.
  15. Feb 13, 2018
    72
    Dynasty Warriors 9, with the new open world sandbox-style, is a nice new approach to a formula too exploited, but that cannot stop it from being tedious within a few hours.
  16. Feb 13, 2018
    70
    The series is trying something new with this game, and some fans are going to love it, and some others are going to hate it. We enjoyed having something different, but it has its flaws and sometimes its ambition turns against it.
  17. Feb 13, 2018
    70
    It’s fun yet flawed, and while it would be recommended to fans of this style, the recommendation comes with caveats. It doesn’t quite excel at being a traditional Dynasty Warriors game or taking the formula to a new open world format, but does a good enough job at both where it’s enjoyable but not exceptional.
  18. Feb 13, 2018
    70
    Despite the obvious graphical flaws and some issues with combat lacking finer controls, the streamlined menus, open world atmosphere, and laughably fun moment-to-moment play makes Dynasty Warriors 9 not just a must for fans, but worth a look for the merely curious.
  19. 70
    Dynasty Warriors 9 attempts to expand the scope of what a Dynasty Warriors game is with varying effects.
  20. Feb 13, 2018
    70
    Koei wanted a brand-new look fpr Dynasty Warriors, so they decided to transform this game from an action game to an open world RPG. But this open world is like a rough stone, which has poor appearance and thoughtless design, with many boring side missions and too much time wasted on the way. The new combat system is fine, yet terrible graphics, tons of bugs, and low frame rates still ruined it, making this game a complete failure.
  21. Feb 13, 2018
    70
    Even with open world gameplay which is a nice addition to the series, Dynasty Warriors 9 is still far from what it wants to be. Positive changes are there, but they are not enough to convince new players. However, fans of the series will have a great time playing it.
  22. Feb 14, 2018
    69
    Koei Tecmo’s attempt to drastically change the Dynasty Warrior series has resulted in a mediocre game. While I appreciated what they went for, sadly Dynasty Warriors 9 does not quite do the job.
  23. Feb 19, 2018
    68
    With opening up the world this is the most radical step the series has taken since moving from classic brawling on the original PlayStation to the musou-action we love and hate for almost 20 years now. And while some elements are overdone and others are not elaborate enough, at its core this is still a good first step into a promising future of the franchise.
  24. Feb 13, 2018
    65
    Dynasty Warriors 9 is a disappointment. The much-awaited open world approach fails to deliver, exacerbating the same old problems, while the graphics suffer from various issues.
  25. Feb 13, 2018
    65
    If you're into the idea of playing an open world game where its arcadey elements are entwined with therapeutic but sometimes dry exploration, give it a shot.
  26. Games Master UK
    Mar 22, 2018
    64
    A tweaked combat system and open world are welcome, but more inspiration is needed. [Apr 2018, p.72]
  27. Feb 21, 2018
    62
    Dynasty Warriors 9, therefore, does not fully realize its "revolutionary act": we trust that the next descendant of the dynasty can expiate a good part of the faults, and bring to completion the work begun by his daring predecessor.
  28. CD-Action
    May 16, 2018
    60
    In theory a lot has changed in the latest Dynasty Warriors (open world being the most notable addition) but in reality it’s the same game. It can be really enjoyable and at times impressive in terms of scale, but I got bored with it quite quickly. [04/2018, p.72]
  29. Mar 27, 2018
    60
    It’s such a shame to see the state of this franchise in 2018. Dynasty Warriors deserved better than this, and I hope Omega Force gets another shot to do this franchise justice, because this is not how the tales of the Three Kingdoms should end.
  30. Mar 17, 2018
    60
    Although Omega Force tried to refresh the series with open world elements in this new entry, unfortunately they did not manage to change their mindset, as the changes are accompanied by all the unpleasant features we are familiar with.
  31. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 26, 2018
    60
    This is a big game. Sadly, it's not all of the highest quality. Sometimes less is more. [March 2018, p.94]
  32. Feb 20, 2018
    60
    Dynasty Warriors goes open world with this ninth installment, which is a good thing, but the game is still awful, repetitive and sometimes boring.
  33. 60
