Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 95
    Without a doubt the best MMA videogame ever made, EA Sports UFC 4 supplements a welcome array of new offline and online modes with a revamped and endlessly sophisticated combat system that everybody can enjoy. For MMA fans it doesn't get any better than this.
  2. Aug 18, 2020
    92
    EA Sports UFC 4 is EA’s strongest MMA game yet, even if it isn’t quite all it could be. The career mode is top-shelf, but it’s still a bit disappointing to not see PRIDE replicated in an EA UFC game when they had their own expy for its follow-up in DREAM in EA MMA. Still, EA Sports UFC 4 manages to deliver the best-playing MMA action in company history and maybe we’ll see some new content down the road to fill in some of the gaps in mode selection and the roster. As it stands, this is a must-play game for MMA fans and finally provides a satisfying, easy to learn submission system that makes the entirety of MMA action enjoyable for players of all skill levels.
  3. Aug 20, 2020
    90
    While the newest trip into the Octagon shows some noticable improvement at its core in terms of fight mechanics, there are a few surprising steps back as well.
  4. Aug 17, 2020
    90
    UFC 4 is an evolution over UFC 3. A much better and more cohesive online, a better system for advancing your created fighters, a career mode that has a bit more depth, and gameplay that opens up the series to more people, makes UFC 4 the game that UFC 3 should have been.
  5. Aug 14, 2020
    87
    EA returns to get the best fighting simulator in terms of MMA, a demanding and realistic title in the fights that we will have to learn to give our best shot and elevate our fighter to the UFC podium. The novelties of this fourth installment seem enough and will satisfy fans of the genre, although we expected something more in the graphics section, the truth is that UFC 4 is a worthy continuation of the saga.
  6. Aug 14, 2020
    86
    EA Sports UFC 4 is the best MMA game to date. With an improved career mode, robust online options and significant updates to the core combat, fans of the franchise will be in awe at what steps into the octagon.
  7. Aug 19, 2020
    85
    Between deep combat and a robust career mode, this is the best UFC game yet.
  8. Aug 16, 2020
    85
    UFC 4 takes fighting simulation to a new level. Great campaign and fabulous control where fighters from all over the world can take advantage of the different layers available to be UFC champions.
  9. Aug 14, 2020
    85
    With upgraded grappling and submission mechanics, better training and fewer flash knockouts, UFC 4 manages to deliver on the promise of its predecessor. Cosmetic microtransactions come across greedy, but there’s nothing lacking in the main product. Framerate hitches and a few bugs remain at launch, as does persistent voice repetition, but overall if you enjoyed UFC 3, there’s a lot to like about UFC 4.
  10. Aug 17, 2020
    84
    Even after achieving "G.O.A.T." status, I have a hard time peeling away from UFC 4. After hours and hours of play, I still feel like there's a lot more to learn about the fighting systems and all the moves that can branch out from each ground position. It's addicting to tinker around with it or map out a new career for another created fighter, messing around with building (or burning) bridges with either fighters to see how his or her path maps out. Whether you want a little action distraction or want to get lost in what the MMA world has to offer, UFC 4 has it. Just remember to apologize to your training partners in advance.
  11. Aug 17, 2020
    84
    EA Sports UFC 4 shows that the quality of a sports game is far more important than the amount of quantity in it. UFC 4 improves and adds areas that needed work. It brings in new systems and tighter control designs to make the experience for more entertaining than previous years. This is the best of the best in the UFC series right now, and there is still good room to grow it.
  12. Aug 21, 2020
    82
    UFC 4 is 1.5 steps forward…1 step back from UFC 3. The series’ over-emphasis on realism but also widest playability remains an awkward marriage. Still, it’s also one of the deepest sports titles available, and a great homage to the MMA genre.
  13. Sep 30, 2020
    80
    In spite of sporadic issues with the controls and the monetization model, UFC 4 is a great fighter, even if one bases it solely on the expansive career mode. As I currently celebrate my first championship title and defending it, I wholeheartedly recommend this one, not only to fans of the sport, but to anyone looking for their next fighting game fix.
  14. Sep 11, 2020
    80
    The realism, a deep fighting system and a decent career mode make UFC 4 one of the best entries ever in this franchise.
