Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Aug 3, 2020
    100
    FAIRY TAIL is bombastic, breezy, and full of fun to watch characters, except, this time, it's us making it all happen.
  2. 90
    The very best thing about FAIRY TAIL is just how much fun the game is. Absolutely nothing about this game feels like a chore. It’s a delightful romp through Fiore following Natsu’s story from X791 arc onward. Not having to grind for hours on end may be the most refreshing part of it all. My JRPG junkies know all too well how much time we tend to spend power leveling characters just so we can move the needle forward. Every aspect of Fairy Tail has been expertly crafted and balanced perfectly in this reviewer’s opinion.
  3. Jul 31, 2020
    90
    Fairy Tail is a return to form for the classic turn-based RPG combat of yesteryear. A huge cast of memorable characters, tons of side content, and incredible combat all come together to form one of this year's most impressive JRPGs.
  4. 90
    Fairy Tail is pure comfort food for people who, like me, count the JRPG as the favourite genre. It lacks the subversive intelligence of a NieR: Automata or Final Fantasy VII Remake. It also lacks the rich refinement of a Persona 5 or the epic scope of a Trails of Cold Steel. Even in comparison to Gust's own titles, it lacks the rich character development of Atelier or the sheer beauty of Blue Reflection. But Fairy Tail has one thing in spades; it's joyous, and it's the right kind of frivolous. It's a celebration of an anime that I can only assume is both silly and fun in its own right and that works as the perfect promotion for Fairy Tail: I really want to watch the anime now. Fairy Tail isn't going to be on any of my game of the year lists, but not every release needs to be pitched at those lists to be well and truly worthwhile. Fairy Tail being the game that reminded me why I loved JRPGs in the first place is more than enough.
  5. Aug 3, 2020
    80
    Fairy Tail is over-the-top, comical and captivating – and it’s one of the most enjoyable JRPGs I’ve sank my teeth into in some time.
  6. Aug 2, 2020
    80
    Fairy Tail is an incredibly satisfying turn based RPG, with tons of growth systems to invest in. You need a good knowledge of the show to get maximum enjoyment, but for fans it doesn't get any better than this.
  7. Jul 31, 2020
    80
    Fairy Tail covers some of the best story arcs from the series, but sadly that requires players to chug through uninspired quests to witness them. Luckily, the battle system is engaging, and that character interactions are consistently entertaining. This is a game for fans, and it shows during every moment of the gameplay, which might turn away newcomers in the long run. Still, I had a great time hanging out with the Fairy Tail guild and helping them return to their former glory.
  8. Jul 31, 2020
    80
    The Fairy Tail franchise and the JRPG genre are a perfect match, and this game perfectly captures the silly yet surprisingly intense charm of the original series. It's a shame that the game often puts so little effort into adapting major story scenes, but that sacrifice is outweighed by the abundance of fun little character interactions and vignettes that are sprinkled throughout the game. Fairy Tail lets you live in the world of Natsu and co. like no other anime game has done before, and any fan of the series is sure to crack a smile at this dedicated RPG experience.
  9. Jul 31, 2020
    80
    A junk food JRPG that won't push you to the limit, Fairy Tail is a comfortable blend of fantasy and strategy that's authentic to its source material of magic and mayhem.
  10. Jul 29, 2020
    80
    It seems as though the limited budget available for Fairy Tail has been used in the right places, saving on unimportant parts, and spending on the important bits. The gameplay, ranking and battling systems are well thought-out, and presented beautifully. For a game with such a low budget, everything has been implemented very well. It is very clear that the author of the manga, Hiro Mashima, was closely involved in developing this instalment, as it represents the feeling of the anime/manga incredibly accurately.
  11. Jul 30, 2020
    76
    A JRPG that's not so inspired and too repetitive, but brings with it plenty of things to do and is perfect for Fairy Tail fans.
  12. 75
    Fairy Tail is a good first attempt to bring this massive franchise to home consoles. GUST does a great job of not only recreating the world and characters of Fairy Tail but goes out of its way with great writing and character development. It's not every day you get to play a game that rewards you for every task you complete in it. Combat is a highlight but the exploration leaves much to be desired.
  13. Jul 30, 2020
    72
    If you are already in love with the rowdy license of Hiro Mashima, FAIRY TAIL will be able to enchant you with its irresistible irony; otherwise, the absence of important narrative pieces could preclude the total understanding of the story and favor a premature abandonment by the player.
  14. Jul 30, 2020
    72
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Jul 30, 2020
    72
    As a licensed JRPG, Fairy Tail is solid and fun, thanks mainly to its combat system, but taken as a role playing game as a whole, it can feel bland and uninspired. Recommended to Fairy Tail fans only. All the others may want to wait for a price drop.
