Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jul 3, 2017
    72
    Elite: Dangerous is a well crafted and complex space simulation in flight, combat, and a number of RPG elements such as resource management, questing, and upgrading gear. With real world science creating the games universe and some very nice graphics, the game’s downfall comes from the overly complex controls used for flight, making the game difficult for newcomers who may be expecting a more user friendly experience.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Feb 8, 2018
    60
    For every moment awed in the presence of a monumental celestial body, there are ten in which you’re lonely, humbled, and really quite bored. [October 2017, p79]
  3. Dec 12, 2017
    60
    Elite: Dangerous feels a bit like a lifestyle choice, honestly. Getting good at piloting and traversing this universe takes almost as long as a full length game in and of itself. For those who endure, there's some exciting things happening in space, but for the rest, the price might be too high. This is clearly an example of a niche game, a remarkably thorough space sim that requires patience and tenacity to unearth its many secrets. It also requires caring about the universe you're in, and that can often be difficult to do after extended periods of time fighting with the game itself, whether it be through the controls or long stretches of nothing happening. As Carl Sagan once said, though: "The universe seems neither benign nor hostile; merely indifferent."
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Aug 24, 2017
    60
    This is evocative and immersive but will leave you cold - also like space. [Sept 2017, p.88]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 118
  2. Negative: 25 out of 118
  1. Sep 5, 2017
    9
    I played previously on PC before all the expansions. While I had a great experience I ultimately shelved the game as it became a littleI played previously on PC before all the expansions. While I had a great experience I ultimately shelved the game as it became a little tedious. Now that I picked up the Legendary version on PS4, I have to say this game has come a long way with several major updates fleshing things out. I noticed that lot of people say this game is a grind. It depends on how you approach it. If all you want to do is make as many credits as possible, yes that it probably true. However, this is a sandbox simulation with no end game and no goals. You have to be prepared to make your own decisions on how to play. You have complete Freedom here and also have to deal with the consequences of that freedom.However those new to the game can be quickly turned off by constant failure from such things we take for granted in other games. Like actually manually having to land your ship and having to manage your power distribution on the fly. If Frontier can develop somekind of friendlier intro incorporated at the start, I would rate the game higher for sure.

    The game in the beginning is unforgiving and there are major minus points for Elite in regards to showing newbs the ropes. On the other hand, the community surrounding this game is absolutely outstanding. The best I've seen and you can head to the forum to pretty much figure out anything or find like minded people to play with. I have to say this is one of the most unique games out there. An old school game updated for the modern platform. Thanks to Frontier for developing and supporting such a risky endeavor and if you have the time for it, the game ultimately rewards you for sticking with it. There are so many hidden wrinkles to discover and the universe is constantly expanding due to actual community driven goals, which to me is amazing to see in a game these days. For instance, there is a brand new Colony being built far away from the Earth Bubble near the center of the Galaxy, with many pit stops created as well to help get there. This did not exist 3 years ago and is due simply to actual players participating in the production of the colony. Awesome.

    As stated previously, if you're just looking to pad your credit stack constantly in a bid to quickly buy all the best gear, this game will turn into a grind. As with any other game in this vein like Destiny or GTAO(or any MMO up to this point). Or just fly by the seat of your pants and have fun doing whatever takes your fancy. That will lead you down the path of enjoyment for a long time. You do not need much money to access all the game has to offer. Even better, do it with some friends and explore the galaxy together. Give it a shot Commander.

    Edit: Bumping this up to a 9. After playing the PS4 version and experiencing all the new things added since Horizons, I'm fairly astounded by how much the game has improved since release. Update 2.4 set to drop soon will further add new features. This game is simply not for the casual gamer, but if one takes the time to learn it's many system, you can arguably play infinitely.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2017
    9
    A space sim, pure and simple. It doesn't give you much - you have to learn it yourself and make the effort. You'll get out whatever you put inA space sim, pure and simple. It doesn't give you much - you have to learn it yourself and make the effort. You'll get out whatever you put in and there is no hand holding. Great to see Elite back. It might not be the right flavour for a modern gaming audience but persevere and see what you think. It's what No Man's Sky could have been. Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2017
    10
    The best, most realistic space simulation i have ever played. Absolute freedom, huge galaxy, big variety of missions, realistic challenge andThe best, most realistic space simulation i have ever played. Absolute freedom, huge galaxy, big variety of missions, realistic challenge and not just a pewpew space shooter, pvp and pve multiplayer. This game has it all. So far i haven't encounter any bugs (the game is already out on pc and xbox a long time now so it would be weird if it had bugs) and it runs smoothly on ps4 and ps4 pro alike. Only negative thing is the online only solo game cause i would like to be able to play solo at least offline. This is the space game I've been waiting for all my life. No Man's Sky was great but it was a survival game is space not a simulation. I'll be playing this for years to come. Hopefully they won't ever put down the servers or at least make the solo offline sometime in the future. Space sim lovers have to play this and everybody else who don't afraid of a challenge you should try it. Top notch! Full Review »