    Dynasty Warriors 9 moves into an open world and suffers because of it. The world itself is lifeless, the hunting gimmicky and missions design repetitive. Wiping out armies single-handedly is still enjoyable however, with plenty of characters to unlock, it's just a shame the game doesn't do more with its obvious potential.
  34. Feb 14, 2018
    60
    Admittedly, many of the flaws or problems I have with Dynasty Warriors 9 are nothing entirely new to the series. It’s just that now there’s a whole new layer of problems that have been put on top of them that make the original issues that much more apparent. For almost every aspect of the game's features that I felt were on par with the quality of past titles, there is a contradiction.
  35. Feb 13, 2018
    60
    Dynasty Warriors 9 still has the 'levelling hundreds of dudes without breaking a sweat' core loop so you feel like a badass, but the open world removes some of the depth. Fans can still enjoy, but it won't win any new hearts this time.
  36. 60
    Dynasty Warriors 9 is more of a foundation for the next title than the dawning of a new era for the franchise. That’s perfectly acceptable, too, given that series like Dynasty Warriors inevitably must evolve to stay relevant. Right now, there are just some growing pains, and anyone who was interested in the newest iteration because of its new gameplay features would do better waiting for the next one instead.
  37. 60
    Dynasty Warriors 9 felt more like an experiment than a single, cohesive experience. At times it felt like Dynasty Warriors, sometimes an open world RPG, occasionally neither and sometimes both. But if Omega Force learns from this endeavor and buckles down for the next entry, the result could be spectacular.
  38. Feb 13, 2018
    60
    Where it works best is in its classic elements, but the open world needs a lot of work.
  39. Feb 20, 2018
    58
    For long-time fans of the franchise, Dynasty Warriors 9 feels like it has its heart in the right place, but the implementation of the open world and MMO mechanics feels dated, creating a bland experience that does not do the colorful series justice.
  40. Feb 15, 2018
    58
    Dynasty Warriors 9 is a game that can be recommended only to hardcore fans of the genre: the formula is absolutely the same, with its inherent boredom, further stressed by a subpar open-world experience. There are some new elements here and there, but the gameplay is basically the same.
  41. Feb 13, 2018
    58
    The lack of multiplayer, missing alternate game modes, and emptiness of ancient China left me far from satisfied.
  42. Feb 13, 2018
    54
    There are over 80 playable characters, but tedious missions, repetitive storylines, a world with large expanses of nothing and no multiplayer.
  43. games(TM)
    Mar 22, 2018
    50
    A huge step, but in the wrong direction. [Issue#198, p.80]
  44. Feb 13, 2018
    50
    Sadly, this isn’t the breakthrough fans were expecting. Omega Force took a pretty big risk with Dynasty Warriors 9, and while its open world integration can be seen as a small triumph, this newest entry is marred by its heavily outdated approach to combat design.
  45. Feb 13, 2018
    50
    Dynasty Warriors 9 is a hack and slash game with stealth elements developed by Omega Force. The title revampS the gameplay of the series with the introduction of the open world environment. Unfortunately, the unpleasant graphical accuracy and the presence of annoying bugs make Dynasty Warriors 9 a second-rate game.
  46. Feb 13, 2018
    50
    Dynasty Warriors 9 goes open world and the result is a game of extreme ups and downs. For every gloriously huge battle there's a boring stint of traversal across a dreadfully barren map. For every interesting story moment or interaction, there's a horribly ugly graphical glitch. Factor in an unconvincing combat system overhaul, and you've got a Dynasty Warriors title that may disappoint even the most dedicated of fans. There's still some good historical hack and slash fun to be had here, but we expected much more from the return of this flagship series.
  47. Feb 15, 2018
    45
    Dynasty Warriors 9 is extremely repetitive, and it gets to the point of frustration and boredom. The graphics in game are nothing to talk about. It would be different if the game had subpar gameplay and beautiful scenery, but you won’t find that here. Unchallenging combat is just salt in the wound. This is not a game I recommend, and its 80 something playable characters cannot save it.
  48. Mar 15, 2018
    40
    In spite of a promising overhaul, Dynasty Warriors 9 fails in every aspect with it's soulless open worlds, its lousy gameplay and a truckload of technical problems from AI pathfinding to aliasing and atrocious clipping. Only give it a shot if you're amongst the most hardcore fans of the IP.
  49. Feb 15, 2018
    40