  16. Aug 3, 2020
    70
    As a fan of the anime and manga series, I found enjoyable immersion in Fairy Tail for the PS4 and recommend any fans to give it a chance. Other than this fan service, though, there is little to compel a player to continue in this game past the first few hours due to the repetitiveness of battles, missions, and story tropes.
  17. 70
    Fans of the franchise that have been longing for a full scale game based on the property should be somewhat satisfied by Fairy Tail, although a lot of it is heavily inspired by Gust's flagship franchise.
  18. Jul 30, 2020
    70
    This game proved that its a decent RPG and not just a game based on the anime, although it could've been more if not for the limited areas and the repetitive missions.
  19. Jul 30, 2020
    70
    Fairy Tail is a correct game with very intuitive development that fans of the series will like much more for the good setting and details it has, but even they can choke on certain moments in history by forcing them to complete repetitive secondary missions.
  20. Jul 29, 2020
    70
    A very good JRPG, graphically simple but perfect for Fairy Tail's manga fans. It's not for "everyone" due to the link with the Japanese visual novel, but a very good game in terms of length and combat strategy.
  21. Jul 29, 2020
    70
    There's also a social element to the game as you can level up social ranks between characters once they’ve been on enough missions together, leading to unlocking new skills which can be used in battle or more bonuses for those characters. Fairy Tail carries on going even when the storyline is done; there's plenty to upgrade in the guild, and a multitude of characters to rank up, unlocking new content and cutscenes. That, combined with an enjoyable battle system, makes Gust's latest a solid experience for anime fans.
  22. Jul 30, 2020
    65
    Fairy Tail is too simple a role-playing game to capture the interest of genre fanatics, but it could be an introduction to the genre for the younger generation, even though it suffers from generally poor technical performance.
  23. Aug 3, 2020
    60
    If you want a pretty easy anime game with a fun story and an honestly very easy platinum, this game is for you, but it is hard to recommend outside of a preexisting base of Fairy Tail fans.
  24. Jul 31, 2020
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  25. Jul 29, 2020
    55
    The fan service cannot be enough to make people forget the omnipresent repetitiveness and compulsive farming from which this video game adaptation of Fairy Tail suffers.
  26. Aug 3, 2020
    50
    If the gameplay in Fairy Tail were more interesting, then it would be worth players bringing themselves up to speed, but what is present in the final product will only be of interest to the hardcore fans of the franchise.
  27. Jul 31, 2020
    50
    As it stands, this one is strictly for the diehards and those with a tolerance for rather repetitive side content.
  28. Jul 31, 2020
    50
    A mediocre JRPG, Fairy Tail does only the bare minimum with what it offers. It's a game for dedicated fans, but fans deserve a better game.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 11 out of 37
  1. Aug 2, 2020
    0
    The game was Censored with a patch after they sold people on it. That is false advertising. Would not recommend. Fairy Tale being censored? IfThe game was Censored with a patch after they sold people on it. That is false advertising. Would not recommend. Fairy Tale being censored? If they spent more time and effort on actual game development, then the game may have received warmer reviews. They obviously have their priorities messed up.

    The game seems flat, with little attention to detail. Missing animations and boring screenplay make for a sad performance.

    The combat is okay and the characters are enough to spark joy in any fan but the whole game seems rushed. Lots of cut corners.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 4, 2020
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I would rate this game higher but I don't appreciate buying something then I DO NOT get what I bought. The graphics are ok, the gameplay is cookie cutter turn based strategy. But the censorship is not appreciated. I definitly want my $$$ back. . I also want to ad Fairy Tail is my favorite anime, so it pains me to leave a bad revieww for this game. But the fact theyd bend a knee to people that dont buy their games, well leaving a bad review is all I got isnt it Full Review »
  3. Aug 4, 2020
    9
    Fairy Tail is a turn base jrpg from hit manga series and I was very surprised how good this game is. You have 16 playable characters from theFairy Tail is a turn base jrpg from hit manga series and I was very surprised how good this game is. You have 16 playable characters from the series with their own set attacks. You can change outfits, see the music gallery and give items to Lucy's spirit Plue for neat items. Lucy's room is almost same like the tv series. The games con has to be some quest can be boring at times feel like it could've done better and the fps is horrible at times very difficult to play and very disappointing. Overall the game length is pretty lengthy not like skyrim about 30 hours. For the price tag um I think it shouldn't be at 60 bucks. Full Review »