Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Aug 21, 2017
    100
    Its mix of refined mechanics, updated graphics and all new cars results in a game that’s up there with the studio’s old-time greats. It’s proof that, very occasionally, they still make them like they used to.
  2. Aug 24, 2017
    91
    F1 2017 took that momentum from 2016 and built on it to create an excellent experience.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Oct 15, 2017
    90
    Codemasters' best Formula 1 game to date. [Nov 2017, p.88]
  4. Sep 15, 2017
    90
    All in all, F1 2017 blew my expectations out of the water. My interest in racing titles had been waning, so trying the F1 series was one of my best decisions in a while. F1 2017 revived my interest in racing with its immersion and polish. The simulation is deep but allows casual racers to enjoy everything that it has to offer, and the career mode provides lasting appeal and value while adding a human touch to it all. Codemasters has brought a new level of simulation and enjoyment to racing games, and racing fans should snag F1 2017 and keep an eye out for F1 2018. I know I will.
  5. Sep 8, 2017
    90
    Bigger and better is every way, F1 2017 gives the franchise the shake-up fans have wanted for several years.
  6. Aug 29, 2017
    90
    F1 2017 is a game that’s built for F1 fans. It does a really admirable job of bringing people like me along for the ride, but I think it rewards fans over and over again with an amazing F1 experience. Even though I’m not the biggest F1 fan I fell in love with F1 2017 and see it as a game that I’ll keep coming back to long after this review is published.
  7. Aug 27, 2017
    90
    Where F1 2016 lacked a little on the career side, F1 2017 more than makes up for that and then some more. An improved multiplayer set up, a greater variety of race options and straight-up better cars to drive, on top of the stellar career mode and thrilling on track racing experience make F1 2017 simply the best Formula One game ever made.
  8. Aug 25, 2017
    90
    Codemasters delivers on almost every level, turning F1 2017 legitimately into one of the best F1 games ever made.
  9. Aug 25, 2017
    90
    F1 2017 builds on what fans loved in the previous game to make it arguably the best Formula One game Codemasters have made since they started creating games for the motorsport series in 2009. Whether you’ve not played one for a few years like myself or enjoyed F1 2016, this provides a worthwhile experience.
  10. Aug 24, 2017
    90
    It delivers the speed and technical component of F1 racing without overwhelming a casual fan with jargon or overly complex concepts. At the same time, it stays true to its core audience with the most authentic virtual F1 experience around. It may not get all the hoopla that more popular titles in the genre receive, but F1 2017 is one of the most complete sports video games released in awhile.
  11. Aug 22, 2017
    90
    F1 2017 is another extremely strong entry in the series from Codemasters. Although newcomers to Formula One in its entirety might find it a little challenging to grasp, particularly when it comes to the in-depth Career Mode, racing fans and Formula One fans in general should be revving their engines in preparation for the glamorous world of Formula One racing once again.
  12. Aug 21, 2017
    90
    F1 2017 is more than just a steady continuation of Codemasters’ racing series, it’s a major step forward that isn’t content to simply rely on this year’s new cars and regulations. From adding more R&D options to the career to having classic cars and invitational events help break up the long racing calendar, there’s a lot to keep you engaged here. Not only that, but you can see that Codemasters have plenty of ways to continue to grow the series over the next few years.
  13. Aug 21, 2017
    90
    This is undoubtedly the best F1 game Codemasters has put together. An incredibly deep career mode, excellent championships and the return of classic cars mean there’s never been more F1 racing to be had. There are some bugs and annoyances, but I’m hopeful these will be ironed out in a patch soon after launch.
  14. Aug 21, 2017
    90
    F1 2017 is the best representation of a complicated sport that Codemasters has offered. Offering its deepest and most authentic career mode, it draws players into the sport like no other F1 game ever has.
  15. Aug 25, 2017
    89
    Rich with details and faithful to just about everything that makes contemporary F1 tick, F1 2017 is about as good a simulation of a single, modern motorsport as you can get.