    Dynasty Warriors finally gets the overhaul it’s long been waiting for… and while it addresses a few old problems it creates just as many new ones.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 14, 2018
    The musou genre needed new ideas - but reinventing it as a shoddy open-world game wasn't the answer.
  2. Feb 14, 2018
    What it lacks in difficulty it makes up for in quantity. Never have so many button presses been required to accomplish so little.
  3. Feb 13, 2018
    Make no mistake about it, this is the worst Dynasty Warriors game of them all, at least as far as mainline entries go.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 130
  2. Negative: 78 out of 130
  1. Feb 13, 2018
    3
    I want to give my honest review. LONG time fan of Dynasty warriors.
    This is by far the WORST in the series, and I was really looking forward
    I want to give my honest review. LONG time fan of Dynasty warriors.
    This is by far the WORST in the series, and I was really looking forward to it. Put in 40 hours.
    -First the frame rate problems are just unacceptable in 2018. I am talking below 15fps....
    -Open world is generic making every mission feel the same. We lose the old each stage looks and feels different from past DW and SW.
    -The new combos are just as bad as renbu from 6. Just push square all day and once in a while R1 for a counter or charge....
    -The story is only good for a few characters, others are treated as generics with no unique interactions. Which is a staple for DW...
    -Hunting, seiges, fishing, grappling hook, ALL very gimmicky and get lame after one use.
    -NO more ultimate weapon missions.
    -Plays like a beta, sometimes officers vanish, other times floating.
    -SOOOO many clones
    -Did I mention the frame rate? GROSS
    UNPLAYABLE!
    Music is cool though
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 13, 2018
    2
    This game is painfully sad for me. I have played every dynasty warriors since I got the Dynasty Warriors 3 demo back in the day. Everything isThis game is painfully sad for me. I have played every dynasty warriors since I got the Dynasty Warriors 3 demo back in the day. Everything is so bland and just boring. The variation in characters is pretty much gone, and everything just feels like a grind.Hope so much that when they release Dynasty Warriors 9 XL, they remove the open world part of it. Although I know 100% that is not gonna happen. Full Review »
  3. Feb 14, 2018
    2
    Ok...Ive played this game for...about a hour... And I am seriously considering bringing this back.
    The whole concept of having a Dynasty
    Ok...Ive played this game for...about a hour... And I am seriously considering bringing this back.
    The whole concept of having a Dynasty Warriors game be open world just screamed "Oh boy, I can now roam China with non stop killing." I was wrong... The world seems empty and dull. Hunting animals are tacked on and the gathering is stupid..
    Now on to the best parts....or worst....
    They changed the whole combat system and it sucks...it sucks hard. Its more "mash Square" then it has ever been and it seems like its trying to be 4 or 5 different games in one. Batman's context counters, Far Cry's gathering/crafting sprinkled with some Just Cause grappling hook nonsense and DMC's main combat system. I want DW8's combat back. it was fluid. It was clean. It was 5000% better then this.

    Combat system aside... The graphics and performance is sub par. So much so that this game reminds me of PS2 days(PS3 for the character models). Drastic frame rate drops, textures not loading/loading so slow you see the seams, and the miserable voice acting. It has never been this bad. I walked up to a castle with flags on the roof...They were not moving. Just static at full wave like it was constantly windy but they didn't move. The animations on characters, clothing and, hell, even the combat is bad. Its stiff. There is no polish in this game. Its like they shipped the alpha version of the game. And lets not forget the terrible animal textures.

    I am a long time Dynasty Warriors fan...And I'm telling you to not get this game. Avoid it until its either fixed(That's going to require a massive overhaul) or its so cheap you can get it for a song. I'm trading this in for a game i know isn't going to be busted.

    Just tried it again with the patch they threw out. 1.03 i think it is...it helps the frame rate issues...but they are still terrible. Even small battles turn into running in mud slow.

    Aperently those with PS4 Pros are having fewer issues in regards to frame rate.

    I am still returning this game.

    P.S to the "critic" who game this game a 100 rating... How much were you paid to write that?
    Full Review »