  15. Aug 26, 2020
    80
    EA Sports UFC 4 is a testament to the power an experience can have when it is wholly aware of its own identity. The gameplay is solid, online modes are good, and the career mode is more of the comfortable same that it was in UFC 3, albeit with a great tutorial mode to kick things off. UFC 4 is what a sport sim should be: simple enough on its surface to be fun right off the bat, but deep enough to reward those who practice long enough to become skilled. Oh, and it is very UFC, in case you were wondering. That's always fun.
  16. Aug 24, 2020
    80
    UFC 4 is an enjoyable trip into the world of mixed-martial arts which makes some ample improvements to the formula when compared to previous entries. While it can still feel underbaked and bland in certain areas, such as the career mode, it has been refined with a stellar onboarding experience that makes it super accessible to newcomers.
  17. Aug 23, 2020
    80
    Thanks to some rather insightful evolutions from its predecessor, a deep fighting system that rewards dedication, and some super fun alternative modes for the more casual player, EA Sports UFC 4 is undoubtedly the greatest mixed martial arts video game we've seen to date. But being the greatest doesn't mean perfect as there's still room for improvement thanks to a wonky submission system and dated visuals.
  18. Aug 19, 2020
    80
    An excellent fighting game and a formidable exponent of the real sport, with a little innovation compared to the previous game.
  19. Aug 19, 2020
    80
    However, aside from some general random glitchiness - such as the choppy stuttering that sometimes occurs when camera angles switch - UFC 4 drew me in and really hasn’t let me go. I love the type of experience that the game’s career mode has to offer, and with so many detailed gameplay mechanics, I feel like I’m learning something new every time I jump into the game. For those who love MMA and understand all of its intricacies, you’ll likely come into UFC 4 ahead of the curve. However, UFC 4 also has plenty to offer to newer fans who are just starting to cut their teeth on the sport. Simply put, UFC 4 is the best MMA game out there right now, and is a must-own for lovers of The Octagon.
  20. Aug 19, 2020
    80
    While UFC 4 may not shake up the formula for the franchise, it is still an incredibly fun and worthwhile game. UFC fans will be able to squeeze dozens of hours out of the career mode as well as getting to fight against friends online with their favorite fighters. The small tweaks to the mechanics were very welcome changes that help propel UFC 4 further than any other game in the series, though it remains something that's pretty inaccessible for those who aren't already interested in the sport.
  21. Aug 18, 2020
    80
    UFC 4 has a much better submission system, as well as more fluid clinch mechanics. The Career Mode has got some nice improvements, but it still feels like a similar experience to its predecessor.
  22. Aug 18, 2020
    80
    EA Sports UFC 4 is a solid and very multifaceted sports combat simulator, with a great strategic depth, improved controls and many different contents.
  23. Aug 17, 2020
    80
    EA Sports UFC 4 is not a massive departure from its predecessor, but it’s a significantly better game. EA Vancouver has successfully recognised the way fans want to play, and with its array of arcade-inspired options and emphasis on Career mode, it will appeal to casual fans of the sport as well as MMA obsessives alike. While the ground game still needs work, it’s much more approachable now, and we really like the fast-paced Blitz Battles as an accompaniment to the more traditional online ranked matches. The presentation has stagnated somewhat, but combat still feels appropriately crunchy, and with rotating challenges to hold your attention, we can see ourselves sticking with this brawler for some time.
  24. 80
    EA Sports UFC 4 is the best entry on the sport to date. Smart tweaks to the grappling system make it feel more fluid and natural, and a revamped series of modes will keep you coming back for more.
  25. Aug 17, 2020
    80
    UFC 4 is quite enjoyable, and a great sports sim, but its very complex gameplay could be a problem for some, even if it's better than before. If you're a fan of MMA, don't look further.
  26. Aug 16, 2020
    80
    Once mastered, the combat experience is enjoyable, and the license increases in rhythm with the new gameplay, whether it's takedowns or clinches.
  27. Aug 14, 2020
    80
    If you're a veteran of the series, UFC 4 makes some adjustments you've been asking for and has some new features to dive into. If you're a beginner you've got a long climb ahead of you, but it's worth the grind. The game doesn't break new ground, but it seems to have refined what was already there.
  28. Aug 14, 2020
    80
    Despite some hiccups, though, EA Sports UFC 4 is a mostly satisfying UFC gaming experience. Those who aren't willing to put in the work to really master the combat system will likely not be as impressed with it, but those that put in the time will find it to be one of the best MMA games available on modern day platforms, with a great, incredibly deep roster and a variety of fun game modes.