  16. Aug 28, 2017
    88
    F1 2017 is an impressive game. It not only retains the feel and flavour of Formula One racing, it makes it all accessible. No doubt there is a touch of arcade racing about it. The heavy rain, fighting lens flare, and swapping paint. Although, the likes of Lewis Hamilton have made swapping paint a more common event than it has been in the past. With the upgrade system and large collection of classic cars, it’s even overcome the problem that every car – in past games – felt essentially the same. Even if it hasn’t won the Constructors’ Championship, in almost every way F1 2017 has driven to an impressive win.
  17. Aug 21, 2017
    88
    F1 2017 is a game for everyone, not just for the enthusiasts of the discipline it deals with.
  18. Aug 22, 2017
    87
    A letter of love for all F1 fans. F1 2017 is more than a F1 simulator, is a fun and functional video game that every racing fan should experience.
  19. Sep 1, 2017
    86
    I didn’t expect Codemasters to surpass last year’s iteration. But with the massive expansion of the career mode, the great implementation of historic race cars as well as download events and improved driving physics they delivered their best entry into Formula 1 yet.
  20. Aug 21, 2017
    86
    F1 2017 consolidates Codemasters's work with the past edition, adding further facets and depth to the single player experience.
  21. CD-Action
    Nov 16, 2017
    85
    Excellent career mode, tons of additional challenges and fast gameplay. Codemasters did great this year, but I would appreciate including more F1 legends. [11/2017, p.75]
  22. Sep 28, 2017
    85
    This year the official game of the Formula One championship is better than ever, with rich content, a great career mode and superb graphics. 2017 will definitely be the year of the racing genre.
  23. 85
    Codemasters has yet again released another glorious Formula 1 game that continues to push the franchise forward. With its updated handling model and in-depth career mode, it’s perfect for fans of the series building upon the best parts of what made F1 2016 great.
  24. Aug 25, 2017
    85
    Not a revolution, but an evolution. Codemasters focus on details to create one of the best F1 experiences we have ever played.
  25. Aug 24, 2017
    85
    This year's entry is a great title, tweaking the solid foundations of the series and adding new modes to deliver an excellent game.
  26. Aug 22, 2017
    85
    Not just the fans, but anyone who is up for a fun race should definitely play F1 2017. This is one of the best ones ever made by Codemasters.
  27. Aug 21, 2017
    85
    With several improvements, F1 2017 is more beautiful and more complex than F1 2016. A great game, but not yet a masterpiece.
  28. Aug 21, 2017
    85
    A great and fun racing game that perfectly represents the emotions and the strategy of the Formula 1’s competitions.
  29. Aug 21, 2017
    85
    F1 2017 is the best delivery of the franchise so far in this generation. Improvements in the career mode and new game modes create a more solid experience.
  30. Games Master UK
    Oct 6, 2017
    84
    A superb, technical racer. F1 fans will love the career mode, but be disappointed by the classic content. [Nov 2017, p.77]
  31. Sep 11, 2017
    84
    Although not as impenetrable to newcomers as earlier entries, F1 2017 in some ways falls victim to the curse of annual releases; with such a rigid release schedule in place the opportunity to meaningfully expand upon last year’s effort is reduced and often the best you get is possibly a new mechanic and a whole heap of fine-tuning of established mechanics. With F12017, its big new trick is the in-depth career mode and extensive level of customisation that comes with it and the rest is just a refinement upon the (Admittedly fun) foundation of previous games.
  32. Aug 21, 2017
    84
    Codemasters keeps improving a franchise in need of something else to be among the sports top franchises. Even though it has notable gameplay mechanics that will delight both veterans and newcomers alike, it has several technical issues that weigh down the overall experience. Its enhancements in career mode and settings make it a game to track down for those who like F1.
  33. Aug 25, 2017
    82
    A good racing games that doesn't take any kind of risks but still it's one of the best F1 emulation ever (but not the best racing sim).
  34. Aug 21, 2017
    82
    F1 2017 offers the maximum excitement of the competition but it does not offer many new features beyond last season's game.
  35. Sep 5, 2017
    80
    F1 2017 is clearly the best opus of the IP in the last 4 years at least. With increased content and the return of the old cars from the glory days, the game only suffers from a vastly improvable multiplayer mode and an old graphics engine.
