Falcon Age Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Falcon Age is a first-person, single-player action adventure. As Ara, learn to hunt, gather, and fight to reclaim her cultural legacy in the lost art of falcon hunting against a force of automated colonizers. Bond with a baby falcon and go on an adventure.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. 90
    Falcon Age is a unique and charming game that is equally as impressive on the PS4 as it is on PSVR. The game features a cute falcon that you can share first bumps with in virtual reality but also features fun gameplay and a story with an important message.
  2. Apr 9, 2019
    80
    Falcon Age is a genuinely impressive achievement in the VR space. The unprecedented amount of interactivity between you and the bird plays host to the build-up of a worthy friendship, as well as an essential partner once the going gets tough. Alongside a deep and meaningful narrative, this is yet another PlayStation VR experience that belongs among the elite.
  3. Apr 17, 2019
    80
    The highest compliment I can think to pay Falcon Age is that it evoked the same feeling I get caring for my real-life pets--including the real wince of bone-deep alarm I felt anytime my bird was at risk of injury. This is about much more than a cute animal. It's about a bond, and one Falcon Age nails.
  4. 70
    There’s still a magic here, but it’s weighed down by unnecessary baggage that feels disconnected and separate from the central conceit of the game.
  5. Apr 19, 2019
    70
    Although it is not a "VR only" game, Falcon Age truly shines when played in VR mode with the use of Move Controllers. By playing like that you are immersed in an exotic world and really feel the bond with your falcon. Some problems do exist and we believe that the battle system is quite broken, but overall this is an experience that worth your time.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 3, 2019
    60
    Falcon Age tells an admirable story in a careful and considerate way, but Ara’s virtual world is simply too sparse to engage you for long, no matter how hard you fall for that fabulous falcon. [Issue#162, p.94]
  7. May 22, 2019
    40
    There’s a good game lurking somewhere within Falcon Age. Interacting with your pet falcon in VR is an enchanting joy, so it's a shame that it's surrounded by a repetitive game structure, lacklustre visuals, and controls that are neither here nor there.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 14, 2019
    10
    Emotional and beautiful game, not solved bugs and not perfect, but can catch on for many hours, especially in VR.
  2. Apr 16, 2019
    6
    Don't like paying 20 for something that feels it has the worth of 5 dollars. I like the premise but it feels very last generation.
  3. Apr 14, 2019
    5
    Tested with PSVR. Poor controls scheme forcing you to move and fight with the right PlayStation Move, it confuses the combats, empty giganticTested with PSVR. Poor controls scheme forcing you to move and fight with the right PlayStation Move, it confuses the combats, empty gigantic areas and half of the playtime doing backtracking... all these flaws ruin the adventure. The trailer of the game seems lying too, as the bird doesn't stay on your hand while you walk, so I was unable to befriend with him, he was all the time flying and I didn't see it for almost the entire game.

    Except that, the game has beautiful visuals and sound design. But it's not enough...
    Expand