  29. 80
    Definitely an evolution rather than a revolution for EA, UFC 4 continues to deliver the slick, brutal and intelligent combat that we're used to but we're still not sure about its ground game and would like to have seen a bit more of a celebration of the sport.
  30. Aug 14, 2020
    80
    UFC 4 is more accessible than previous entries in the franchise, yet its controls are still demanding. The game looks great and feels like watching an authentic match on TV.
  31. 80
    UFC 4 is a better game than UFC 3. While some of the systems might take a little bit of getting used to, there's a more refined experience here. One that's a little bit more welcoming to many different types of players and that's been done without sacrificing the level of depth and quality to the fighting that fans have come to expect from the series.
  32. Aug 14, 2020
    80
    EA Sports UFC 4 is a largely iterative sequel that tightens up some looser parts, makes a few smart tweaks here and there, and doesn’t rock the boat all that much. And in that sense, it’s a success. The new submission system is a big improvement over prior years, there are some great changes to career mode that make it much more fun to mold a fighter that suits your own playstyle, the new grapple assist system is a great tool to help complete newcomers not feel lost if they get taken down, and as a whole, the fighting system remains incredibly deep. Longstanding problems still remain in the ground game and some dated visuals, but without any competition for the title, EA Sports UFC 4 still remains the king of combat sports.
  33. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 21, 2020
    79
    Apart from laggy menu and modest graphics, UFC 4 is a good finale to the series’ run on current generation of consoles. [Issue#248, p.48]
  34. Aug 14, 2020
    75
    UFC 4 is an incredible MMA game, but it needs more content. It’s a step forward gameplay-wise, but we feel like it also needs to evolve outside the ring.
  35. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 18, 2020
    70
    Long-time players will be disappointed at Joe Rogan’s absence from the commentary booth this time around, even if Daniel Cormier and John Anik’s excitable tones are perfectly serviceable. And that’s a phrase which perfectly sums up UFC 4 in general. It won’t surprise MMA fans, but it should delight. [Issue#180, p.72]
  36. Sep 17, 2020
    70
    EA UFC 4 takes a few steps forward with the changes in the fighting game but takes some back as well with the career mode which was bait and switched once again and barely has any significant upgrades.
  37. Sep 15, 2020
    70
    UFC 4 is the best MMA-game to date, but that's partially because of a lack of competition from other developers. As is to be expected from a game that's part of a series, EA doesn't invent the wheel but improves gradually on its own formula. The evolution points, career mode, clinch possibilities and some other new features are nice, but is it enough to justify its price tag? We doubt it.
  38. Aug 25, 2020
    70
    EA Sports UFC 4 is obviously made by people with a true love and respect for MMA, but it’s also pretty clear they didn’t have a ton of resources to work with. The action is better than ever, but the flash and depth you expect from an EA Sports title is MIA. This year’s UFC game comes out of its corner hot and provides a few exciting moments, but doesn’t quite have what it takes to go the distance.
  39. Aug 21, 2020
    70
    A decent improvement over its predecessor, with a bulky career mode and enjoyable multiplayer. The controls are still hit-and-miss, though. Overall, still not enough to lift this fighting game out of the mists of mediocrity.
  40. Aug 17, 2020
    70
    UFC 4 is a game that looks like no other inside the octagon, but that has problems in giving us something else that lives up to that, falling short in game modes as well as blurring a sport that to this day continues to fight for legitimacy.
  41. Aug 14, 2020
    70
    The gameplay of UFC 4 is stellar and rewarding, but once the novelty begins to wear off, there’s not much more to keep players invested.
  42. Aug 14, 2020
    70
    UFC 4 brings some great new ideas to created fighters, online play, and clinch gameplay, but can't live up to its full potential with the end product.
  43. Sep 12, 2020
    60
    Everything is about the same as it was in UFC 3, but with some minor changes. Outdated graphics and animation may push new players away. UFC 4 is a game for fans, and they can add another point to the final score.
  44. Sep 1, 2020
    60
    EA Sports UFC 4 offers intense combat despite complicated controls. Indeed: just like its predecessor. Part four plays it way too safe.
  45. Aug 25, 2020
    60
    A competent and crunching MMA sequel that brings key improvements to the Octagon but stumbles when the action moves to the ground.