  36. Sep 5, 2017
    80
    With the exception of a few graphical issues and annoying bugs, there is plenty to praise in F1 2017. Codemasters have created a brilliant, albeit a little repetitive, racing experience that is incredibly intense yet entertaining. It would have been welcome with some more notable improvements compared to last year’s iteration, but all the minor improvements enhance the overall experience quite a bit.
  37. Aug 29, 2017
    80
    For all of its surface gimmicks and complex management systems, F1 2017 excels by maintaining a real sense of accessibility for players who aren’t true F1 aficionados. Racing players will find this an enjoyable experience, albeit that experience probably won’t offer a great deal of longevity once the novelty wears off.
  38. 80
    While not the most novice-friendly racing game, those who put the hours into Codemasters’ latest F1 title will find it a worthwhile endeavor. The on-track action is great, and the level of customization is rarely seen even in other simulations. Unfortunately, a lot of the finer racing concepts aren’t introduced well and the gigantic R&D tree can be overwhelming when first seen during the career mode. If players can get past that, they’ll have a blast.
  39. Aug 25, 2017
    80
    F1 2017 is a game that's as much fun to think about as it is to play, and as intriguing to plan out and strategize as it is to race. And it is a lot of fun to race, because so much of F1 2017’s enjoyment comes from things built up over time, not the year-to-year bullet-point features of video gaming.
  40. Aug 21, 2017
    80
    F1 2017 flies across the finishing line in great form. Codemasters’ latest has captured the off-track trappings of the world’s most popular motorsport with a hearty R&D component that forms the backbone of its campaign. But behind the wheel the title fares just as well, with the Career mode implementing Invitational events to break up the routine – many of which are designed around a robust selection of historical rides. Factor in the rule altering Championships and a handling model that’s able to accommodate a wide range of skillsets, and you have a racer deserving of its podium place.
  41. Aug 21, 2017
    80
    F1 2017 is another superbly authentic recreation of modern F1. However, the sport’s current complexity will be overwhelming for most, and the returning classic content is nowhere near as good as it should be.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 24, 2017
    Codemasters delivers a detailed, deep and passionate take on motorsport's top tier that might be even more enjoyable than the real thing. [Recommended]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 91
  2. Negative: 14 out of 91
  1. Aug 29, 2017
    9
    Didn't have huge expectations, rather a small update on 2016. Wow. Beautiful work Codemasters. Physics are improved, graphics are very muchDidn't have huge expectations, rather a small update on 2016. Wow. Beautiful work Codemasters. Physics are improved, graphics are very much improved, classic cars are beautifully rendered, I can say without a doubt this is the best Formula 1 game/simulator I have played, and I have been playing for 20+ years. Since Geoff Crammond's Formula One racing simulators and perhaps EA's F1 games developed by ISI, we have not had anything this polished and complete. Can't wait to see the future of this series. F1 + Dirt have put Codemasters at the top again! Only con? Lack of VR. How amazing it would have been to drive these classic beauties in VR Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2017
    10
    I'm not one to write reviews for games but I thought I would go to the effort as I am having heaps of fun with F1 2017. Unlike previous F1I'm not one to write reviews for games but I thought I would go to the effort as I am having heaps of fun with F1 2017. Unlike previous F1 games where the AI was either too easy or too difficult there is now a slider to change the percentage of AI difficulty which allows for finer tuning to suit a vast array of play styles and expertise. Fuel management during the practice sessions and the classic F1 cars are great additions to the series, although I would like to have seen a Benneton F1 car included. The game runs at a very smooth 60fps which is a must when it comes to racing games for me. My only gripe is that there can be some screen tearing which is quite noticeable but I can forgive this as the rest of the game is near perfect. This game is a must buy for any F1 fan. There is also enough new content to satisfy people who played F1 2016. Do yourself a favour and buy this game. Full Review »
  3. Aug 28, 2017
    9
    Finally we can administrate almost everything from motor to chassis development. We can progress the game sweetness. Graphics are very good,Finally we can administrate almost everything from motor to chassis development. We can progress the game sweetness. Graphics are very good, We can hope for better results in 2018 for graphics. Great almost simulation game. Full Review »