  46. Aug 14, 2020
    60
    EA Sports UFC 4 is a fun albeit bland fighting game. For something in a biennial release cycle, we would have hoped to have seen more evolution to the formula than what we’ve gotten...There’s a lot to like with EA Sports UFC 4 as it’s still an entertaining fighter, but it just doesn’t go beyond what we’ve come to expect from it.
  47. Aug 16, 2020
    55
    EA Sports has scrapped Ultimate Team from UFC 3, made a few minimal (UI) updates and put a FIFA cover on it. Please, here you have UFC 4. It's that the ten-year-old fighting system still delivers some really brutal brawls, otherwise this would be a complete joke. If you already own UFC 3, I don't see any reason to buy this part.
User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 528 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 528
  1. Aug 16, 2020
    7
    EA Sports UFC 4: Before we start I would like to tell you guys how exited I am about UFC 4 since UFC 3 was actually somewhat a disappointmentEA Sports UFC 4: Before we start I would like to tell you guys how exited I am about UFC 4 since UFC 3 was actually somewhat a disappointment to me in the famed franchise. The reason why I was disapointed is the story line was as weak as it could be so after couple of voice lines and contracts only thing you doing was just to seem to keep fighting and fighting; while this is the main game this franchise still reeks of potential for me like the days of EAs once popular Boxing franchise. Because my expectations was beyond that I was hoping the game could be more than a game that you only fight against others. Well unfortunately UFC 4 is not much different although not ultimately bad either. It makes you create a fighter directly and you starting to career - not that different from the other games in the UFC franchise even the tattoos are similar to last years game, I mean the little details matter when you are entering into the 4th iteration of a potential on a global scale as there’s not any other worldwide sports venues that consistently have spawned in the fashion of UFC, even boxing as popular as it was in past years fans ultimately look for the next best thing in line with the events they enjoy. Although it's still fun to play but I can't say UFC 4 is amazingly so different than UFC 3 if you ask me to be completely honest and take the gloves off. The offline offerings include one-off fights in traditional MMA, Stand and Bang, and Knockout mode (with a new health-bar system that mirrors that of traditional fighting games), as well as custom events and tournaments. However, the destination for offline play is career mode. This year’s career starts off more cinematic, as you work closely with your head coach to learn how to fight, rack up some wins. I do enjoy an immersive experience and making the jump to the professional circuit and beyond always leaves a satisfied feeling for me. While I have to say this the KnockOut mode is nothing but purely Mortal Kombat styled
    mode added and for a moment I thought Is this the future of the Franchise that rose up from the ashes as a worldwide success. It seemed more like a mini game they chose to throw in instead of polishing on the games overall polish and expanding beyond the offline career mode. Hey maybe take it to the next level and provide an environment that’s open globally for all to compete for world wide rankings and a true ranking of ones skill, ALA Toughest Fighter, I am truly excited for the next generation of gaming and I think UFC4 could have just been an example of what to expect at the end of a console generation a solid game that doesn’t really do anything wrong without breaking what has worked to date, next year we should really begin to see some of these franchises move in the direction of promising futures or possibly continue on the same path. At the end of the day if you’re a fan, heck yes it’s a must have. This game is far from a let down it’s just my desire to see the UFC franchise rise much as when I play WWE games, sometimes I wish I could plug in an N64 controller and play today’s games with the control and immersive experience these games delivered on a much less powerful platform with greater results. Only time will tell us the future so for now pick up a solid priced UFC4 and throw down just don’t expect a complete overhaul until we get our hands on UFC5.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 28, 2020
    2
    Great fluidity of striking and transitions visually, other than that this game is complete **** They completely **** up the wrestling andGreat fluidity of striking and transitions visually, other than that this game is complete **** They completely **** up the wrestling and ground and pound from ufc 4, you can be killing someone for 10 minutes and not get hit once, just to be taken down once and hit with one sequence of ground and pound to be knocked out before being able to actually do anything. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME FOR FULL PRICE, if you have any thought of buying this game but aren’t sure, just don’t do it.and stick to ufc 3 . such a waste of time and money and patience to be quite honest, very disappointing ea sports actually somehow made a worse game..hope they fix these bugs Full Review »
  3. Sep 4, 2020
    0
    Pay full price for a game, get spammed with advertisements. Knock out blow there EA, well played.